American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Flash Sale EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Alesis DM8 Pro Kit 5-Piece Electronic Drum Set  -  ALE DM8PROKIT LIST

its cheap for a reason
By: 50 years a drummer from johnstown n.y. u.s.a.      Submitted: 11/21/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? no was defective right out of the box Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? looks great I would go to individual 1/4 in. cables and have ability to add more triggers/pads Sound How is the tone? acceptable General Your general opinion of this product. you get what you pay for Value Was this item an overall good value? IF the kit worked as it should have it would have been a great value for the money Appearance Appearance has the appearance of a more expensive kit but that doesn't matter if it doesn't work right
Perfect kit to get back into drumming after 20 years
By: Rich D. from Brandenburg, KY      Submitted: 9/9/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Overall the quality is pretty good. The rack is a bit light, but it's pretty stable. the hi-hat pedal needs some work, but i gets the job done. Other than those 2 items, i have no issues with the kit. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I used to have a Roland TD-7. This has everything the TD-7 had minus the dual zone toms. With this kit, the toms are dual zone, but the brain doesnt support the extra zones. But if you ever upgrade your brain... Viola 3 more triggers to play with. The play-alongs are nice to jam with. the metronome is nice because you can subdivide the tempo and work on things like 16th note triplets. I love the fact that you can use regular drum heads on these triggers. I replaced the factory Alesis snare head with an Evans black onyx and tuned it up. Great rebound and sensitivity. Sound How is the tone? Tonality is pretty good with this kit. There are a couple of kits that are pretty trashy (read industrial), and that's a style i dont particulary care for. The alesis video for this kit gives a great overview of the sound quality. That video was a big contributor to purchasing this kit. The pads are a bit louder when compared to normal rubber pads, but to me that is offset by the ability to adjust the heads to get a better rebound than what you could get from a rubber pad. General Your general opinion of this product. I give this 4.5 stars. The only things that i would do different if i designed this kit, would be: 1. change the way the hi-hat pedal and try to make it feel a bit more realistic. 2. get rid of the cable snake idea and go to individual 1/4" stereo jacks on the back. 3. Enhance the documentation. It is lacking in regards to setup and fine tuning. Things like sensitivy, crosstalk, retrigger, etc, they dont cover in any detail in the user manual. Value Was this item an overall good value? For the money, i think this is an excelent kit. I would consider myself an itermediate drummer, and this covers all my needs, and ill be able to grow with this kit for some time to come. Appearance Appearance Overall, its a good looking kit. Nothing really to say here other than, you'll probably need to get some velcro wire ties to tidy up around the kit.
Outstanding quality for a great price!
By: John from London, KY, USA      Submitted: 9/6/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The pads are solid and not too heavy. I am new to electronic drums and I have been able to adjust to this kit rather quickly. The rack is extremely light but very sturdy. I tried out Roland an Yamaha kits before purchasing the Alesis DM8 Pro and I feel the quality of this kit is equal to the much more expensive alternatives. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The USB input on the back of the module is very handy. You can add new sounds as you need them and get studio quality recordings by plugging directly into your computer. The set comes with a free digital version of EZDrummer Lite which is fully upgradable. The pads are a bit louder than other brands but to me they feel much better to play than the mesh heads on Roland models. The price is amazing for a kit of this quality. I would add more audio outputs to the module. You will find this option on older Ddrum modules and Roland Vdrums. This allows for better mixing of each pad/voice when playing live. Of course I think Alesis is really focusing on newer computer/IPAD technologies where musicians are tapping into software instruments. If you are simply using this then the multiple outputs are not that important because you can do all the sound control from your computer. I just like to have options. Sound How is the tone? If you consider the natural acoustic noise created by the pads then you may not like this kit compared to Roland and Yamaha models. It is significantly louder. However, I prefer the feel of these pads and decided that the noise was not as important as feel. If you play acoustic drums and are looking for a kit for practice or recording I would recommend this kit despite the volume. The internal sounds of the unit are pretty good. The natural drum sounds are of good quality but if you really want realistic natural sounding drums I would strongly suggest using the USB connection with Superior Drummer or BFD. There are also plenty of cool techno/dance samples that are very fun to play. You do not have as much control over internal sounds as you do with Roland brains but consider the price. As I mentioned, Alesis seems to be focused on preparing their trigger modules for computer connection. If you consider this power and the thousands of software samples available then Roland cann General Your general opinion of this product. Outstanding quality and a great price. Great for simple recordings where you cannot afford your own recording studio. Also great for practicing and improving your skills. Value Was this item an overall good value? Great value. I still love playing my Tama Starclassic but this kit is very fun to play and I did not have to empty my bank account. If you are considering an electronic kit you should consider Alesis. Appearance Appearance Compact and very sleek appearance. I really like the all black look between the rack, drum pads and cymbal pads. Looks much more expensive than what it really is.
confused
By: old school drummer from johnstown n.y. u.s.a.      Submitted: 8/26/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? on scale 1-10 I give it an 8 not sure how dependable just took it out of box yesterday Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? has all the features I need Sound How is the tone? tone quality is great General Your general opinion of this product. instructions are very confusing at least for a 64 yr. old non tecno wizzard. I just want to play drums that sound like drums. I have a yamaha acoustic kit, but no room to set up and play. thus the electronic set Value Was this item an overall good value? yes I guess if I can figure it out Appearance Appearance very nice
Great drumset
By: Texas Drummer from Texas      Submitted: 8/18/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Light framework however durable Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Very nice assortment of samples to choose frrom as well as kits. Sound How is the tone? Tones are great...along with the ability to change them to your particular needs. General Your general opinion of this product. Great kit very versitile Value Was this item an overall good value? Best priced set for tthe money. Appearance Appearance Sleek and robust, does not hav the standard plastic pad appearance
Darn Nice
By: Glenn from Milton, Ontario, Canada      Submitted: 8/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Dm8 Pro has a solid mounting rack. All units as good as Roland comparables. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? For the money to have multiple size frum heads, unlike the DM10 where most are 8" toms, the various sizes are fantastic, the amount of high quality voices doesn't compare to anything else in the same class. Sound How is the tone? Studio quality sounds, what else can I say. General Your general opinion of this product. I would recomment this to anyone of any skill level. This can be ised in any environment, including LIVE. Value Was this item an overall good value? Better than expected. Appearance Appearance Looks pretty sharp to me.
Fantastic Set to practice on, or have in a small studio.
By: Bradford Guy from Peoria, AZ      Submitted: 5/15/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General


Value


Appearance


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was really blown away at the quality of the kit; definitely not a toy, but a pro unit that would be at home in a studio (my home studio!) Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I do wish it had more in the way of dual zones, but I can always upgrade or buy the DM10X at a later date. The DM8 brain is awesome; it is very easy to set up the zones and sensitivity of the triggers. The drum-less accompaniments really help for practice so it is not quite so boring. I would have liked an extra crash cymbal though. Sound How is the tone? Depending on the kit you select there are tons of great quality sounds. The tone is outstanding, whether through headphones or a PA. General Your general opinion of this product. I would buy again and I would recommend to anyone wanting a lower-cost "quality" set of electronic drums. The playability is great - I may go with mesh heads down the road, but I have no issues with the "Real Head" system provided; the pads play very well and are real close to acoustic feel as long as you stay away from the outer 1" or so of the pad. Value Was this item an overall good value? In relation to some other brands. The price is well below what I would consider reasonable; the quality, features, sound and playability far exceeded my expectation of value - there was no "buyer's remorse" on this item - NONE! Appearance Appearance The appearance is pro, all the way. It looks solid, it looks like something a seasoned drummer would have in his studio.
Love this kit!
By: Leslie Sloan from Denver City, Tx., United States, anonmyous61705      Submitted: 4/30/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? My thoughts on the quality is definately PROFESSIONAL. Everything I expected from Alesis on this kit held true when I got them. The only thing I wonder about being a weak link is the clamps since they are plastic. But time will tell. So far, have had no problems w/ them. Sound How is the tone? The sound is AWSOME! Our band members say they are amazed @ the sound especially w/ just the right amount of reverb & echo programmed in to the kit. Value Was this item an overall good value? EXCELLENT value for the money as many local music stores sell them for much more than American Musical.
Overall pretty good
By: from Atlanta, GA      Submitted: 4/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The small Tom1 pad doesn't trigger very well. The larger pads seem to be more sensitive. I'm not crazy about the ride/ride bell playability and the hihat doesn't trigger correctly some times when you open/close it. To be fair, I haven't played with the sensitivity on the sound module so it might just be user error. Sound How is the tone? Great!
wow very nice job alesis dm8 pro was a pretty good choice for the money
By: ROBERT BEAN from dekalb il. 60115, anonmyous61707      Submitted: 11/17/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? built strong an is durable Sound How is the tone? good sounding Value Was this item an overall good value? yes
perfect 1st E-kit
By: Rick B from land o lakes,Florida,United States      Submitted: 8/7/2011

Rating


Quality


Sound


Value


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i wouldn't expect anything less from Alesis Sound How is the tone? the sounds this thing produces are amazing, and the level of sound customization is incredible.. Also the kit comes with ez-drummer light for pc which is great. Value Was this item an overall good value? i would say this is an incredible value
People who rated this item, also rated...
Loading....