American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top Pro Electric Guitar  -  EPI ENLP LIST

Great Guitar for the price
By: Larry Sullivan from Jacksonville ,Ar.      Submitted: 6/9/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? my only problem is my hands and fingers big to big for this model,other than that its is perfect ,great sound and guitar Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? fantastic guitar,does great for rock ole southern rock and general pop cover work. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? controls easy,neck bit small for my hand ,but American Muscial fixing that as we speak. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? dark and smooth for me but i got alot blues influence so i like it like that Finish How did the stain or paint job look? excellent artwork,i call it art cause no other words work for the best finish ive seen. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? great value Playability How was the action out of the box? great,not much work to get it up and playable of couse to be expected on any new guitar.
By: RJ MOLLOY from Austin TX      Submitted: 5/20/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Best value ever!
By: Jim Lamb from Carrollton, Texas, USA      Submitted: 4/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Purchased the Dent and Scratch sale product and was pleasantly surprised to find no blemishes or scratches. The Epiphone Les Paul plays good after a general set-up. Intonation was perfect. This is a good looking guitar and plays really nice. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Found no issues with the workmanship of this guitar. Finish is excellent. After a simple string height adjustment, the action is good for any kind of music. The guitar plays very well. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is not the same as a neck on a $3000 guitar, but is good enough to play with some string height adjustment. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is very good . Sustain is excellent. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The guitar appearance is excellent. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Similar products would cost more. The web site is well thought out and there were no issue the order. Playability How was the action out of the box? My preference is to set the string height regardless of the factory set up. Factory set up was ok but needed some adjustment for my preference.
EXELLENT !!!
By: michael joseph lanting from hobe sound fl usa      Submitted: 4/7/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Looks,plays and sounds like more expensive guitars. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great for all types of music. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels and plays like a GIBSON. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is great, love the PRO pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? 100% Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Better than I expected. Just like my epi 339. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was good. Just a change off strings and I was on my way.
nice
By: victor gonzales from denver co      Submitted: 2/21/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Love this guitar but mine came with a humming bird...
By: Michael from Omaha, NE, USA      Submitted: 2/21/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

I'm lovin' this Epi LP!
By: Blaise from PA      Submitted: 2/18/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I am a living room player for almost 20 years. In my opinion this is well worth the $499 I paid. I have a Fender Blacktop HSH and PRS SE that I love and this IMO is comparable to the PRS. I've only had it a day but am impressed with it initially! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The guitar seems to be well made. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? My guitar wasn't heavy or light, just right in the middle. The neck was chunkier than my Fender and a little more chunky my PRS. The neck was neutral feeling, I wouldn't say slow, but not a shredder IMO. Control layout was standard LP. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Definitely a more biting tone than my Fender or PRS, which is what I was looking for. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was very nice, however I was a little disappointed by the fact that some of stain (trans-blue) got on the treble side of the body binding. I can live with it, its only about half the size of a pencil eraser, but it is noticeable. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Definitely worth the price I paid Playability How was the action out of the box? Played well out of the box, action was to my liking.
fantastic,under priced
By: randy0714 from marion,indiana USA      Submitted: 2/3/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? GREAT Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? finest,anything from gospal to metal. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? a little chunky for me,still very easy to play. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? bright and snappy,dark and smooth its got it aii Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? yes,better than gibson studio Playability How was the action out of the box? a little high
My Favorite Guitar!
By: Japhet Reyes from Hidalgo.Tx, US      Submitted: 1/16/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Plays Like a Dream
By: Xanadar from Tampa, FL      Submitted: 1/5/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Epiphone has really upped their game in the past few years. This is a high quality instrument, that gives you incredible bang for your buck. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This was bought as a back-up, and it came in handy. I dropped my Gibson Studio just before a gig, and it broke in classic fashion on the neck. This was a flawless replacement, filling in with no problem. In fact, after I got the Studio fixed (thanks to the guys at Onstage Music, the repair is perfect) I've kept using this Epi, partly because I don't want to risk damaging the Gibson again, but also because I really love the tone and the playability of this guitar. I lose nothing. The sound is great, and I'm making money, not spending it paying off a more expensive guitar. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This feels great, and was set up nicely right out of the box, but I like the action lower than factory settings and had my local luthier set it up for me. He is magic, and the thing practically plays itself. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I can get a wide range of sounds from this, thanks to the coil tapping. I can get that Tele tone that is great for country and take it right into the blues or classic Rock. You might want a hotter pick-up if you play metel all the time, but the pick-ups on this are top notch. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Cherry Burst looks amazing. Just beautiful. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Epiphone is becoming legendary for their high quality, affordable instruments. You just can't go wrong. An Epiphone Les Paul won't hold its value like a Gibson, but the sound, and playability will be right up there. Playability How was the action out of the box? The factory sets this up just fine, but I prefer a lower action, and had it adjusted.
EXCELLENT GUITAR! WORTH MUCH MORE THAN THE ASKING PRICE
By: JOE fazzari      Submitted: 12/27/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Desert Island Guitar
By: Bill West from Woodstock, GA, USA      Submitted: 12/25/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Headstock snobs be damned, this is a great guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This is a quality axe. Works for any music genre because of the wide palette of tones available to you. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Nice weight, not too heavy. The neck is quite a bit chunkier than my 2000 LP Deluxe but very comfortable. The push/pull pots are solid and easy to use. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? What tone do you want? With its coil splitting features this guitar will give it to you. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. Beautiful and perfect. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This guitar gives you value at twice the price. Playability How was the action out of the box? I had to lower the strings a tad to suit my taste. The intonation was dead on.
Damn near perfect...
By: The Mando from Gilbert, AZ      Submitted: 7/25/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I just bought a Gibson Signature T... and this Epi LP as a back up... both are pristine...indistinguishable save a few MINOR "flaws"...and the $1700 price diff... Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It appears to be made quite well (it hails from Indonesia) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I'm having a hard time telling the difference between my Gibson LP and this Epi...seriously. With the coil tap ability...it sounds like 4 different guitars. NICE. All kinds of different tones... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stain and lacquer job is flawless...period. Vintage Sunburst...as close to a Slash model as I'll get, till I win the lotto...hehehe...
A bargain and a true high quality electric guitar!
By: DameinSullins from Ok. City Ok USA, americankleenpro@cox.net      Submitted: 7/12/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This one came from Indonesia and was nearly perfectly setup. In tune! I was able to start playing right out of the box. The best $500.00 electric guitar out there and better than many that cost quite a bit more as well. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Epiphone has paid attention to this area where they truly needed to. The quality is very high and all the details are almost perfect. The finish is just outstanding. I got the Heritage Cherry Burst and could not be happier with the appearance of this guitar. The switch and control knobs all feel good and strong. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I can get just about any sound whether bright or lower. I bought a Fender Mustang II amp and can do a lot of different styles of music and sounds. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish appears to look as good as a Gibson. I am sure it really isn't likely to maintain this beautiful finish a colors as long a a $4500.00 Gibson Les Paul but it will do all I need .
Couldn't be happier
By: Craig FH from Pittsburgh      Submitted: 6/24/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Got to have been one of my best choices. I absolutely love this guitar. The tone, the feel and just overall performance and the overall look is incredible. I don't think you could pick a better guitar for the price. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is made incredibly well. I really feel the quality is superior. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone can be adjusted just the way you like it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Everyone who sees it thinks it is beautiful.
Well, I would not compare it to Gibsons
By: TK from MN      Submitted: 6/15/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. A bit of an adjustment was definitely needed. Action was way high. Like no one even attempted to adjust it. That's fixable. It is just not a Gibson. People keep saying they cant tell. I definitely can tell. But that is why they are 4 to 5 times cheaper. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Beautiful looks, Lighter than any of my gibby,s. 60,s slim neck, hmm I don't think so. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Good tone, wont say like a Gibson but good. The Burstbuckers are my choice over the 57,s. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really Nice. Darker than in the pictures just like all the others say.
Best guitar I've ever owned!
By: Shawn from Bruce, MS, USA      Submitted: 1/21/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This thing is built like a tank. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar more than any possession. It is perfect. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I love the versatility of this Les Paul. You can play with the different settings and even make it sound like a strat if you want to. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I've never seen a more beautiful paint job on a guitar. I got the trans blue and I sit up at night sometimes and just stare at it.
Best for the money
By: D.J. from Huntington Beach, California      Submitted: 1/5/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Epiphone LP is made very well, I have played the Gibson's and can not tell them apart. The Epi sounds and handles just like the Gibson LP General Your general opinion of this product. Just as good as the Gibson for lot less $$$ Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All perfect Finish How did the stain or paint job look? fantastic
One Of The Finest Les Paul For Your Buck!
By: R. Hi-Hat Carter from Fort Lauderdale, FL      Submitted: 9/27/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is made quite well for my taste. General Your general opinion of this product. By far, this Les Paul has earned the right to be called...a Les Paul. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I prefer to play more laid back and the Les Paul accomodates me to a "T".. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks like a brand new car. I could drive this girl all day long.
I Cannot Put This AXE Down!!!!!
By: Dawilba from OKC, Oklahoma      Submitted: 9/24/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is solid as a Rock. I,m sure its dependable. General Your general opinion of this product. Buy One. I don't know how I lasted this long without it. Although I still Love My Strat. The Les Paul is a Got To Have. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is unbelievable. I love it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I bought the Honeyburst. It's beautiful.
Too Awesome
By: Brad Jones from Ridgeland, MS      Submitted: 9/15/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have been jamming alot with an Epi. that is 7 years old and also with a Telecaster that is around 30 years old I still like the Epi. sound better with their Humbucker sound. General Your general opinion of this product. Too cool, awesome. The only thing better would be to get my hands on Slash's Appetite for Destruction Les Paul. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Too perfect Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Just what I was lookin' for
Needed a 3rd guitar for gigging.
By: Mike from Snowflake, Az USA      Submitted: 9/4/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I got an Indonesian made model and it seems to be well made. I also have a Chineese made Epi LP Standard and the difference between the two is pretty negligible. I had a need for a 3rd guitar for gigging and this guitar will do what I need it to. General Your general opinion of this product. Not quite a Gibson but a great guitar for gigging if you don't want to take a few thousand dollars worth of guitars out to get damaged. These guitars are workhorses. I now gig with 2 of them along with a Jackson RR3 Pro and they hold up. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I will probably put a set of DiMarzio's in this one like I did with the first one. Pickups aren't quite as hot as I'd like them to be. But for the price the pickups are adequate. Since I will be using this guitar for songs we are doing in drop D the pickups will suffice for now. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The cherry sunburst paint on this axe is very nice. I was very impressed pulling it out of the box.
the quality of this guitar is unbeliveable
By: mark from north babylon,new york,united states      Submitted: 7/24/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? this guitar is very well made.one of the best guitars iv'e ever owned.for a chinese les paul you can't go wrong with it's price. General Your general opinion of this product. i think for the money it's amazing the sound is like no other to me. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the pickups remind me of the original paf humbuckers form the days. great! great! pickups they defenitly have that warm les paul tone for clean and dirty. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? out of the box the paint jop looked georgeus it shined like the holy grail the herritage cherry sunburst blew me away.
Simply a great guitar
By: ERodriguez from New York NY, USA      Submitted: 5/31/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar ha a good feel. It's easy ti tune and stays tuned, each time I practice it requires little to no tuning. Good sturdy construction and craftmanship with a nice glossy finish, great for beginners and local band player who like me doesn't have a couple of thousand dollars for a Gibson. General Your general opinion of this product. Wether you're a beginner or experienced musician, this is a grey and fun guitar at an affordable price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is really smooth, it really depends on how you tune it and what style you play or are learning. I'm to inexperienced to comment but I like what I hear and I'm impressed. I may not know how to play well yet bu I have a great war for sound an I'm not easily impressed but the sound on this guitar is impressive. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The color is simply a. Work of art, when I opened the box it blew me away, you can see yourself in the reflection. I felt like I needed white gloves to pick it up. It is absolutly beautiful.
Best Bang For Your Buck
By: Roy Avrett from Niceville, Florida, USA      Submitted: 5/11/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is made incredibly well. Not one cosmetic defect in mine. I was worried about loose frets after reading about the Epi's but that was not an issue on my guitar. The quality far exceeds what you would expect for the price. I am really impressed! General Your general opinion of this product. I can't put this thing down. I have never been so excited about a guitar before. I am totally in love with this thing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The amazing thing I found about the pickups in this guitar was that side by side with a Gibson LP, there really is not that much sound difference. It has that classic Les Paul sound, breaks up nicely and the sustain is just incredible. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish on mine was absolutely flawless. I got the Vintage Sunburst and the wood pattern stands out nicely. My friends that have Gibson LP's have commented that mine looks just as good if not better than theirs.
Loading....