American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone ES 339 Semi Hollow Electric Guitar  -  EPI ET33 LIST

Great Guitar for the Money
By: Jay G      Submitted: 5/26/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a great semi-hollow guitar for anybody from beginners to advanced players - especially for the price. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I was really impressed with the overall quality of this instrument. The only reason I bumped it down a Star is because the Epiphone emblem on the pick guard didn't seem to be adhered very well, which may be nit-picking a bit. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is very comfortable to play on. Barring chords isn't a chore, and the guitar itself allows the player to move quickly when needed. Controls felt smooth and were very responsive. I felt that the Bridge Tone pot was a bit of a reach at times, but I'm typically more of a single volume and tone pot player anyways. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Having the ProBuckers with Coil-Tapping makes this a very versatile guitar. My brother and I really tried to put this thing through its paces and were very impressed with all the styles of music you can dial in a great tone for quickly and easily. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Ebony finish looked great, and I'm a huge fan of the binding on this model. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? If you're looking for a great semi-hollow with tons of tone options, this guitar is hard to beat for a price of $450. Playability How was the action out of the box? The guitar played comfortably out of the box. Intonation was pretty well spot-on, too. I believe the action could possibly have been brought down a bit yet with some set-up work, but it was really nothing to complain about.
Great guitar,but...
By: Sam from South Carolina      Submitted: 10/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great for the money!
By: Eric Nettle      Submitted: 5/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Definitely a great guitar for the money! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's made very well, with the exception of having very soft frets, it'll probably need several frets replaced in a year or so of regular playing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has a nice thick tone, the pickups it came with sound very good for being epipphones. although not quite as good as their higher end equivalents, they are perfectly usable and do sound very good abet being a bit trebly. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? There are a few blemishes like sloppy paint in the f-holes so so on, but what would you expect from a $400 Chinese-made guitar?
Epiphone at it's best
By: Jack from Lacey, WA, USA      Submitted: 3/20/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems very well made, has a great feel, very dependable. General Your general opinion of this product. This is undoubtedly the best Epiphone for the buck. I have the Natural and it's beautiful. The split coil and tone are amazing. Ready to play out of the box. This one axe takes the place of 3, you can go from sweet melodies to gut grinding metal chops with just the push of a knob. I would change out the tuners though, the handles are plastic but if you're easy on it, shouldn't be a problem. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very, very sweet tone. You may want to change the strings to suit but really it sounds perfect as is. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Absolutely flawless finish, I have the natural and not a smudge or scratch. Immaculate.
A Great Guitar and a Great Buy
By: Sloclaw from Victoria, TX      Submitted: 3/18/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The construction of mine is flawless and I'm a pretty thorough inspector. Bought an Ebony model and the finish and binding are perfect. The Tuners are very good and look great against the black Headstock. General Your general opinion of this product. I would recommend this piece of equipment to anyone who plays. Either professionally or, like myself, just a hobbyist. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? With the coil tapping you can get just about any sound you want out of it and they're easy to use and seem to be pretty tight and well made. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? See above.
Varta58 New Zealand
By: Varta58 from New Zealand      Submitted: 3/5/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made General Your general opinion of this product. this is a very good product and stands up to reviews also stands up against a 339 Gibby Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone can be all of the above Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Brilliant
ES-339
By: Jeff from Denver, CO      Submitted: 2/4/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have owned several Epiphones and have found them to be dollar for dollar a remarkable value. This guitar is no disappointment. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar - beautiful finish and gorgeous wood (I have the Cherry finish). Also, AMS service was excellent. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Seems flexible - still learning the ropes. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful, couldn't ask for a finer looking guitar.
Nice size Semi
By: GearJunky from Fort Mohave, AZ      Submitted: 8/25/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? A shrunk down Dot; very nice finish. General Your general opinion of this product. Like the feel of the smaller body and the split pots are a great option. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Does not resonate as well as the larger Dot. The pickups are not hot, more of a mellow, but with the split pots, you can change up to just about any sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is great as always on these archtops.
Great Value
By: Louie, Playing recreationally for 40+ Years from Wellington, Florida, USA      Submitted: 7/27/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Came as advertised, couldn't find any flaws other than the fretboard was a bit dry , easily remedied, stays in tune. Not a fan of plastic tuners, call them "classic tombstone", they are still f**king plastic, They do the job and seem to stay in tune ok but eventually they are coming off General Your general opinion of this product. 1st off, Note to AMS and for clarification for buyers, update your copy, the Basic 339 is the Pro model they DO NOT come with the Alnico 2 Pro-buckers, they come with the Hotter Alnico Classic Pro pick ups (Alnico V magnets). That said what a great value, It looks great, plays well I am very satisfied with this purchase! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Alnico Classic pick ups are not bad. You can get a lot of differnt tones from this guitar, thick and thin with the coil taps. It can give you that jazzy semi hollow tone, and get nasty as well. Great sustain and I am particularly please with the sounds I get playing rhythm. Don't see myself using the coil taps musch but it's nice to have. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is Cherry and it looks fantastic!
Great "tweener" between a LP and a Dot/335
By: Scott from Far SW suburban Chicago area, IL      Submitted: 5/27/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I will get into more detail below, but as far as the workmanship and finish, I could not find a single flaw - not even around the f-holes which was a pleasant surprise. General Your general opinion of this product. Well, for the asking price, the bang-for-buck is staggering. Great craftsmanship and tone, and the stock pickups are incredibly good, not to mention the coil taps. I may pick up another just to try some humbucker-sized P-90s. I have probably had around five or six various mid-level semis that I never was satisfied with in one aspect or another; this one is the first that made me smile very quickly. I would love to try the Gibby version to see how different it is, but the Epi is a very fine guitar in its' own right. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? With the excellent stock ProBuckers and the coil taps, the variety of tones here is amazing. Go from a coil-tapped neck pickups to a full-on bridge humbucker for that soft-verse, heavy chorus tune ;) In full-humbucker mode, sounds like a woody, airy Les Paul. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? As mentioned above, flawless - I can't find a run, blob, dirt speck - anything - not even around the f-holes, which on import semis is a standardly-accepted wak spot; not here. The sunburst is ebenly done, and the wood underneath even looks good.
Great Guitar after a Month of gigging.
By: Alanbama from Birmingham, Al. USA      Submitted: 5/11/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The ES339PRO is made extremely well. I have been using it exclusively for a month and it has become my main guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar. I have a Gibson SG Standard, an American Strat plus, and a Dean Z and the Epi is my guitar of choice. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The guitar has a lot of sounds due in part to the coil taps. It can rock or it can twang. The pickups are just right for me. I'm a veteran player of 35+ years and I love the output and sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent!
Review for the Epiphone ES 339 simi hollow body suburst
By: Steve Hill Steve Hill, short Bio Quote "Steve Hill's Music will change your life & if not you can k from 244 W. 6th St. Sheridan Wyoming 82801, USA, anonmyous69545      Submitted: 2/7/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The only difference from the Epiphone & Gibson guitars in most cases is the finish & of course the price. I have always played Gibson & Fender but now I play Epiphones as they sound just as good for 1/6th of the price. General Your general opinion of this product. In my younger days playing with Stevie Nicks, Waylon Jennings, Bob Dylan, Tanya Tucker, list goes on & on. I played a sunburst 1965 Gibson 335 simi hollow body for sound versitility. This epiphone ES 339 that I bought from american musical is great. The sunburst, sound, Neck, staying in tune, is all as good as my 1965 Gibson es335 & they gave me a great price & 2 day delivery. I have bought a lot of Epiphone guitars from American Musical & they all sound great. Their service & price is top notch & I always look for the B Stock or out-let selection as there are always great deals to be had & I have never gotten a B-stock that had anything wrong with it. Buying a guitar from the internet is always risky but I am a believer now because of what i have bought from American Musical. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pick-ups were nice & bity. I was prepared to put on different pick-ups but it sounds great so I don't have to change anything except that I will put on the capacitor for the coil tap to bring up the volume when they are on single pick-ups & give it a little more bite. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Sunburst finish looks just as good as my 1965 Gibson es 335
amazing guitar for the money!
By: Jon Eriksen from Pacifica, CA, USA      Submitted: 2/6/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? my guitar tech was impressed with the workmanship considering it's a mass produced instrument General Your general opinion of this product. extremely pleased with this guitar. I bought "scratched & dented" and the only flaw I could find was a miniscule speck next to one of the f holes. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? it's dark and smooth like a 335 but w/ the coil tap you can get as bright as a fender. the p/u's are hot and mellow. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the finish is beautiful (mine is the cherry)
Don't let this one pass you by.
By: Jimmy from Northern Illinois USA      Submitted: 1/5/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I will say that this guitar has all the quality and dependability of the Epiphone Casino line and the other durable Les Pauls Epiphone has made. Epiphone made Les Paul's first guitars. General Your general opinion of this product. If I were to only have one guitar the ES-339 would be the one. I may not use my other guitars except my Fender Stratocaster with over-wound pups and 500k pots. But I would have to have an amp for my beloved Stratocaster. The Epiphone ES-339 gives me the acoustic optiion, not the output of a dreadnought. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This guitar has varied tonal options. Semi-hollow bodies give pickips a bit of acoustic snap unique to the design. The Probuckers have a medium output. The Alinco II magnets give it a thick tone just like an ES should. The single coil is brighter but not in the Stratocater zone. There is enough tone in thsi guitar to suit anyone's pallet. The pickups respond to any type of effect I can toss to them or just unplug. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have mine in cherry. I like to see the wood grain through the paint. The guitar looks top.
Absolutely Beautiful Guitar!
By: Aaron from Portland, OR      Submitted: 12/21/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It looks like a guitar that costs a lot more. I was floored when I pulled it out of the box. Everything just seems really solid and well made. The tuners and the P/Us seem especially high-quality. General Your general opinion of this product. I got my Epi ES-339 yesterday from AMS and I couldn't be happier with it. Everything about it is exceptional and it's even better looking in person - the photos just don't do it justice! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great, classic Gibson humbucker sound with the added bonus of coil taps. They really did a great job with these pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is incredible. Sure, you can tell the difference between the Gibson ES-339 and this if you've held both, but the differences are much smaller than the 4x price increase to the Gibson.
Loading....