American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply

Sweet Axe!
By: Jerry Annis from Seattle, WA      Submitted: 6/13/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Pretty Awesome! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Very high quality. It can be used for most genres, but it best suited for metal or hard rock. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Slightly heavy, but that was expected. The neck has a nice feel and plays fast. I was a little nervous about the phenolic fingerboard, but it is OK. The frets are very smooth. Controls are easy to reach while playing. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Great tone that is dark and smooth like a Explorer should be. The pickups sound thick and great with some distortion. They sound good clean too and the coil splitting is a bonus. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was flawless. This is a beautiful guitar. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value for the price. Higher quality then I expected. This one would stand up well with a Gibson. The gig bag it comes with is pretty nice too. Playability How was the action out of the box? Played well out of the box. I might put the action up a little.
Good but not quite excellent
By: Xerogod666      Submitted: 6/11/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a pretty good guitar overall.A little heavier then expected but it does have some great tone I think do to the weight. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality of the guitar is ok it could be better. 1. First thing I don't know who setup my guitar (#20)but they did a terrible job. String height was way high on the bass strings. The neck was way over bowed. Had to adjust the pickup height on both pickups. Last but not least there is fret buzz on the 16th fret on the b string even after adjusting the neck. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It is a little heavy but not too bad overall. I do like the neck great for soloing on. just wondering how the fretboard will wear with it being a type of poxy. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone on this guitar is really good. The coil taps give you a ton of different sounds. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint looks great as far as I can tell. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Overall this is a great guitar for rock and metal players. You might have to do some adjustments right out of the box but when you do it will not disappoint you at all. Playability How was the action out of the box? Terrible, had to adjust everything right out of the box.
Simply. Awesome
By: Guitarboz from Ogden,UT      Submitted: 5/17/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Killer Axe!
By: Sandman      Submitted: 5/15/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Awesome look, feel, and plays awesome after a setup and restring. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The string height could have been setup better, Overall its a solid build. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The overall feel is comfy, a slick fast fretboard and a good thickness on the neck, not too fat and not too thin! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is thick and chunky, but still able pull back and let it sing when needed, Really satisfied with the Gibson Burstbuckers! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Silverburst looks great. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Rock solid build. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was a bit high, and the stock strings are a bit stiff feeling.
Skwisgaar would be proud
By: Samuel from Athens, Alabama, United States      Submitted: 5/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is the best Epiphone I've ever owned. Great attention to detail. Looks beautiful and plays as well as the Gibson version. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Everything mimics the gibson version. It even has the SAME pick-ups! The only thing that bothered me was that the fretboard looks shiny and plasticy, but plays fine. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I wanna say the neck is slighty fatter than the Gibson Thunderhorse, but that may just be me. It has a fast and smooth neck. The controls are where they need to be with an added coil split feature that I am loving. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I own the Gibson Thunderhorse and compared the two. This guitar sounds just like it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Amazing finish! Best finish I've ever seen Epiphone do. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I was expecting a mediocre-quality guitar when I ordered this. A guitar that I could carry around where ever to practice and not worry about scratching it or banging it on something, but now I find myself babying it just as much as my other guitars. This guitar is a steal! Playability How was the action out of the box? Played amazingly out of the box
Killer Axe at a Killer Price!!!
By: KrisK from Novato, CA, USA      Submitted: 8/16/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this as a backup to my 1981 Gibson Flying V hoping that it was in the same tonal ballpark. It did not disappoint. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? What is most impressive about this six-string is the quality and attention to detail. The creme body and neck binding is beautiful!!! The frets are finished perfectly with no sharp edges. Very smooth neck geometry and the phenolic fingerboard is very nice. I wasn't sure what to expect with that. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Dark tone and the jury is still out on the Gibson USA BurstBucker-1 & 2. Dark and muddy at times. Lacks a certain definition at times. Am considering swapping some DiMarzio's in there instead. A Super Distortion or D Activator at the bridge and a LiquiFire at the neck. And the split coil push-pull volume knobs is another sweet feature opening up the options for available tones. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The silver-burst paint job is almost flawless! There are a couple of very small marks/flaws in the paint but nothing alarming. I tend to be pretty picky when I buy a new instrument and the flaws I speak of, someone else may not even notice.
Amazing
By: Westin      Submitted: 8/11/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Worth the wait!
By: Mario from Texas      Submitted: 7/30/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The appearance of this guitar screams hard rock and metal. The silver burst finish with cream binding looks great. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I feel that this guitar is well made. However, the binding work could have been better around the cutaway. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The medium range burst bucker pick ups are strong enough to pick up harmonics without over distorting the initial signal, giving the guitar's tone more definition. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Can't complain about the paint job at all, it was great.
Skwisgaar Skwigelf tested and player approved
By: Adam R. from Vassar Michigan USA      Submitted: 7/15/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This thing is a must have! i packed away my ESP LTD when i got the Epiphone Thunderhorse..its better than i thought i would be, one of the best feeling guitars I've played and sounds amazing amped or just sitting around and strumming it, glad i saved money on the Epiphone instead of getting the Gibson, very pleased with this product dont think i will be buying another guitar for a real long time, thank you Epiphone and most of all THANK YOU Brendon Small! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? seems to be very durable to me, dont plan on dropping it to really find out how much it can take though, everything else seems very solid and very impressive Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone of this guitar is just amazing! all the different tones you can make are absolutely awesome! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? sexy--need more?
Just what I hoped for
By: Aaron from Tucson, Arizona      Submitted: 7/4/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I try to find the best mid-priced guitars I can. Last year I bought the JJackson SLATXMGQ Soloist (Real EMGs, mahgoany body with quilted mapel cap and with mapel thru neck). It is awesome for the money. This year I went for the Thunderhorse. The Explorer is the first guitar I ever wanted but I've never had one until now. I received it yesterday and it was a perfect rock machine through my friend's OCD and Fender Deluxe. Today I played it through my rig (T-Rex dirt pedals into a Bugera V22) and it is beautiful from clean to massive overdrive. I love this guitar. It's the perfect compliment to the Jackson. This one's more chunky feeling and full sounding where the Jackson is thinner sounding and very slick. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It appears to be of very high quality. Much better than I expected, actually. I bought it thinking I might spend more time looking at it than playing it, but this will not be the case. It is solid, great setup out of the box. Not a single fret buzzes but the action is nice and low. Intonation is great as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The range of tones is amazing. Great dark jazz tones on the neck pickup to clean and dirty classic rock. The bridge pickup is the definitive classic metal tone. I have only played a bit in single coil mode. As expected there is a large volume drop and it doesn't sound like a strat, but the single coil tones are useful and substantially different to provide very flexible tone possibilities. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect as far as I can tell.
People who rated this item, also rated...
Loading....