American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: BC Rich Gunslinger Retro Electric Guitar  -  BCR GRX LIST

nice axe overall, but could be slightly better
By: Ramz from CT, USA      Submitted: 3/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? overall it's a really nice guitar for the money I paid, plays well and looks great, no regrets... Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? overall nice quality, the body is heavy and the edges around the body could have been slightly more curved to make it more comfortable.. looks like a guitar that should have binding around the edge, but doesn't.. neck is great though, and I LOVE the reverse headstock.. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? it's a lovely guitar to play, maple neck is fast and comfortable, it makes me feel like a better guitarist when I play it.. as for controls.. well, there is the volume knob I suppose.. tremelo is nice and smooth, locking nut and floyd rose means you only have to tune once in a blue moon which is great Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? the guitar sounds nice.. bright, and even better through a distortion pedal.. but why is there no tone knob? every other guitar I own, even the dirt cheap ones, have a tone knob as well as a volume.. I'm likely going to put an EMG 81 on there anyway, in which case I might just punch an extra hole and install a tone knob anyway.. seems like a strange choice to me.. I realize the guitar is meant to be retro, but I'm pretty sure they had tone knobs in the heydey of poodle rock! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the guitar cheaply because it was advertised as scratched and dinged.. I'm still looking for the scratches and dings.. looks perfect, which is great given I got 60% off! :-) I'll probably have the body re-finished to something more 80s inspired, but that's my dubious taste in aesthetics! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? If I had paid full price I would be a little disappointed at the lack of a tone control.. just a volume knob looks great, but it's presumptious to think the tone will be perfect every time, isn't it?? Playability How was the action out of the box? guitar was set up extremely well, tuned it and played.. nice low action, no fret buzz, fast easy neck.. really playable
Great guitar great price
By: Robert from Indiana      Submitted: 10/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great guitar for the price cant be beat. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? out of the box it only required changing a broken high E string, and some adjusting of the floyd.Can handle anything from 70's rock to modern metal. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is middle of the road not too fat but not to thin,easy to play.The one volume knob does its job. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? the tone is fine while not a Jackson j90c or dimarzio pickup it gets the job done. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the orange metallic finish shines,no imperfections to be found at all. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? For under 300 this cant be beat.I couldn't find anything comparable in the same price range without buying used.
Old school looks at a reasonable price
By: Wyd-open from East Central, IL      Submitted: 10/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It's a great guitar overall especially in it's price category. Good for beginners and intermediates, and even pros with a few added touches. It would be a great gigging guitar, especially as a backup or alternate tuning option. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Good quality for the price. I have seen much worse go for much more!!! The body is pretty much flawless, the birdseye fretboard is nice, and the Floyd Special stays in tune just fine. The only area I can see where they skimped a bit is the tuners. They feel kind of cheasp, but a set of Sperzels or even Grovers will fix that quick. Tuners don't matter as much on a floyded guitar because of the locking nut, but some better ones will be ordered for this one. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It has great feel except for the clunky heel. I have had plenty of bolt on guitars,but this neck joint just feels bulky to me. I don't play up high often, so it doesn't affect me as much as it may other people. The neck has a great feel, kind of a medium thin D. Think in-between a Jackson and a Wizard II with a fairly flat back. It has a 43mm nut so the fretboard is a bit wider than some. The single volume is not close enough to interfere with my playing like on a lot of guitars. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I was surprised by the stock Duncan designed pickup. I figured I would have to swap it out for sure, but it's well balanced for the guitar and not too crunchy or too weak. It works well for all types of amp settings from nice cleans with reverb to scooped out thrash metal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint quality was surprisingly good for the price. I got the burnt metallic orange color and mine came with a birdseye maple fretboard which I didn't see advertised. That was a pleasant surprise. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is a great guitar for the money I paid. Even at regular price, it's a good buy. There are no music stores around me that carry anything I would want. I bought this on a chance and wasn't disappointed. Playability How was the action out of the box? Having a floyd bridge, it came detuned and unlocked from the factory to help prevent stress related breakage in shipping. That is understandable. After a quick tune up and set-up, it plays just fine and the Floyd special stays in tune very well. I am sure I will like it even better once I change to my preferred strings and do a full setup on it.
Great guitar! Don't be afraid of the cheap price.
By: Sandercaster      Submitted: 10/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Retro Gunslinger
By: Timbelial      Submitted: 3/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far, good. Haven't had it that long, 2 weeks. Seems strong and reliable. General Your general opinion of this product. Great for $300. Will replace the pickup, though. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Cheap pickup. Bassy, deffently not a Super Distortion. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the metallic orange. Different but paint job very good.
Yellow Gunslinger
By: JB from Niles, Illinois      Submitted: 1/20/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems well made. Cannot find any flaws after inspection. General Your general opinion of this product. Considering its place of manufacture, not too bad. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is nice when adding distortion, not too bright - just about right. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint job is flawless.
Best $300 guitar you can buy!
By: Templetantrum from Berryville, VA USA      Submitted: 1/8/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've never owned anything less than a Fender, Epiphone or Gibson. I bought this as a retro fixer-upper, but it's made much better. No problems after 2 weeks. General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent rendition of an 80's hair-band axe. Pickup doesn't need to be changed out immediately and set-up was pretty close out of the box. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickup was very responsive wide open, yet rolled back fairly well for easy rhythms. If you're a purist, swap for a Dimarzio Crunch Lab and you're still way under budget. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect.
Really surprisingly great guitar
By: Joey Angel from Centereach, NY USA, Dominatr37@optonline.net      Submitted: 2/7/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. I'd have tos ay excellent. General Your general opinion of this product. Very ,Very pleased with this guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Hot pickup, not terribly dark, but darker then I would say bright. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect.
Great Guitar For The Money
By: tlhamon from Flat Rock, MI      Submitted: 1/29/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very solid, great hardware, very good pickup, light wood (no anchor weight body). General Your general opinion of this product. At $300 it's better than most $800 guitars were 10 years ago. Great back up axe. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Again, this is no tone monster, but these guitars were meant to be played at high gain, so a 50 year old Strat would sound much the same. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint is fine if you can stomach the colors.
practicing musician's view on the Gunslinger retro
By: John from Cincinnati,Ohio USA, anonmyous65219      Submitted: 10/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was a little turned off that the guitar was made in China,as opposed to the earlier Korean models,but it seems to play just fine.The neck feels identical. Time will tell on the dependability.Guitar did need a full setup upon delivery,not suprised. General Your general opinion of this product. I've wanted a single pickup/whammy guitar for a while now.I wanted the tone,looks,and feel of an 80's guitar,(Think-Skid Row,Dokken,others)without the high price of a San-dimas guitar from that era. This guitar delivers just that ! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I will probably upgrade the pickup down the road,after the new-ness fades.It's hard to grade the pickup when you're useing a top-end Marshall tube amp! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The neck and headstock finish is flawless!The green body looks great although a little thin in some areas.
THE MOST AWESOME GUITAR FOR $299
By: Daemon Blak from Atlanta, GA, USA      Submitted: 8/28/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The fit and finish is fantastic on this guitar. No one else is building and selling a shred guitar with a Rock maple neck that has a 16" Fretboard radius. The only guitars that come close are Jackson and ESP and they cost more for Maple neck equipped guitars. General Your general opinion of this product. This is the most quality guitar I've ever bought in the $299 to $399 price range. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is absolutely perfect. Won't be swapping out the pickup Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The lime green finish is beautiful and high quality.
Loading....