American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Flash Sale EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Epiphone EJ200CE Jumbo Cutaway Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  EPI EEJ2 LIST

"Fantastic value and it's a beautiful instrument."
By: Bob B. from Holtsville, NY      Submitted: 3/24/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar looks and sound great. I never got caught up in spending a fortune on a guitar. Spending $3800 on an instrument is overkill as far as I'm concerned. This guitar sounds great and is a great value-and it doesn't burn a hole in your wallet! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is well-made and it sounds great. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar has a balanced feel and the controls work efficiently. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has a deep, warm tone and the mid and highs still ring out. Action How was the action out of the box? Great action Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Super finish. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I don't have it long enough to answer that question
Impressed with the quality for the price!
By: KAR      Submitted: 2/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. For the quality, finish, and sound of this guitar, $399 is a no brainer! Plus you get that great Gibson look. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Spruce top, maple body, very well made!.....nice touch with the crown inlay and binding Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? C shape neck is smooth, easy to play, easy access to adjust the electronics Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's not a Gibson, but it also does not cost $3700....I bought this guitar to play through an amp/PA and it delivers! I really like the eSonic2....plugged into a Fender,cranked up the reverb,and wow! shimmering highs and solid low end. I like that you can adjust each pickup...also no feedback! Action How was the action out of the box? The action was perfect right out of the box....no adjustments needed. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was excellent, I ordered the vintage sunburst
WOW!
By: Paul from Indianapolis      Submitted: 2/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Pulling it from the box, I was very surprised by the quality of this instrument. Fit and finish are fantastic, the binding is gorgeous and very well done. Was really amazed at the price:quality. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Saying 'great guitar for the money' is kind of misleading, because I think this is a great guitar without the 'for the money' part. I played a Gibson Jumbo also, and while it (the Gibson) is superior and I would love to own one, this guitar makes me very happy. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Needs a bit of a setup at first, but really not much. Just had a couple of notes on the neck with a slight buzz. Controls are well placed, built in tuner is nice but difficult to see. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? A surprisingly warm sound with just enough brightness to cut. It's big and boomy and has plenty of headroom. The tone all depends on where you strum at; closer to the bridge gives a brighter sound, over the soundhole fuller. Honestly, while the Gibson Jumbo was undeniably better, I have to ask myself if it is really 10x better. Overall I am very satisfied with this purchase, and would've paid twice as much for it. Action How was the action out of the box? A bit low, but still very playable. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No visible flaws in finish, binding and inlays appear to be very well done to me. Would've loved to have a bit of flame in the maple, but you pay a lot more for that wood. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it, but it looks to be built like a tank.
Satisfied with the purchase
By: Todd      Submitted: 1/6/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

You will love the way it sounds through an amp!
By: askalcic@bellsouth.net from New Orleans Louisiana USA      Submitted: 12/10/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The price has come down $50 since I bought mine in 2007. The action was the only problem. I worked the saddle, setting all strings for 2mm across all six strings at the 17 fret. I used a big flexable finger nail file. Now I just buy the short saddles ready to go, I did a Yamaha a few weeks ago. Just get a short or medium saddle. I am amazed at how well this guitar stays in tune. The on board tuner is super. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yeah you can leave it in the trunk of your car with a case. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Like I said before, I had to lower the action. My hand was cramping up, also I put a about a 1/2 turn on the truss rod to make the neck straighter and pull the strings down. That's clockwise. Let it settle down overnight. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It is a loud guitar. The pickups sound great. One is mounted at the neck position, just behind the last fret. The other is mounted under the saddle. It has 2 output jacks and eq is very flexible. Action How was the action out of the box? A little high for me. But if you play around with different saddle heights and straigten out the neck a little it can be hard to put down. I have bruiesed my ribs playing in bed and leg when sitting. It is a big guitar and I am almost 6 ft heigh. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Outsatanding, I have the black one, but man the 3 colors sitting side by side is an impressive sight. My guitar is 6 years old and still looks brand new. I got a case for it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Very well.
Love it!
By: Mark Corbin from Ohio      Submitted: 10/26/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Absolutely right for the price. Very playable right out of the box. Built in tuner great for quick alternate tuning changes. I compared it one on one with Pete Townsend's Gibson j200 and the sound quality is spot on. Electronics make recording a breeze with quality sound. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks to be constructed very well and the finish is superb. Pickguard is a little flimsy looking but does the job protecting the finish. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Nice fat neck. Plays great. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Spot on like the Gibson j200. Action How was the action out of the box? Great. I didn't make any adjustments. It was almost perfectly in tune right out of the box. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell, but I'm very optimistic.
I love this thing"
By: Jerry Ferguson from Birmingham , Al      Submitted: 9/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Complements the vocal
By: Rockin' Dr. Tom      Submitted: 6/10/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I had an opportunity to test this guitar out in a store, and into a PA system like it would be typically used. The electronics were superb, and with the "compressed" sound of the maple body, it opened up the sonic spectrum perfectly for the vocal. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made, yes. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels perfect to me, since I'm fairly tall, I wanted a big guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? lots of tonal diversity with the Shadow-designed pickup system. Action How was the action out of the box? The neck was straight. A bit too straight, and it buzzed around the 3rd fret. Loosening the truss rod a bit, it's now perfect. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? smooth finish, no visible drips in the clear coat. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell. :)
Good Guitar
By: Jimmy from Brookly, MI USA      Submitted: 3/19/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Time will tell if it is made well. Reliability How has it stood up over time? To soon to say General Your general opinion of this product. Well worth the cost. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Had to have a Tech do a set up because the action was alittle to high and the Top was somewhat uneven when laying a straight edge on it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sound was very nice right out of the box Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Got the naturel finesh which looked nice and clean. Action How was the action out of the box? A bit to high. But all in all it was very playable out of the box
Out standing tone and stage presence.
By: Michael G. Hughes from Upland, Ind USA      Submitted: 1/8/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had my ej-200 ce for almost a year now. I had the neck adjustment done at Sweetwater at Ft. Wayne, Ind and wow what a fantastic change. I have played many other guitars, but not even the ones that cost $4000 could compare to what I have in this guitar. The only thing that could be much better is the pick guard. The design on it wears off very quickly and takes away from the overall great looks and finish of this great guitar. I am having it replaced with the Gibson J-200 pick guard, this should upgrade its looks by a fair margin.The play ability and wonderful tone gets better the more I play it. I own 7 other guitars including a nice Martin that also sounds and plays good, but the Epiphone has a richer tone. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Very good, pick guard could be a better quality like the Gibson.I'm having it replaced. General Your general opinion of this product. Fantastic with wonderful fit and finish. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? At first, before I had it properly adjusted at Sweetwater, the action wasn't that good. Now, outstanding.The controls are rite where you need them. My volume control quit working but it's being repaired free at Sweetwater. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is warm and rich, very defined. I have replaced the strings with silk and steal type and this has given it even a better tone, just not as loud, made it play even better. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is very good, great stage presence with wonderful fit and finish. Laquer finish would be a little better then the poly, but it shine up with just a little polish. Action How was the action out of the box? The action was quite heavy at first. I had it properly adjusted by Sweetwater in Ft. Wayne, Ind and now it is fantastic. Now, no string buz and every easy to fret all the way down the neck.
Awesome for a short time
By: Patrick Henry Surls from Peculiar      Submitted: 12/24/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar has let me down time and time again. I bought this back when it was $699 from American Musical. If you just want an acoustic, it is great but the pickups in it deteriorated quickly. After less than a year, it was simply an acoustic sitting around my house. Reliability How has it stood up over time? The pickups slowly went out over the first year. I had to cancel several shows and had to suffer from multiple stage technical difficulties due to the pickups on this failing. In the end to use on stage I had to buy a sound hole pickup which means losing all of the great tone that these pickups provided. I own several Epiphone electrics and have never had any problems, even with cheaper models. I expected more from this. General Your general opinion of this product. I urge you to spend a little bit more and grab yourself a Takamine jumbo. American Musical has a great deal for $499. You will be very happy with spending the extra hundred bucks. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar took ALOT of work out of the box to get it to feel good and have good action, but after a ton of tampering was able to get a good feel and still really love this guitar as just an around the house acoustic. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Due to having the dual pickups in this it is very versatile tone wise (While the pickups last). You can get a very bright tone out of it which is what I usually stuck with and it sounded great until the pickups died.
EJ200CE Review
By: BlueBilly from Northern Indiana US of A      Submitted: 12/17/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? the overall quality is very good for the money. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have had it only a few weeks, so far so good. General Your general opinion of this product. It is a good guitar for the money. I feel that I got a good value for my buck. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It did need a bit more set up out of the box than what I would like. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is on par for a jumbo body. It has boomy lows a tight mid range and snappy highs. The pickups are as good as any that I have ever tried. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish looks great from 2 ft away. If you get up close you can see small black droplets not on the top but on the back and sides. The binding was not masked off properly in spots and you can see the tape line on the black sections of the finish. But again from 2 ft away it looks great, just like a J200 should. Action How was the action out of the box? I needed to lower the nut slots a tad, lower the bridge and do some minor fret leveling. When I had the neck relief set to .012 I had a bit of buzz at the 5th and 6th frets.
Gibson's best imitation
By: roscoe from middleburg fla usa      Submitted: 11/16/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This instrument ranks as high as any higher priced competitor. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Like any instrument take care of it and it will last. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall this guitar sounds and looks as great as any Gibson, Martin, or Taylor. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels professional all the way. The neck is fast and comfortable, the controls are easy to reach and understand, and the feel is truly Gibson. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Shadow makes this guitar sound fantastic through an amp or P.A. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The natural's finish is excellent and very beautiful. As great as the Gibson J200. Action How was the action out of the box? This guitar plays excellent straight out of the box. It truly has earned the reputation of Gibson.
An awesome guitar to say the least
By: Manthy from Sheffield,Ala,USA      Submitted: 6/20/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made, super dependable, just what you would expect from a Gibson. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Well built, get the case it will last a lifetime. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar, been playing for 20 plus years and it is as fine as any acoustic I own. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It plays super good, thin neck for easy barre chords, and has a great feeling neck.its a cadillac Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has a crisp tone,change picks and get lots of different tones out of it, I am using it for recording & live shows. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the blonde, it was awesome str8 outta the box. Action How was the action out of the box? Good low action so you can play leads or turnarounds kick offs easily, this is a DEAL on this guitar it is worth 5 times what I paid for it.
Recommended by Paul Barrere of Little Feat~ and ME!
By: Tami Pecknbird from Lake Mary ,Forida      Submitted: 8/12/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gorgeous guitar,I am a beginner/intermediate level; however my rock-star friends say it looks and SOUNDS like a $3000 or more guitar. Nice gold grovers too! Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it....looks solid General Your general opinion of this product. I have been eying this for awhile, and was torn between the Epi Hummingbird and the EJ200...and it honestly has exceeded my expectations! Then when I saw Paul Barrere of Little Feat recommending the EJ-200 in an interview about Epiphone guitars last week..I knew it was a sign and my mind was made up I had to have it! AND NOW I DO..so happy! this is my 2nd guitar purchase and sure it won't be my last. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Love the neck, great playability...I am a girl with small hands and was a little afraid to get the Jumbo, that it would be too fat, but its really slim and easy to play..Tuner on top is nice to have Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It was bright and snappy highs and dark smooth lows...I have not plugged it in yet, but the tuner works great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the natural flawless finish..very glossy! Not a scratch. Action How was the action out of the box? The action was almost perfect right out of the box...maybe a tad high, but i want to play slide too so that's ok.
Loading....