American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Blackstar HT Stage 60 Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  BLC HTSTA60C LIST

gerryv977
By: Gerry      Submitted: 7/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

My first all tube amp...
By: The Mando from Gilbert, AZ      Submitted: 2/25/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Great Amp
By: Tom Bosco      Submitted: 1/30/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is a kick a$$ amp. Plain and simple. Better sounding than a Marshall I used to own. The clean tone is great for blues leads and sounds terrific on the neck pick up of my PRS. The versatility is also amazing. All 3 channels are great and the tone can be finely shaped. Its a killer amp with no effects hooked up. The built in reverb is pretty good also. The emulator output in the back produced a great recorded tone too. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be well made. Not flimsy. So far its dependable but I've only had it a few days! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Its fairly heavy but not ridiculous. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Between bright cleans to great Overdrive.
Find the tone trapped in your head!
By: Brian Osborne from Vancouver, WA, USA      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This amplifier is a tone machine! It seems as though the guys at Blackstar really did their homework when making decisions where to cut costs. Yes, there are some components that could be better such as the stock tubes and speakers BUT those are the parts that we as consumers can change out ourselves so it did not bother me. Also, it is voiced very well and sounds wonderful in stock mode so unless you are a truly picky player, I doubt you'll even need to mod the amp whatsoever. All in all, I am really impressed and it has become my main stage amplifier. I play rockabilly, doom, and hardcore punk. Does everything supremely. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is very well made and the design is flawless. I give it a four-star rating in quality because of the cheaper components, but they are installed very well and obviously undergo a great QA inspection. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Responds very well to every guitar I plug in! Easy to "follow the smoke to the riff filled land" and become one with this combo. I am a SG Standard guy through and through. Match made in HELL! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone options are incredible. I have been able to dial in any tone I can imagine aside from that mega Sunn fuzz. I think that's because it sounds TOO good and cannot achieve "bad" tone. Love the flexibility! I can use this thing at any gig with any group and be set. I run it with a Marshall 4x12 (picking up a Blackstar 4x12 ASAP) for that 3/4 stack sex appeal and depth. Action How was the action out of the box? Easy to dial in. Set to noon and adjust from there! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Man, a dark take on a vintage look. I could not be more pleased with the charisma of this amplifier. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only had her for a little over one month but I don't predict any reliability problems. Built like a tank and sounds just as bitchin'!
Awesome
By: Joel from Asheville, NC USA      Submitted: 3/31/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's heavy, well built. The tolex is tight all around and the grille is tight. I like that it has handles on the side as well as the top. The knobs and switches are high quality. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it for a few days, so time will tell. So far, so good! General Your general opinion of this product. It may have been a bit much to purchase as an amp for a person just starting out playing guitar, but once you crank the volume and strike your first note, you'll be in love. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It does what an amp is supposed to. The footswitch is very responsive with no lag at all. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Since I'm a beginner, I'm probably not dialing it in as tight as an experienced player would, but as of now it sounds great to me. I do, however, find the bass to be sometimes overwhelming from time to time. The clean channel is great even when the volume is low. The OD channel sounds fine to me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. The corner protectors are a nice touch. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Almost - but not quite...
By: Chris M. from Thurmont, MD      Submitted: 2/19/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've had my Stage 60 for about a month now, and have taken the back off to examine tubes, speakers, etc. It's a clean design, clean build, and no corners were cut in construction. My biggest problem has been with the Seventy-80s that come stock. I have no idea how Celestion thought that these flabby, flaccid, almost-hit-the-tone-but-miss-on-most-levels noise boxes would be acceptable for anyone with ears. Stock tubes are unremarkable but inoffensive. However, the Celestion had to go. I'm anticipatin delivery of a Governor and Man-o-War today that should rectify the speaker issue. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Again, only had it for a month, but I have no problems with the overall build quality. You should be warned: this thing is a beast, and if you weigh less than the amp, you'll probably not want to gig with it - at least without wheels. Apparenty, the unit accepts a 10m thread for rollers. General Your general opinion of this product. I've heard peopel extol the wonder of Blackstar's tone, and heard others bag on its circuits. My experience is that I have fairly well stopped playing my JCM800 2210 and this amp is my new mainstay. I've been waiting for my entire life to have this range of tone in one amp. The ISF feature alone is tantamount to replacing Mark II and rectifier. And - no offense to Marshall - it's lovely to have a clean channel that's honest to God CLEAN. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? As stated, the HT-60 is an 80 lb. monster. Thank God it has built in handles on the sides. Apart from build, the controls are fairly intuitive and laid out in a manner that is extremely user friendly. I chose the HT-60 over the Soloist for three main reasons: 2x12 design, extra tone control on the clean tone stack, and the potential sonic advantages of picking up an extension cab and running it like a 4x12. I've no experience with the Soloist,but being a full-stack guy from way back, I felt a little more comfortable with more output options. I'm frankly glad I pulled the bigger trigger. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is fairly ajustable between 60s Twin to modern Rectifier - and just about everything in between. I've found a general range of tones that I'm ecstatic with, but I haven't even begun to touch on everything the amp offers. I play everything from classical to blues, rock, hair and thrash metal, and there's room for all of them in this box. I've been so enchanted by the tone that I'm only using the amp's reverb. I haven't even bothered with EQ. Just all around wonderful for everything I've asked of it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I've got to say, they do a bang-up job on fit and finish, inside and out. No complaints at all there. Action How was the action out of the box? It took me about twenty minutes from powerup to find a number of tones that just kept getting better the more I futzed with the dials. Still excited about it just writing this. As stated above, there's still room for improvement, but for this price point? Can't be beat.
This amp just SMOKES!!!!!
By: Frank from York, Pennsylvania USA      Submitted: 3/1/2012

Rating


Quality




Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Time will tell... Only just got it, and since my equipment goes out to shows regularly, it it ain't roadworthy it will show. Seems to be a pretty well-built amp though. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell... Only just got it, and since my equipment goes out to shows regularly, it it ain't roadworthy it will show. General Your general opinion of this product. I've wanted to get a BlackStar for a while now... just wasn't certain which model. I LOVE THIS AMP! Right out of the box it sounds great... All three channels really deliver exactly what I am looking for! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Finally Great Tone and Simplicity.
By: M Hunter from Media Pa 19063 USA, hunterralphm@msn.com      Submitted: 1/3/2012

Rating


Quality




Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes very well made and heavy Reliability How has it stood up over time? have not had it long yet. General Your general opinion of this product. Great Sounding amplifier. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? na Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? na Finish How did the stain or paint job look? na Action How was the action out of the box? Great
Exceeded My Expectations
By: TKHumbucker from Hilton Head Island, SC      Submitted: 10/24/2011

Rating


Quality




Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well built and solid. Try to pick it up and you will see what I mean! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have had it only a month but it seems like it will last. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a high quality, high powered amp. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels like a monster of an amp Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Many different tones. A very flexible amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very good, no flaws Action How was the action out of the box? not applicable
Loading....