American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Electro Voice ZLX12P 2-Way Powered Loudspeaker  -  ELE ZLX112P LIST

Wow!!!!
By: RisingSun Productions from Seattle, Wa. USA, basstech4@gmail.com      Submitted: 3/13/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I'm in the process of upgrading my production company's gear and these EV's were exactly what I needed. The extra features (as opposed to what is offered by other mfgs) such as inputs, built in EQ and price point made this the perfect speaker. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be solid! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Plug and play. Was able to follow the manual to easily dial in sound. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Seems to be an all around perfect package. Sound How is the tone? Was pleasantly surprised by tonal quality. Even being a 12" woofer, this has some serious bass to it. The mids are clear and the highs are crisp. Will work well as a monitor or mains for small to mid size venues w/o the need of a sub.
Finally, A Great Powered Speaker
By: DJ Grant from Texas      Submitted: 2/25/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I tried numerous powered speakers before I purchased the EV's. They win by a mile... These are 12" speakers, so a subwoofer is highly recommended if you want the thump. That aside, they have a deep rich warm sound. Treble is clear and they capture vocals very well. AS a DJ I play all types of music and the EV's roll with every change. With the optional cover you have a great mobile setup that is easy to pack and go. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far, so good. Great design that is very effective. Not a lot of excess plastic and cabinet to brag about that serves no function. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Easy to use, good documentation. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Onboard LCD and DSP are a great feature not seen on other powered speakers. Would love to see wireless audio / bluetooth on these for a truly nimble mobile experience. Sound How is the tone? Far better than any speaker I compared in this price range. Accurate, warm and plenty of headroom.
Amazing Value
By: Shawn from Massillon, Ohio      Submitted: 2/23/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Amazing for the money.
By: Jeramy      Submitted: 1/28/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The sound quality is great. Crisp highs and good lows. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made and best of all compact and light.
Awesome love it.
By: DJ Slist from Blue Island,IL      Submitted: 1/2/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Sounds great!
By: Jake from Illinois      Submitted: 12/9/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Great sounding speakers with good sound tailoring adjustment options.
By: johnny from morris, alabama, usa      Submitted: 12/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Very clear sound, the bass is not as pronounced due to the cabinet size being compact and made of composite materials instead of wood. This is true of ALL composite cabinets. Bass is still very good. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Build quality is very good. Everything is flush and tight fitting and professional looking. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? These speakers are very easy to use. The DSP is easy to navigate. 2 xlr-1/4 and 1/8 inputs give you nice options. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The EV sound is the best feature of this product. I wanted a great sound and I got it. Sound How is the tone? The sound is EV all the way. I knew with EV I would be happy, even at the lower cost vs competitors in the same performance level. These speakers have excellent clarity at a very high volume. I am very pleased. These speakers compare to the QSC K12 speakers. Both sound excellent, but the ZLX 12s cost much less. If anyone says these speakers do not sound good, they are wrong. The sound is professional quality. The expectations should be for professional sounding 12" pa speakers. 12" ZLX pa speakers will not fill a stadium with sound, but WILL do the job intended for them.
Great monitors! more than pleased with price as well as performance!
By: Brandon W from Indiana, dqrp6435@yahoo.com      Submitted: 11/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. i decided on powered monitors after ive had enough spending approx 1200 for a pair of monitors/amp... ive read many reviews on these, but it didnt hit me until i got to use these at a gig. WOW. i cannot say enough: very light, easy set up, sound great (even with a little guitar through them). i plan on using them for my dj gig as well. by them selves, bass response is decent for these little cabs Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i was iffy on build material but these are just as good (or better) than any wooden box in its price range. very clear, EV quality here. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? as mentioned above... VERY easy to use. i will start by how amazing it is to carry these! im a whimp, my JBL JRX125 cabs make me strain at only 95+? lbs. ill carry one each hand and not even flinch. this makes it easy to set up and tear down (doesnt make you tired!) if youve watched vids on how great the handles are, theyre no joke! works like a charm! nice design! Next, use the DSP to set what youre using it for. vox for speech? fine. vox for monitor? fine. you want heavy bass for club? fine. its all there. adjust treble and bass gain, overall gain, gain on ch1 and ch2... apply power, a source of sound (mic, ipod, ect) and youre there.... Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? everything. compact size, power, versatility, handles, dsp Sound How is the tone? if need be, theres great bass response with a little eq. still recommended with subs but if you dont have any, its still great. for monitor, even better. vox are real clear. a great anti-feedback monitor!
Sounds great!!! Best sound for the bucks, hands down!
By: Dutch Opperman      Submitted: 10/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Decent Speaker for the money!
By: Anton from Upstate NY      Submitted: 10/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. These are interesting speakers.. I was skeptical at the price and with the spec's quoting A lower db output than my QSC K10's, I was a tad worried.. I currently use a set of EVX118P's for subs and a set of QSC K10's for the tops for my fronts.. This has worked well but when I an add a drummer to our duo (to make a trio), we definitely needed some monitors so I wanted to purchase 2 more powered speakers.. When I saw the Dent and Scratch pricing, I went for these and have been very pleased.. IN fact, They sound good enough to be used for fronts.. I put them on the poles and they match my EV Subs nicely.. I now use the K10's for monitors when we have a the drummer sit in Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It seems to be well made.. They definitely don't seem as nice as my QSC speakers and not even quite as nice as the EVX series.. The knobs feel ok but seem less expensive.. Overall though, considering the price, I don't think you can complain.. Time will tell.. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The push button dial knob is easy to use.. Scrolling through the menu is a breeze.. OTher than that, the DB level for speaker output is a little bit different than a dial with 0 to 10 on it.. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The digital processing is nice.. It seems to have limiting built in and it seems to work.. Sound How is the tone? Sound is good.. I did notice that I needed to increase my low mid on my EQ a bit (I was cutting more with the QSC) but they sound pretty good.
What great sounding speakers...QA? Eh...
By: studiohead from Port Jefferson, NY USA!      Submitted: 9/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. They look great, they are loud, clear, light, easy to carry...get the bags...the digital EQ and volume, etc, is great, and actually does something... Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks extremely well made...solid feel, rubber carry handles are tops! Only complaint is the 1/4 inch inputs on the multi plug crackle and have a terrible hum... Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Easy. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Small, loud, look great! Sound How is the tone? Excellent
Good Value for price
By: Larry M      Submitted: 9/20/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Overall a great product. The highs are a little harsh but can easily be EQ'd out. On club setting they limit fast, I'd def suggest using with a sub
These speakers are way better than I thought they would be!
By: Sound Guy from Omaha, NE      Submitted: 8/20/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. These speakers are incredible for the price! I used to use Mackie SRM450s for my main speakers. The older Italian made ones not the Chinese ones. These EV speakers are lighter in weight, easier to handle, have more options and sound so much better and smoother than the Mackies. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? They seem very well made. The finish is good and there are no rattles at high volume. I've only had them for a couple weeks but they have been great so far. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? These are very easy to use. I didn't even need the manual to set them up. The DSP menu tells you everything. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the 2 inputs on each speaker and the DSP menu. The 1/8 inch input is also great for plugging in an iPod or iPhone to play music while you tear down the rest of the system after a gig. Sound How is the tone? The sound is great. We play as a 5 piece cover band with 3 vocalists and these speakers have more than enough sound for our gigs. We use them by themselves for indoor gigs and we add a Mackie sub when we play outside. You just can't believe how good they sound for how little they cost. EV has always had great sounding speakers and these are no exception.
Kills The K12....I love it!!!
By: carlos lomeli from United States, bookinthemix@yahoo.com      Submitted: 8/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Great sound, great value!
By: John Marasheski      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

A MUST BUY, LOOK NO FURTHER
By: Mike P from United States      Submitted: 8/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Well worth the money!
By: Donald Smith from Davidson, NC, US, jabari162002@gmail.com      Submitted: 8/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The first day I got them, I hooked one up to my ipod, and I was amazed at the sound I got from just the one! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made, and very dependable! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The new EV-ZLX12P was very easy to use right out of the box! All I did was play around with the controls, and I was off and running! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The best feature is the new LCD display and unique single-knob DSP control with presets to give you the best performance possible! Sound How is the tone? If I could not see the speaker when being used, I could not tell if it was a ZLX15P or ZLX12P because it sounds so good, even at a high volume!
Happy Camper!
By: Jason from Amherst      Submitted: 7/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I've been looking for something to go with my POD HD400 to play live and for practice. I love the way the POD sounds when I record and play through my studio monitors and I want to take that same sound to the practice room and the stage. After much research I decided on the ZLX12P. After I got it I was very happy with the results and immediately got a second so I can go with all my stereo patches live as well. I have a Marshall 100w half stack and just one of these can keep up with it and both will blow it out of the water! These things crank! Plus my acoustic guitars sound incredible through them! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seem very well made but only time will tell. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Super easy to use! I also have a set of DAW outputs going to them so I don't have to use my monitors when I just jam through the DAW. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The class D amp is a killer design and the DSP is a must for use with an amp modeler. Sound How is the tone? The tone is almost like an OVER SIZED pair of studio monitors. Very clean with full a frequency response. Oh yeah, very LOUD too!
Among the BEST!!
By: Sean Kirkendall      Submitted: 7/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great speaker. Getting to hear many different speakers I prefer this one. These are great speakers for the price and nothing can touch them at this price range. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a very dependable speaker and can take the beating that traveling will give them. If you want to keep them looking good get covers for these. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? plug and play. If you are just needing a top speaker for something small just plug in turn up the volume and rock out. Settings are the easiest with the DSP LCD on the back of the speaker could have never been more pleased with the ease of use that EV has implemented into these wonderfully crafted speakers. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? the LCD menu is the greatest. It makes setting up the speaker a breeze. NO MORE DIPSWITCHES!!!! I never will be able to go back to dipswitch powered speakers again this is the greatest thing EV ever done. Sound How is the tone? AMAZING. Like even outscreams the Bose system. These things can do events of 1000 easy. Just pair these with a sub.
THE BEST ON THE MARKET
By: DJ Redd - Sound Tight Entertainment from Miami, FL, loveexpressdjs@gmail.com      Submitted: 7/10/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I've been a DJ / Sound Engineer since 1990 and by far the best investment I've made this year. Prior to getting the ZLX 12P I bought the Behringer 1000w 15" powered speakers and they couldn't come close to these. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is excellent and very light. Easy on my back after a long night. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? The ZLX12p I found it very easy to use. I'm the type of person that tries things 1st and read after if I get stuck (I think the manual is stillin the box - lol). Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I like the LED light and the option to turn it off, use it as a clip/ limit light. I also like that it has a seprate input for a ipod. Sound How is the tone? I've play at a party on the 4th for 1 of my regular customers and even they notice how loud and clean they sound
Stop shopping.
By: matt patterson from Indianapolis, IN      Submitted: 7/1/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, another home run on the EV powered speakers. Unbeatable at the price. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've been running a full EV powered front line for well over a year without so much as a hiccup. It's safe to assume that this pair will be much the same. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I'm using these as monitors and the setup and use is pretty idiot proof. The DSP is simple, intuitive, and actually useful given the built in curves for selected use. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Apart from the sound, these speakers are simple and wonderfully portable. The DSP is very good. Overall, the speakers are very light, the handles are perfect, and the build is excellent and rugged. Sound How is the tone? If you haven't heard the EV powered speakers yet, do yourself a favor and take a test drive. The sound is pristine - sparkling highs, full crisp mids, and solid (but not boomy) lows. I couldn't be happier with the sound.
Great Sound and Easy Adjustments
By: GASMusic      Submitted: 6/30/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I purchased 4 of these but 1 of them has a buzzing sound because of the LED wire vibrating against the speaker cone. Other than that, they sound absolutely wonderful!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very Easy to Adjust Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The DSP features and Lite weight Sound How is the tone? Great sound
great sound at a decent price
By: Fred      Submitted: 5/31/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. These speakers are fantastic as monitors. I'm not sure I would try to use them as mains with drums and bass guitar in the mix, not without a sub anyway. They are very clean and LOUD for vocals though. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? They seem well made with good fit and finish. Feel solid. Only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is the wires running to the LED's are too long and were vibrating against the speaker cones. Not a big deal to fix, but that seems like a pretty silly oversight for EV and it's a known issue to anyone who's watched reviews on Youtube. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Operation couldn't be simpler - read the manual. Set your VU meters below unity, then turn up the master - a little at a time! Having on-board EQ is nice as well. When placed on the floor as a monitor, though, you kind of have to stand on your head or roll them forward to see the display. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Sheer power from a box this size and weight is very impressive. They're clean and clear. Sound How is the tone? Very natural, not honky or muddy at all. And that's with EQ flat on both the speakers and the mixer
Awesome Speaker Awesome Sound Fantastic Price!!
By: DJ C Style from Kansas City Missouri      Submitted: 5/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I was simple blown away! I received the ZLX12P speakers yesterday 5/16/13 first thing 5/17/13 I djed a elm school gig in a medium sized gym and the speakers kicked A$$!! With major sound production and clear lows and highs for such a compact speaker!! I will buy another set soon!! DJ C Style KC MO. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very dependable. Built very light but solid as a rock! Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? See speaker, plug in speaker, plug in music source, crank up the jamz! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? These speakers are very compact yet so full of sound! EV Knocked this out the park!! The price was very comfortable! I wouldn't change a thing! Sound How is the tone? Excellent!
Absolutely Amazing!
By: Ben from Utah      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great sound, easy setup, sturdy, lite, and awesome price! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made, should last a long time. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Plug and Play! Simply input where you put it and what you are listening to, it takes care of the rest. Sound How is the tone? Sounds great! At first I thought the sub was on but it was just this little guy.
Blown Away!
By: Karl Franzen      Submitted: 4/27/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Simple setup using the LCD display and controls. Awesome features and performance fir this price range. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to setup using the LCD display. Sound How is the tone? Better than I expected. Worth every penny and then some. General Your general opinion of this product. Great fit and finish combined with outstanding sound all for under $800 a pair! I'm definitely getting another set.
Loading....