American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Nighthawk Custom Reissue Electric Guitar  -  EPI EDNH XXNH1 LIST

Very impressed!
By: Michael from Stamford, CT USA      Submitted: 11/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a great guitar for the money. So many different tonal options. You'd have to buy at least three other guitars to get the sound potential of the Nighthawk. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality is excellent. Is it a Gibson? No. It's not. The first guitar that I received has a mini humbucker that didn't work. Definitely a letdown. But the exchange was easy. The second guitar had some minor imperfections on the metal work. No big deal. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is awesome. Very fast. Controls are easy to get to. The coil tap pull out is great. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone? You can get so many different tones out of this guitar. The single coil is a little hot, but I think that is a plus. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is good. Beautiful to look at. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? For the price, I think I got a hell of a deal! Playability How was the action out of the box? Action is ok. A little fret buzz. Put some Ernie Ball Extra Slinky's on and it got a little better. Will probably end up taking it to a shop to get properly setup.
Excellent Epiphone Guitar
By: chelle60 from Arlington, TX      Submitted: 3/25/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? this guitar is lightweight, with a very slim profile but still solid, all joints and finish edges are of good quality. General Your general opinion of this product. well-made for a "cheap" guitar. at this price point, i have not ever played a better, more versatile electric guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? i love mahogany body guitars for their warmth, depth, and sustain - this has all of those. the assortment of pickups and coil splitting means you can also get some smooth highs that cut through the mix. this guitar works awesomely with my superego synth engine box, which keys off the highs in a chord. i've been able to play everything on this guitar, from Pat Green to Breaking Benjamin to Katy Perry to Muse. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the finish is slick, and the flamed maple is generally pretty nice on these. the color i ended up with is transparent amber because that was what they had. i'd love to see this guitar in the new Desert Burst or in one of the "tea" stains.
Best Bang for Your Buck
By: Pete77 from Largo.Fl. USA      Submitted: 3/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be very well made. Plays like a dream and sounds better! General Your general opinion of this product. As I had purchased a refurbished EPI LP Junior two weeks ago because the EPI's have a much darker rosewood fretboard than inexpensive Gibson's that have a much lighter rosewood. These guitars are an excellent value. If I wasn't 60 years old, I would not hesitate to take the Nighthawk on the road. In my studio which is very small, I have been using a Fender Super Champ X2. It's a very bassy amp at low volume which is where I play. So, I stuck it into an old solid state amp which has modeling and effects and it sounded GREAT! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Depends on the amp. The pickups are the best. I never owned a multi-pickup guitar that had perfectly matched pickups before. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? One small mistake on the finish of the lower front bout in the point where the binding is. Big deal at this price!
I was impressed with the looks and sound.
By: Rider from Galena, Ohio, USA      Submitted: 1/28/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It appears to be well made. I've only had it a few days, and so far I am impressed with it. General Your general opinion of this product. I like the look, sound and feel of this Nighthawk. I got the S&D honey burst. The flaw looks like a little spot of glue oozed out at the neck/body joint and caused a small discolored spot, smaller than the size of a pencil eracer. other than that it looks great! I like the binding on the body and the bound fret board..They list these as having a rosewood fret board. Mine is definitely ebony. It would be hard to beat this guitar for the price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups aren't the hottest, but you can get almost any sound you want from it with the 5 position switch and coil tapping. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Other than the small blemish, the finish looks really nice. I really like the flamed top and unpainted back and sides.
epiphone nighthawk: future collector's item
By: rich crabtree from so. burl. vt.      Submitted: 1/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made! (surprisingly so actually.) General Your general opinion of this product. it's not just a cheaper version of a gibson (-they don't offer this model anymore).the epiphone nighthawk stands on it's own. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the pick-up combinations enable you to get all of the above. most impressive! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i bought an s&d, but the slight defect is barely noticeable. trans-black, very cool finish!
Multi tone excellence
By: WildTexican from Central Texas,USA      Submitted: 12/30/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have the amber model and it is beautiful,everyone that sees it wants to look twice. General Your general opinion of this product. it's a stunningly beautiful guitar,has any sound you need w coil taps. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone! Les Paul to Strat-like in a second.Sounds pretty darn good through a 20 watt tube amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The amber top is a 10,no argument there.Mine had a blemish on a pick up mount.
great ax for every style
By: playsbase from lexington ky      Submitted: 7/26/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very solid guitar extremly well made and very light weight on my shoulder General Your general opinion of this product. i really like it good solid ax for gigging and it looks good to p/u's are strong and extremly well balanced it was setup good from the factory i didn't have to do a thing to it but play it Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? all tones are here you can find any sound you want or need somewhere in the 9 p/u confriguations Finish How did the stain or paint job look? finish was spot on the top is just beautiful I got the amber and it has alot of flame in it really nice .the back is a let down because it is kinda plain compared to the top but it is fine.
Mine Must Have Been A Fluke
By: Joe from DaBurbs, IL, USA      Submitted: 7/17/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I only gave this a 3 cause it's flawed. The bridge pickup is not aligned properly. The binding is sloppy where the neck meets the fret board and is also cracked at the nut. The top is beautiful. The rest of the guitar was spot on. I would have given it a 4. General Your general opinion of this product. I was pretty excited to get a long scale Epiphone. I have an Epi Strat that I will never part with, and was hoping to round it out w/the Nighthawk. It is a very versatile guitar, to be sure. Mine must have been a fluke, because of the flawed binding and misaligned/mismounted pickup. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Nighthawk can do almost anything. It is the most versatile guitar I have ever played. The pickups are not hot, but very solid and well balanced. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The top is amazing. The body was well finished and the binding was solid. The neck itself was nice, until you look at the binding which was flawed, cracked, and sloppy. Again, mine was a fluke, otherwise I'd have given it a 4.
Love it
By: Jodi from Buffalo, NY      Submitted: 2/17/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is ok. Like I said, I owned the nighthawk when it came out the first time around, and it feels like Epiphone cheaped out on this one. General Your general opinion of this product. I owned this product when it first came out in 1995. I foolishly sold it, and was excited when I saw that the guitar was going to be reissued. The reissue definitely feels cheaper than the original, but overall I'm pleased with it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This guitar can give you any sound you want. You definitely won't be disappointed. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint job was a little disappointing because of the defects.
Don't let the price fool you! This is a real gauitar!
By: Marvin Willis from Cleveland, TN      Submitted: 2/13/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Like I said, it's flawless. Looks as good as any Gibson out there. General Your general opinion of this product. This is not only a beautiful guitar, it sounds fantastic as well. I was thinking of switching over to some Duncan's before I purchased it, but I don't know now. I'm getting some real nice tone from this and I'm not sure. Seriously thinking of getting another onc for the Duncan's. Eventually, I want to get a few Gibson Nighthawks, but I will always keep these Epi versions. I can't imagine being without it after only a few weeks. My main axe now. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? HSH with coil tap, what more versatility could you ask for??? This guitar does not sound cheap. I plan on recording with it very soon. I love the tone. Check out the youtube demo's, it sounds that good. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect. Very nice looking guitar.
Amazing
By: M.Mullikin from Mascotte FL USA      Submitted: 1/10/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very solid and well put together General Your general opinion of this product. Very happy Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I can achieve any tone I want with these pickups and the coil tap.... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beauriful but truss rod cover was overtightened,bubbles on clearcoat
ANOTHER GREAT VALUE FROM EPIPHONE!
By: Tom Boudrot from Boston      Submitted: 12/24/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made. Would not be up to Gibson standards due to blemishes, but again - the price! General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is NOT a Gibson. But it is also not $1400. For $399 it is a steal. It is a great guitar -FOR THE PRICE,great guitar on its own merits. I wanted something I could leave out to play but not worry about possibly getting damaged and this was a great solution. I've had/have Fenders & Gibsons too. I am very pleased! This will not be my last Epi! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It growls, it pops, and everything in between. If your making your own original music I recommend this guitar with its many and varied sounds from the three pick ups and a multitude of switch/tone configurations. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The overall look is great. It's when you get up close that you notice blemishes. There is actually a small dot under the clear coat in a very visible place. Some glue built up in a few spots. Other minor stuff. But very pretty even from a short distance away!
Studio Players dream!
By: spider from Beckley usa      Submitted: 12/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It appears to be made extremely well. Time will tell. You would imagine a guitar this nicely made to come from a custom shop. General Your general opinion of this product. The craftsmanship is excellent. Very custom shop like. Everything is fitted perfectly. The frets sre among the best. Dressed and smooth. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the tones are warm. The strat tones are warm like a swamp ash Strat. The humbucker sound is very gibson. The guitar is very versatile. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? AMAZING!
Impressive Quality, Tone and Craftsmanship
By: Rob G from San Jose, California - USA      Submitted: 11/6/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely good - Much better than you would expect from a guitar of this price. I have not found anything to critize on this instrument. Even the packing was impressive. General Your general opinion of this product. I was very impressed with the playabiity of the neck. Fast easy action up and down the neck. Smooth pots, the finish is great, the quality is very impressive. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Its all there - with this instrument - you can acheive and dial in so many variations - you will be exploring the tone possibilities for a long time. Great for inspiration and song writing. Great tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great - absolutely a bute!
Wow, excellent guitar!
By: M Gregory from Grass Valley, CA      Submitted: 10/10/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I am very surprised at the fit and finish for a guitar from Indonesia and at the $400 price point. Nicely put together. I have only had it for a few weeks now but I think it will hold up well. General Your general opinion of this product. I believe Epiphone has outdone themselves on this guitar! I am very pleased. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? With 3 distinctively different pickup you can get any sound you want. It goes from a strat type tone to a mellow jazz tone in a few seconds. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the Amber color and it is beautiful. My band mates were all complimenting me on my new guitar when they saw it.
Great quality for an inexpensive price!
By: JEF from Simpsonville, SC      Submitted: 7/8/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality is there. Has the qualities I was hoping for when I ordered this guitar. I was not disappointed. General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice quality. Has the right feel and weight. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone seemed to offer many varieties regarding all the options available. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was very, very good. No complaints here.
This 2011 Nighthawk Rocks!
By: Rick from Berwyn, IL, USA      Submitted: 7/2/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very good quality for the price. I have 8 other guitars, and this one goes to the top of my list! I'm not your typical Strat or Les Paul guy. I prefer something different. The pickups are excellent, the set-neck design is great, the finish is good for a fireburst guitar, and the neck binding and gorgeous inlays add a touch of class to an already great guitar. The 90's model did not have the neck binding, and had trapezoid inlays. I hate to admit it, but I may have to sell my old Nighthawk! General Your general opinion of this product. I really like it! Surprising quality all the way through for a great price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Any tone you want, you can get on this guitar, thanks to the push/pull coil-tapping knob. I am stunned at the wide variety of tones I get with this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I might not have the best taste - I kind of wish I had gotten the amber guitar, which is what my prior model was, but everyone who has seen the two side-by-side prefer the new fireburst finish, so what do I know???
Nighthawk
By: from , rajczyk@msn.com      Submitted: 6/2/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It should hold up well General Your general opinion of this product. Another great Epiphone product Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Nice array of tones. Not as dark and moody as the Les Paul, but a lot more options. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent finish on the Honeyburst. One slight sanding blemish in an inconspicuous spot that'll never be noticed.
Loading....