Item Reviews for: Epiphone Limited Edition Exclusive Run ES335 Pro Electric Guitar  -  EPI ET3P EBNH3 LIST

    Great guitar
    By: Beuford Kelley      Submitted: 3/4/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? This guitar is awesome. It came set up well and the intonation was spot on. Fit and finish was excellent. I bought the ebony and it sings, is it a real 335 yes in my opinion. Is it as good as a Gibson, no, but it doesn't cost $4,000. It is worth twice the asking price all day. I'm a professional guitarist and have been playing 40 years. You can play any style of music with this guitar even metal... Buy one!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    money well $pent
    By: Larvey      Submitted: 1/28/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Neck setup is perfect! SOOO easy to play! Running thru a Fender Supersonic. Sounds great on either channel. The coil tap loses volume(same as rest I've tried) on single coil. Recommend RC-booster to remedy. Can play almost any music genre with a little tweaking. Pickups very clear and bright to downright nasty. Great looking guitar too. Did not like color of tuner knobs but that's my taste. The one knock I have is the F holes. Roughly cut out. Made in China ..nuff said. Nobody will notice from stage so... Easily fixed too. Gonna repeat how playable neck and string setups are! $ well spent.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Some issues
    By: Aaron R      Submitted: 1/22/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I really wanted to love this guitar. It looks pretty cool, though the color is much less red in person – more brown. The pickup sound pretty good, albeit a little bright, Even in humbucker mode. One minor problem the instrument had was that the F holes look like they'd been painted by a second grader. The paint was fairly inconsistent and did not have clean lines. The significant problem I had with the instrument I received was that I could not get the low E, or G strings to intimate properly. With the saddles extended until they were touching the bridge, those strings were still registering sharp. Seems that the bridge was installed about 1/8th of an inch too close to the nut. I sent it back for an exchange, we'll see how the next one is.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    By:       Submitted:

    Was this review helpful?
    By:       Submitted:

    Was this review helpful?
    Fantastic Guitar !
    By: Jamie T. Erchul      Submitted: 1/14/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Very impressed with this guitar. First hat's off to AMS. Very quick ship, guitar packaged well and actually arrived in tune. (close anyway)As for the Es 335, beautiful. The ice tea finish is a wonder to behold. Frets were nice as smooth, very well set up and build. Played a little and loved the many sounds you can get especially with the coil taps. Get one while you can. This one's a keeper.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Odd beginning ends in great guitar!
    By: John      Submitted: 1/11/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I had some tuning problems right out of the box. It had been driven (Fed Ex Ground) most of the way across the country in cold January. To keep this short, I later deduced, the nut was cold and possibly shrunk pinching the strings in the slots causing much tuning mayhem. After a frustrating few hours, I put it away in the case. A few more hours, I gave it another chance. Pure perfection - with just a few minor tweaks! Today I played it with my band for three hours - Buck Owens to Beatles... Did not have to re-tune once. Great tones! Nice volume range(hotter than my other guitars). Totally a beautiful, solid guitar! I love to pick Chet Atkins style and this does it getting tones similar to Merle Travis' Super 400! If it has traveled in cold weather, give it time to warm-up. This guitar is well worth it!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    exceeded my expectations
    By: troy whedon,twhedon@juno.com      Submitted: 1/10/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? For the price of this guitar really can't say much bad about it.Fit and finish Are flawless on it.I change the strings on it And did some tweaking on the bridge and neck.This was not necessary I just felt I could get a bit more playability out of it by spending a little time with it.I would recommend this guitar To anyone wanting To get into a hollow body at a reasonable price.Only downside to this guitar is it comes with no case or bag
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Well worth the money!
    By: Bob T,csharprat@gmail.com      Submitted: 12/16/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Wow! It's outstanding! I ordered it with 2-day shipping and it arrived on time. It's just what I was hoping for! There's no flaws with the workmanship and its set-up is great! Even the strings are good. I tuned it up and didn't want to put it down! I played it for about an hour and couldn't believe how little I paid for it. I've got several American Strats, including an SRV, and a Gibson Les Paul Classic and this Epi is a keeper! I'll gig with it without hesitation. I highly recommend it!
    Was this review helpful?
    I feel like I stole this guitar!
    By: Journeyman Guitarist      Submitted: 10/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Flawless finish,nice playing feel,good sounding pickups. Surprising quality for the price or even for a fair bit more. My guitar even arrived with excellent setup. Intonation was spot-on. String height/action was perfect for my tastes. No fret buzz anywhere on neck. Just replaced the strings with .10-.46 Ernie Balls. I love the Iced Tea finish. I own two Gibsons('77 LP Custom, '11 SG) - and the only obvious concession to cost on the Epi is the two piece neck(very well done joint at neck/headstock). This does not detract one bit from the overall value of the instrument as far as I am concerned. I love this guitar and find myself playing it more than any of my other guitars(I own about 15 - Gibson, Fender, Martin, Ovation(USA made), Takamine, Ibanez and Epiphone). Perhaps I just got lucky on the factory set-up - I don't know. Usually I find I have to have my guitars professionally set-up on a new purchase. Not this time.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Genuinely a great value
    By: Michael      Submitted: 10/10/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The fit, finish & sound all far exceeded my expectations. The craftsmanship on this guitar rivals that of its gibson counterpart. Set up was great right out of the box. The only upgrade required was better strings. I would highly recommend this product.
    Was this review helpful?
    Outstanding Guitar For The Price
    By: Keith      Submitted: 9/11/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Ice Tea Burst, perfect right out of the box, Set up and finish were excellent. Playing with a pedal board through a Vox tube amp/4x12 cab. The pickups sound really good (compared to my Gibson SG), so I don't see a reason to swap them out. Nice clean and bright tones! Coil tapping a plus for tonal variety. Distortion also sounded awesome running through a metal muff pedal. An all around versatile guitar IMO. The only thing I changed was the cheesy elongated pick guard. Bought the wider/shorter '63 Gibson 335 style off ebay. This guitar is a great option to the pricey Gibson!
    1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    pleasantly surprized
    By: James Joseph Nooney Jr      Submitted: 7/30/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I like it a lot. I thought I would have to take it to my guitar tech & spend a lot to get it playing nicely. I don't really have to do anything to it. Oil the fretboard, polish the frets, just a little, maybe put a graphite nut on it. But it plays & sounds great right out of the box, literally. Speaking of the box, not a mark or dent on it. Great job Fed-Ex.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Sweet guitar.....
    By: Red.      Submitted: 4/2/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Wow what a sweet guitar, I own a bunch of Epiphones. I was looking for a backup semi hollow and the reviews on this were really good so I ordered one. Im so happy I did the guitar was at my house 3 day later, in tune and only needed a quick basic setup. Finish, workmanship and build are amazing, plays very very well, love the neck, sound as good as my Gibson and the coil tap is a nice feature. if your thinking about getting one ORDER ONE NOW... Best deal out there at this price.
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    One of the Best Epi's to Date
    By: JerBear      Submitted: 3/27/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Well, I've been playing over 45 years & now mainly a hobbyist. I have over 60 makes & models currently in collection including an Epi Sharaton II, when I saw this beauty in Vintage sunburst, thought I'd give it a try even not needing another. Receiving this 335 Pro out of the box & packing, blew me away! My model is as good as any Gibson I have seen since the early 60's hands down! Not a blemish, frets looked polished & smooth edges, all switches, knobs, etc. worked perfect. action string height etc. was dead on! All I had to do was tune, (just slightly)and play! It got better! I couldn't believe my ears, the vintage pups sound almost as good as Gibson 57's or maybe as good & coil taps are very usable, not a gimmick. It stayed in tuned & she begged not to put in the case! It says on back of neck "Limited Edition-Custom Shop" , never knew China had a Custom Shop but who ever made mine deserves a raise & Kudos to whoever made mine & Epiphone for raising the bar, more than Happy!
    Was this review helpful?
    Excellent Value Proposition
    By: Dave      Submitted: 3/26/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Purchased from AMS in early December 2014, and very happy with purchase overall. Construction was solid, electronics are great - nice fat PAF style pickups with usable coil tapping (try the neck humbucker + bridge single coil for some cool lead tones) with usable pots with good taper. Switch seems strong, jack likewise. Frets were a little rough, but nothing a little touchup didn't fix. Setup was dreadful, but it almost always is on guitars bought online, so that was no surprise and doesn't earn a ding. Finish had one small blem on the side of the upper horn at the binding, but not enough for me to feel the need to send it back. Overall, a tremendous value - I would buy this over a Dot, because the electronics are better. Also, and I know this is only cosmetic, but I love the bound neck and the small block inlay. Just classy. Highly recommended instrument.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    I made a dash for the Ice Tea Dot with coil tapping
    By: RO      Submitted: 3/19/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Feels good, looks good, sounds good.
    Was this review helpful?
    Great guitar!
    By: David Held      Submitted: 3/5/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have had a lot of guitars and this one is a keeper. The Iced Tea finish is way better than the photos look. It came ready to play with just a minor tuning. I took a chance on the "blemished" price and am very happy with it. There was only a small chip on one of the knobs.
    Was this review helpful?
    So far, so good
    By: Al Brussich      Submitted: 2/9/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Overall a nice piece for the money. The tea burst finish looks really nice and the poly coat is not as thick as on some other models. the guitar has to go into the shop to have the neck set properly as it came slightly bowed outward leaving a buzz in the first four frets. Hopefully this can be resolved. Frets are rough and definitely need a bit of polishing. The string height at the bridge is also out of whack and needs a bit of work to get them as they need to be. Other than that a nice looking guitar. No problems in the finish, electronics and sound. The push-pull knobs really give a nice selection of tone. Even with the slight bow the guitar played well and felt good in the hand. The neck has a nice D profile and fits the hand well. A new set of strings and a little fine tuning should make this an excellent tool for Jazz, blues, rock or just about any style one would prefer. Well balanced but a little heavier than expected. For the price, a nice guitar.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    "A great deal @ twice the price!"
    By: Larry Allen      Submitted: 12/8/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Having been a lifetime professional bass player, when I purchase a guitar playability is very important to me. I told myself, OK I'll take a chance on this Chinese guitar.....AMS got it right out to me; it arrived in perfect condition; "set-up"; and w/ a minimum of adjustment plays beautifully! Don't let the cheap price prejudice you against it -- This Axe Rocks!
    Was this review helpful?
    A great 335!!!
    By: RavenShadow      Submitted: 12/6/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Once again a great product from the guys at the Epiphone custom shop! this guitar sounded amazing and warm right out of the box....it needs only a slight lowering of the action to be perfect!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Beautiful guitar at a great value!
    By: Johnny      Submitted: 11/26/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This is an outstanding value and a piece of beauty. Arrived from American Musical Supply fast and in good shape. Replaced strings, oiled fretboard, tuned it and made slight adjustments to intonation. It sounds as good as it looks, particularly with the neck pickup IMO. Only quality flaw was some slight overspray of black paint(?) on "f-hole" opening. It easily buffed out. Very happy with this Epiphone. This is my first. Other guitar brands I own include Fender USA & MIM, Squire and Gibson USA.
    3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great guitar-must be set up
    By: Paul      Submitted: 11/14/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Guitar came very fast, but with many problems. Took it to a local Lutherie, and 7 frets were loose, the fretboard was so dry, it took 3 coats of oil to get it playable. The action was too high out of the box. In short, AMS was great about letting me return this, but I'm glad I stayed with it, had it professionally set up, because it may be the best all around guitar for gigging and studio work I've done. The coil tapping on this semi-hollow Classic is great. For the money, it can't be beat-but, have this taken to a qualified guitar luthier to have them work on; it will be worth it, but, budget another $200 for this service.
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Awesome guitar! Well worth the money and some!
    By: Chris o      Submitted: 11/13/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Excellent guitar for the money. Had to put NYXL strings on and turn the around the bridge but after that was done it plays and sounds fantastic! Fit and finish is good. Great hollow body guitar!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Luvin' it & well worth the wait!
    By: James E      Submitted: 10/23/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I'm sure the June 2014 ToneQuest Report said it best, but the Epi ES-335 PRO is basically an enhanced Dot with cream binding, block inlays, Wilkinson tulips, and two Epi Alnico Classic Pro split-coil buckers that really do sound surprisingly good. I eventually sampled two that were available a few weeks apart from each other at my local GC, and spent a few hours (conservatively) playing around with the Alnico Classic Pro's thru a few different amps. But it didn't take anywhere near that long to be impressed, and the second ES-335 PRO I played really just confirmed that. Between the assorted flavors, I ended up being the most drawn to the Ice Tea version without actually seeing one in person. But I finally ordered one thru AMS, and I'm glad I trusted my gut & waited, because it's nicer looking than I thought! Bottom line? If you're the market for a semi-hollow, for money these are the bomb-diggity. You'll be surprised! (:
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loves to play in the dirt!
    By: JON RARRICK      Submitted: 9/12/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? i love the first one i bought, modded & still own. my other ES 335 pro has a Vintage Sunburst finish and Gibson classic 57's in it. AWESOME! my teaburst, this one, will get a Gibson BB2 in the bridge and a Seymour Duncan SH-1 '59, in the neck. i'm sure it will sing. but, to be fair and very honest, i am very impressed with the Epi Alnico Classic pro pickups; to the point that i an having 2nd thoughts about swapping them out. they sound very good, especially the neck pickup. the neck feels great. actually like the neck better than on my Gibson ES 335 custom.that was another reason i bought a 2nd one.love the vintage look. tuners are good. not great but very good.it stays in tune....most of the time. i prefer playing the blues and it does that very well.the amp i use is a fender mustang 3 v2.great amp.many voicings.the ES guitars love the Fender voices. '65 Twin, '65 Deluxe, '65 Princeton compliment this guitar. the brit sounds offer great dirt & this guitar loves to play in the dirt.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Simply "AWESOME"!
    By: SC from Rugby      Submitted: 8/27/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I love it! I waited five months for this order to be filled. Everyday I thought I should just settle for some other guitar, but my fear was that the order would be filled the day after my cancellation. I would be left with something I didn't really want. Now I have what I wanted. Yes, like every other review the strings are s***. But while I waited I stocked up on strings. This guitar rocks!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Needed a set up
    By: jthiggs from HB CA USA      Submitted: 2/21/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar














    What is your opinion of this product? Overall this is a great buy for the money! As usual, the guitar came with strings that had to be replaced immediately. They were already showing signs of wear out of the box. I couldn't get it tuned up so I played it for a month or two and had a professional set up done. Now it's awesome!
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....