American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Les Paul Tribute Plus Electric Guitar with Case  -  EPI ENTP LIST

Nice guitar for the price
By: Louie from Nebraska      Submitted: 4/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

i wasnt so lucky with mine
By: guitarman from winchester Ohio      Submitted: 3/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? when i received my tribute i went to tune it,then i checked the intonation at the 12th fret and it wasnt even close..3 of the saddles was all the way back with no further adjusment to be had and they were sharp ..also i had fret buzz and a grounding issue..unless i touched the bride or string i got static and alot of it..lol its been sent back and A.M.S. Has been great with me on the whole process.im now gonna order the fender blacktop hh floyd.. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Im sure i just got a bad one that somehow slipped through the epiphone factory somehow..so the quality was horrible other than the beautiful finsh(vintage sunburst)).. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? wouldnt know put it back in the case and sent it back. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? didnt play it long enough,it woudnt play in tune up the neck whatsoever , Finish How did the stain or paint job look? very nice finish Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? A.M.S HAS TO GREAT CARE OF ME SO FAR SO IM STILL A LOYAL CUSTOMER Playability How was the action out of the box? UNPLAYABLE
Fantastic Guitar, Arrived with Poor Setup
By: Jerry from Anaheim CA      Submitted: 3/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Now that I have the guitar set up, I have nothing but great things to say about it. It looks great, it sounds great and it plays great. However, when I unpacked it, I was extremely disappointed with the poor condition that the setup arrived in. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I had an Epiphone Sheraton II that really impressed me with how good of an instrument it was, and it caused me to rethink my opinion of Epiphone quality. I had high expectations of this Les Paul, especially in light of the great reviews I have read. This is a very high quality guitar with a mahogany neck and body, maple cap and flamed maple top, Locking tuners, Gibson 57's, coil switching, etc. It's got all the good stuff. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The guitar has some weight to it,(not excessive IMO) and it feels very solid. I like the slim taper neck which makes it easy to play, however I am a little spoiled with the jumbo frets on some of my other guitars and the traditional sized frets (remember those?) took a little getting used to at first. It's all good though - I really like it. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I couldn't be happier. The pickups and controls are so flexible that you can get everything from jazz to classic rock (duh!) to metal to single coil spank and sparkling clean tones. If I could only bring one guitar to a gig, this would probably be it. The pull knobs on the tone controls switch the Humbuckers from series to parallel, so they emulate the sound of single coil pickups with one important difference - THEY DON'T HUM OR BUZZ!!! The pickups are actually a little quieter in parallel mode! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks beautiful. Just like the picture. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got a fully loaded Les Paul with a case for $599, so I am happy. Playability How was the action out of the box? I was able to get everything sorted, but as I have stated, it was pretty poor out of the box. The strings were significantly detuned, causing a back-bow in the neck and consequently, significant fret-buzz. The frets felt like sandpaper. Really. The intonation was out quite a bit. The highest fret has a pretty good nick in it. My worst new guitar ever. In this day and age, in this highly competitive market, when a customer throws down hard-earned cash, a guitar this nice should arrive in top-notch condition. No excuses. Instead of enjoying my new guitar, I was polishing the frets, adjusting the truss rod, setting the action and intonation, hoping that I could fix all the problems - hoping I didn't get a lemon. We all know that there is a very successful online retailer that does a full inspection and setup on every guitar they sell in order to avoid this scenario. I bought my Tele from them and it was perfect. AMS should take a page out of their playbook.
Very surprised by this guitar
By: Omar from Debary, Fl      Submitted: 2/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Very nice finish, took some set up to be playable but after that, omg what a tone! It stand side by side with any Gibson I had played in the last 20 years! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Sounds awesome thru a 4x12 and the option to split the pick ups it's just great a total new palette of sounds. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels like a classic les paul should feel! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is great, pick ups are warm and nice. Has a well rounded tone I couldn't believe how great it sounded. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is absolutely great, epiphone did an amazing job on this guitar. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Best for the price I can't really complain Playability How was the action out of the box? Out of the box it needed a complete set up, but that was expected. After the set up was done I couldn't put the guitar down... I been playing it everyday since it got here.
My New Favorite Guitar
By: Roz from Warren,Michigan      Submitted: 2/8/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Love this Guitar. It came 4 days ago and have played it every day since. Awesome sound and feel and the price(best value). Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality seems the same as a Gibson . I play all types of music and my new Axe works for all sounds....Love it Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Great feel...Great action......controls easy access while jammin Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Great tone...variety of sounds....works we'll with all my effects Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? More than expected and Great case that came with Guitar Playability How was the action out of the box? Could not be better...Loved it from the 1st Riff
Sweet looking guitar/good value, but...
By: Lawrence      Submitted: 1/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great bang for the buck, except.....(see "quality"). Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Got it, a real looker out of the box, (got the aged cherry,SWEET!) Swapped strings, (as most folks do), D intonation was just a bit off, easy fix. Had it & played it for a little over a week then I pulled the push/pull for the bridge pup AND THE WHOLE SHAFT, KNOB CONNECTED PULLED RIGHT OUT!!! I've been playing semi pro for over 35 years so I know my way around guitars. In fact, I actually have a shop that does repairs/mods to guitars as well as build FX pedals, amp mods, etc., so I figured I'd just fix it myself as I have a drawer full of the required new pot on hand. But I got to thinking, "This is wrong! This is a new darn guitar!" Called AMS who advised they'd replace it, but that meant I'm out a set of strings. Only a $5 set, but again, its the point. AMS gave me the number to Epiphone U.S.A. to see if I could work something out with them. After being on hold for about 22 minutes, I got a fella who was pleasent and professional, but basically offered the same thing as AMS. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Continued from "Quality". So I basically got nowhere with Epiphone U.S.A. but they were pleasent and professional. So...my choice for the defective pot was work out legistics to return the guitar to either AMS or Epiphone U.S.A., (both did offer a return shipping label, but I had already pitched the large outter box and they aint cheap!!), or fix the darn thing myself, which I'm going to do, but with upgraded pots. There is Mallory caps and this is one h$ll of an axe for the price, but the defective pot kinda stole the thunder that would have otherwise been a raving review with 5+ stars across the board. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Gibson 57's pickups.....nuf said. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Awesome!!! I meas really.....it is one hell of a good looking axe! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? There is no comparison, this is the best bang for the buck for this style guitar as of today. Playability How was the action out of the box? Again, d string intonation needed slight adjustment. More than a few just barely sharp fret ends...all easy fixes.
Simply Awsome
By: Troy      Submitted: 1/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Very nice
By: Larry in Arky from Hot Springs, AR U.S.A.      Submitted: 1/7/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a very nice guitar and an excellent value. The fact that it comes with Gibson 57s, Grover Locking Tuners, a Switchcraft Pick Up selector, and Mallory Caps.....not to mention a hard case makes it a pretty much unbeatable deal for the price. The two four star ratings I'm giving the guitar is first for quality, one of the tone nobs was stripped out. I fixed that problem with a dab of gorilla glue, and second for the finish. Although the guitar is gorgeous, the poly is so thick on back of the headstock, it is nearly impossible to read the serial number. Epiphone poly is much thicker than the nitro finish on my Gibson Les Paul Studio, but this is a bit much. These are, of course, minor quibbles on a guitar of this quality at this price. The tone and set up are everything you could ask for, and more. In my 46 years of banging around on guitars, I've had vastly more expensive guitars, but tone for dollar, this Les Paul 1960 Tribute beats them all, hands down. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? See above Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Excellent tone and feel. Very comfy neck. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? 57 Gibsons and coil yapping.....what more could you want? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Other than the above mentioned over thick poly on back of the headstock, beautiful. I have Vintage Sunburst. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Ridiculous value. Go online and price out the upgrades to the guitar and the hard shell case. You'll see what a value it is. Playability How was the action out of the box? Two high for me, but that's easily adjusted to you liking by adjusting the bridge.
Great Buy!
By: Anthony from Ball, LA      Submitted: 1/2/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Awesome Guitar at a great price!!!
By: AJ from Clinton, Utah, USA      Submitted: 12/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? So awesome! I purchased the Midnight Ebony Les Paul Tribute Scratch and Dent knowing that I'd need to live with perhaps a blemish or two, but figured for $150 off the price it was well worth the gamble. I got my guitar and wow! I searched it over and could not find a single cosmetic blemish on this guitar. There was a very small, barely noticable scuff on the guitar case (big deal!), but as for the guitar, I cannot figure out why it would have been sold as Scratch and Dent stock. I noticed that the Midnight Ebony color appeared to have almost a dark green/black tint. Is this why it was sold as cosmetically blemished because maybe they didn't get the color right on a handful of guitars? I have no idea. This is one beautiful guitar and I think the dark green/black tint really adds a cool touch and makes this guitar stand out. Even my wife said, "I thought it was going to be just black, but that dark greenish tint makes it look even better. I like it!" Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great guitar for Metal, Blues, Rock, Classic Rock, you name it. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck feels great. I love the slim profile. Compared to my acoustic, this guitar is not a light guitar, but duh! It's an electric guitar. Great controls, awesome classic '57 Gibson pickups. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is great. No complaints. I love the pickups! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Better than I expected. The slight dark greenish/black tint is so cool. I don't know if this is the standard Midnight Ebony color or not, but if it is they scored a 10 out of 10 with me. It's much more cool than just plain black. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I have had my eye on the Les Paul Tribute for some time now. American Musical not only won me over by offering this guitar at such an exceptional value, but also because of the super-fast shipping and savvy customer service. Playability How was the action out of the box? The guitar was out of tune, but that's to be expected. Action feels great. There's a tad bit of fret buzz, but it's easy to make the minor adjustments to resolve the issue. With any new guitar, you always need to tweak it based on your own personal preferences so that it feels just right.
Absolulty Incredible LP!!!
By: Dicky S from Mn      Submitted: 11/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I've read a lot of great reviews regarding this guitar. However, I am always a little suspect until I get to actually play said guitar. Well, I finally played an Epiphone LP Tribute Plus. All I can say is WOW!!! I've been playing guitar since I was 12. I'm 45 and I have walls full of guitars made in the USA (5), Japan (3), Korea (1) and Indonesia (3). This is my first Chinese made electric guitar. By the way, I have a Chinese made Epiphone Masterbilt acoustic that is fantastic. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality is top drawer throughout. Attention to detail is critical and Epiphone hit a home run with this guitar. All of the inlays are set correctly as is all of the binding. These are areas of detail that show precision and Epiphone did it right. The veneer is perfect and gorgeous! The electronics are fantastic for any guitar let alone one costing what this does. Gibby Classic '57 pups with series/parallel pickup switching! Wow!!! CTS pots, Mallory caps all neatly done right. Long, deep set tenon neck is nice. Locking Grover tuners. Very nice indeed! The Epiphone straplocks are simple and work flawlessly. If this is the current quality coming from China, the big boys (Gibson) had better up their game fast! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? My Tribute feels fantastic! 9 lbs of guitar! The neck is thin but not wizard thin. It's quite fast. The board radius is fairly flat at 14". It feels like an LP that can also shred. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Very powerful! Everything you'd expect out of an LP with '57s and more! Basically, you can get almost anything you want. This is fast becoming my favorite tone machine. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is beyond what I had expected. Deep, rich and perfect! Not a flaw anywhere. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I feel I got way more guitar for the money laid out. Everything about this guitar is quality and value. It's rare to find that combination in most any product. Epiphone did that with the Tribute Plus. Before I decided on this guitar I was comparing it to a Gibson Studio. I love the Studio. But after comparing and contrasting I found the Tribute Plus to be a better guitar and a better value than the Studio. And please, don't bring up resale value. I don't sell my guitars. Playability How was the action out of the box? Playability is fantastic. After adjusting the guitar to my specs I am happy as a lark. Out of the box it was fine. The action was a bit high and probably set to what the average guy likes. To expect a guitar to come to you set up exactly the way you want is crazy. But, it came in tune!
Great guitar
By: Jamie from Oakland md      Submitted: 11/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I bought this for my son for Christmas. I have been playing for 28 years. Played in alot of rock bands and own a Gibson les Paul. This guitar is the is one of the best sounding guitars I have ever played. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality is right up there with my Gibson. I have to admit that I am a little jealous of this guitar. Epiphone has really stepped up their game. I played it thru a marshall DSL. The 57 pickups sound better than the burstbucker pros that my gibson has. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels like a Paul. Neck feels just a little wider than my Gibson. Not a big deal. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is great. The pickups are amazing. Not harsh or muddy. Creamy is the word I guess. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. Can not find a flaw. Not triple flame but sure is pretty. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I was really surprised with this guitar. I want to keep it but my wife is making me give it to my boy. :) Playability How was the action out of the box? Action needed set up. Just like every guitar I have bought in the past. No biggie.
Great guitar!
By: Ron from Nashville, Tn, USA      Submitted: 11/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Having sold a Gibson Les Paul Traditional Pro less than a year ago. I didn't have the $$ to replace it, so I thought I'd give the Epi 60's tribute a try. I'm glad I did. This guitar is very close to the sound and feel of a $2500 Gibson. The tone is the same really, I can't tell the difference. The Gibson 57 humbuckers make the difference I think. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The fit and finish are AAA+. The action is buttery, the 60's neck is just how I like it, slim and fast. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels like a good quality Les Paul. Even if it is an Epiphone. Having played strats for many years I never liked the positioning of their volume pots. I always inadvertently hit the knob when picking or strumming. Not so with this guitar the placement is perfect for me. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? You can get any tone you want on this axe, from glassy blues to Metallica. Just depends on your amp and coil tap combinations. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is awesome, I got the Black Cherry and am very pleased with it. Every time I look at it I want to play it. And that's what it's all about really. If your instrument inspires you to play then you've got a winner. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got more than I expected for the price. I've owned it for about a week and I still haven't had a set up done on it. It stays in tune, but it's got a cpl of minor buzzes which I'm sure my guitar tech can correct with some adjustments here and there. I even had to setup my $2500 Gibson. So it's no big deal.Bottom line for the money, this is the best Guitar I've bought in a long time. And I've been playing for 49 years so I've owned a lot of guitars. Playability How was the action out of the box? Right out of the box I plugged it in tuned it up and started playing, didn't even change stings yet. I think it came with 10's on it. Eventually I'll put some slinky 9's on it. Which will be a breeze with the Grover locking tuners.Btw the tuners are awesome 16-1 ratio easy to really find true pitch. Go ahead and take the plunge n get one . you won't be sorry.
Fantastic value, better than I expected
By: Patrick Thurmond from Houston, Texas, USA      Submitted: 10/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a wonderful guitar, better than I expected. I had a Gibson Les Paul years ago and this guitar is @ 90% as good which is really saying something for the cost difference. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The real Gibson 57 Classic Pickups really are very nice, no mud, brighter than expected. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? All I had done was have it professionally set up and that really brings out what this guitar has to offer. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Bright and snappy to dark and smooth. Just depends on how you set your amp and guitar. The pickups are simply fantastic. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The guitar looks wonderful, but when you get up real close you can see some imperfections. Nothing real bad, just what you would expect for a guitar at this price point, nothing anyone would see from several feet away. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is a great guitar for the money. Real Gibson 57 Classic pickups and hard shell case included are just icing on the cake. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action out of the box was playable. But I took the guitar to get a professional set up and it really made a world of difference. That really brought out what this guitar has to offer. I would suggest that to anyone, well worth the extra cost.
A REAL Les Paul, as good as a Gibson LP for 1/4th the price!
By: Chris Woods from Point Pleasant, WV, wcwudz@suddenlink.net      Submitted: 9/25/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This guitar arrived in great shape. I did replace the strings & set the intonation a bit, but that was about all she needed Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality of Epiphones have been great on their premium line of guitars and The LP Tribute is no different. If an experienced musician would strap this guitar on and played, they would swear they were playing a Gibson LP. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The '60s style thin neck is unbelievably fast. It plays like butter. Perfectly. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The Gibson USA '57 PAF pups really make this guitar special, plus with the push/pull tone knobs for series/parallel, you can achieve about any tone you want. The Tribute sounds exactly like the vintage guitars that musicians strive for. Crunch, Chime, Mellow, Heavy...it's got it all. The P/Us alone is a good reason to buy this guitar! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the Cherry-Burst finish with a 'AAA' Flamed maple top cap. It looks great...not a flaw to be found. Simply a beautiful guitar. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got this guitar at a discount for $525. For that price it's a steal. Even at $600 it's a wonderful deal. Compared to the prices of some new Gibson's it is a no-brainer and a super-super-deal. You won't be disappointed buying this guitar...it's worth every penny, plus more! Playability How was the action out of the box? The '60s neck provides for excellent playability. Very fast & smooth. It was set-up pretty well right out of the box. Only a few minor changes like strings, intonation. The action was about perfect, although I did lower mine just a tad b'cuz I like 'em low! The Epi Les Paul Tribute Plus w/case is good enough for the experienced on-stage player. The Locking Grover Tuners hold it in tune under any circumstance. The price also makes it affordable for someone just learning. As far as I'm concerned this Epi LP is excellent, and my new "Go To" guitar! It's perfect.
I love it
By: Steve from Fort Washington Pa USA      Submitted: 9/24/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

well worth the money
By: jimmy from san bernardino,ca      Submitted: 9/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? all I had to do was just tune it and it was ready to play, the 57 pickups sound great,. what a great deal!.the taperd neck plays great and fast. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? there was just a small scrach between the knobs and some discoloration but hardly noticeable Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? yes it is a little heavy but not much, it is fast the neck is great if you have small hands it would be great,. I have large hands so its very easy to play Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? the tone amaseing ...Gibson 57 humbuckers !!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? over all it is preaty good but just a couple of blemishes Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? fantaskic value Playability How was the action out of the box? ausom!!
Day 3 ,
By: Freddy from Lincolnton      Submitted: 9/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? First thing that I Noticed was Weight of the guitar, She is very solid. I was not sure what to expect but there no regret at all, the Finish this first class. I love the locking tuners they keep her in tune very well, the neck of this guitar is one of the best feeling that I have ever had in my hands. Its my first Les Paul and I love it, sound, Playability, and overall feel is great. To top it all off it comes with a very nice case, I'm so glad I got this guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality of this guitar is Incredible, I can not find one single scratch or ding anywhere. There was no short cuts in the making of this Les Paul, true USA Gibson pickups, Grover locking tuners, and one Solid body. Finish is outstanding front and back, no shortcomings here. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? When you strap this guitar on you know its there, but that Solid body is what gives this guitar is incredible sound. The neck feels great, one of the best I have ever felt and the scale of the frets feels spot on. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is more than I was expecting, the clean side is so creamy but Put the pedal down and the 57 Classics come to life. They bite hard and sustain for ever. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the vintage sunburst, The pictures are no justice to how beautiful the fiinish is on this guitar. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? For the price I got way more than expected, it truly is a good as it gets. Playability How was the action out of the box? Out of the case she was very playable, but I put some Final touches on the set up And there is no better playing guitar I could hope for. AMS thank you so much, you are the best.
"Best money value around"
By: lapensek@comcast.net from New Baltimore, Michigan, USA      Submitted: 9/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Wow, super deal!
By: Firedup from NY      Submitted: 8/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I ordered a Dark Cherry scratch and dent and received a beautiful scratchless, dentless product with Grovers, USA 57 Classic Humbuckers, Push/Pull pot splitters, Aged Binding, beautiful dark cherry top, strap locks AND hardshell case. The guitar was set up when it arrived and most of the strings were just a half-step down. (I heard they set up all the S&Ds before they leave on the 2nd sale) This has got to be the deal of the year. Dont miss out. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gibson/Epiphone quality. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Dark, smooth, thick. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Dark Cherry finish on this guitar is the nicest color I have seen in a long time.
Totally worth the bucks.
By: Glen from Colorado Springs, CO, needmorecrunch@hotmail.com      Submitted: 6/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar for the money. I actually expected less of a guitar for what I paid. I was wrong. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Gibson USA pickups. Sounds galore with all the options. You can get any sound you want out of these pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Good. Could be darker but I'm not going to complain. :)
i love playing this guitar,it is very well made,solid and versatile.more than expected
By: Fiore Dangelo from Shirley ny usa      Submitted: 6/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. amazing versatile well made great price Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? well made dependable solid Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? this guitar has an abundance of tone pickups are perfect for whatever style you play Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the finish is rich and gorgeous very well done
In spite of the abuse...
By: Michael from United States      Submitted: 6/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Here's the thing. The Epi LP Tribute is as nice as everyone says it is. But someone beat my guitar up before it got to me. There are multiple scratches around the tone knobs, what looks like punch marks(with a hammer and a metal punch- two on the bridge PU). The neck PU was loose, still is a little bit. I'm not taking it apart to find out why unless it stops working. The bridge PU was extremely high. Lots of little things that add up to a QC problem somewhere. My guitar came from NV as AMS was out of this model in NJ. I read other reviews stating "I bought a 'scratch and dent' and I could not find anything wrong"... well, I bought new and found plenty wrong, cosmetically. I changed the strings, adjusted the PUs and that was it. Plays like a dream, but come on. Stop taking people,me at least, for a fool. This guitar could have been "scratch and dent" for $150.00 off. As I had to wait 10 days to get the guitar, I'm not sending it back. Maybe that was the idea. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, it is well made. The problem with the above issues is that I don't know where they came from, the factory or the warehouse. It's well made, not well handled. All the 5 stars above go to the guitar itself, not the people who got their hands on it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? With Gibson USA 57s and a non-chambered body, what do you think? It sounds as good as I can ask for and I have yet to try out the series/parallel pots. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love the Midnight Sapphire color. It's different. Not the same old bursts every other LP on the planet has.
Great sounding Les Paul!
By: Andrew Weaver      Submitted: 6/1/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great sounding guitar right out of the case. If you can't quite afford a Gibson then this is the right route to go. I mean it has real Gibson pickups in it. I love playing this Les Paul with my friends and it sounds so much better. If you're on the fence about a Les Paul, go the safe and smart route and buy an Epiphone Lea Paul Tribute Plus. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This Les Paul has the weight and feel of a Gibson. Quality it seems like its all there. Hard to believe its made in China. But it's put together here at the Gibson factory so it's assembled right. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sounds just like a Gibson Les Paul to me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint job looked great. Does not look cheap at all.
Money well spent
By: Joel from Oceanside, CA      Submitted: 5/25/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Epiphone gained a lot more ground on this product because of it's Gibson components. The pickups are Gibson USA 57 classics that are usually seen some higher end guitars. Switchcraft Toggle switch, Mallory components and your standard Les Paul bridge components Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Given the fact that the wood is all made in china. It does not mean it lower its standard. The guitar is actually very well made and constructed like your high end guitar but of course something has to give in order to be in the right order of guitar heiarchy. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone can be thick or thin according to your taste. You can do that because of coil tapping from series to parallel. From Humbucker to Single-coil sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is out right outstanding quality.
very high quality manufactured to exacting standards
By: Rob from Norwood Ma      Submitted: 5/22/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. It plays and sounds very much like its gibson counterpart. however I would have to compare this to a 60 reissue because it has the long neck tenon, the classic 57 and 57plus pickups and the neck feel. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have had other gibson and epiphone products and I think this guit would be on the highest end of quality I would even go so far as to compare it to the elitist lps that epi put out a fewyears ago. I think this was made very specially not like the standard lps Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I like the coil taps very possible to get that out of phase sort of Jimmy Page sound. The pickups are awesome. The body is heavy w/ no weight relief and it feels and resonates nicely. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? cool flame almost indistinguishable from a gibby
sustain for days
By: mike from tennessee      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. purchased a dent and scratch and after searching hard found minor box rash on the back couldn't believe it was discounted. after set up and my sting preference can't quit playing it old school tone and sustain for days. love it
Love it
By: suzker from Silver Spring, MD, USA      Submitted: 5/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I definitely love this LP. It's my first LP but before buying it I visit the local stores and try out different LPs from both Gibson and Epiphone, this one is the right one for the money. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? dependable and solid Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright tone long sustain hot pickup! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? pain job is a little bit duller than I though. but she's still beautiful no doubt with that
"YOU GRAB ONE OF THESE WHILE YOU CAN"
By: Frank from SW FL      Submitted: 5/12/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. When you receive this guitar you will be pleasantly surprised when you first open the case - gorgeous ! I played always Strats for years because of the thinner neck. Now I switched -This 60's neck is superb ! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? An affordable "workhorse" guitar........... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The '57 Humbucker and Classic Plus gives you all you want or need........ Finish How did the stain or paint job look? You'll never find one of these again . They must have made a special request for craftsmanship for the LES PAUL TRIBUTE
far and above what i expected perfect just perfect
By: ski bo      Submitted: 4/25/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made in every way and seems very dependable. General Your general opinion of this product. excellent. you will have no regrets. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? this guitar is the v/8 for music it will do every thing you ask it to do believe me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? excellent
Great guitar right out of the box!
By: Rob "stratkatt" Winter from duarte,ca. u.s.a., stratkatt@aol.com      Submitted: 4/5/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i own 6 les pauls. 1 gibson, 4 epiphone. i like to change out a couple of things on epiphones, but the last 2 , came the way i wanted. i think the tribute sounds and plays great right out of the box, or case in this one. action was spot on. you can really tell the difference with these tone controls. one number at a time, you can hear it. wow!! General Your general opinion of this product. besides this epiphone les paul, i have a prophecy gx, gibson 490r/498t with vol. coil splitting, a "tuxedo" i bought used, changed out all the worn out gold and replaced with chrome hardware and a gibson 496r in the neck with a pearly gates bridge p/u and black planet waves locking tuners. plus a blue sparkle les paul with a set oh matching '59s. these are great guitars. plus few more. the gibson is a 2006 les paul studio. i really like this tribute and prophecy gx a lot. very very nice. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the '57s a a little darker than i thought they'd be. but, with my tube amp and the great mallory caps, it balances out perfectly. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i bought the midnight sapphire . blue with white trim. the onlt thing i might do is change it to the cream color ones. the finish is flawless.looks so nice.i'm glad i got this color. when i have all my les pauls out at the same time, my rack looks like a box of crayolas.
Excellent alternative to the "real" thing!
By: Ernie from Baltimore, MD      Submitted: 3/1/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? First of all, I purchased a "dent and scratch" Black Cherry model. And for the life of me, I honestly CANNOT find even one thing wrong with this, cosmetically or otherwise! I'm 50+ years old and have been a weekend, gigging musician since my 20's, so it's not like I haven't owned some lemon guitars before in my life. I curently own 9 other guitars (3 PRS's, two Strats, and a Godin to name a few)...and can honestly say that the Epi LP Tribute Plus has very pleasantly exceeded all of my expectations. It's great! Love it, and can find no short-comings with it other than I wish this had wide-jumobo frets, but that's only because I've got stubby fingers. General Your general opinion of this product. Terrific! I'm enjoying ALMOST as much as my PRS's and Strats, but that's only because I've always personally favored those tones more so than a LP. However, I really needed a LP sound to widen my sonic palette and bought this to achieve that goal. And it has done exxactly that. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Just dark enough and just snappy enough for a LP, exactly as I'd hoped given that this has genuine Gibson pickups WITH the added bonus of push-pull, single coil options too. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? GREAT! Couldnt' find any imperfections anywhere. And I'm STILL trying to figure out why this was sold as a "dent and scratch"! All I know is that I got a GREAT deal on it because of that!
EPIPHONE SPICE & NICE
By: MR. GET IT RIGHT OR DON'T TRY . from HICKSVILLE NY 11801      Submitted: 2/17/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? CAN NOT BE MADE ANY BETTER EVEN IF GIBSON TRIES .WILL LAST A LIFE TIME AND THAN SOME.. General Your general opinion of this product. CAN NOT IMPROVE OR IMPROVE ON THIS LES PAUL MODEL.IT IS EXACTLY WHAT IT IS! A LES PAUL TO THE MAX.GIBSON OR EPIPHONE ? YOU TELL ME! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? IT'S A LES PAUL SAY NO MORE.IT IS WHAT IT IS. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? OUTSTANDING WORKMENSHIP ,' INSIDE AND OUT.
A Gibson at one 3rd the cost
By: Motorman from Hudson fl.      Submitted: 2/7/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a 1st class guitar. Yea it's made in China, but the've come a long way in the pat 10 years. I defy anyone to tell the difference between this guitar ans a U.S. model. General Your general opinion of this product. I couldn't ask for money, for the money. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sustain of this guitar is terrific. With the Gibson 57 pickups you get a very thick smooth tone. In addition you also get the single coil sound with the coil tap switchs. Even in single coil mode the tone is still much thicker than my Strat. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I bought a scratch and dent translucent black and saved 165 bucks. I can only see a tiny smudge on the back thats barley noticeable. Other than that the finish is perfect. The trans black thoug looks more dark green than black.
One "Smokin" Guitar
By: Hacksaw from Belle Fourche,SD USA      Submitted: 1/30/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This thing is a Tank! Flawless finish,seamless construction,and is a work of art. General Your general opinion of this product. It's a no-brainer!Pay $1,000,or a min.of $3,500 for the same setup!The only difference is the name.Same sound,same quality,same everything!I love this guitar Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I mostly play 80s metal,so I changed the pickups,but the tone and sustain is exactly what you'd expect from any Les Paul-it's a very distinct sound-like a beast! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? finish is flawless!Easy to maintain,and durable.
As good as a regular gibson model
By: Craig Chambers from Landing NJ USA      Submitted: 1/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is made very well. Mine was flawless out of the box. It is actually stunning in looks. General Your general opinion of this product. I love it and I would suggest that anyone looking to buy one should. You will not be sorry. Sounds great and has gibson parts. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sound is adjustable from mellow bluesy to sharp and loud. You can play any style music with this beauty. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Impeccable finish and feel. It is so beautiful you almost dont want to touch it but of course you will.No flaws at all.
A Dream
By: Brandon from Fargo, ND, US      Submitted: 1/1/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? You can tell when you first pick this bad boy up that it's built well. General Your general opinion of this product. The most comfortable guitar to play for hours. Solid and heavy, but it's tough to ever put it down. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This guitar can do it all, with just standard clean and distortion the rest that you need comes with the guitar. Sounds good with all genres Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Amazingling beautiful!
The Best 599.00 You Will Ever Spend On A Guitar! A True Gibson Except For The Name!
By: Ray Anselmo from Youngsville, NC      Submitted: 6/11/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Guitar is perfect in every way! General Your general opinion of this product. Cannot beat it for 599.00....This is well worth about 1400.00...This guitar beats the gibson les paul studio hands down! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Has gibson 57's in it so it sounds totally gibson! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect finish....have the Blue model and it a work of art!
Awesome guitar for the price!
By: Bailey from unkownlocation77284      Submitted: 6/8/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I recieved this guitar a couple of weeks ago and I've gotta say, it's amazing. Not a Gibson, but still a great guitar and it's at an affordable price. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar! And that's only simply stating it. I couldn't be happier with it. It's a great buy and I don't regret it in the slightest. I play it for hours at a time. And even then, it's hard to put down. One of my pride and joys. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups are a major plus. It's loaded with 2 Gibson '57s, which is pretty much what attracted me to the guitar at first. The coil tapping allows you to switch from single coil to humbucker, which is a nice touch. It's especially great because you can get a whole variety of sounds with it. Definitely not disappointed. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice finish. Some of the grain is a little too dark in some places. But other than that, no complaints.
ONe of the Best guitars I have ever bought
By: Russell from East Bridgewater , ma      Submitted: 5/17/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great action and great finish General Your general opinion of this product. Great Guitar Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? %& Pick great from Rock to Metal and other styles Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Awesome finish
Les Paul Tribute 60's Neck
By: Ken Katz from Manchester, NJ, USA, kkatz2000@yahoo.com      Submitted: 3/20/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is very well made. General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar with sweet tomes, excellent playability, and well put together. Perhaps it could have a better stain job. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright in the treble position and mellow jazz sounds in the neck pickup. More of the sweet tones than what burstbuckers produce, these are 57 Gibson humbuckers. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? My only complaint, it is OK, but some of the grain is too dark compared to the overall color
Loading....