American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone G400 PRO Electric Guitar  -  EPI EGGP LIST

Not as great as I hoped
By: Stratmonger      Submitted: 6/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have to be honest that I was a little disappointed, Yes I realize it is a budget guitar. But it feels extremely cheap, not just light "It feels as if you dropped it once it would explode into hundreds of pieces". The finish is nice, hardware seems okay, electronics leave a lot to be desired. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Woodwork and finish are satisfactory. Potentiometers, pick ups and switches leave a lot to be desired. The potentiometers feel brittle and are crackly already. The pickups are horrible, the bridge pickup screeches constantly in a high gain situation And the neck pickup was quite muddy even with the push pull pots coil tapping. would have been better to have the pickup switch between series and parallel, rather than just tapping the coils.I tested the guitar through a 1968 Marshall 50 W into a fender bassman cab with two 12" Celestion G12-60's in it.this amp is very bright yet with this guitar even the bridge pickup sounded a bit muddy. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This thing feels very chunky, the neck is quite thick for an SG style guitar, almost feels like a PRS fat boy neck. As I said previously it feels quite cheap, not just light.the fret work ( finish work ) was quite rough. When you pull up on the string to bend it it was quite scratchy frets need to be polished better. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone was quite mushy and pulling up on the switch pots only made the guitar sound constipated. the tone is completely lackluster. I was surprised that all the raves about the pickups in the online and video reviews. But those guys must to got different pickups then I did. These were quite noisy and flat sounding. not much tonal variety at all. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish seems to be the high point of this guitar is quite shiny and doesn't feel overly sprayed on thick, like some of these Chinese urethane finishes are sometimes. It will look flashy on stage, don't know how long the fish will last. But again I'm not really into how it looks, more into how it feels and plays and sounds. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I personally didn't get what I was expecting for the price, haven't really compared it with any other guitars of this price range. Playability How was the action out of the box? While the intonation was okay, out of the box the Truss Rod nut was completely lose and had not even been an attempt to adjust the truss rod; which made it feel like one of those Korean guitars from the 1970s. That action was quite high and had what I consider very light strings on it ( I normally use .012 - .049) I think with a little work you could make the action feel a bit more accurate.
One of the nicest guitars I have
By: Colin R from Nashua NH      Submitted: 4/15/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great Guitar
By: Doug Gardner from Tucson Az.      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I love this Guitar as much as my Gibson Les Paul custom that i've owned for 29 yrs. Great right out of the box.Its no different than the gibson SG at 1/3 the price. The picture dosent give the finish justice, its beautiful.Wide range of tones and very light. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Any tone you want Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Amazing
Really digging it
By: juan v from cicero illinois      Submitted: 8/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. fast action nice tone great buy for intermediate to pro guitarists beginners get the sg special that way you dont mess up this beauty Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? feels awesome so shiny Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? can get tones of tones with the coil tap Finish How did the stain or paint job look? beautiful cherry saw my face on its shine even sparkles like an anime cartoon when you take a picture with flash i really dig the wood grain adds a nice touch
very nice guitar for the money
By: Dj Dan Sarasota from Sarasota florida      Submitted: 7/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

all i can say is amazing.
By: Duane(Big D) from wARRENSBURG,NEW YORK      Submitted: 7/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I ordered this on july 1st and had it july 2nd,i want to say this guitar is amazing for the price I took advantage of the payment plan,the finish and coil tapping are amazing,the sound is great,setup up was awesome,just had to tune up strings prob where dropped down so not to strain neck,and the headstock is very like due to wilkison tuners not like heavy headstocks on most sg guitar once again amazing. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? great Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? any sound you cold want with the coil tapping Finish How did the stain or paint job look? sweeeeeeet
i love this thing, well worth the money
By: joey adams      Submitted: 6/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Skye13
By: Jack from North Tonawanada n.y. USA      Submitted: 4/19/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes,very dependable General Your general opinion of this product. awsome Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? everything you could ask for Finish How did the stain or paint job look? mint
Beautiful guitar!
By: Doug from Ky      Submitted: 2/25/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? input jack was loose on arrival, Ams offered to replace it, but I had it repaired in stead of sending it back General Your general opinion of this product. great guitar for the money Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? good humbucker tone Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the transparent finish is beatiful
Loading....