Holiday Holiday Gift Guide Pack Attack

    Item Reviews for: Epiphone 1958 Korina Flying V Electric Guitar  -  EPI EGV2 LIST

    Regrettably Returned
    By: John      Submitted: 12/2/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This model looks great and brings to mind the classic lines of Gibson's first Flying V's in 1958. The amber, black and gold colors just scream classiness. Unfortunately, the unit I received had a 1" crack in the finish extending from the bass-side nut to the back of the neck, a gouge in the lower right wing and a half dozen places on the body and headstock where the guitar touched a textured surface before the top coats were dry. The neck exhibited a different relief for the bass and treble side of the neck which resulted in buzzing with the thinner strings when adjusted for proper action on the thicker strings. It was returned and I hope to write a very positive review for the replacement guitar that American Musical is so graciously sending.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    So far so good!
    By: Eric      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Love the looks and feel of this guitar. Have only had limited time with it so far but everything is as expected. Action is pretty good out of the box and no sharp fret ends or buzzing. Fit and finish seem good enough, though you can tell the difference between this vs. a US made guitar. But for the price, this one is great. Will definitely keep this guitar for a long time.
    Was this review helpful?
    Very good guitar for the price
    By: B.K. Sandbak      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I like this guitar a lot, but there are some finish flaws and a very small crack in the clear coat on the bass side of the neck where the nut is installed which kinda worries me. As long as it does not migrate I'm ok with this and I can buff out the finish flaws. It appears to have korina veneer on the top and back. Not sure what's in the middle, but it sounds good and looks great and after I set it up right. It plays well also. I would recommend this guitar to any one looking for a V.
    Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money
    By: R.Kaplan      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Way better than i thought it would be. Sounds really great !
    Was this review helpful?
    Nice guitar, strap button location sucks.
    By: David      Submitted: 12/1/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Nice guitar, very light. Only drawback is the strap lock button absolutely needs to be relocated to the back of the body not by the neck. It's poorly balanced. A change would go from 4 to 5 stars easily.
    Was this review helpful?
    A fantastic V for not a lot of scratch!
    By: Hugh Morrison      Submitted: 11/30/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Epiphone really did a fantastic job on their new '58 V! Fit and finish are superb and the set-up was great out of the box. The pups are pretty decent vintage paf style humbuckers and sound really good. Unfortunately I'm not able to keep it as I have small hands and the neck is on the large side, but if it weren't for the size of the neck I'd definitely keep it! If you've ever wanted a great V with a chunky neck this one is for you!
    Was this review helpful?
    I love it!
    By: jason      Submitted: 11/28/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I've been playing for 30 years and I've owned a lot of guitars. I have a fairly broad experience base from which I could pen a great comparative review, listing the high points of the guitar but really, when I put this guitar on, it made me giggle like a little girl and let me rock out with all the abandon of a 13 year old rock star. It's just a fun guitar. The pickups could be a little clearer, but heck they sounded good enough. I'd say they were cleaner sounding than a MIM strat if that helps anyone. The fit and finish were perfect. The fret ends smooth. The guitar is LIGHT. But mostly, it begs to played. I'll probably switch the pickups at some point...maybe not. I love it and I'd buy another. (arrived two days early too... way to go AMS!)
    Was this review helpful?
    Wow, I'm impressed
    By: Steve      Submitted: 11/23/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I own about a dozen epi's of various ages and have changed out the pickups in most of them. Not this one though. The sound was really amazing. Not muddy or mushy, and very high output. Simply the best pickups I've gotten on an epi in general. For the rest, fit and finish appears good, but I've had this for 1 hour.
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great replica of a Classic ! Glad it is back
    By: Chuck B.      Submitted: 8/6/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have a MIK Epi Korina '58 Flying V and Explorer '58's that I bought when they originally were introduced in 1998, I still play them regularly to this day. I am glad Epiphone has "reintroduced" them. The Explorer is one of the most ergonomically (user friendly) designs out there. For all its "quirky" looks, it balances great and sustains "for weeka" ! If you are thinking of purchasing one , now is the time to "pull that trigger" and get on the pre-order list!
    11 of 18 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....