American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone EJ160E John Lennon Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  EPI EEEJ LIST

I Didn't Know! I just didn't know...
By: docclay from Knob Noster (Monserrat East), MO, US o' A      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Well made
By: Richard Maddox from 5100 s walnut st Muncie Indiana 48302      Submitted: 4/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

John Lennon picked a great one!
By: Rich Beckholt      Submitted: 4/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Super on many levels. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made,great sound and a finish that won't quit.New for me but I own many Epiphone guitars and they are all top of the line so why would this one be any different? Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Plays well.mellow,warm,and smooth to play.The neck is great for my short fat fingers so should be great for the larger hands out there.Controls are well placed so you can reach them but you aren't bangingyour hand into them as you strum or pick. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I found the tone mainly dark and smooth.Pickups are hot enough,mellow and thick enough to give the fat flat top sound I wanted. Action How was the action out of the box? From the box to my hand the action was great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stain is beautiful to behold.I find myself sitting staring at the guitar on the stand like artwork. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Band new so holding up is unknown but my other Epiphones are workhorses and I expect this one will be no different for me.
Nice Guitar
By: Barry Hill from Odessa, TX, USA      Submitted: 4/7/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Guitar looks and sounds great. Finish is better than I expected. One area of disapointment is the tuners. They don't belong with the guitar. All trim on guitar is white or ivory. The tuner knobs are an off color plastic that does not match. The feel of the knobs struck me immediately as a disapointment. I will be looking to upgrade then as soon as possible.
Thoroughly pleased!
By: Kyle G. from Euless Tx.      Submitted: 4/7/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I'm very pleased with this instrument! I've always liked this model, so when it was discounted I jumped at the chance to finally own one. I love the look and action. The electronics are first rate! Very nice tone! Highly recommended!
Very Nice
By: Billy from CVILLE      Submitted: 11/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Nice Guitar. Looks great plays great. Just getting back into it after 20 years. Rusty so this makes it easier. The only reason i Gave it a two on the finish is there was a small chip out of the neck. Does not effect anything. contacted the OUTSTANDING customer service they offered to replace or take give me a reduced rate. Can't get any better than that. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I do. I used to sell musical instruments and I've always thought that epihone was a well made product.Not a poor manns gibson a Middleclassmans Gibson. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is good for my size hands. Action How was the action out of the box? Factory action is verry good, I'll have it worked on eventially Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Came with a chip in the neck. Looks like it was a laquer bubble came off.AMS offered to replace. Other than that it is a great job. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Havn't had it long enough. Read my 20 year review.
Looks Good...Issues
By: TCF from Indianapolis      Submitted: 11/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Mine Had Issues
By: Studio 139 from Kalamazoo, MI, USA      Submitted: 4/8/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Finish was great, action was alright, mine had fret or neck issues so I returned it. It felt like it was well made in every other respect. As this was to be a replacement for another acoustic, I didn't want to invest more in resolving the neck issue. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Can't say. General Your general opinion of this product. If I did not already have a good acoustic, I would have said this was a good deal, even if I had to pay for a professional set-up. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The low fretted out at the first fret. The rest of the strings were fine. Slightly lower action than I like. Adjusting the neck moved the problem on the E, but did not resolve it, so for me it was unplayable. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Not too dark, not too bright. It had all steel strings which I did not care for, but the tone was pretty balanced, not brittle, not boomy. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was beautiful. Action How was the action out of the box? Too low for my taste, but not bad. I suspect most people would prefer the lower action that it came with.
My guitar
By: Pete Zamora from 615 E. Race St. Leslie, Mil. 49251      Submitted: 2/20/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well, excellent Reliability How has it stood up over time? good General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Excellent Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and snappy Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great Action How was the action out of the box? great
"Epi" John Lennon EJ160E What a Beauty!!!
By: Ray from Goshen, Ohio USA      Submitted: 5/28/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? From looking at all the detail and workmanship of this guitar...it's simply "Awesome as John Lennon" This coloring is even better looking than the Gibson model. They did not skimp on this guitar anywhere that I can tell. Fretboard is delicious to play! You have to hold it in your hands to really know just what I am talking about. :))) Reliability How has it stood up over time? It seems to hold its tuning very well between playing. The sound this puts out with or without an amp is as you would expect and more. I love it mostly without the amp. General Your general opinion of this product. Epiphone was always a great product years ago in my early years, (now I'm 61), and I am so very happy and also honored by this tribute to a great legend as John Lennon was, that I have this in my hands today. Buy it!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The playability is better than any I have played before...I have small hands/shorter fingers, this is a remarkable instrument. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Has deep tone through the amp and even holds without an amp. I love it more without the amp...but that is just the way I prefer it. Test it for yourself...you won't regret it. :) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Vintage Cherry Sunburst is "Perfect" Epiphone did an outstanding job here as well. I wish my Hofner v62 was shaded this color. It looks better than the Gibson model. Rich!!!! Action How was the action out of the box? This again was marvelous. I tuned it up a tad and played a few licks. I am used to playing bass strings, but this fret action was great on my fingers. Almost like pressing down on a string to the fret was so e a s y. :))
Loading....