Item Reviews for: Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  EPI EMEC LIST
My favorite
By: Dennis Campbell      Submitted: 7/20/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love this guitar. I hope my playing ability eventually is on a Parr with it's quality.
Was this review helpful?
Great guitar, Beautiful!
By: Ricky Hamilton      Submitted: 7/14/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Very nice good sound has the typical boomy "dread" sound but still has good articulation in the higher notes. Neck is a bit fatter than my 000 but that is expected.
Was this review helpful?
Wow.....
By: Gregory Zoebisch      Submitted: 7/11/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? My wife purchased one of these for me. I got it yesterday...it is amazing....first off it is a beautiful guitar. I just love the look of it! The craftsmanship is top notch. But the sound! First off it sounds really good unplugged...just beautiful....but plug it in and it is just incredible....I can't describe it....I really didn't want to put it down but we have to work and I had to go to sleep..it plays perfectly..the intonation is perfect through the whole neck and each note is clear and bell like..the reviews are correct and for this price I have to tell you that if you are looking in this price range then you won't be disappointed with this one ....you probably don't need to spend more money than this to get a great guitar because it is one!
Was this review helpful?
I can't put it down...
By: Chris Nolan      Submitted: 6/26/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Fantastic! Plek'd and came perfect. The sound is amazing. I replaced the bridge pins, but no other upgrades needed. It's a beautiful instrument. In the price range, it's a no brainer...
Was this review helpful?
Some Amplifier Considerations about the DR500MCE
By: MARY ARNETT      Submitted: 6/3/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? AMS has placed an excellent video that demos this product, the DR500SCE, under the wrong guitar. If you look under the EJ2000SCE Epiphone Guitar, you can see the video. Brian talks about the Esonic2 pickup system on the DR500SCE. You will need 2 amplifiers to take advantage of all the capabilities that Brian demonstrates in the video, according to customer service at Epiphone. You can use the guitar in mono mode, but as Brian says in the video, using the stereo output jack you can turn the acoustic guitar mode, or "raging Rockstar" mode. Pretty interesting. But the video does not make it clear that to do that - you need two amps. I am presently in the mode of finding a second amp that would allow me to do just that. All in all, the $600 sale price I paid is an unbelievable price for this unique acoustic electric guitar. Sounds good w/o amplification. Don't expect much customer service from AMS. I even took the guitar to a local Epiphone dealer and they were not familiar w
Was this review helpful?
Wow!!!
By: Aaron Lucas      Submitted: 5/31/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Ordered this guitar found out it was back ordered. I began to look at acoustics from Taylor, Martin, Gibson, after a wait, guitar shipped & I am glad its finely here. When trying out the other guitars at my local ""center"" where guitars are sold, I was not at all impressed with the Gibson in comparison to the Martin and Taylor. The neck on the Martin was great, but the strings didn't sing and fill the room like the Taylor did. The Taylor 214 (both standard and deluxe) seemed the better Taylor overall. Martin might've been more of a contender if the ""center"" had of sprung for new strings. Fast forward to finally receiving the Ep M B, this guitar is the best overall by far, great neck, strings fill the room, and the dual pickups are outstanding, not sure I dig running the nano to reg amp, sure it has potential, both p u's ran clean D/I, great warm sound. Seems like with other guitars your paying for the name, with the Ep MB, your paying for overwhelming quality, & great warm tone
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely love this guitar!
By: Frannie      Submitted: 3/10/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Of all the guitars I have owned(Martin, Guild, Madiera, and Ibanez, this is my favorite. It is very easy to play and I have short fingers. I played at a nursing home one day after I received my guitar and plugged it into an amp and it sounded great. I have no complaints and would recommend Ephiphone guitars to anyone who may have wanted to purchase one, but just wasn't sure. I also play in church and I received many compliments on the look and sound.
Was this review helpful?
Not really sure!!!!
By: Gee Bee      Submitted: 3/5/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? It's pretty, but feels cheap. I guess you get what you pay for. Not sure if I;m going to keep it!!! Did not sound or play as great as the web site claims!!!
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
What A Great Guitar
By: Jim Browning      Submitted: 3/4/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I have to tell you that I am really impressed with this guitar. Really impressed. Let me get this out of the way right at the first; I have been playing guitar since I was in high school back in the 80's. 35 years now and counting. I have played Martins, Gibsons, Taylors, Takemines, Blueridges, you name it. All are great guitars once you find the one you like. And that is the key. You like it. I never thought I would find a guitar that even came close to my current personal favorite, my early Blueridge BR-160. I have owned that guitar and played it consistently since 2005 and I love it.I ordered the Epiphone to augment my collection and because I read so many great things about them. All were true, as it turned out.The fit and finish are excellent. The tone is nice and mellow and extremely well balanced. Being a Dred, you kind of expect a boomy bottom but there was none of that to be found. Very well balanced indeed. It is a great guitar.
Was this review helpful?
I couldn't believe it at first!
By: Justin      Submitted: 2/27/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Mind arrived today, and let me tell you I was more than delighted when I opened the box up. First of all, it is just a beautiful peace of art (I have the sunburst version). A close examination of the guitar and I could. Of find the slightest flaw. The neck was straight, strings on right and not too tight, but not super loose either. A quick tune up using the built in tuner, while not the greatest will get you pretty close. I always tune by ear anyway. Played a simple chord and this baby just sang. Got a couple hours of playing time in and other than typical things like breaking in a new set of strings, it sounded amazing. The action is incredible. And the best part was when I plugged it into my amp, what a sweet, sweet sound. You definitely cannot go wrong with this guitar if your looking for high quality without the high price tag.
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful
By: Michael Rose,mjrose1947@yahoo.com      Submitted: 1/10/2015

Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? The guitar is a work of art, and it sounds as good as it looks. You would expect that it's a compromise to buy an Epiphone as opposed to a Gibson, no compromise here, this Epiphone is perfect. I've been a guitar player since the mid 60's.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
The Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE is an excellent acoustic guitar
By: Scott Glover      Submitted: 12/31/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I bought the Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE in vintage sunburst after playing one owned by a fried and from all of the positive reviews. When the guitar arrived I was impressed by the fit and finish. The guitar didn't need a setup. I played the guitar for about 3 hours and recorded some tracks and unplugged or into an amp the guitar sounds great. I found my setting for the blend control and EQ in a couple of minutes. If you are looking for an acoustic guitar under $1,000 this is the guitar I would highly recommend for a beginner to a person that's been playing for decades. Don't wait buy one from AMS. I also bought a Reunion Blues RBX dreadnought gig bag from AMS and the guitar fits in perfectly. AMS has outstanding customer service.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great looking/sounding guitar with a quality build.
By: RJ Meyer      Submitted: 12/15/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Set up well out of the box with nice low action. Rich deep tonal quality. Neck is one of the easiest players I have had. It is of much better quality than most $600 guitars I have played. It is a great value and is certainly a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely love it!
By: Thomas Powell      Submitted: 12/12/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Pulled it out of the box, gave it time to adjust to temperature, tuned it and it played like butter. Very smooth. I have played guitar for over 40 years and 2 years ago became partially paralyzed, recently started playing again but my other guitars took way to finger pressure and i couldnt play any longer than an hour...now with this guitar, thats no longer an issue.
Was this review helpful?
Guitar itself is great just don't plug it in
By: Dominic      Submitted: 10/26/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? If you can get past the heavy glue smell, this guitar is a great player. The craftsmanship is excellent. it sounds as good as some of my other acoustics that cost double this one. That is, until you try to record with it. The electronics in this guitar are sub par at best.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
A True OMG guitar.
By: MJR      Submitted: 9/29/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? The fit and finish is flawless. Very comfortable to hold and so smooth to touch. This instrument is the most clear sounding perfectly pitched instrument I have ever played. I own 26 guitars. This one quickly became my favorite acoustic. In tune all over the neck. GET YOU ONE OF THESE, NO FOOLIN.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
one of the best guitars in this price range I've been an epiphone player for over 40 yrs. Never dis
By: Jack Downs      Submitted: 7/23/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Masterbilts stand alone
By: Damian,dtrujillo@bresnan.net      Submitted: 7/21/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Sexy beast. Love it.
By: John Reynolds      Submitted: 7/9/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
Amazing Guitar!!
By: Billy Sadler,billysadler48@gmail.com      Submitted: 5/28/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
Acoustic Heaven
By: E. Haton from Chicago, IL USA      Submitted: 5/6/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. I owned a $2000 Taylor, I enjoy playing and listening to the tone of Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE more. Simply a fantastic instrument. The quality & price are simply unbelievable.
Was this review helpful?
Well built, great sounding guitar!!!!!!!
By: Mike from Williamstown PA      Submitted: 5/5/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
So glad I found this one
By: Happy Picker from Knoxville, T.N. USA.      Submitted: 5/2/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. I have had many, many guitars in my life. This one ranks really high on my list of favorites. I can't believe I got this kind of quality and amazing sound for the price I paid. Better buy this one before they realize how low of a price they have on this one. Trust me when I tell you I have played a lot of guitars that cost 4 times more than this one, and they did not feel or sound near as good.
Was this review helpful?
real old world craftsmanship you just can't find.
By: Gerald Clark      Submitted: 4/15/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. I'm in love with this masterpiece. There was some real craftsmanship in building and designing this guitar. Angels made this guitar because it sounds like heaven.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
This is really well worth the money..
By: Jeff Wiggins      Submitted: 4/14/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. I really like this guitar.. Nice feel. Nice sound.. I played many guitars of all kinds to make this decision. It was this one or a Yamaha A3R. This was the one althought the Yamaha was very close..
Was this review helpful?
Don't hesitate, BUY IT!!
By: bluesistheonlyrealmusic from Decatur, Il USA      Submitted: 3/18/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. What beautiful guitar... I have been a player for 20 years and am a certified Luthier. I have 17 guitars now, I've owned and played Martin's and Taylors and I would not hesitate for a second to put this up against them!
Was this review helpful?
Buy it
By: Andrew      Submitted: 3/11/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
Took some tweaking, but it was worth it.
By: mark      Submitted: 2/8/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. This guitar was not ready to play out of the box. Unfortunately, I was on the road, and by the time I got around to playing the guitar enough to evaluate it, it was past the time I could have returned it, or I might have. This is because of the action, which was high at the nut, stiff in the middle, and bottomed out at the 14th fret. Also, the nut was cut poorly and the high E buzzed terribly. Otherwise however, the tone was stunning- really, truly stunning. I haven't found another guitar at this price point that can touch it. Would pick it over some more expensive alternatives.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
WOW!
By: Bill v      Submitted: 2/4/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. I ordered this product after reading some of the reviews on it and am very happy I did. Even thought this guitar does not have a high end price it plays like a high end guitar.
Was this review helpful?
love it.
By: victor jason      Submitted: 12/31/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. very good for the money. good job !!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
An incredible guitar at any price!
By: Glenn Ralph from Washington,DC      Submitted: 12/27/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
what a great guitar !
By: duster      Submitted: 9/29/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. perfect
Was this review helpful?
well made
By: elpopeye from loxahatchee fl      Submitted: 7/2/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Your general opinion of this product. this is a very playable good sounding guitar
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Sound is amazing unplugged or with an amp. On deck tuner is really accurate as well.
By: Gary Barna from 59 Glenwood St, Ludlow, MA 01056      Submitted: 6/17/2013
verified
Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?
This is a great guitar
By: Bill from Minnesota      Submitted: 3/25/2013

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar.
Was this review helpful?
Just a great Acoustic Electric
By: Jim from Phoenix      Submitted: 1/7/2013

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Love it. Already mentioned the features and add that to the price and you can't really beat it. Would usually probably have to pay double what these cost from most companies to get all the features it as.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Playing perfection
By: Bob M from Hickman, KY USA      Submitted: 12/5/2012

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. I would rate this as good a quality instrument as I have ever played in my 40 years of music.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Loading....