Item Reviews for: Epiphone 1958 Korina Flying V Electric Guitar  -  EPI EGV2 LIST

    Beautiful craftmanship
    By: Frank      Submitted: 3/26/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This guitar is incredible, beautiful hardware and design, plus a nice fat neck for comfort. I have played this non-stop since I have gotten it, and it sounds great (with a nice crunchiness). Well worth it.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great guitar for the price
    By: CMassey      Submitted: 3/26/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Fit and finish are top notch. It needed some adjustments to the setup but that was easy enough. It plays and sounds great.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    An awesome guitar!
    By: WWS      Submitted: 3/25/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought a scratch & dent/return model. So I was definitely putting my faith in AMS' hands. Well, the guitar came today and I am more than pleased! It's perfect! Not a single flaw. Even had all the plastic still covering the pick guard, pickups, bridge, jack plate and truss rod cover! All case candy included, etc. Tuned it up and it plays flawlessly! What a sweet ax for the money!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love flying v's and this looks great.
    By: Robert B      Submitted: 3/24/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Well made, no flaws, looks killer and sounds great!
    Was this review helpful?
    Great 'bang for the buck'
    By: Gary Hayes,garyhayes644@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/16/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This guitar is as close as you are going to get to playing a 1958 Flying V. It is also about 3 to 4000,000 cheaper. Or about 7000.00 less than a custom shop model. I bought a Epi Flying V about 20+ years ago and was not impressed at all. Lousy P/Us, cheap hardware ect. Epiphone has really improved in the last decade. IMHO
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Worth every pennie
    By: Paul      Submitted: 3/13/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought the Flying V and the Explorer, I own some really nice Gibsons but always loved the looks of these guitars. A little surprised at how well they play right out of the box.Great job Epiphone
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    A keeper -- despite its flaws
    By: M Anderson      Submitted: 3/11/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Considering the minimal packaging, it's a wonder it arrived in one piece. But it did and, aside from a couple of cosmetic blemishes, is a wonderful guitar. Just over 6 lbs, decent action right out of the (battered cardboard) box, beefy, authoritative sound, resonant body. And it should be said that if you want a guitar that actually looks like an original Flying V, and you don't want to spend 5 grand, this is the only way to go. This is my fourth crafted in China Epiphone, and I can't really overstate what a great value they are.
    Was this review helpful?
    Better than expected
    By: Rockerdude      Submitted: 3/6/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I am really impressed with this V. The pickups sound very close to some vintage Shaw Humbuckers I have in another V so I'll keep em. The only issue I found is that the high E string groove in the nut is cut just a wee bit too deep causing it to buzz slightly (open), that's an easy fix. I would have gave it a five star rating but the nut issue gets it a four. It really is a beautiful guitar that plays great with super low action, it's neck is a little chunkier than some of my Gibson V's but still plays fast. It's a great value, I would buy another one. Oh........get the case!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    this guitar rocks!
    By: Dave James      Submitted: 3/2/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? money well spent!
    Was this review helpful?
    Beautiful craftsmanship.
    By: James Mays      Submitted: 2/17/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Always wanted a flying v.
    Was this review helpful?
    Heard your shipping sux.
    By: Jon Paul Anderson      Submitted: 1/29/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Love this Guitar! Got it from a local shop for $530. Arrived in original shipping from epiphone,in TUNE!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Not as great as I hoped
    By: SC      Submitted: 1/6/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? 1st off horrible packing job by American Musical. 1st one came with a broken neck. 1 piece of packing paper inside the box so it bounced around and poked through the inner box. Returned got a replacement same packing job same result but this time only one small little crack at the nut. Amazingly not more damage because the inner box was not taped shut and the guitar was lose on arrival. I should have returned but did not. Fretting out on the g string 12th fret after lowering the action to Gibson specs. Explains high action. Lucky for me I have some skills and leveled/recrowned the frets in a few areas. Now its great. Pickups not real hot but still sound good. I replaced bridge pickup so now its better for me. Nut might need replacing as well. Maybe bad luck on the ones I received. I did get the explorer version too and its night and day from the V. 3 stars because its a V but you also get what you pay for and the price did match the product quality.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Will be 5 stars after some help
    By: Greg      Submitted: 1/4/2017
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I like the finish, playability and sound of this guitar but... The first day I had it, the high E string popped out of the nut a couple times. I think the design of the headstock has a more severe outside string angle than most guitars, and I will get a proper nut cut for it at a local luthier. I thought that the action was ok out of the box, but I changed strings and changed the action a bit. As I adjusted the intonation, one of the adjustment screws broke where there is a ring around it to keep the screw from moving inside the bridge. Obviously made of cheap metal. I turned the screw maybe 2 turns! I went to a local store and got a new gold bridge for 15 bucks. Now it works great. Then I started noticing other problems. They didn't clean out the metal debris on the backside of the fancy V tailpiece after they drilled holes for the strings. The hole drilled into the pick guard where the bridge post goes was off a little bit, but not really noticeable unless staring right at it.
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money.
    By: ROBERT HALL      Submitted: 12/30/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great guitar, would buy again.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I love this Guitar
    By: wmfielding      Submitted: 12/29/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This Guitar is a beast!!! She looks and sounds Fantastic, big fat bottom end with Sustain that seems to last forever. The only con about this Guitar is one that haunts every Flying V ever made. And that is the strap lock locations. I can't find the answer and neither can any company that ever made a V or similar Guitar. I also own her sister the Explorer. And she's as mean as the V. love this guitar and she has found a home for as long as the good Lord lets me walk the Earth. Get yours like yesterday. Don't wait and miss out on the best Flying V I've ever had in my hands.
    Was this review helpful?
    It's awsome
    By: KO      Submitted: 12/9/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's a vee. The action is sweet. No feet buzz. Good pups. Light as heck. Sounds great through the rebel 30
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Regrettably Returned
    By: John      Submitted: 12/2/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This model looks great and brings to mind the classic lines of Gibson's first Flying V's in 1958. The amber, black and gold colors just scream classiness. Unfortunately, the unit I received had a 1" crack in the finish extending from the bass-side nut to the back of the neck, a gouge in the lower right wing and a half dozen places on the body and headstock where the guitar touched a textured surface before the top coats were dry. The neck exhibited a different relief for the bass and treble side of the neck which resulted in buzzing with the thinner strings when adjusted for proper action on the thicker strings. It was returned and I hope to write a very positive review for the replacement guitar that American Musical is so graciously sending.
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    So far so good!
    By: Eric      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Love the looks and feel of this guitar. Have only had limited time with it so far but everything is as expected. Action is pretty good out of the box and no sharp fret ends or buzzing. Fit and finish seem good enough, though you can tell the difference between this vs. a US made guitar. But for the price, this one is great. Will definitely keep this guitar for a long time.
    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Very good guitar for the price
    By: B.K. Sandbak      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I like this guitar a lot, but there are some finish flaws and a very small crack in the clear coat on the bass side of the neck where the nut is installed which kinda worries me. As long as it does not migrate I'm ok with this and I can buff out the finish flaws. It appears to have korina veneer on the top and back. Not sure what's in the middle, but it sounds good and looks great and after I set it up right. It plays well also. I would recommend this guitar to any one looking for a V.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money
    By: R.Kaplan      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Way better than i thought it would be. Sounds really great !
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Nice guitar, strap button location sucks.
    By: David      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Nice guitar, very light. Only drawback is the strap lock button absolutely needs to be relocated to the back of the body not by the neck. It's poorly balanced. A change would go from 4 to 5 stars easily.
    Was this review helpful?
    A fantastic V for not a lot of scratch!
    By: Il Duce      Submitted: 11/30/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Epiphone really did a fantastic job on their new '58 V! Fit and finish are superb and the set-up was great out of the box. The pups are pretty decent vintage paf style humbuckers and sound really good. Unfortunately I'm not able to keep it as I have small hands and the neck is on the large side, but if it weren't for the size of the neck I'd definitely keep it! If you've ever wanted a great V with a chunky neck this one is for you!
    Was this review helpful?
    I love it!
    By: jason      Submitted: 11/28/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I've been playing for 30 years and I've owned a lot of guitars. I have a fairly broad experience base from which I could pen a great comparative review, listing the high points of the guitar but really, when I put this guitar on, it made me giggle like a little girl and let me rock out with all the abandon of a 13 year old rock star. It's just a fun guitar. The pickups could be a little clearer, but heck they sounded good enough. I'd say they were cleaner sounding than a MIM strat if that helps anyone. The fit and finish were perfect. The fret ends smooth. The guitar is LIGHT. But mostly, it begs to played. I'll probably switch the pickups at some point...maybe not. I love it and I'd buy another. (arrived two days early too... way to go AMS!)
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow, I'm impressed
    By: Steve      Submitted: 11/23/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I own about a dozen epi's of various ages and have changed out the pickups in most of them. Not this one though. The sound was really amazing. Not muddy or mushy, and very high output. Simply the best pickups I've gotten on an epi in general. For the rest, fit and finish appears good, but I've had this for 1 hour.
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great replica of a Classic ! Glad it is back
    By: Chuck B.      Submitted: 8/6/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have a MIK Epi Korina '58 Flying V and Explorer '58's that I bought when they originally were introduced in 1998, I still play them regularly to this day. I am glad Epiphone has "reintroduced" them. The Explorer is one of the most ergonomically (user friendly) designs out there. For all its "quirky" looks, it balances great and sustains "for weeka" ! If you are thinking of purchasing one , now is the time to "pull that trigger" and get on the pre-order list!
    13 of 20 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....