American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE Acoustic Electric Guitar  -  EPI EMEC LIST

one of the best guitars in this price range I've been an epiphone player for over 40 yrs. Never dis
By: Jack Downs      Submitted: 7/23/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Masterbilts stand alone
By: Reverend D. Trujillo from Sheridan Wyoming USA, dtrujillo@bresnan.net      Submitted: 7/21/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Sexy beast. Love it.
By: John Reynolds from PA      Submitted: 7/9/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Amazing Guitar!!
By: Billy from Virginia Beach, Virginia, billysadler48@gmail.com      Submitted: 5/28/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Acoustic Heaven
By: E. Haton from Chicago, IL USA      Submitted: 5/6/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I owned a $2000 Taylor, I enjoy playing and listening to the tone of Epiphone Masterbilt DR500MCE more. Simply a fantastic instrument. The quality & price are simply unbelievable. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Beautiful to look at, a joy to hear. This Epiphone looks and feels like a very expense guitar. The built-in tuner is spot on. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar feels solid, beautifully finished, and a neck: finer than any girlfriend I have ever had. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tones are deep & rich - simply do a slow arpeggio through any chord and you feel the it is the first time you have heard the chord as it was intended to be. Then, I played the stereo sound through two amps and could not believe the richness of tone; every note crystal clear. I do not want to stop strumming this thing. Action How was the action out of the box? The action is perfect. You will not miss a hammer-on or pull-off here. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Simply a beautiful guitar. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have on owned/played the Epiphone for about a month now but I have no doubt that its tone and playability will only improve with use/time.
Well built, great sounding guitar!!!!!!!
By: Mike from Williamstown PA      Submitted: 5/5/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

So glad I found this one
By: Happy Picker from Knoxville, T.N. USA.      Submitted: 5/2/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have had many, many guitars in my life. This one ranks really high on my list of favorites. I can't believe I got this kind of quality and amazing sound for the price I paid. Better buy this one before they realize how low of a price they have on this one. Trust me when I tell you I have played a lot of guitars that cost 4 times more than this one, and they did not feel or sound near as good. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. You can tell Epiphone actually paid people to put their hands on these guitars. Sound is incredible. In experienced musicians can even tell a difference in the sound of this guitar. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck feels a lot like an electric guitar. Reminds me of a thinner Gibson SG. Perfect fit. Very comfortable. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Has a beautiful mix of bright and mellow tones. Seems like I am able to achieve any tone I want, depending on my hand position to the sound hole. Action How was the action out of the box? I did have to actually loosen the truss rod just a smidge, but I am going to adjust any guitar I buy. Every guitar changes to its new environment. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I cannot find a single blemish on mine. Epiphone did a very nice job on quality control on these. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I bought this back in January of 2014. Haven't put it down yet. I am sure I will get some really good years out of this guitar.
real old world craftsmanship you just can't find.
By: Gerald Clark from Cloverdale. Indiana. USA      Submitted: 4/15/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I'm in love with this masterpiece. There was some real craftsmanship in building and designing this guitar. Angels made this guitar because it sounds like heaven. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I say I got the best guitar on this planet Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Great neck fits my hand great Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds great hot or not. Has a tone only found in ever old and aged guitars. The tone vibration comes from heaven. Action How was the action out of the box? Its nice and professional Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect finish Reliability How has it stood up over time? Stays in tune great and I will have this guitar to the day I die.
This is really well worth the money..
By: Jeff Wiggins      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I really like this guitar.. Nice feel. Nice sound.. I played many guitars of all kinds to make this decision. It was this one or a Yamaha A3R. This was the one althought the Yamaha was very close.. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be very well made. Stays in tune.. I'm not rating dependability since Ive only owned for a short time.. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is slightly chunky, which I like.. No dead frets. The action is better than anything else I've played.. I did not have to make any adjustments to the neck.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sound is smooth and balanced acoustically.. The bass is a little low, but I think this will improve the more it is played.. I mostly will play plugged in.. And I really like the Esonic preamp.. Check out the demos on the Epiphone site.. Distortion throught the neck pu does sound cool.. Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is great, although more yellow and antiqued than I like.. No flaws.. This was a scratch and dent, but the only thing I found were that the batteries were dead.. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I cannot comment on this.. but I have a good feeling..
Don't hesitate, BUY IT!!
By: bluesistheonlyrealmusic from Decatur, Il USA      Submitted: 3/18/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. What beautiful guitar... I have been a player for 20 years and am a certified Luthier. I have 17 guitars now, I've owned and played Martin's and Taylors and I would not hesitate for a second to put this up against them! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? When you unpack a guitar and can smell the wood glue you know it's good! Bracing is perfect, the body binding and inlay work is flawless and he finish has not one issue that I have noticed (I got the sunburst). Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels like a solid acoustic, not too weighty and a nice body size. The neck is like buttah! The satin finish on the neck makes for undeniable playability and the controls are easy to navigate and access. The built in tuner works very well and the nanomag system is BAD A$$! I kicked over a Dimebag Distortion pedal while playing through it and it screamed! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Again, the Nanomag is awesome! The guitar's tone unamped is beautiful, I have been shopping for a new acoustic for years and bit the bullet on this one and I couldn't be happier. It had the exact tone that I was looking for (after changing to my favorite Ernie Ball strings 0f course). Mine came with D'Addario strings on it, which are good strings but didn't fit the tone of the guitar, put a set of Earthwood's on it and BOOM! she came to life! Very snappy high end and smokey low end. Action How was the action out of the box? Action height and intonation set perfectly out of the box and it was in tune! The grover tuners on this bad boy are not just pretty but they are effective! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless! Not a single thing wrong with this guitar and I inspected with a dental mirror inside the body and under a magnified light on the outside. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Just got it but with the initial quality and construction of the instrument I'm sure I will be passing this one on to a grandchild someday!
Buy it
By: Andy from Long Island      Submitted: 3/11/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

Took some tweaking, but it was worth it.
By: Mark Wilson from Reno/Tahoe      Submitted: 2/8/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar was not ready to play out of the box. Unfortunately, I was on the road, and by the time I got around to playing the guitar enough to evaluate it, it was past the time I could have returned it, or I might have. This is because of the action, which was high at the nut, stiff in the middle, and bottomed out at the 14th fret. Also, the nut was cut poorly and the high E buzzed terribly. Otherwise however, the tone was stunning- really, truly stunning. I haven't found another guitar at this price point that can touch it. Would pick it over some more expensive alternatives. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Rough out of the box, and it cost me a nut, a fret finish and a new saddle before I could put it to work. It was a pain, but it's been worth it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Horrible at first, but only due to poor setup and shoddy nut slot. After some trouble and minor extra expense, it's great. Neck is very Gibson-y, which is what I was hoping it would be when I bought it as a second guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Thick, resonant, crisp- more of a great strummer, a bit empty in the mids for fingerstyle playing,(mahogany dreadnoughts are not the usual choice for fingerstyle players anyway, and I knew that,) which is mostly what I do, but it EQ's well. I'm not wild about the pickup system because the magnetic pickup is vulnerable to string clicks if you play hard. Under saddle part is pretty good though, and convincingly acoustic, not too piezo-y. The single EQ knob per pickup is so-so. I use a preamp as well. Action How was the action out of the box? Terrible, but salvageable, which I did, now it's great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice for poly- not too thick. No noticeable flaws. Very, very pretty guitar. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Now that I got it working in the first place, so far so good. I've owned many an Epi, from 1940's models to recent, and I've loved every one. Always recommend them to students and other players.
WOW!
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 2/4/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I ordered this product after reading some of the reviews on it and am very happy I did. Even thought this guitar does not have a high end price it plays like a high end guitar. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far after a week of use it seems to be holding up well. I guess time will tell but I own other Epiphones and they are still in great shape after ten and fifteen years of playing. Take care of them and they take care of you. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck feels nice not too fat and not too heavy. Controls are simple to use and easy to get to. The neck is pretty fast and comfortable to play on. The upper parts of the neck are also comfortable with the cut away. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Guitar has a nice tone unplugged and a great variety of tones plugged in. The lows are clear but heavy and the highs are crisp and clear. Mids are great too! Good bang for the buck. Action How was the action out of the box? Action needed no adjustment Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is nice. I bought the natural and it is stunning. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so Good. Too early to tell.
love it.
By: vic from Augusta Ga USA      Submitted: 12/31/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. very good for the money. good job !! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? well made for the money. thanks !! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? i will use it on stage. and that means a lot. feel well balance. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? very smooth to me. Action How was the action out of the box? great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? outstanding job with the paint. Reliability How has it stood up over time? still working on that. but it will do the job.
An incredible guitar at any price!
By: Glenn R. from Washington,DC USA      Submitted: 12/27/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

what a great guitar !
By: duster      Submitted: 9/29/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. perfect Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes very Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? perfect Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? all of the above Action How was the action out of the box? great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect Reliability How has it stood up over time? It will do very well
well made
By: elpopeye from loxahatchee fl      Submitted: 7/2/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. this is a very playable good sounding guitar Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? well made found no flaws Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? action is very good.comfortable to hold. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? finish is flawless Reliability How has it stood up over time? so far so good
Sound is amazing unplugged or with an amp. On deck tuner is really accurate as well.
By: Gary Barna from 59 Glenwood St, Ludlow, MA 01056      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

This is a great guitar
By: Bill from Minnesota      Submitted: 3/25/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very pretty and solid guitar/ Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had it 2 months but it "feels" great! General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Easy to play and the action was perfect right out of the box. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Unbelievable sounding guitar. Kudo's to the esonic team. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the Natural guitar and the picture doesnt actually show the true color. The real country is a light orange kind of. Beautiful, man I wouldnt trade this guitar for nothing. Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect!! I kid you not.
Just a great Acoustic Electric
By: Jim from Phoenix      Submitted: 1/7/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made guitar. Has so many great features that you would normally have to pay much more for... - All Solid Wood Construction - Bone Nut and Saddle - Full Body, Neck and Headstock Binding - Great Electronics with two different pickups - Vintage style headstock and inlays Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far it seems very reliable. I've only had it about six months after getting it for myself with Birthday money. Did a lot of research and this guitar just had the features I wanted at a price that was within my budget. General Your general opinion of this product. Love it. Already mentioned the features and add that to the price and you can't really beat it. Would usually probably have to pay double what these cost from most companies to get all the features it as. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Plays and feels solid and just a joy to play. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Had my first gig the other night and used this bad boy and got tons of compliments on our sound. Just went from the guitar straight into a PA. You have some options with the built in electronics that have the two pickups. I had it about 3/4 of the way towards the nanoflex side of the slider and it worked great. Played about a 3 hour gig and it worked great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have the Sunburst finish and it's gorgeous. Looks like a much more expensive guitar than it is. Really like the satin finish on the back of the neck. Also like the vintage headstock and inlays. Just a sweet looking axe. Action How was the action out of the box? Action was perfect right from the factory. So easy to play and wasn't bad at all playing it for a 3 hour gig.
Playing perfection
By: Bob M from Hickman, KY USA      Submitted: 12/5/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was absolutly astonished by this. It had the sound and fell of the old J45 J50 Gibson's my dad had. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have not had any issues with this instrument and honestly don't feel that I will have any issues. General Your general opinion of this product. I would rate this as good a quality instrument as I have ever played in my 40 years of music. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I always set instruments up to fit my playing style but out of the box it was like it was custom set for me. The sound acoustically is mellow and resonant. The electronics give extreme flexability. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? If you are looking for that deep rich Gibson traditional sound here it is. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish of the guitar is flawless Action How was the action out of the box? Butter smooth ready to be p[layed.
Loading....