American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Bose L1 Compact Portable Line Array System  -  BOE L1COMPACT LIST

One is great Two are awesome!
By: DJ Norm from Ocean city, Md, normthedj@aol.com      Submitted: 6/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I already had one Bose compact now I have two, I also own the L1 M2 and a L1M1. Setting up tow of the Bose compacts is much quicker and lighter. One will cover a group of 100 so it give to reason two of them should cover up to 200 people. I've used them for groups of 150+ with great results. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Been using the first one 2 to 3 time a week for 6 months with no problems, been using both at the same time for two weeks with no trouble. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very lite weight with big sound and more bass than most give them credit for. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Sound and quick set up and lite weight Sound How is the tone? Awesome!
Better than I Anticipated
By: Leon 'Scrap' Gray from Sacramento, CA USA      Submitted: 5/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I pulled this out of the box and set it up in about a minute. I hooked up my wireless mic and it was crystal clear. Played along with my portable keyboard and instantly I was impressed. It will be perfect for our coffeehouse piano lounge gigs! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The jury is out on how dependable this will be since I just got it, but I suspect it will handle our gig schedule just fine. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Can't get any easier than just plug in and play. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The portable set up. Still have to make two trips, but not three or four. Just the BOSE PA, Tower and mic stands in one trip, Keyboard, Keyboard stand and gig bag in second trip. I'm set up in minutes and jammin. No monitor speaker to lug around or PA speakers. Life just got a lot easier for our group! Sound How is the tone? Excellent tone, running a mixer on it to adjust my highs and lows!
A Real Workhorse!
By: Adam from Boston, MA      Submitted: 5/4/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I've used the L1 for 2 years performing for bar gigs, private parties, weddings, indoor/outdoor events- pretty much anywhere you can play (and over 200 events). I use it primarily for guitar/voice solo gigs, but also for DJ-ing. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The product is extremely dependable. I ran into one of the designers at a gig out on the vineyard, and he said the compact is the most dependable of the L1 line. Bose put each L1 product through a 10,000 hour test cranked to the max and the L1 compact is the only one that did not have a single failure in the test units. I've never had a single issue. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? It doesn't get any easier...set-up in seconds. Even though there are only 2 channels, there is also an rca input and a 1/8" input, which are great for playing recorded music on your breaks. If you have a mixer or a pedal that combines your guitar/voice into a single line, you'll have even more flexibility. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best feature is the portability. I went from lugging around a PA or amp on a dolly to being able to carry in my whole set up (guitar, backpack with gear, and L1) in a single trip. This is especially awesome for city gigs that require blocks of foot travel between parking garage and gig location. This thing gets LOUD, too. And the bass is awesome...2 things you wouldn't necessarily expect when you see it in person. Also, it comes with high quality covers for the base and tower (bag with shoulder strap)...other speakers of this quality will charge you big bucks to protect your investment. The only feature I think it is lacking is a master volume control...not really a problem for most situations, but for those qiqs where the crowd size changes and the space is small, you may want to consider a mixer so you can run into a single L1 channel. Sound How is the tone? The L1 sounds crystal clear. What you put in is what you get out. If you have cheap gear, you'll sound like it. There are no effects (besides a factory set EQ that you can engage) built in. A decent pre-amp, mixer, or effects will definitely enhance your sound!
Amazing Sound & Horrifing Price
By: Mark from Maryland.      Submitted: 4/27/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Amazing sound. Light weight. Expensive. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Lightweight plastic. Comes with covers! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very EZ. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The sound and weight are the best features. Mixer section is woefully inadequate. Sound How is the tone? Fabulous.
Well worth the money!
By: Robert Ramirez from West Haven, Ct.      Submitted: 4/24/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I will enjoy this product for years to come, and as soon as I can I will order another one, it seems that is well made, and nice to look at, the moment you hear the sound is just amazing! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Its pretty well made, I had the opportunity to play with a friend of mine who owns also a Bose L1, and it never failed . Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Its very easy to use and set up is quick, it doesn't take that long. Using it with other products is easy too and it works nice. The manual is clear and simple to understand, with the different options you have you can play with it in different scenarios with no problem I love it! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best features would be, easy to set up, it doesn't weight that much, the access to plug your instrument is Visible right away on top. If I had to add something, it would be fluorescent signs to plug in with very little light at night Sound How is the tone? The tone is very nice, don't feel it crispy, is well balanced lows and highs, it feels warmth, really nice sound!
Simply Amazing.
By: rRashad from Arlington, TX      Submitted: 1/29/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Simply Awesome!
By: Douglas Haines from Ft. Wayne, Indiana      Submitted: 9/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I cannot say enough about the quality of service of your organization, the speed by which everything in my order was verified and shipped. The equipment is perfect! Thank you so very much! I will be back again and again! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent & very dependable! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? very easy to use. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? light, portable, fast setup, high quality sound! Sound How is the tone? simply incredible
Awesome unit for almost any application!
By: M Gregory from Grass Valley, CA      Submitted: 6/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Bose nails it! Perfect for acoustic guitar and vocals all the way to full band. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality it excellent. I have 2 of these units now. I have owned one for a year. It still looks new and works perfectly! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? It is really as easy as they say it is to hook up. I can set 2 up in 10 minutes including and external mixer for my band. I was up and running when I first got it right out of the box. You don't really need the manual but if you are a novice it would be helpful. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best features are all of them! It has inputs for 1/4", XLR, RCA stereo and 1/8" stereo for iPods etc. The controls are very simple and just setting the volume and tone controls at 12 o'clock pretty much handles most applications. I really would not add anything to it as it is very manageable as it is. Sound How is the tone? The sound is the best thing about the unit! The bass is smooth and present without the boomy-ness most speakers have. It has a 180 degree dispersion pattern so the audience coverage is much better too. You can use it as a main and monitor at the same time so it saves extra equipment and hookups. I use 2 for my 6 piece rock band for mains, with everything miced. One on each side of the stage. It even works outdoors! We get a nice balance of clarity and power. People have commented how good they sound. I would not reccomend these for a heavy metal band but just about any other type of genre will work well. Great for DJ use as well.
Perfect!
By: Hozay      Submitted: 5/30/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I do a single with tracks. Sound quality is very important to my job. I originally bought one 2 years ago and have been happy with it. Easy to carry, easy to setup, etc. I just bought another one to be able to project a little further and to run in stereo. I record my tracks in my home studio and I take an extra effort to mix these down to sound like a "band demo" recorded from the stage. Now, with 2 in stereo, I can spread the other instruments across my stage area and couple that with Bose quality, it sounds great!! I ALWAYS get compliments on my sound. A little pricey in comparison but you absolutely get what you pay for! Your back will thank you after a gig too. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Haven't had a problem with the construction or the internal pwr amp. The track that the speaker and stand interconnect with, seems to keep the speaker/stand very stabilized. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Assemble, connect, power it up. That's it! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The ability to carry your complete PA w/o help is a great feature. I would like to see a 4-band eq or some kind of frequency shaper without having to shell out another $500 for their mixer. It doesn't have enough channels anyway. Sound How is the tone? The tone is typical Bose quality. It sounds GREAT! It has a very balanced tone.
CLEAR POWEFUL SOUND
By: M.A. LONG from WARREN MICHIGAN      Submitted: 12/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? TOP NOTCH VERY STURDY Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? SOUND SOUND SOUND Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? SO EASY TO SET UP LESS THAN A MINUITE Sound How is the tone? PERFECT General Your general opinion of this product. WHAT A WONDERFUL SPEAKER SYSTEM
at first...
By: www.aluhbel.com from mcallen, texas      Submitted: 12/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? even do its made in china this thing is extremely solid. I have to say it one more time extremely solid. reminds me of apple products made in china but USA quality and engineering. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I got the hosa 1/4 to rca adaptor thinking whatever its only 10 dlls, and Oh Boy this thing defines stereo sound extremely well. I am using a pro fx12 mackie which is in my opinion a little on the bright side a little eq fixed the problem. the fact that not many knobs are present its because they are not needed. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? extremely easy. dumb proof. Sound How is the tone? rich, and at first not to warm it sounded like no sub was present. 2 hours later that thing was rocking my studio (double garage size) louder than 2 harbinger 15" powered which I use to have I couldn't believe it. after moving furniture and rearranging the studio/night club in my house, the compact l1 ended up in the back left corner. I didnt do it on purpose it was coincidence, the compact l1 placed in the corner started sound like a stampede of elephants running in to my house, tha bass took over every frequency in the sound wave making me feel like I had a horn loaded sub in my studio. by itself placed even behind furniture this thing sounds amazing, but once you find the sweet spot in your house, studio, night club, gym or whatever you are going to experience something incredible. never ever had the experience to hear this quality of sound before. I have a production company I really know about good stuff. General Your general opinion of this product. buy it invest in good quality speakers the experience is worth it. dont let it clip or it will bring down the volume. once it looks a little red just stop raising the volume. eventually you are going to get used to the good sound and start hating those old gigantic booming speakers.
kristle clear no feed-back sounds like a c.d
By: buddy valiante from westport, C.T 06880      Submitted: 12/4/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I trust bose when it comes to sound/speakers, but inputs and outputs, satisfactory but I sill think they're workin on the other links as of monitors and such! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? a super duper all in one stereo one plug fits all/opt. of custom mixers ad monitors Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? round peg goes into the round hole Sound How is the tone? unexplainable but needs the world to know it exists, it's real and it is the best brand where the sound is always true. General Your general opinion of this product. 1 out of 10 -------8.5-or-9.2!!!!!!!!
Fabulous!
By: Bill from Scranton, PA      Submitted: 11/29/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Durable materials, compact design, nice included covers. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Functional, easy-to-assemble design. Would add more input channels to basic design. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Exceptionally easy to set up and operate. Almost don't need a manual! Sound How is the tone? Full response. I was pleasantly suprised at the bass presence. Uncolored and punchy. General Your general opinion of this product. The best in its class.
Owner and user of the Bose compact
By: Shredder from Bridge City TX.      Submitted: 6/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made and dependale/ Bose quality as usual Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Features are good but I wish they would have used Uniplugs on each channel. I play harmonica thru a delay pedal into the mic input side. I have to use a impeadence matching transformer to convert the compacts XLR to a 1/4 inst. cord. Or if they had put an EQ on the guitar side like the mic side I wouldn't have to do this. Also the line out is a 1/4 female. Most house PA systems are XLR so now I have to use a direct box to convert the line out to an XLR? I use this as a clean personal monitor and line out to main house PA if needed. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Other than having to use Impeadence matching transformers for my set up it is very easy to use and set up. Sound How is the tone? Clean and clear, you get what you put into it. General Your general opinion of this product. Great compact package thet delivers clean clear sound. I like this way better than the amps I had been using to get clean tones and as a personal monitor.
Awesome for small venue
By: Ken C. from Nacogdoches,Texas USA      Submitted: 2/5/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Bose,they always make quality equipment Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Quality of sound while providing house and monitor sound Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Sets up in minutes,easy to use. Sound How is the tone? Tone is good but would have liked to seen a little more eq with out buying the tone match
set up - sound check - minutes
By: Johnny from Cape Cod, anonmyous46623      Submitted: 1/27/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? made well = Bose dependable = Bose Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? lightweight yet fills the room with clean vocal/guitar. would like to find hardshell cases for air travel Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? usually lug a power head, speakers, & monitor. don't forget cables/duct tape Sound How is the tone? 1st time I plugged in I was ready to rock. minor eq adjustment for different venues right on my guitar. vocals are perfect
I cannot say enough good things about this item!
By: M Gregory from Grass Valley, CA      Submitted: 1/20/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Wow! I think it's sturdy, lightweight and looks durable. The covers for the columns and the amp should keep it looking new for years. it is high impact plastic like most of the high end speaker cabs they make these days. It's Bose! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? This real feature to the Bose L1 is the SOUND! It makes you sound very natural and the 180 degree speaker projection means you have even sound anywhere in the room. The simplicity of the design makes it a pleasure to use. It has a direct line out for large venues so can take your sound with you anywhere. It will easily fit in the back of your Mini Cooper, even if you guitar doesn't! It only weighs 29 pounds assembled. It's one trip to carry you amp/PA into the gig! Leave your monitor speaker at home you won't need it. Use the line out to an external system for large venues with ease. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? This unit could not be easier to use! I got it and set it up in less than 5 minutes. This is intended for use by acoustic solo guitarists/singers. It is very playable. Sound How is the tone? The sound is AMAZING! It sounds better than any acoustic guitar/vocal amp combo I have ever owned or tried, and I have owned many over the last few years. The acoustic guitar setting optimizes your guitar and allows you to get a nice balance of lows and highs that I have never heard before. Also the sound is multi-dimensional, it sounds the same anywhere in front of the sound field. You can leave you monitor speakers home too.
What an amazing product!!!!!!!
By: Don B from NH, dbartenstein@usa.net      Submitted: 1/8/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Sound How is the tone?
BOSE ROCKS!!!!! This system is amazing!!!
By: Russell Lachney from Algona, IA United States      Submitted: 1/4/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Bose makes great stuff and I have no doubt that it'll withstand my heavy gigging as a solo act. You get what you pay for... Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best feature is the sound quality verses portability. I was a little weary at first getting the compact with only 7 speakers total.......But when I set up and started jamming....WOW!!! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Set-up is literally a couple of minutes and its ready to amaze your audience!! It takes longer to strap on your guitar, plug it in, and tune!! Sound How is the tone? Outstanding!!
It's Bose! What else can you say.
By: Ralph from Pacific Northwest      Submitted: 10/28/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have used the unit for approximately 6 months and have had not issues. The L1 Compact has proven to be a very reliable piece of equipment. I inititally had some concerns about the plastic composite construction, but is more than adequate for day to day use. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The unit could not be simpler to use. Perfect for the singer/songwriter looking for an easy, dependable, great sounding system. The addition of phantom power would be a big plus. The addition of a small external mixer with effects resolves the issue. All in all a great piece of equipment for wineries, coffee houses and small clubs. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Simple plug and play. Carry in, setup, ready for soundcheck. And all in less than 5 minutes. Sound How is the tone? Amazing Bose sound. Enough said.
People who rated this item, also rated...
Loading....