American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro Electric Guitar  -  EPI ENCT LIST

Nice guitar for the money, don't know how they do it!
By: Tim Farrell from Penn Yan, NY      Submitted: 6/17/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

This guitar plays as good as it looks. It will not let you down!!
By: scott kyle      Submitted: 3/10/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

An asthetically beautiful piece of firewood
By: Dozer from Oklahoma City      Submitted: 1/1/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I give this a two overall. A near beginner might be thrilled with this guitar. However, one major issue with this instrument cannot be fixed. It completely loses sustain on the first three strings between the fifteenth and twentieth frets. Two of the bridge saddle I had to regroove the first and second bridge saddle due to bridge/string rattle from the 15th to 19 frets on the first two strings, most noticed on the second. I haven't done a fret job on it yet, but it could use one. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Well...... Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck shape is wonderful. It has a soft D shape neck, a little thicker than say, a Charvel or Jackson and not quite as wide. it fits my hand about as well or better than most guitars I own/have owned. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I cant say too much about the pickups. Ive replaced the pups in my other guitars with Duncan Distortions. So, the pickups in this were a little brighter with less low end and not as hot, but they still sound okay. just depends on what you"re looking for. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful piece of firewood. The paint, binding, inlay work, neck joint and gold hardware were flawless. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Not at all. I spent less money on a loosely comparable Ibanez, even after replacing the pups and got a far superior instrument. Playability How was the action out of the box? It was fair. I tweaked the neck and adjusted the bridge and it played much better.
Love it! Heavy with loads of sustain.
By: Bryan Cee from Slidell, LA. USA      Submitted: 9/14/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Highly favorable and well worth the money. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I consider the Custom Pro to be the top of the Epiphone Les Paul line. The binding stripes are painted on and noticeable as such in a few spots, but the outer edge is real binding. The fit and finish is top notch inside and out. Pop the back cover to check out the wiring and you'll find it was not simply thrown together...I have a Epi LP Studio where the wiring was not that well put together. There is a feeling of quality when holding this guitar. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Heavy but in a good way. It feels solid and sustains for days. The neck is slimmer than I'd like as I have big hands and need a thick chunky neck. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The ProBucker pickups are really nice although I need more time playing through a tube amp at loud volumes to get a better idea. A capacitor swap with orange drops or paper in oils is a necessity. If Epiphone would simply upgrade their caps to orange drops at a minimum it wouldn't add much to the cost but would do wonders for the out-of-the-box experience. Especially in the Custom. Why not? The little ceramics they install have got to go. The coil taps are a nice option to have but you won't get single coil sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice white color all around. I love the way it looks. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value for the money. It feels solid and is a definite keeper. I doubt I'll upgrade the pickups, but may go for new CTS pots when I swap out the caps. With a few small upgrades this thing is going to be a monster. Playability How was the action out of the box? I had to adjust the truss rod a few turns, make a few adjustments to the saddles and adjust the pickup heights to get her where she needed to be.
Happy, Happy, Happy!
By: Dennis Drummond from Cantril Iowa USA      Submitted: 8/18/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

My First LP
By: docclay from KN MO      Submitted: 8/11/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is my first Les Paul so I think there was a getting use to the feel type learning curve. (Up until now I've mostly owned Telecasters and Strats, Schecter PT and the like.) The Gibson name and sticker price has always scared me off. That's when I decided an Epi might be just the right balance between price and quality. Boy was that right! throw on top of that, that I bought it Scratch and Dent, and I absolutely LOVE this buy. I couldn't recommend it more. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? As I said above, I bought it as a "Scratch & Dent" model. I defy anyone to find ANY scratches or dents in this guitar. My son fond what he thought might have been a slight scuff mark on the side of the head, but a little buff with my polishing cloth and, No more scuff. Otherwise, it seems to be an incredibly solid guitar. From the bindings, to the gold tuners this guitar combines its beauty with its solid construction. I ended up getting the white version but I'm sure I would have been just as happy either way. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I've really been having fun playing my Epi through my Line 6 Flextone II combo amp. Seeing all the different sounds I can get out of the two of them has really been enjoyable. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I can't say enough about this guitars physical attributes. You can really tell that the finish on this one is nice and thick and it all the gold hardware is great.
I can't believe its an epiphone
By: Rob "stratkatt" Winter from duarte,ca. u.s.a., stratkatt@aol.com      Submitted: 7/7/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I love les pauls. The last couple epi's had Gibson pickups. When i bought this guitar, I was thing of changing out the pickups to Gibson burstbuckers. Then it came. I opened it up, a quick adjustment, and I've changed my mind. I truely sounds great. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a grade A quality guitar. I have, I believe 6 or 7 les pauls.This is a great les paul. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is wnderful. Wheather playing straight thru an amp, or going thru my pedals, it sounds GREAT!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Black,like this guitar brand new looks flawless. I use a bit of carnauba polish on it to keep it looking new.Its a beautiful looking guitar.
Amazing for the money!
By: Nick Allen      Submitted: 6/19/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Nice Guitar for the Money
By: Rick from Somewhere in the Upstate      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

How did the stain or paint job look? Mine actually looks better than the pic. I have the wine red with the gold hardware. Couldn't believe how good it looked when I opened the box. WOW
Great Playing Guitar
By: David      Submitted: 4/27/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Beautiful looking guitar. Can stop looking at it hanging on my wall. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Thick full tone with the humbuckers with some thinner spanky single coil tones when using the coil taps. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? 9/10 pretty tight overall.
Love it!
By: Mark from Robbinsdale, MN, USA      Submitted: 4/24/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. It's the first Epiphone I might leave unaltered! General Your general opinion of this product. Very glad I bought it. I needed another LP like I needed a hole in my head, but the sound and feel are so great that this has become my main go to guitar now. Plus she's so darn pretty! I normally gut my Epiphones, but like I mentioned before, I don't see the need to do so here. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sound is great. These pickups sound just as good as the Burstbuckers in one of my other LP's. And the coil split is a nice addition. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is beautiful - just blows me away. Everyone who sees it for the first time are in awe and want to pick it up! A very clean, rosy wine red color.
check it out
By: Dasco Entertainment from Pierceton Indiana, USA      Submitted: 1/18/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? this guitar is built very well...i cannot find anything wrong with it.. General Your general opinion of this product. this is a very excellent instrument..the quality and workmanship are flawless and the tone is over the top Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? as far as the tone..the coil tapping is amazing..you can get crunchy..clean..mellow..sweet...well you get the idea.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? fantastic...i left it setting on a stand for 3 days before i played it...i didn't want to scratch it but now i play it every day and wash my hands,no belt buckles or shirts with buttons when i play...
Incredible sound, great build quality, highly recommended
By: Tim from Baltimore, MD      Submitted: 1/8/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar holds its tune very well. The electronics appear to be high quality and the pickups sound amazing. General Your general opinion of this product. I'd buy another one of these in a heartbeat. Honestly I was on the fence about sending it back and getting a Gibson V just for the Gibson name. But after playing it, I quickly changed my mind. One note, it is very heavy though. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is thick and rich and not muddy at all. The pickups go from a great blues sound to a thick metal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint looks great, no flaws.
just got it
By: dean@ Dasco Entertainment from pierceton in      Submitted: 5/22/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well built,,,i found no flaws in the finish or workmanship...this thing is absolutly beautiful General Your general opinion of this product. i was realy worried because of the bad stories ive read about epi's...but i decided to take a chance...i figured that if Ace..Joe Bonamassa..Chet Atkins..and the list goes on,,,put thier name on an epi,then it would be a good product. im glad i took the chance. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? still not plugged in yet but cant wait Finish How did the stain or paint job look? flawless
Loading....