American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Bugera Vintage V22 Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  BUG V22 LIST

By: Rafael Estremera from United States      Submitted: 6/11/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Lots of Tone for the Buck
By: Ed from Live Oak, FL      Submitted: 5/14/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This amp is strongly built. There is a lot of tube tone in this amp fro the money paid. I paid almost the same money for a Fender Champ2 that this one mostly replaced, and the definition of the tone in this amp is unbelievable. It is extremely versatile, has beautiful clean tones, as well as nice sustained and clear overdriven tone. Not for heavy metal, but decent enough for blues, classic rock, country, and certainly fusion and other styles of music. What I like the most is that is bright enough, but not too bright, it has a nice well rounded balanced tone. I don't see how you can get more tone for your money. I can only imagine the V55, with what I get from this tine machine. And these are the loudest 22 watts I have ever heard. I imagine the V55, I think that will be my next amp purchase. I don't know about reliability because I have had it for less than a month, but I truly hope it is reliable. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp is solidly constructed, beautiful vintage look. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The controls are big, and this amp is very simple and basic to use. If you want an amp to just plug and play and immediately begin having nice tones, this is it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Not too bright, but bright enough. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful control panel, nice vintage look. Nice contrast between the black in the cabinet, and the cream controls and chicken knobs. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have been using for less than a month. It is well constructed, and I really hope it lasts, because I love the tone.
All tube amp on solid state budget!
By: Ron from San Diego      Submitted: 3/6/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. EL84 tube amp featuring 2 channels, triode/pentode switch, reverb, and pedal at an unbelievable price. Do yourself a favor and try one out or at least check out some clips on youtube. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far it looks ok but I did have to tighten up most of the screws because the cab squeaked. No big deal since it only took a few minutes and allowed me to check out the rest of the amp. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This has some awesome cleans on it and I get some nice bluesy breakup when I dial in some gain. My understanding is that this amp sounds great to begin with but changing the preamp and power tubes to regular garden variety JJ's really transforms it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Picked up a scratch and dent so this had a 1 small 1/4" tear in the tolex on back corner - no other issues found. It has that vintage/boutique look that makes it appear to be very expensive. Well worth the blemished discount received. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Not sure about long term reliability but for the price I paid and AMS extended warranty I'm confident about this purchase. So far so good.
Very cool amp!
By: Jerry Drew from Elizabeth City, N.C. USA      Submitted: 6/15/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Even though this amp is made in China, it has the features of the more expensive boutique amps-a little on the heavy side, but the EL84 valves push through our band's mix very well! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very solid construction and very appealing cosmetics- rooster head knobs,pentode-triode switch, nice footswitch-clean & dirty channels! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/a Reliability How has it stood up over time? I will let you know after it has been gigged for awhile!
Great Quality at a Great Price
By: Jerry G. from Glendale, NY USA      Submitted: 3/24/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This amp is extremely well made and very dependable. In past years I've had a Fender, a Vox and a Marshall. This amp is in the same league as those. Don't be fooled by the price. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had it for a short time and have had no problems with it. I don't forsee any. General Your general opinion of this product. Great amp for playing small venues, studio, or just practicing at home. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This amp is wonderful with pedals and you can add additional speakers. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This amp is great for playing classic rock, country and blues. The only thing I think this amp wouldn't be good for is heavy metal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not applicable. Action How was the action out of the box? Not applicable.
The Best-Kept Secret Among Tube Combo Amps
By: Bill V. from Dover, NH USA, bvendasi@comcast.net      Submitted: 12/29/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Sure sounds well-made, and time will tell. But you can't beat the features: External speaker out jack, a 4-8-16 ohm speaker impedance switch, an easily accessible Tube Bias adjustment, Front-face controls, an Effects Loop, and best of all, a Pentode/Triode switch to cut the power. You'll be hard pressed to find all that at any price .. let alone for $379. Reliability How has it stood up over time? It's still quite new so we'll see. Switching between channels works perfectly and the footswitch is built like a brick. And if you buy here from American Musical Supply, you get an extra year warranty - nobody else offers this. (Are you listening MF ?) General Your general opinion of this product. I've been playing professionally for 48 years and I've owned many vintage amps; Fender, Vox, Magnatone, etc. and the V22 can hold it's own with them all. For my show I need many different tones for both Rhythm AND Solos: Super Clean, Clean with an Edge, Lightly Dirty, and Very Dirty. (no metal) And I need all those options to be there with all pickup selections on my Strat; Neck, Neck-Middle, Neck-Bridge, Middle-Bridge, Bridge. (If you've never tried the Neck-Bridge combo you don't know what you're missing) This amp stays right with me no matter what I try. The Reverb is much better than most reviewers suggest, and being digital, should hold up better for road work. One hint: unless you like a super fuzzy sound, set the channel two gain control very low .. around 2 or less. That's all you need to get a nice warm tube overdrive. Takes pedals very well. I use Clean Overdrive, Chorus, and Tremolo and they all sound great. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Excellent. Front-face controls are the only way to go especially if you lean the amp back on stage. Top mount controls make no sense unless you NEVER have to fine-tune your sound (yeah .. right) or if you always have your amp standing on the floor with the speaker facing the back of your legs. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the above. I use a stock 2007 Fender Mexican Standard Strat (SSS) with a Maple fret board. I play super clean Country, Surf with Reverb and vibrato bar, thick chunky Classic Rock, smooth sustaining Blues, and P-90 type bridge pup solos with a warm mid-range bite. This amp does it all. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Stunning Retro looks. Black with Cream and cool gold piping. And no, I don't care if the design was "STOLEN" from another company. Everybody copies everybody .. let's get over it. Bugera gets more criticism simply because of the Behringer name. Action How was the action out of the box? Gorgeous tone right out of the box. Even with Chinese tubes and the stock speaker I will gladly use this amp as-is.
Buy one now
By: Rockin' George LaVigne from Bellevue, KY      Submitted: 12/23/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. I have used it in the studio for 3 days, and I just played a live gig with it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only used it 4 times so far. Very dependable so far. General Your general opinion of this product. The sound is top notch. 5 stars as far as I am concerned. The clean channel is awesome, the reverb sounds good, and the dirty channel really delivers. Nice warm reverb, sounds good on both channels. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Laid out very logical. Footswitchable channels and reverb. I would recommend this amp to anyone for a go to small club or studio gig. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is a tone monster. Buy one now before they raise the price. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is a very classy looking amp. Lightweight and the fit and finish looks great. Action How was the action out of the box? Right out of the box and right into the studio. You will live this amp. 22 watt, two channels, footswitch for channel and reverb, looks and sounds great. win win situation. Buy it now.
Tube tone at unbelievably low cost.
By: Ernie from Nova Scotia, Canada      Submitted: 9/14/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? If you judge by looks alone, you'd have to say yes. Reliability How has it stood up over time? On the reliability issue, the jury is still out. There seem to be fewer problems these days, though some are still reported. Regarding the much-lamented foot-switch: the foot-switch on my Behringer VT-50 has survived a year and a half of pretty much daily use (though not much schlepping around to gigs or parties). The Bugera switch looks like a clone of that one, with the added LEDs, the brightness of which seems to vex some people quite a lot. (Easy fix: put a bit of white vinyl tape on the blue one; that will bring the brightness down to a more civilized level.) As for the electronics, it has been my long experience that if any electronic device (computer, TV, stereo, etc…) survives the first 90 hours of use, it will probably be around until you can’t stand looking at it anymore. So, for the first three weeks, whenever I was home, I either plugged in and played the guitar, or hooked up a CD player and played guitar music through the amp. No issues, so far. General Your general opinion of this product. I finally get what this tube-amp mojo is all about. Solid state may be a bit tougher and more reliable, especially for schlepping to clubs and other gigs. But, for absolute sound quality, I’m a believer - tubes are the way to go. I guess, with an all-risk policy, schlepping it to gigs is not so risky either. Bottom line: I love this amp. Love the way it makes all my guitars sound. I understand why one guy, who got two ‘bad’ ones, kept replacing them until he got one that worked. In terms of value for your dollar, I don’t know how you’d do better than this. Have to be a terrific deal on a way more expensive tube amp. I looked for one of those for several months, and never found one. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? My Ibanez hollow-body finally sounds much more the way I had hoped it would sound when I bought it, untried, from another web retailer [at a fantastic clearance price]. The JF-1, which I hadn't picked up for weeks, sounds like a completely different guitar - not as rich and full-bodied as the Ibanez, but nice enough, and different enough, that I enjoy playing it again. And my Gitano fat-strat knock-off, which had been the best sounding guitar, plugged into the Behringer, sounds even sweeter through the V22. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Hands down, though, the biggest improvement is to the sound of the Ibanez hollow-body. The treble strings no longer have that metallic pingyness that was driving me to distraction. I now get a lovely chiming sound out of those strings…like a fine crystal glass, struck with a wood dowel. The other four strings have a rich, resonant, complex tone that I’d never heard before. Still not quite as woody as I was aiming for, but good enough that the AK-80 has become my favorite instrument again. That ‘woody’ sound may be in there. After almost 4 weeks, I still haven’t taken the time to sit and really play with all the possible tone shaping options and combinations…two differently voiced input jacks, the three tone controls, the bright switch, the triode/pentode switch, and balancing the pre-amp volumes against the master volume. I may get around to that, but I’m having such a good time playing with the nearly-out-of-the-box settings, that it’s not a big priority right now. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I find this thing gorgeous to look at. That cream-colored accent panel, the chicken-head knobs, the cast Bugera logo, even the leather-look carrying handle all look great to me. Kind of like a 1950s amp that’s been kept in a glass case with a nitrogen atmosphere for the last 50 years. Action How was the action out of the box? Those two input jacks work great for guitar and mike, too, if you have a pre-amp for the mic (so it has it’s own volume control). Mine is the Behringer pre-amp, with it’s own AX-7 in it. This turns the Bugera into a mini-PA system. Both the guitar and voice are clear and sound great. Also, the Reverb is just amazing. When Guitar World review the V-5 Bugera, the reviewer said the reverb was as lush as some reverb pedals in the same price range as the whole amp ($280). I don’t know if the V-22’s is 1.75 times better than that, but it’s pretty darn nice.
Great Entry Level Tube Amp
By: Branodn from Austin, Tx      Submitted: 9/5/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The amp appears at first to be very well made but upon opening it you can see the results of Chinese craftsmanship. Cheaper components, etc. Nothing that cannot be corrected with the proper application of electronics knowledge and a soldering iron. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Once I took care of the voltage regulator overheating issue (Well documented and replaced the blown filter resistor on EL-84 number one (Cheap Chinese EL-84 shorted and blew the resistor right off the PCB) the amp has been extremely reliable. General Your general opinion of this product. An incredible starter amp at an incredible price point if Behringer (Bugera's parent company) would fix the production issues, especially with the voltage regulator. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It's a valve amp with a 12" speaker = heavy. Feels well made but I can see in some areas the cabinet is made of MDF. At some point I will probably make a solid wood cabinet for it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I can get all of the tones I am looking for out of this amp. I was thoroughly impressed with the sounds as well as the stock speaker. A change of valves to a basic set of JJ's really helped it out. Will check out a few other tubes at some point to see if I can smooth out a few minor rough areas in tone. One complaint - the "bright" input acts as a bass cut rather than a treble boost. This makes the bright input a little less usable, but a capacitor change can addres that issue. Perhaps Behringer/Bugera should consider that modification. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Decent look and construction for the price point. Action How was the action out of the box? Bought used so I can't really say.
better value and sound than fender
By: tomykoz      Submitted: 8/13/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? compared to fender in this price range this amp is built way better and has more features Reliability How has it stood up over time? time will tell...but ive beat it up pretty good for 2 months at full volume with the only problem being a bad preamp tube...put in tungsol tubes and this amp really does blow away the over priced fender 65 deluxe....and the reverb hands down is by far a better sounding reverb than fenders spring....honestly you have to hear it for yourself to believe it! General Your general opinion of this product. buy this....change out the tubes...and play away Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? plays great....not very heavy Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? great cleans...good distortions...awesome reverb...fender could learn a few things from uli berringer Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i was really surprised on the build quality...cage over tubes....gorgeous grill and logo...heavy duty handle...i dont think a dump truck could crush the heavy duty footswitch...come on..what else do you need,other than an extension cab if your playing to more than 400 people Action How was the action out of the box? ....
Impressive for sure
By: Bill from Phoenix AZ, voodoo65@live.com      Submitted: 4/22/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems pretty solid. The footswitch is complete junk and I would suggest getting a custom switch right away but the amp itself seems well built. The tubes are encased in a metal cage and are well protected. Reliability How has it stood up over time? No issues so far other than a microphonic tube and the stock footswitch not being able to handle being stepped on. General Your general opinion of this product. I got one of these used from a guy who is a metal guitarist and couldn't get the high-gain tone he was looking for out of this amp. But I don't play metal, and this thing nails everything from sparkling clean to subtle breakup to enough gain to satisfy hard rock. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Again, this amp totally surprised me with it's sound. I am planning to buy another to run in stereo with my current V22. These are great amps, especially for such a small price. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? These are beautiful amps. The grill cloth is just awesome, especially under stage lights where it sparkles! The chickenhead knobs give it a nice vintage vibe and the creme tolex and gold piping add to that as well. Action How was the action out of the box?
Loading....