American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Alesis DM10X Premium 6 Piece Electronic Drum Kit  -  ALE DM10XKIT LIST

My drummer is happy !
By: Rod with MRG from Springfield VT      Submitted: 7/8/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Very pleased with the drum set. The drummer in our band is thrilled. Only negative thing I have is we have one of the large "toms" set for a deep tone and the rim as an 8" crash. Had a frequent cross "fire" when the tom was played. Disappointed there were no suggestions of a base kick pedal. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? looks great! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Looks, ease of changing the tones of each drum and cymbal. Sound How is the tone? Great Sounding! Very pleased Appearance Appearance Sharp looking Value Was this item an overall good value? Most definitely.
These drums are amazing!
By: Brandon J P      Submitted: 6/6/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great drums! And were shipped very fast and in tact!
I thought I would have to spend more to get performance Like this
By: Seven from NY, NY      Submitted: 5/8/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

Awesomeness!!
By: Geoff T. from Richmond, VA      Submitted: 1/24/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Looks great, feels great, and sounds great. I've played acoustic kits in several bands and have been playing for about 15 years and I think this is a great kit!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far so good. All the important features seem to say quality just by looking at them. Very Sturdy and really nice to look at. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The sound is really rich and realistic. The heads give a real-feeling feedback response. The brain takes a little to get used to, but once you crack the code, it really is very easy to use. The hi-hat stand leaves a little to be desired. I subbed in a Tama Starclassic snare stand. The provided stand will work, it just seems a little out-classed by the rest of the kit. I was concerned about the spring in the hi-hat peddle as it seemed a little weak upon first inspection. Once I started playing it though, I found the come-back response to be much better than expected. I would still like a heavier spring as time may wear this one down. Sound How is the tone? The kit gives you so many options to customize and tailor the tone. The pre-set tones are awesome though. Just the right amount of attack, sustain, and gradual decay to be very convincing. I use two amps for sound and a sound board to tailor how much juice goes to which amp, along with treble, mid, and low tone adjustments. One amp is a bass amp and the other is a guitar amp. I have them dialed in so as to provide the perfect tone! One other item of note: Toms 3 and 4 are pre-programmed in most settings to do funky things - congas, wood block, etc. Figuring out how to change these took a little time, but I have a customized kit that now sounds really awesome. Appearance Appearance Really awesome looking set of drums - all black with a beautiful crome rack mount system. Once the wires are grouped and hidden, it really looks sharp. Value Was this item an overall good value? No other manufacturer is offering anything of this quality and feature set to match. The snare is 14", toms 3 and 4 as well as the ride cymbol are 16". Something to really consider! I played a 1st generation kit that was really kind of flimsy and with unrealistically small heads (10" maybe?). Lots of top end features at the price put this in a class to itself.
Pretty good except for bass pad
By: Nojoishox      Submitted: 12/8/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

Alesis DM10 X
By: Michael Bourg from Weaverville, CA. USA, cajunbeat240@gmail.com      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Appearance


Value


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great overall product! Lots of kits to use or modify. Loads of sounds. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I gave it a 4 only because I'm having some issues with the snake cable. Also, my Ride cymbal doesn't respond well, however, Alesis via InMusic Brands is taking care of this for me. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the DM10 Module and the 10" and 12" heads. This was a big selling point for me as I personally wanted more realistic sized heads. Sound How is the tone? The sound is amazing especially if you fine tune the instruments as I'm in the process of doing right now. Don't get me wrong, out of the box they sound great but with minor adjustments, they sound even better. Appearance Appearance I love the RealHeads. Just a preference but I really like the way this kit looks with those RealHeads. The rack is nice too and the clamps are plastic which is a good thing because they won't damage the tubing. Value Was this item an overall good value? The overall value was great especially since American Musical Supply lets you make payments as you play. This has really helped out. I don't think I would have bought such a nice kit if it wasn't for this assistance.
This kit is good for drum students or beginners
By: michael7772 from AZ      Submitted: 12/8/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Alesis dm 10 module is the best thing on this kit. When it comes to module you just will not find another on the market that souds as good as this for the money Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The DM 10 module.. Drum rack! I would design a better drum trigger pad so when the head needs replaced you have to replace the whole pad and it is a lot more than a drum head Cymbal pads are Ok. Sound How is the tone? Very good for the money General Your general opinion of this product. If your on a budget this will work very well for you. Just keep in mind this design is not made to play on very hard because of the drum pads will need to be replaced before you know it.You have to buy the whole drum pad not just the drum head Value Was this item an overall good value? Not for me! I'm a drummer for many years so this was a good way to keep up my chops but the kit over all is ok for students that want to learn on a decent electronic drum kit. Appearance Appearance The Looks are very nice,except the bass drum pad,looks to small
Killer Percussion Set
By: Thunderfoot from Gainesville,Fl.USA      Submitted: 7/6/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? These drums are rock solid and so far not a glitch in the set up or programming your own sounds and assigning them to wherever you want to. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The sound library is incredible,the frame work and drums are very heavy duty.I would like to have seen an adjustable height on the inside bottom of the kick pad because with a double kick the right pedal is to the right of dead center and caused a slight rock until I added my own adjustable screws on the bottom where there were adjustable rubber pads but only 1/4" adjustment.I needed 1/2" to stabilize the kick, also wish the height could be changed on the HiHat pedal to adjust it at a lower angle for toe on HiHat and heel on left kick...I know move the pedals a little. Sound How is the tone? The sounds are "WAY KEWL" like Dude,where else can you get so many cool sounds.I like the idea of still having nine cymbal sounds (assigning cymbals to five rims) but only four stands (counting the HiHat). General Your general opinion of this product. I have been playing drums for 35 years and still Hip to new sounds.These drums do it all,I tore down my custom built 1977 Tama Bottomless Concert Set and realy dig this new set....still keepin the Tama set though. Value Was this item an overall good value? I shopped around for 3 weeks and this was the best deal for the amount of sounds you get and the other brands I tried out had less to offer for more $$$$.In my opinion....there was no comparison. Appearance Appearance The appearance smokes rings around all the other brands.
Good... but...
By: from unkownlocation77567      Submitted: 6/20/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems pretty durable. The rack is sturdy, as are the pads. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Love love love that it has 4 toms and 2 crashes. I wish the rack was wider, because I prefer to have my little tom more to the left of the snare on my "real" kit. I hate the feel of the heads. Mesh heads would be a real plus. Sound How is the tone? Meh. It's just ok. Out of the box, there are no kits in the 100 presets that I would play with. I just wanted a kit that sounded like a set of Pearls or PDPs... nothing spectacular. There isn't one. I found that on the "000 Fusion" kit, if you edit it pretty heavily, you can get a decent sounding kit. I increased the volume on everything and lowered the tom pitch a good bit. Now it's decent. The sensitivity out of the box was waaaay too low for me. No matter how hard I hit it, it never maxed out, and hitting it medium hard yielded mixed results. I CRANKED the sensitivity up and it's very responsive now. I'm not a heavy hitter, but I think it's too low for anyone. Cymbal swells sound like crap. crashcrashcrash... you know? I will be using Superior Drummer 2.3 with this kit, so this should solve the above problems. It would have been nice to be able to practice with just the DM10 module, though. General Your general opinion of this product. I think Alesis could do better. Memory is cheap, and it'd be nice to see some real samples being utilized, at least on a few of the kits. I like the kit, but if these guys really want to compete with Roland, they're gonna have to step it up. Value Was this item an overall good value? I reckon. Appearance Appearance Looks great. Sexy.
Best bang for the buck!!
By: Flampa from Portsmouth NH US      Submitted: 6/18/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Over all for this price point the entire setup is well made. The rack is a nice heavy weight chrome and provides good stability when setup correctly. Now it is true that the drum mounting hardware is plastic clamps but they do the job...all the toms including the 12" stay put. Try and set the clamp orientation up so that the toms are not at the end of the posts and you will avoid any of the big 12" toms bouncing. The only item I will replace is the snare stand. it is a bit cheap...not bad and works fine...but I would think most people would replace that with a more robust pro stand over time. The cymbal hardware is also very good quality for this setup. Nothing really to complain about..they work and work fine. Dependability would take months of playing to make a final decision. After owning this for several weeks and tweaking it up I don't see any weak points I would worry about long term other than the previously mentioned snare stand. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? O.K...features....well having 2x10"toms and 3x12" toms/snare is a huge plus. I just do not like 8" heads at all....even if they are mesh heads...and you can easily convert this setup to mesh heads. Actually that is a feature i would like to see...optional mesh head setup up...but you can buy this option on the aftermarket as I did so not really a big deal. All toms are dual zone so again another nice feature...would like 3 zone snare but not a big deal. Having dual zones on all toms also gives you the ability to split the input and use it for another crash...or whatever trigger you choose. I don't see using the rim on the 12" toms so long term i would split the input with a Y and toss another crash or bar trigger. I would like to have seen the hihat have dual zones though....bow and edge. But..again not a huge issue. I often will mix in acoustic components and usually just a real hihat and a ride or crash. Sound How is the tone? Sound is very good for any e-drum kit. I have owned 3 Yamaha's and tested Rolands and I know people can get picky on which one is best but to me...they all good and have their own strengths and weakness. The DM10 is as good as anything from Roland or Yamaha in the sub 2500.00 range. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall you get more drumming for the money in any kit under $2500.00. Keep in mind the price you are paying and you would be happy. Again...you can convert to mesh heads and reduce the noise from the mylar heads they use. They are not terribly loud but if you are used to mesh or rubber they may be annoying. Value Was this item an overall good value? Yes.....plain and simple. Appearance Appearance Now here this setup blows away ANYTHING from the other two players. The Yamaha's are starting to look like toys now especially in that sub 2K range. This setup looks beefy...great chrome rack..large toms...it looks serious.
Good, But I would have liked more.......
By: Tim from Sodus Point, NY USA      Submitted: 5/16/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes. The pads are very well built as will as all the claps and the rack is solid and heavy. The set weighs about 97 lbs, so make sure you have 2 people moving this thing. I believe it would be a dependable set. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? You get 4 Toms, Kick, Snare, Hi-Hat Chrome rack that is heavy and solid. This set features 3 cymbal pads (2 Dual zone crashes, 1 Triple Zone ride) that all have the choking feature.....BUT, There are NOT ENOUGH inputs on the DM10 module to have the ability to choke all 3 cymbals. You have the option for only 1 (if you add and additional cymbal). The only way to have all 3 cymbals choke-able is if you were to remove 2 toms (for example) then plug the TRS cables in Tom inputs and change the sounds on the module. In my situation, I needed one more cymbal (China) so I used the last input. So technically you could have 2 cymbals with choke, but that still leave one not able to be choked. Sound How is the tone? Over all sound is fine. I don't use this as a toy like most would. I use this as a midi controller and run it with Toontrack Superior Drummer 2. If you are using the drum set on its own then you will find yourself changing a lot of the sounds. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, it is a good product from Alesis. Well built, and solid. The lack of options with the cymbals and lack of inputs was a big downfall for me. Also their tech support is only open Mon-Fri 9:30-6:30 which for me is just not convenient. They have an option to leave a message and have them call you. I tried that but never got called. When I got a hold of them, they did not have updated paper work. They were using the manual from the Dm10 Studio Pro. Also the manual that came with my set was for the Dm10 Pro. This is a decent option if you are like me and can't afford a Roland, Hart, or Yamaha set. Value Was this item an overall good value? The set is really not worth the $1,200 I spent on this. I was It should have been no more than $750-$800. Though buying through AME was a positive experience overall. They were patient with me and answered my many question quickly. My only request would be to be able to find out which inventory is in which warehouse. But I will buy again from AME. Appearance Appearance Very sharp. The black pads with chrome hardware looks really cool.
Loading....