American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom Plus GX Guitar with Case  -  EPI ENCH XXGH1 LIST

I LOVE THIS GUITAR!!
By: Gene Ruggiere from Beachwood NJ 08722, gruggiere@hotmail.com      Submitted: 7/26/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love it cant stop playing it Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Well made, everything was perfict Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast neck with a smooth satin finish, doesn't have the killer weight of a Gibson les Paul which I find to be a plus. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is amazing plenty of bite and the coil tap gives you loads options Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Almost to pretty to play Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Feels like much more expensive guitar I owned 79 Les Paul Custom and it didn't feel as nice as this Epi Playability How was the action out of the box? Tune Plug and Play
This guitar is comparable my Gibson Les Paul Classic!
By: Frank101 from Gunnison, Co, Gunnison      Submitted: 7/1/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good play machine! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Perfect. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Nice feel fast neck and the controls are in reach with no problem. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone variations on this thing are amazing! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was flawless. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I feel I got much more than I paid for. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action was perfect out of the box.
Absolute Gem
By: Firedup from NY      Submitted: 6/15/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Gem with beautiful finish and PAF 490's Sound. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great for all modern styles. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Just right. A little emery paper on the fret ends, but that is about it. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? PAF 490's due to USA Pups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Like Artwork. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? There are few that can compete. Playability How was the action out of the box? It was perfect.
This is one sweet guitar.
By: Gene from El Paso, Texas      Submitted: 3/27/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Nice Guitar
By: Bradley Carlson from Falconer N.Y.      Submitted: 12/24/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a great sounding guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Really looks nice.When you pick it up you figure it cost more than a G. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is perfect.The inlays are incredible. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Sounds like a Gibson Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Caught my eyein the ad.Looks better in person. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Much much more than I expected.This thing is worth a lot more than the price. Playability How was the action out of the box? Like most epiphones you need to fine tune the intonation,adjust pick up height.no problem.If you don't think you can,watch you tube in 30 minutes youll be an expert.
Really nice instrument.
By: Bob from Omaha      Submitted: 10/12/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Love the coil tap feature. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? First electric guitar I've owned and don't claim to be an expert but the quality seems to be very good for the price. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not as heavy as I expected. Neck is smooth and easy to get around. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is outstanding. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Absolutely worth the price. Playability How was the action out of the box? Fantastic.
Wow !!! amazing guitar !!!
By: Robert Porter from Indianapolis IN U.S.A., robertporterishome@gmail.com      Submitted: 8/20/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar, plays and sounds amazing Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Ive had it for a month, it is nicely constructed and seems to be dependable. Ive had my Prophecy EX for almost a year and it is also well made and very dependable, no problems at all. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The cleans are very bright, and the gain is crunchy, both very smooth n hot. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Awesome finish, always getting compliments on the finish, and I couldnt find any flaws upon inspection.
"An absolute gem of a guitar"
By: Randy from Phoenix, Arizona      Submitted: 8/14/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is an unbelievable guitar! All that anyone could want and then some. The craftsmanship and attention to perfection is simply mind blowing. I already own a custom but this is by far a superior guitar. I would stand this next to a "Gibson" any day...and go away a winner. You could not find a better instrument in any price range. American Musical did it again! The guitar arrived quickly and set up almost perfectly right out of the box. I did some minor adjustments and away I went. This guitar kicks major butt. She is delicate when picked soft and screams when you dig in a little. Very touch sensitive. Just try one out, there is no way you will be disappointed.Thanks guys, I love it. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is as solid as it can be. It is not only beautiful to look at but the build quality is beyond belief. I can only say I think it will last my lifetime. The attention to detail is off the chart! Not a flaw any place and the quilt matches so well you cannot find where it matches up...so cool. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tones you are able to coax out of this beauty is remarkable and quite pleasing. If played gently she is sweet and clean..dig in a little and she can growl impressively. Get physical and she screams and cries like no other. Just a delight to play. Makes you want to play and that is a good thing, when was the last time your instrument made you want to not put it down! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Unxxxxing believable!!! Not a smear or any kind of flaw anywhere..and I have been over this guitar over and over. It is just a work of art. It was even in a quality case that fits like a glove. A beautiful guitar. I got the dark cherry finish and it is really much better than the photos in person.
This guitar is awesome!!
By: Sam Hogge from Williamsburg,Va. USA      Submitted: 8/10/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar exceeded my expectations.Its a fine quality instrument which I thoroughly enjoy playing. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality craftsmanship.Guitar feels great like it should. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? GREAT TONE.Quite a selection of tones with various pickup configurations.Love the coil-tapping. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is fantastic.Better than the pictures.
Not really playable out of box
By: EX80      Submitted: 5/3/2013

Overall Rating


Finish




General


Quality




Tone




0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Not really a fan of how epiphone makes their necks, almost feels like plastic, feels waxy, so you have to wear the neck down a bit. The neck truss rod needs adjustment, cheap stock strings needs to be changed or it has hard time staying in tune. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The body is flawless, the neck feels cheap, hardwares are solid, the pickup on mine looked like it was slapped in, pickup plastic housing were a bit crooked,knobs seem to be solid. For 600, your paying for nice body, original USA Gibson pickups, and solid hardwares. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All depends on the strings you use again. Pickups are nice, it gets the job done, sounds like a les paul, it can do metal with proper setting on particular amps such as a Mesa boogie and Peavy 6505. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Turned out better then I expected. Beautiful guitar finish and color. Glad I choose sunburst cherry. Although its a basic color, it really brings out the wood versus the black cherry.
gives gibson a run for the money
By: myrr from pittsburgh pa      Submitted: 5/1/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? the quality is awsome ,feels good in your hands,i got the heritage cherry sunburst and it looks better than the pics. the case fits nice and feels sturdy General Your general opinion of this product. great Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the coil tapping is nice get that sharp tone like two single coils or that throaty hummbocker sound Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great
i got this in the sun burst and it looks better than the pictures
By: myrr from pittsburgh pa      Submitted: 4/15/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? well made and sounds great i have other epis and have never been disapointed yet General Your general opinion of this product. i would buy another Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? well with coil tapping this thing is great. you can get down and nasty just like a les should or get that twanggiy tele sound Finish How did the stain or paint job look? finish was great
BUY IT !!! ...BUY IT !!!!!!...BUT IT !!!!! ...NOW!!!!!
By: Leslie K. from Hagerstown, Md.      Submitted: 2/17/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes ...VERY solid guitar..and have to mention the case. This is a nice deal....seriously. The case is really durable and the GX fits "perfect" . I think it was made for this guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. Pictures don't do this guitar justice....especially the Blk Cherry GX. With the gold appointments WOW !!! and the inlays Mm,,,Mmm..Mmmmm dam. Didn't adjust anything but tune it and hooked up the amp!! PERFECT !!!. Gotta give kudos to the sales rep. at AMS. I asked as many questions as I could and he was "very" knowledgeable and friendly . He help me compare different amps as well Thanks for making my purchase a memorable one. OH yea...forgot. got it in one day, ordered from AMS 12 noon Tues. got it 1 pm Wed. from Jersey to Maryland. Came well packaged. Nice......... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Hm...I'm ordering a mustang III amp for this guitar to unleash its capabilities. I have a crappy 15w practice amp but I can hear the potential... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless....really beautiful guitar, binding, finish and the pattern on top it's AWSOME !!!! ( I hoped I would get a nice pattern) I did!!!! And the gold really just sets it all in motion. *First thing you do....Buy a set of microfiber polishing cloths to keep her shiny always.
Its a HEAVY HITTER!!!
By: Wally Faul from Bedford, Pennsylvania USA      Submitted: 1/29/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great attention to detail.Very nice appointments.To me,it a higher quality guitar than the price would suggest. General Your general opinion of this product. For the money,,,WOW!! Even the case is nicely made! Its a very pretty instrument! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? To me,the heavy body and SOLID feel of this guitar produce that thick,crunchy tone that I personally love. I wont change these pickups,I don't see a need to. Epiphone hit it right here.Great sustain. Man,,if you like a heavy tone on a heavy guitar.This is it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is gorgeous! Although the quilt top looks to be made of one piece. I've looked closely and see no "split" I only see one pretty quilt top! No issues here with tops not matching.
Epiphone did their homework on the new Prophecy GX!
By: Calvin Thomas from New Carrollton, Maryland      Submitted: 1/17/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent Quality IMO! Looks and plays like a $1600 guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. Great Guitar! You will not be disappointed! The GX is so versatile and the single coil tapping is a great addition to an already amazing sounding guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Deep, Deep aggressive tone!The mids and high's just scream. The sustain sings as long as you can hold the note....Wow! From sweet warm clean to dark and angry, this guitar is the full Les Paul package. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Absolutely beautiful guitar. I can't stop looking at it. I almost don't want to play it because it looks so good. LOL!
The total ROCK MACHINE
By: JEFFREY SMITH from EAGON,MN.USA      Submitted: 10/15/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? built very well@ very dependable General Your general opinion of this product. 31 high quality guitar Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? BRIGHT@DARK Pickups are hot brightGIBSON BRIGHT @ DARK GIBSON PICKUPS ARE SMOKIN HOT 490R NECK 498T BRIDGE DARG BRIGHT Finish How did the stain or paint job look? AAA MAPLE TOP WAS SLIGHTLY LIGHTER ON ONE SIDE OF THE BODY
The total ROCK MACHINE
By: JEFFREY SMITH from EAGON,MN.USA      Submitted: 10/9/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? ISSUE WITH THE AAA MAPLE TOP NOT MATCHING General Your general opinion of this product. QUAILTY GUITAR Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? BRIGHT@DARK Finish How did the stain or paint job look? THE AAA MAPEL TOP DID NOT MATCH
Loading....