American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Ampeg PF500 Portaflex Bass Guitar Amplifier Head  -  AMG PF500 LIST

Lots of power in a lightweight box
By: Raymond Sanchez from Cranston, RI, USA      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Sound


Feel


Tone


Value


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality How is the quality of the product? Was it well made? Well made Ampeg quality, if you know Ampeg then you know what you're getting. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Traditional Ampeg features plus a little extra with the AUX in for I-pod, MP3 or any other device with headphone jack. Sound How is the sound quality? How does the sound compare to other products you've use? I was surprised at the sound quality it is very Ampeg-like, true to the Original warmth and depth and even a bit of fuzz or distortion to the sound depending on how you set it up. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value for the money.
Ampeg PF 500
By: Lamont Gridiron from Bakersfield      Submitted: 11/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The versatility in tone Sound How is the tone? Very Warm tone... General Your general opinion of this product. This product is great...I have owned this product before. It will impress you. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Ampeg PF 500 is whatever you desire it to be: Bright, Snappy, Dark, Smooth. The controls on the Ampgeg allow you to adjust the sound to how ever you want it to be.
Ampeg hit a home run here
By: Jeff jcrocks1054@yahoo.com from Corsicana, Texas      Submitted: 5/22/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound


General




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? so far so good..havnt gigged with it yet but has that Ampeg growl Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Compressor, PRICE, weight...minus-15 percent DB switch Sound How is the tone? has the Ampeg tube growl w/out the hassle of tube replacement General Your general opinion of this product. The only neg thing Ive found is no fuse circuit...using a high dollar power strip w/breaker..works for me ! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? GREAT !
Everything is perfect!
By: Craig from Lincoln, NE, USA      Submitted: 4/17/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Sound How is the tone? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin?
I was underwhelmed...
By: Aaron C Ramson from La Quinta, CA USA, anonmyous59269      Submitted: 3/21/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Iv'e only owned it for 3 days now but it seems durable enough.. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The compression knob is nice, and the gain adds a lot of bite. Sound How is the tone? UNDERWHELMING. After tweaking knobs for 5 minutes my first thought was to put it back in the box and return it. Where was that famous Ampeg tone?? It was as boring and flat as a Hartke or Gallien-Kreuger. I mean it just bummed me out. I threw myt trusty MXR pre-amp/DI/distortion unit in front of it and FINALLY my tone bagan to emerge. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You get what you pay for. Iv'e been using my friends Eden Traveller amp and that thing is amazing sounding with a balanced sound and great overdrive. It's also about $800 more than this Portaflex. I'll sum it up as the tone you would expect from a $399 amp, regardless of the brand that's slapped on it.
Small,light but powerful
By: Merejo Herm from Puerto rico, masterherm@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Ampeg built to withstand the daily use. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Adjustable tone settings for different types of playing styles. Sound How is the tone? Great Versatile with a broad range of settings Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin?
Ampeg Portaflex PF500
By: Nadraw from Eugene, OR, nadraw@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/3/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This thing is SOLID! Ampeg could have easily made this thing even lighter by using a thinner gauge sheet metal for the housing, but I am glad they did not. The knobs are smooth and as another reviewer mentioned, they offer nice resistance. They don’t just flop around. I expected much less for the price. Very impressed. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I think Ampeg read my mind! This little boogar has every feature I have ever wanted out of an amp. Mute switch, tuner out, preamp out/in, adjustable & switchable effects loop, plus all of the recording and speaker outs you could imagine! Even better, a straight forward compressor. And a good one at that! Sweet! Sound How is the tone? Loud as hell. Crystal clear. Low noise even when the preamp is cranked. Fan volume is minimal. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? OK, so here is where I was a little disappointed… but I still give it 5 stars! The descriptions tote “Ampeg tone” and “Ampeg's highly-researched MOSFET preamp”, and it is marketed as being “Inspired by the iconic B-15.” With all that being said, I was kind of hoping for the ability to get a little crunch out of the thing. But, no dice. I can crank the preamp to the point of overloading the amp input, resulting in ugly distortion, but no honk… no growl. Clean as a whistle. I guess I should have known that solid state would not give me the same tone as the SVP-Pro I had back in the day… But with all of that being said, it sounds GREAT! The best word to describe it would be: articulate! I’ve got a Line 6 X3 Live I can run through the effects loop to get some tube crunch if I need it. You can always add tone to clean, but you can’t go the other way around.
The PF500 will not dissapoint!
By: Taint Master J from Austin Texas      Submitted: 8/31/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have never been let down by Ampeg. I have heard of some people getting bad apples, but I am sure that happens with most any brand. As far as I am concerned, I will not lose a minute of sleep worrying about this heads quality and whether or not I can count on it day in and day out. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Built in compression, 5 position midrange frequency knob, mute button, -15db pad, ultra high, ultra low, and FX mix knob are some features worth noting. Besides the mute and -15db button, the features mentioned can allow you to dial in whatever kind of gritty Ampeg tone you are looking for. And best of all, these features are useful and not just flashy. Sound How is the tone? It sounds like an Ampeg should. I had a Markbass F1 head before this one and it was clean and transparent. This thing growls and made my bass sound a lot bigger in a room at much less volume. A big plus! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The possibilities on this head for different tones is amazing. Between the eq, midrange sweep, compressor, and the ultra hi/low buttons, you can get anything from clanky bass to smooth sultry tones.
Best bass amp I've ever used, BAR NONE
By: Jerry Thurston from Cypress, Texas, anonmyous59271      Submitted: 7/27/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Again, excellent. I've owned it for about a month and so far, I genuinely expect to be playing through this amp twenty years from now. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I'm just learning slap-and-pop techniques, so the fully-adjustable compression function is one of my favorite features (it's a knob, so you can adjust the compression from 0 to 100%). I also like the usual Ampeg mute features, which allow me to play all-out in a smaller venue without sacrificing tone. Sound How is the tone? Its sound is (or course) its selling point. What can I say? It sounds like an Ampeg. It handles everything I can throw at it, from deep muddy lines to the brightest my bass knobs will go, and sounds the same at any volume. So far I'm blown away by the tone. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It'll handle either bright or dark, depending on what I throw at it. I'm running it through a Fender Rumble 410 cab and it sounds awesome whether I'm playing bright and forward (Play That Funky Music) or deeper and more supportive (Thrill Is Gone). For country applications requiring a fatter/thumpier sound, I use the "Ultra Low" button and the "Ultra High" for more precise rock lines.
Ampeg does it again
By: Joe (RiverStone) Mcx from , mcelrojo@comcast.net      Submitted: 6/23/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This product seems very sturdy. Great finish on the metal casing. The knobs have a good feel and turn with just the right amount of resistance. No telling yet on the dependability, but it is an Ampeg after all. I dropped my Portaflex B15 down a flight of stairs once and it kept playing. What more can I say. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love how easy it is to dial in the various tones with this amp. I like the mute function for tuning. The variable compression allow me to get that smooth sound at louder volumes without sacrificing dynamics. The mid-ranged selector makes it easy to quickly dial in a different sound. Gain and volume seem well matched. Sound How is the tone? Above all with this amp it is the tone and sound. Nothing beats the sound of an Ampeg Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Such a wide range. All the way from that smooth Beatles sound to a crisp slapping sound.
awsome portable head
By: Jesse from Encinitas, ca, united states      Submitted: 6/20/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Sound




Tone






Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? For something made in china, it is very nice. I have used it about 20 times outdoors pushing my 610 and have n't had any problems. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I like the mute button and being able to tune your bass with out unpluging your bass, Sound How is the tone? loud!!!!!! and classic ampeg tone Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin?
Loading....