American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Alesis DM10 Studio Kit Electronic Drum Set  -  ALE DM10STUDIOKIT LIST

By: from United States      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

"I love this thing"
By: ERIK from ASHFORD, AL      Submitted: 3/2/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Great kit
By: Jon from Bismarck, ND, USA      Submitted: 2/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

The Most Awesome drum set kit to have...Alesis DM10
By: Rey Mendez Aka Dj Jazzy Mendez from San Francisco Bay Area, California U S A      Submitted: 2/18/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

Pretty good Electronic Kit
By: Chris from Kansas City, Mo      Submitted: 1/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

By: from United States      Submitted: 12/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

Easy build
By: Kevin from Roy, UT, USA      Submitted: 11/28/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I've only had this about a week, but the quality seems to be very good for the price. I'm not a drummer (I was in high school, but switched to guitar) but this seems to be a solid kit. I bought this mainly with the intent to use as a midi controller, but have not had a chance to try it out for that purpose yet. I like the fact that you can update the sound sample library to keep up with current sounds. I'm looking forward to using this kit and having some fun drumming again. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far the quality seems excellent Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I like the multiple triggers, although the toms seem to lag just a bit when it comes to multiple hits . Perhaps some sensitivity adjustment is needed, haven't had a chance to play with that yet. Sound How is the tone? Tone is good, although I don't know if the kit could pass for acoustic to the most discriminating ears. Appearance Appearance The appearance is beautiful, very aesthetic Value Was this item an overall good value? This kit came with a $200 rebate so I don't think you could really get a better value
Alesis DM10 Studio: Great Value!
By: Marko from Sacramento, CA      Submitted: 11/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Yes, there are better electronic kits out there but to get there but they go up in price thousands of dollars. I will be using the DM10s for recording and are a perfect fit for my studio. For the price range, the Alesis DM10s are the boss hands down. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The tom pads respond well enough for studio use although they are a bit louder than expected. I will upgrade the heads to the custom mesh heads very soon though. The kick is solid and sturdy and works well with my Gibraltar pedal. Cymbals have a decent bounce, and I like that dual zone choke that allows you to mute their sound after a crash. After calibrating my hit-hat (10 second task), the clap worked like a charm. The frame\hardware seems to be solid and sturdy even with a good around the block pounding. The hardware has quality; it does not look for feel cheap. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The DM10 sound module's sounds will never get old. It is the only module on the market at this date, that will allow you to download and update it's sounds via USB. That is a major feature for any price range! Sound How is the tone? The sounds are crisp, clear, and punchy. The sonic qualities of the samples are first rate. The tom pads respond well enough for studio use although they are a bit louder than expected. I will upgrade the heads to the custom mesh heads very soon though. Appearance Appearance The DM10 look nice in the studio. Not a cheap looking kit. Value Was this item an overall good value? For the price range, the Alesis DM10s are the boss hands down.
Cool, but a rough transition from acoustic....
By: Brian from Lingle, wy      Submitted: 9/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is a really cool product, but it just isn't the same as real drums. I knew this going into the purchase, but the reality didn't set in until the second week playing them. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is ok. I thought the mounts and connectors would be a little more not plastic, but they worked. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? There are a lot of different sounds and that was great. The responsiveness was really good. I would like to have seen a mesh head option or option to buy later.
A Great Kit for the Money
By: Derp      Submitted: 6/24/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this as my first drum kit. It's an incredible machine with a lot of options to it, but because of these options, I wouldn't recommend this as a first drum set. Three weeks into ownership and I've just now got the settings to where I'm not getting crosstalk and misfires. It's not an easy piece of gear. The Real Head drums are also surprisingly loud. Thankfully, a mesh conversion is quite cheap. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I couldn't imagine this thing surviving the apocalypse, but for the average studio user, I could see it lasting a while. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? To me, the best feature is its versatility. Out of the box, this has a lot of triggers going on. I've been using this connected to Rock Band for learning drums with no problems and I've been able to use it to give me a lot of control on everything from the MPC1000 to the Fantom. The effects are a little misleading, though. In the description, it states that every sound has its own EQ and compressor. What they mean is that there is a master EQ and compressor that you can route everything through. What I wish it had was a better sound library onboard and better effect routing. Really for the sound library, they could have gotten rid of all those 'hits' and cheesy accompaniment sounds and made room for better sampled acoustic drums and more electronic sounds to mold. Sound How is the tone? Tone? Not exactly the greatest. There are certainly much worse drum machines out there, but in trying to cover a lot of territory, it seems to become a jack of all trades and master of none. As far as acoustic kit emulation, the Dynamic Articulation takes you a long way, but it's no substitute for large numbers of velocity switching and round-robin sample playback. In so far as trying to do electronic sounds, the number of sounds is far too limited to be effective in an electronic music composition. I'd use this kit as a controller via MIDI before using it on its own. Appearance Appearance It looks great. It's big and it's intimidating! Value Was this item an overall good value? In spite of my niggles about the unit's sound generator, the fact is that this is killer bang for the buck. I did a lot of shopping around before deciding on this kit and to get the kind of features presented here just for the triggers alone, you'd have to spend twice as much on the kit. For the price, you get a lot of drums and a lot of pro features.
nice kit
By: Alex B from Hickory, NC USA, akbnt@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/10/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great quality Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Nice size kit for the money Sound How is the tone? Great Sounds General Your general opinion of this product. Awesome Value Was this item an overall good value? GREAT value!!! Appearance Appearance Nice look to it
dm 10 studio
By: sam alaoui from lorain      Submitted: 3/7/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very good Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? international beat Sound How is the tone? perfect General Your general opinion of this product. nice for home studio Appearance Appearance good
Bought for worship team
By: Rick from Spokane Wa      Submitted: 3/7/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Had this kit from AMS for about 2 weeks and have been very happy with the quality so far. Easy to setup Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Hard to beat the available sounds with this kit. more than any other in the price ranges as well as those just a little above Sound How is the tone? So far so good, excellent sounds, no need to look at upgrading the sound library yet. General Your general opinion of this product. Good Product good value. One thing to keep in mind with this kit though is for live performance give a little time to go thru the settings to get dialed in. If you're going to use at home to practice you're fine. We've spent several hours playing with the settings to dial in to our liking. This set is great for our setup compared to acoustic. We now have complete control.
Great kit for the price
By: Jeremy S from Frederick, MD, USA      Submitted: 3/5/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is exceptional, the stand is not metal like the pro kit, but it is very strong, there is no danger of damaging this thing unless you abuse the s*** out of it. The mylar realheads are a bit loud, but you can convert them all to mesh for about $60 if you'd like. It gives it a bit more bounce and quiets it down so that for us townhouse/apartment dwellers, the neighbors are not an issue. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The features on this kit are great, everything is very adjustable (physically and in the sound module). Sound How is the tone? The stock samples are actually kinda lame (unless you are doing 80's synth rock ballads haha) but they can be adjusted to sound pretty cool. I had an alesis dm8 usb kit before the dm10 and I had the sounds customized a bit more on there so that they were pretty nice. Eventually I got superior drummer though and hooked it in through the computer. And let me tell you WOW. My drummer played on the DM8 and had to have it, so I sold that to him for practically nothing and upgraded to the DM10. Now we both have amazing drum sounds for recording at a super low price. General Your general opinion of this product. The kit is solid, no matter how you are going to use it, stock, with drum software, as long as you aren't technologically defunct (and when I say tech defunct, I mean you're one of those that call support because you don't know how to plug it in), you can easily figure out how to tweak the system to your liking. Value Was this item an overall good value? Absolutely Appearance Appearance Set looks great too, everyone who sees it is stunned that I got it for under a grand.
Disappointing
By: Dennis from Chicago, IL, U.S.      Submitted: 1/13/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I suppose this is really a case of getting what you paid for. the pads feel absolutely nothing like real toms. I like the feel of Roland and even Yamaha's better and i never thought i would say that. The rack is pretty flimsy and takes a while a get solid and the module itself feels like its made of nothing but plastic. the mount for the module definitely is. The hi hat pedal feels weird, you'll know what i mean when u get it. The triggers do respond well what's everything is worked out which is great if youre using it for recording purposes. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I own a dm5 that i had long before getting the dm10. I will admit, there are a lot more features and customization than the dm5. the eq makes it incredibly fast and easy to balance out each trigger's level seperately. The toms and snare come with dual triggers so the rim can be selected as an entirely different sound as hitting the head which gives you twice the amount of available sounds at a time. Unforunately, you're a little limited as far as customizing the setup. each cable is a certain length, which wouldn't be a problem because you can easily swap which one plugs in where. However, some are TS while others are TRS. One thing its missing that i became used to with the dm5 was the footswitch capabilities. with the dm10, the footswitch only controls the hi hat. while the dm5 you can set different a sound for each trigger with the footswitch engaged. Its a plus that you can update the dm10 via USB and it was said to add more sounds as well, but it didnt seem to do so Sound How is the tone? The sound is decent. It takes a LOT of patience and tweaking to get everything just right. comparatively, i the like a lot of the dm5's sound selection better that i believe should've been on the dm10. also, this isn't a very good kit to practice quietly on. its literally like beating on wood. the sound of hitting the toms and kickpad can be heard in other rooms through walls. Defeats the purpose of having an electric kit to practice in a quiet environment General Your general opinion of this product. I honestly was expecting a bit more after hearing all the hype about the dm10, and after being happy with the dm5, i thought this would have been a step up. No wonder why the price is much lower compared to others, although there are some cheaper and much worse quality electric kits out there. Value Was this item an overall good value? overall for the price, its alright. you get what you pay for. but i definitely wouldn't go spending 1300 for the dm10x kit. only difference is a chrome rack and bigger toms. This is a good, inexpensive way to get some practice in when you don't want to go deaf from using an acoustic kit and if others around you could handle all the tapping noise Appearance Appearance Looks great but drum heads and cymbal pads are instantly easily left with marks from the sticks which is a little disappointing. looks like i've been using it for years after the first week
Drums
By: Micah yuricha from usa pennsylvania north huntington 11894 dartmoor dr 15642      Submitted: 11/12/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes it is very good shape you'll love it win you first play it Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? everything is good what more could you want Sound How is the tone? The best better than any drums i've had General Your general opinion of this product. good I would like to have like 20 of them Value Was this item an overall good value? if it were to be 1 out of 10 I pick a ten Appearance Appearance I don't have one I played it at my friends house thats how I figured out I want one more than anything
hands down best bang for your buck
By: Adrian from Bay Area, CA      Submitted: 9/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Every thing looks great so far, but I've only had it for a week now. The rack is easy to set up, and comes as pre-assembled as possible, the wires come prelabled and are easy to set up, it has clips so the wires aren't hanging everywhere looking ugly, etc. the rack seems solid. It uses some plastic parts, but this is an $800 drum set, so that is to be expected. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The sounds are great and natural. What people are saying about the pads is true: they are louder than rubber or woven heads. For my purposes (practicing with a band in a garage) this is not a problem at all. If you need it to be as quite as possible I could see it being an issue. The module is easy to use. It is easy to adjust the setting of the pads, but you will need to. I had to hit them pretty hard when I first got the set. Once the pads were adjusted, it was a different set, much more fun to play. You will have to spend some time with it. Plan on 6 to 8 hours total (from opening the box to having it perfect). Sound How is the tone? The sounds are great, and sound like real drums, which with the products out now is only expected. Anything less would be unnaceptable. It has a wide variety, of course, and you will be able to put together a set you love if the presets don't do it for you. There is one problem. One of the cymbal sounds has very obvous digital artifacts. It almost sounds like a flanger. I thought it was intentional at first, but it wasn't. I just put another sound there, and it was fine, but that should not have happened. To be fair, I have not called tech support, largely because it is so easy to put in a new sound it is not worth my time. ALL other drum sounds are excellent. It is only that one, but it does exist. General Your general opinion of this product. I tried out a lot of kits, and for the money this is easily the best. The sounds are great, it playes very well (the pads are not quite as nice as woven heads, but they are nice. Better than rubber imho). Value Was this item an overall good value? Value is where this kit really shines. I think you have to get to the $2000 yamahas and rolands to start getting better. Really, if you are in the $1000 dollar range, this is the kit you have to get. My opinion of course, but for $800, wow. Appearance Appearance Looks great. It has real heads, so it looks lilke that. Much better than rubber, looks as good as woven heads.
Good Stuff and Kudos to Alesis
By: Eric M Peterson from United States      Submitted: 6/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made and has been very dependable. The only negative about quality is the instructions. They are not the worst but they lack detail. You have to figure some things out on your own. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Features are great. Love the DM10 brain and the cymbals and drums feel good. Sound How is the tone? The module has 100 open kits for you to make your own kits. The 100 pre made kits are pretty cool. I would not use them all since they cover every genre but I have my fav's. How hard you hit the pads changes the sounds. Just know that you have to tweak it out of the box. The default under the hood settings are just ok. Spend some time tweaking it for yourself and it will pay off. General Your general opinion of this product. Great item and despite a few gripes I love it. The only thing I wish was better was the Hi Hat pedal. It works but I wish it had more travel on the pedal and that it was a bit more consistent in use. Value Was this item an overall good value? Great value. Nothing in this price gets you this much for features. Appearance Appearance Looks good and is not too big.
Great Kit
By: Barry Rosenberger from Hatfield Pa. 19440      Submitted: 5/15/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Came Complete , just plug and play. Holding up well,no problems Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The price is the best and the sound is as good as anything I've played General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent Product Value Was this item an overall good value? Great Price, and I got a free Amp too! Appearance Appearance Good looks!
Old guy returning to drumming
By: Dr. Matt from Toms River, NJ      Submitted: 4/12/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes the drums, cymbals, etc are all well crafted, the stand could be better Sound How is the tone? Unbelievalble. Value Was this item an overall good value? Can't go wrong with this set up.
great kit!
By: mike415giant from san francisco, mike415giant@yahoo.com      Submitted: 2/20/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? great overall quality in an e-drum set. i expected it to have that "made in china" quality. i was impressed. Sound How is the tone? great tone. much more if you use a drum software thru midi. like any acoustic drumset, these e-drums still need tuning. i suggest adjusting its sensitivity and sounds first. crosstalk and everything else will take time for you to set if youre real finicky about it. it seems crosstalk and sensitivity varies with how you put your kit together. i.e how far apart your pads are from eachother. Value Was this item an overall good value? great value. to me its a shortcut from acoustic sets because of all the sounds you inherit from the interface. sounds are endless with different drum softwares. it keeps me from buying new heads, cymbals and accessories for my acoustic set. not to mention the ability to record compared to recording with mics on an acoustic set.
Amazing sound and feel!
By: Rich from Birmingham, AL, USA      Submitted: 2/19/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Amazing quality for the price! Nice work to Alesis for providing a solid, great sounding electronic kit at this price level. Sound How is the tone? Great! No complaints. Just search youtube for some clips of real people playing this kit to hear how good it sounds for yourself! Value Was this item an overall good value? You can't beat the sound for this price range!
Comparision from a non-drummer
By: Tony from USA      Submitted: 2/10/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? so far so good. Sound How is the tone? Tone is great. The tweaks are endless. If you don't like the initial tone, then you can tune it to your liking. Value Was this item an overall good value? Amazing value. Provides more toms and cymbals then the comparable Roland set. And I was pleasently surprise to learn that EVERY TOM is DUAL ZONE. WOW!
the thing know one is saying
By: Bobby from Lexington,Ky      Submitted: 12/23/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes so far but the clamps are plastic Sound How is the tone? it's a hole new game and with sound modules you can not beat it
Nice Bounce/great feel
By: Leo Bowers from Columbus, OH USA, leonard.bowersjr@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/5/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think they're made very well but then too so is my wife's old Lexus. What it comes down to is how you care for them and how you drive! Sound How is the tone? The drum and percussion tones are programmable per trigger with variances from volume, sensitivity, decay, actual tone, and reverb per trigger. You make the tone. Value Was this item an overall good value? Exceptional
The Low Down
By: Romeo Castorena from Pomona, CA, USA, romeocastorena@gmail.com      Submitted: 11/7/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The overall quality is great. I preffer mesh heads, but these drum heads are better than most. Sound How is the tone? The sounds inside of the module are standard. Some are better than others. I personally use this with drum software so this doesnt affect me. Value Was this item an overall good value? Overall this was a great buy. I have alot of fun with it. With the exeption of having to calibrate the sensitivity this is great! Then again, all instruments need to be tuned!
electronic heaven
By: ant from murfreesboro tn usa      Submitted: 11/2/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i would like the snare more movable to find that sweet spot for my style of play.so far the only problem i have is one of my toms seems faulty sending for replacement,and get a little cross talk off the right side rack of 2 toms and cymbal(even after tweaking sensitivity) but not enough to be mad at Sound How is the tone? sounds great through an amp. Sounds amazing when played back after it has been recorded. The recorded sound actually sounds better than the live sound.but it held up to practice with 2 guitarist with full B52 stacks and bass player playing through ampeg full stack.and i ran it through the vocals PA,it held it's own. Value Was this item an overall good value? yes.I am very happy with the product so far. Keep in mind i have only had it less than a week.And it came with the transactive practice amp.for the price can't beat this kit
ALESIS + Price=Enjoyable Playability and Sound!
By: Randy from NC/USA      Submitted: 9/28/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had no problems with this kit other than the screws loosening on the tubular sections and on the drum head mounts themselves. I think the two side sections should have one more tubular section for more stability. The DM10 brain with the EQ makes a considerable difference and is great. Sound How is the tone? The sounds are excellent and very realistic. I have played Tama, Yamaha and Roland electronic and I would choose Alesis sound modules over these hands down. The dual pad triggers are very impressive and useful. You can add another cymbal or drum pad to this kit also. Value Was this item an overall good value? Yes....I bought mine in February 2011 and paid $999. Now the price is $799. Still a great buy and and the look on stage is killer, just as the sound is. I use a double bass pedal and that works great also. I would not sell mine for $800 if this gives you any indication of how I feel about this kit.
I dig this e-kit
By: Black metal from Carlsbad,new Mexico,USA, anonmyous49748      Submitted: 9/13/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is good,I wasn't sure if the rack was gonna be strong enough to handle extreme metal type of drumming.but it's pretty solid I'm happy with it. Sound How is the tone? I am most impressed with the amount of different drums that you can pick and the tones of them are simply amazing,best thing about the dm10 Value Was this item an overall good value? It's worth every penny,even though I had problems with the bass trigger.you simply can beat it.the product is good for the price.
Cuts some corners, but nice overall
By: Jon Waddington from Aurora, Colorado, USA, waddball@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/8/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a good compromise. I think Alesis has produced a solid, not great, quality product for a reasonable price. If you're looking for top quality, this isn't it, but you should know that going in. You don't buy a Toyota and then expect Lexus performance. Sound How is the tone? The module's built-in sounds are great, and it has a lot of flexibility in terms of output, so no complaints at all in terms of I/O. In terms of acoustic noise, it's lousy. Cymbals are nice, usual rubber thumping. The mylar pads, coupled with the bad design choice to have a thin foam layer over a metal plate, means lot of noise elsewhere. The bass pad is close to insufferable (wham! wham!; it's not like a-drums, of course, but...you will not like it). One huge selling point of e-drums is low acoustic noise (practice all you want without annoying the neighbors/family), and this pretty much fails at that out of the box. The good news is that it's fairly easy to switch out heads with some DIY gumption, but that takes time and some extra money for mesh heads, etc. Value Was this item an overall good value? Getting comparable overall functionality in higher-end kits costs at least double, and that's after factoring in replacement heads for the annoying acoustic noise. The pad design is a DIY dream. But...you have to approach it with that in mind. To get this to where you'll really like it, you have to put in some time and work. For me, a great value. But you need to know the caveats going in.
Electronics worthy of the studio
By: Dr Dave from VA      Submitted: 8/27/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? For the price, the pads are nice. Being able to change out the heads is a very very nice feature. Sound How is the tone? Here's what sets this kit apart from other kits in this price range. Of course I think that accoustic drums and cymbals are the way to go for your best recording sounds, but if you live in a situation, as I do, where accoustics are just not a possibility becuase of neighbors in the building, then this set produces a heck of a sound. Usually the worst part of an electronic kit are the cymbals, and this is my third set from two different brands. These cymbals are the closest I've personally heard to real metal cymbals in an electronic format. Plus, the USB feature gives you unlimited room for sounds you can use. This is the best controller I've ever used. Value Was this item an overall good value? I got mine on a sale for $799, but even at $999, if electronics are what you need then you can't go wrong with this kit for the price.
Great Electronic Set
By: Chris from Mooresville,IN,US, anonmyous49753      Submitted: 7/1/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far the product seems to be made very well. Seems very dependable and sturdy. Sound How is the tone? The sound is excellent, good drum tones on the tomes, lots of snare, kick, and tom sounds. You can tweet the sounds to your liking. Value Was this item an overall good value? Great value compared to the Roland models of the same type.
Excellent Kit and an Unbelievable Price
By: WillyVee from Connersvill, IN USA, billhvaughn@gmail.com      Submitted: 6/24/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very impressed, especially considering the price. This kit could sell for well more than the typical $999 price tag (I'm over the moon about catching it on sale). If you are in the market for an E-kit go ahead and snag this one- this is the best deal going and it's a great great kit (a good price means nothing if the instrument doesn't deliver- this one delivers!) Sound How is the tone? I've been through a few modules with my latest one (before the DM10) being a Roland TD6V- the sounds in the DM10 are much much nicer. What's better, you can play ghost notes-something that was sketch at best on my Pintech/TD6V rig. Onboard sounds are perfect for my needs- plus the fact that you can hook up to a computer and run VSTs or switch out sound sets (of course there is just the one, Blue Jay sound set available at the moment). Very happy with this module! Value Was this item an overall good value? Unbeleivable value- especially since I got the kit while it was on sale. THe module alone is around $699 most places, I got the kit for $799 while on sale, incredible. I was blown away by the quality of the cymbals- way better than my old ones. It was cheaper for me to buy this kit then to fix up my old ekit (needed new rack, new cymbals, new hi-hat controller, and wanted new module)
Drums = Value...but no bass drum pedal
By: Will.I.Am from Maryland      Submitted: 6/17/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I would have given a better rating except the fact it doesn't come with a bass drum pedal. Sound How is the tone? Lots of sounds to choose from. Most sound pretty decent, some could be a little better. Handful of snares came out really nice. Value Was this item an overall good value? While it was on sale for $799, you can't beat that. Otherwise, when its $999, still a good buy when you consider the amount of equipment your getting.
You need an all purpose studio kit? THIS IS IT!
By: NuVibe Productions from Houston, TX      Submitted: 6/9/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had the kit now for about 30 days. The only wear I see is the wear on the pads. I notice that the pads will mark a little more when using plastic tip sticks that with wooden tips. But that happens with real head pads. The quality is as expected for a kit in this price range. All the brackets are still tight, there are no dents in the rims or cymbals and I like the fact that this kit has really good curb appeal. It just looks awesome in the studio and when musicians come in to record, they can't stop staring at it. Sound How is the tone? The sound is great. I tried both Yamaha and Roland kits and the sound here delivers big. The first thing that impressed me was the way the kits were arranged. Every pad and rim was assigned a sound that could be individually tweaked or changed. It meant that with all the pads and cymbals that come with this kit, I had space to create set-ups that would allow me not to have to switch in the middle of a performance. The accompaniment tracks sound great and are very helpful in learning a multitude of styles and genre's. I'm now teaching my young son to play. In the studio, I could create natural, realistic drum parts that just can't be done on a keyboard and when I encounter artists who vibe best when in a live performance atmosphere, the DM10 comes through like a champ. If I would have any one gripe about the sound, it would be the kick pad. It is a bit noisy in silent mode and if the drummer in the band is also singing back up, the noise is loud enough to get into the mic. Value Was this item an overall good value? This Kit has more pads and cymbals out of the box than most kits in its price range. Then it has the top of the line module that by far has some of the greatest features among kits in its price range. I own a home studio and this kit fits very well in limited space while creating an appeal to any drummer coming in to lay rhythm. Most of all, expandability is key. With the ability to download new kits to the module and store up to 100 user kits of your own, it's hard to outgrow or out date this kit. A great buy!
Awesome sounds. Module is amazing. Good hardware
By: Orlando from New Britain, Ct. USA, orlandoestrella117@gmail.com      Submitted: 6/8/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality id good only thing is the cymbals could have been better. They are flimsy and you really have to squeeze the choke strip hard in order for the choke to work. Other than that, the quality is great. Sound How is the tone? The sound is amazing. So many different sounds and it comes in clear, just have to have to right amp for it. Value Was this item an overall good value? Awesome value. When i bought last year, it was $1000 but now AMS lowered the price and you cant go wrong. It is truly an amazing price
Great drums
By: Sophia Domnenko from Glenview, IL, USA, anonmyous49785      Submitted: 5/14/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Definately Sound How is the tone? Great tone, love the sounds. Very realistic, all the sounds are useful and fun Value Was this item an overall good value? Good value - compared to other brands of similar drum sets
Alesis Has Raised The Bar On E-Kits!
By: Str8ShotBand from Dilworth,Mn, anonmyous49787      Submitted: 5/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I wish Alesis would replace some of the plastic fittings with metal, even though I've never had an issue with them. Sound How is the tone? The HD sound samples in the DM10 module are second to none! Value Was this item an overall good value? For under $1000, nobody comes close to what the DM10 offers.
Loading....