American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom Plus EX Guitar with Case  -  EPI ENCH XXBH1 LIST

Well?
By: Jerome warren from oxford wi usa      Submitted: 8/10/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Finish How did the stain or paint job look? when it arrived the neck was cracked by the headstock and the fretboard was coming apart the guitar was beautiful ill try again will be getting a refund next time.
Might have the best tone I've ever heard
By: Jack from Lacey, WA, USA      Submitted: 7/28/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a real beauty, I got the Midnight Sapphire and it was flawless out of the box. This is one of the best guitars I own and that includes Strats and Gibson LPs. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This one is a beast, it was made for Hard Rock and Metal, it has the sweetest tone. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Extremely playable, after I tuned her up I almost could not put her down, I played until my fingers bled. It's a dream. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is as expected, dark, smooth and extreme. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was flawless, not a blemish on her. Just beautiful. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? For the price, you just can't beat it, I have played almost every thing out there and nothing even comes close for under a grand. Playability How was the action out of the box? Perfect, Gibson obviously set this up before they shipped it, that was unexpected, it was shipped by Gibson. Just tune her up and go. Probably change the strings to maybe 10s or 12s but other than that she was good to go!
Not as dark as the pictures, but the feel and sound are great
By: Doug Hartwell from Las Vegas      Submitted: 7/28/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? My only 1 point deduction is on the Finish. If it was a tad darker I would have gone 5s across the board. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Its an Epiphone Les Paul, it has a bit of weight but I like this thing a LOT! I bought the G-400 pro and this, and I have to say the prophecy is a better weight and better feel. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I don't have much to compare to, but I think it sounds really good for the price. Want brighter, throw on the neck pickup, in between have it both, dark, go bridge. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It is lighter then the pictures, but still a nice quilted maple. Looks like the ocean to me. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I have been looking at getting the prophecy for some time. The scratch and dent price put me over the edge and I had to buy it. I can't find a single flaw. Playability How was the action out of the box? For the distance it traveled east coast to vegas, it is setup very nice. Only slightly out of tune, but that is easy.
Too awesome!
By: Josh from Athens, ga , USA.      Submitted: 5/5/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

DESTINY
By: Bradley Carlson from Falconer N.Y.      Submitted: 5/2/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Well first off this guitar was on backorder so long,I contacted customer service and cancelled the order a couple months ago.I bought one from the "other" guys.Then I get a email your order has shipped apparently they hadn't cancelled.At first I was angry,then I saw they charged me the old 599 price,its now 699....and worth it....at the price they charged...THANK YOU.....even though that was the rent.....either way I LOVE my first one....now they made little improvements from the tuners,bridge,finish....perfect frets....intonation,playability wow....of my ten guitars this is THE ONE...with a case included,fantastic Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? everything is perfect,I think there back engineering PRS or doing there own computer engineering. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This neck feel on the gx and the ex has become my favorite.but I do have big hands. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? all you need to say les paul meets emg Finish How did the stain or paint job look? was good 2 years ago.The 2014s are unreal.other sites have better pics,but buy yours here.there honest and sell all good equipment.always. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? this is a 1200 dollar guitar.no doubt.the 699 price is just extreme efficiency and no brand name gouging.epiphone keeps getting better. Playability How was the action out of the box? best guitar I have period.
Great guitar for the money
By: Fabrizio from Encino California      Submitted: 2/19/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great value for the buck Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This guitar is great for all kind of music for metal, rock, etc..... Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels pretty good Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is smooth the pick up are great can't get wrong with EMG Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent !!!!!! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I sure did is not a Gibson of course but it is indeed great value for the money Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was great out of the box, I will need some adjustment , but those are just my preferences.
" I Love this guitar it's beautiful and sounds awesome "
By: Rockin' Randy from Denver, Colorado U      Submitted: 1/30/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great Guitar at a Great Price
By: Dave Gundacker from San Jose Ca Usa      Submitted: 12/3/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Well I just got my guitar yesterday and I was very impressed with the neck on this guitar. It is so fast and easy to play. Also I like the weight as it helps it to get a fat tone. It looks great as well. Overall for the money it is a great value and I am happy to add it to my collection. I really think gibson should consider making a guitar like this with this kinda of neck for more of the shredder type players. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I would say yes as it cleans up nicely Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? yes it has a nice weight and with the neck being so fast it is the perfect mixture of chunky tone with the fast easy to play neck. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? hot tone nice distortion from the pick ups Finish How did the stain or paint job look? it looks great Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I think it is a great value Playability How was the action out of the box? to low for me and I change the strings right away to 10's
This should be in an industrial machine store! It is a shredder!
By: "THE RICK" from Hub City, MD      Submitted: 8/3/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Hell yes Batman!
By: Brandon from U.S.A Tennessee      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is amazing. I've owned Schecters 699 and 799 emgs and all the jazz they were great don't get me wrong. But out of the box The prophecy was the best guitar I have ever played. I would recommend tweaking the action to your liking as with all knew guitars. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Its very solid. I expect her to be very dependable. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I've had 81's and 85's Take them and add it to the solid unweight relieved body. The tone is Amazing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is so much better in life than the crap picture they have loaded up here. I have the blue. Awesome.
Great potential, but has issues on QC.
By: Chris      Submitted: 4/30/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Epiphone Les Paul Custom plus EX with Case
By: James J Nichols from Gresham Oregon      Submitted: 3/12/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This Guitar is out of this world and is a work of art very well made should prove to be a dependable axe. General Your general opinion of this product. It is a great buy and I will buy from AMS again wonderful customer service and fast free shipping. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone this guitar puts out with the active EMG pickups is endless with my Line 6 AMP it sounds like heaven. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Only had one problem with finish on back of neck there was a small bubble from from the finish process took some fine sandpaper and fixed that pretty easy.
Great Modern Twist on the Les Paul
By: Chris from Texas      Submitted: 3/3/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels very dependable. I have used it at several live shows since receiving it and I have no reason to believe that it will not continue to hold up to the rigors of playing and the road!! General Your general opinion of this product. Over all this is a sold and well playing guitar. Right now it is my main back up guitar and my "Standard" tuned guitar for the songs that are not in our normal drop tuning. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has the tone I am looking for from a guitar loaded with EMG's. It's a bit darker than my other Les Pauls (1 Gibson and 1 Epi). I know allot of people try to say that with active pickups the wood doesn't make any difference but I can attest that is untrue. I have the exact same EMG' pickups in my other LP's and you can hear a difference. This isn't a bad thing at all, it's actually quite nice because it gives me the option of changing guitars to achieve a different sound if I want to. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Finish is very nice. The quilt comes through much better in person than it does in the pictures.
Prophecy Plus EX Review
By: Tone Bone from North Carolina      Submitted: 2/23/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This instrument feels solid. Heavy due to the fact that the body is not chambered. Haven't had it long but everything is sound. General Your general opinion of this product. Great instrument for metal players Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? These EMG's are HOT! Great for metal tone as you would expect, but don't believe the flamers on the forums they clean up nicely and deliver jazz and blues tones as well. This is a LP, and the sustain is there. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Here is where I had some issues. My excitement level fell a little when I noticed two blemishes in the binding close to where the fretboard meets the body. Not a big deal to me but still present. Keep in mind this is a $600 Epi not a Gibson, and gibsons show up with the same problems.
Best Guitar At An Awesome Price!!!!!!!
By: patrick961 from Cooper City, Florida USA      Submitted: 1/22/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made General Your general opinion of this product. Stays in tune well awesome sound Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Emg`s are the best, awesome sound Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Lighter than pictured but still great
EPIPHONE HAS BUILT A SHREDDERS DREAM!!!!
By: MICHAEL RIGSBY from MEMPHIS,TN.      Submitted: 10/24/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? VERY SOLID,I OEN TWO STARDS A ND THIS ONE IS AS SOLID IF NOT MORE... General Your general opinion of this product. AWESOME GUITAR,I MUST HAVE ONE.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? VERY CHUGGING TONE,EMG 81 AN 85 SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES....ZAKK USES THEM ,WHAT ELSE TO SAY... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? GORGOEOUS!!
Loading....