American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone DR212 12 String Acoustic Guitar  -  EPI DR212 LIST

12 String w/ ?
By: Tommy O from Phx      Submitted: 5/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It did not come with the free Tuner described as included with the order. Some weird reason no one in customer service seems to know what i'm talking about. I'm certainly not making it up..... Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Good Feel Was it easy to reach the strings? How comfortable was the playing position? Great Tone Is the tone well balanced? How does it project? not sure because I couldn't tune it Finish How did the stain or paint job look? nice Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? good Playability How was the action out of the box? not sure couldn't play it, popped a string tuning it, should have purchased a tuner with it? lol
Fantastic quality for the price!
By: Jim Durow      Submitted: 5/20/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Overall I am very impressed with the quality, construction and sound of this guitar. It definitely exceeded my expectations. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality with regard to construction, finish and tone is very, very good. I play mainly folk and a little bluegrass and it performs very well for both. Feel Was it easy to reach the strings? How comfortable was the playing position? The strings have a surprisingly light action for a twelve string and the neck is thin and nicely contoured to afford a very comfortable playing position throughout the entire range. Tone Is the tone well balanced? How does it project? I own and play a Martin D-28 so this DR-212 had its work cut out for it with regard to a tone comparison. I rated it a 4... not as rich as my Martin certainly but impressive nevertheless. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The overall finish was flawless - deep and rich...not much more I can say about that. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got much more than I expected for the price. Years ago when I was in school and was performing, I had and played a 12 string every day. Then marriage, job, etc. curtailed my playing and I gave it away. I regretted it almost immediately. But now this Epiphone has re-sparked my interest and, even at a most reasonable price far out-shines my old one. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action out of the box was smooth and comfortable...even for these out of practice 65 year old hands!
Reminds me of my Samick ST92
By: GearJunky from Fort Mohave, AZ      Submitted: 3/20/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? First off, let's get the dimensions out of the way; for some reason, finding these basic dimensions on a lot of guitars and cases is close to impossible; just try to find the dimensions of the DR-212 on the Epiphone web site. Length: 43", Bout length: 19-7/8", Lower bout thickness: 4-3/4", Lower bout width: 15-1/2" So now you can look for a gig bag with the full knowlage of what size guitar you are trying to squeeze into it. The only thing that is out of the norm with these dimensions, is the 43" length (Most bags are 39"-41"). You can always opt for the Epiphone hard case: EDREAD, or World Tour RWG20D, or GBA100 (thinner of the two). Now that the hard part is out of the way (finding a case), on to the review. As my title says, the guitar reminds me of my Samick ST92 which is a VERY well made 3/4 Spruce top acoustic which is also made in Indonesia. I have played guitar for over 40 years, so I have a collection of over 100 guitars, and 11 of them a acoustics, but this is the first 12 string, and I bought it just to have it around for songs like Hotel California, Etc., and was not willing to drop a lot of money on a guitar I would rarely use. I am very impressed with the build quality of this guitar for the under $170.00 asking price. It tuned up with no problems, even though the tuning process is arduous compared to a six string, and you constantly think you will pull the bridge out due to all that string pressure. The bridge plate on these 12 strings must be huge! I found that when tuning, you should up stroke the small strings so that you don't hit the large one right next to it. I have no fret buzz, finger rash, or problem areas with the fretboard on my guitar, and the strings sit low which I like. The nut is a bit sharp on the edges, but a file or sanding will take care of that. The strings are not that bad, and will do until new ones come in for the first change out. I have seen a wide range of reviews on this guitar, from terrible to fantastic, but the one I have is the later. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This is a very high quality (made in Indonesia) guitar. Feel Was it easy to reach the strings? How comfortable was the playing position? Playing a 12 string takes some getting used to, even though when you do play it, it has a much bigger sound and even small riffs sound exceptional. Tone Is the tone well balanced? How does it project? Great tone from the guitar. A lot of it comes from the bout being wider at the bottom. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? As far as I am concerned, Indonesia has the best finishes on any guitars available today. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? A great value. Much more than expected. Playability How was the action out of the box? 12 strings take some getting used to, but the strings sit low, and I am not having any problems playing it.
WELL WORTH THE MONEY
By: RUBEN GOMEZ from SAN ANTONIO,TX.U.S.A., rubengomez291@yahoo.com      Submitted: 2/6/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER INSTRUMENT.BETTER THAN GUITARS AT THREE TIMES THE PRICE.SMALLER THAN I EXPECTED.LOWER BOUT DEEPER THAN UPPER BOUT,THAT'S WHERE THIS GUITAR GETS IT'S BOOMING SOUND.I AM IMPRESSED. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I NOTICED THE STRINGS ARE RUNNING TOO DEEP THROUGH THE NUT.THEY SHOULD BE RIDING SLIGHTLY OVER THE NUT.HAVE'NT HAD IT TOO LONG TO JUDGE DIFFERENT GENRES OF MUSIC.EXCELLENT QUALITY. Feel Was it easy to reach the strings? How comfortable was the playing position? NECK WIDTH SMALLER THAN MY TAKAMINE.NECK HAS GOOD PLAYABILITY.IT'S SMALL SIZE FITS VERY GOOD IN THE PLAYING POSITION.STANDING OR SITTING. Tone Is the tone well balanced? How does it project? NICE INTONATION.PROJECTS VERY NICE.IT'S A PLEASURE TO PLAY. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? PERFECT. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? IT'S MORE THAN I EXPECTED.EASILY WORTH 3X THE PRICE. Playability How was the action out of the box? ALL I HAD TO DO WAS TUNE IT.READY TO GO.
Well worth the money
By: Alice      Submitted: 1/15/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great Value
By: Brian from Rockford, Michigan      Submitted: 12/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I always wanted a 12 string guitar, but didn't want to lay out big money. I have an Epiphone Les Paul and was impressed by it's quality, so for the money I couldn't pass this up. It is a quality instrument. Fit and finish is flawless. The only reason I rated it 4 for feel and playability is that the neck binding is kind of squared off (not rounded) and is a little uncomfortable when playing barre chords. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Flawless. Couldn't find a blemish. Feel Was it easy to reach the strings? How comfortable was the playing position? The action was great right out of the box. The only thing I didn't like is the squared off neck binding. Tone Is the tone well balanced? How does it project? Good tone. Chimey. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value. More than I expected for the price. Playability How was the action out of the box? Great. Close with no buzzing.
great value!
By: David v. from Bowie md USA      Submitted: 9/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? You just can't beat the value. This is a quality instrument.. its is quite attractive and It sounds great, right out of the box (well, I did tune it ;). Great action. I'm glad I ordered from ams. Free 2 day shipping... But I had it at my house 24hrs later! Very impressive.
Well worth the money
By: Bill      Submitted: 8/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

well worth the money
By: traci lamar      Submitted: 5/28/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Beautiful sound
By: Frank D      Submitted: 5/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Great guitar for the price
By: marty from silver spring md usa      Submitted: 2/20/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made General Your general opinion of this product. Always wanted a 12 string but wasn't quite sure of making a big investment for a type of guitar i was unsure of. Love this guitar sounds awesome really enjoy playing it Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? nice tones, really rich sounding
Great deal
By: Slann from Mountain View, CA, USA      Submitted: 9/6/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, excellent workmanship. General Your general opinion of this product. Very good tone and build quality. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Clear, full range of frequencies, great harmonics. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very good!
Loading....