Item Reviews for: Epiphone ES-335 Pro Electric Guitar  -  EPI ET3P EBNH3 LIST
Sweet guitar.....
By: Red.      Submitted: 4/2/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


General What is your overall opinion of this product? Wow what a sweet guitar, I own a bunch of Epiphones. I was looking for a backup semi hollow and the reviews on this were really good so I ordered one. Im so happy I did the guitar was at my house 3 day later, in tune and only needed a quick basic setup. Finish, workmanship and build are amazing, plays very very well, love the neck, sound as good as my Gibson and the coil tap is a nice feature. if your thinking about getting one ORDER ONE NOW... Best deal out there at this price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
One of the Best Epi's to Date
By: JerBear      Submitted: 3/27/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Well, I've been playing over 45 years & now mainly a hobbyist. I have over 60 makes & models currently in collection including an Epi Sharaton II, when I saw this beauty in Vintage sunburst, thought I'd give it a try even not needing another. Receiving this 335 Pro out of the box & packing, blew me away! My model is as good as any Gibson I have seen since the early 60's hands down! Not a blemish, frets looked polished & smooth edges, all switches, knobs, etc. worked perfect. action string height etc. was dead on! All I had to do was tune, (just slightly)and play! It got better! I couldn't believe my ears, the vintage pups sound almost as good as Gibson 57's or maybe as good & coil taps are very usable, not a gimmick. It stayed in tuned & she begged not to put in the case! It says on back of neck "Limited Edition-Custom Shop" , never knew China had a Custom Shop but who ever made mine deserves a raise & Kudos to whoever made mine & Epiphone for raising the bar, more than Happy!
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Value Proposition
By: Dave      Submitted: 3/26/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Purchased from AMS in early December 2014, and very happy with purchase overall. Construction was solid, electronics are great - nice fat PAF style pickups with usable coil tapping (try the neck humbucker + bridge single coil for some cool lead tones) with usable pots with good taper. Switch seems strong, jack likewise. Frets were a little rough, but nothing a little touchup didn't fix. Setup was dreadful, but it almost always is on guitars bought online, so that was no surprise and doesn't earn a ding. Finish had one small blem on the side of the upper horn at the binding, but not enough for me to feel the need to send it back. Overall, a tremendous value - I would buy this over a Dot, because the electronics are better. Also, and I know this is only cosmetic, but I love the bound neck and the small block inlay. Just classy. Highly recommended instrument.
Was this review helpful?
I made a dash for the Ice Tea Dot with coil tapping
By: RO      Submitted: 3/19/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Feels good, looks good, sounds good.
Was this review helpful?
Great guitar!
By: David Held      Submitted: 3/5/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I have had a lot of guitars and this one is a keeper. The Iced Tea finish is way better than the photos look. It came ready to play with just a minor tuning. I took a chance on the "blemished" price and am very happy with it. There was only a small chip on one of the knobs.
Was this review helpful?
So far, so good
By: Al Brussich      Submitted: 2/9/2015
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Overall a nice piece for the money. The tea burst finish looks really nice and the poly coat is not as thick as on some other models. the guitar has to go into the shop to have the neck set properly as it came slightly bowed outward leaving a buzz in the first four frets. Hopefully this can be resolved. Frets are rough and definitely need a bit of polishing. The string height at the bridge is also out of whack and needs a bit of work to get them as they need to be. Other than that a nice looking guitar. No problems in the finish, electronics and sound. The push-pull knobs really give a nice selection of tone. Even with the slight bow the guitar played well and felt good in the hand. The neck has a nice D profile and fits the hand well. A new set of strings and a little fine tuning should make this an excellent tool for Jazz, blues, rock or just about any style one would prefer. Well balanced but a little heavier than expected. For the price, a nice guitar.
Was this review helpful?
"A great deal @ twice the price!"
By: Larry Allen      Submitted: 12/8/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Having been a lifetime professional bass player, when I purchase a guitar playability is very important to me. I told myself, OK I'll take a chance on this Chinese guitar.....AMS got it right out to me; it arrived in perfect condition; "set-up"; and w/ a minimum of adjustment plays beautifully! Don't let the cheap price prejudice you against it -- This Axe Rocks!
Was this review helpful?
A great 335!!!
By: RavenShadow      Submitted: 12/6/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Once again a great product from the guys at the Epiphone custom shop! this guitar sounded amazing and warm right out of the box....it needs only a slight lowering of the action to be perfect!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Beautiful guitar at a great value!
By: Johnny      Submitted: 11/26/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? This is an outstanding value and a piece of beauty. Arrived from American Musical Supply fast and in good shape. Replaced strings, oiled fretboard, tuned it and made slight adjustments to intonation. It sounds as good as it looks, particularly with the neck pickup IMO. Only quality flaw was some slight overspray of black paint(?) on "f-hole" opening. It easily buffed out. Very happy with this Epiphone. This is my first. Other guitar brands I own include Fender USA & MIM, Squire and Gibson USA.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Great guitar-must be set up
By: Paul      Submitted: 11/14/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Guitar came very fast, but with many problems. Took it to a local Lutherie, and 7 frets were loose, the fretboard was so dry, it took 3 coats of oil to get it playable. The action was too high out of the box. In short, AMS was great about letting me return this, but I'm glad I stayed with it, had it professionally set up, because it may be the best all around guitar for gigging and studio work I've done. The coil tapping on this semi-hollow Classic is great. For the money, it can't be beat-but, have this taken to a qualified guitar luthier to have them work on; it will be worth it, but, budget another $200 for this service.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Awesome guitar! Well worth the money and some!
By: Chris o      Submitted: 11/13/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? Excellent guitar for the money. Had to put NYXL strings on and turn the around the bridge but after that was done it plays and sounds fantastic! Fit and finish is good. Great hollow body guitar!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Luvin' it & well worth the wait!
By: James E      Submitted: 10/23/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I'm sure the June 2014 ToneQuest Report said it best, but the Epi ES-335 PRO is basically an enhanced Dot with cream binding, block inlays, Wilkinson tulips, and two Epi Alnico Classic Pro split-coil buckers that really do sound surprisingly good. I eventually sampled two that were available a few weeks apart from each other at my local GC, and spent a few hours (conservatively) playing around with the Alnico Classic Pro's thru a few different amps. But it didn't take anywhere near that long to be impressed, and the second ES-335 PRO I played really just confirmed that. Between the assorted flavors, I ended up being the most drawn to the Ice Tea version without actually seeing one in person. But I finally ordered one thru AMS, and I'm glad I trusted my gut & waited, because it's nicer looking than I thought! Bottom line? If you're the market for a semi-hollow, for money these are the bomb-diggity. You'll be surprised! (:
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Loves to play in the dirt!
By: JON RARRICK      Submitted: 9/12/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? i love the first one i bought, modded & still own. my other ES 335 pro has a Vintage Sunburst finish and Gibson classic 57's in it. AWESOME! my teaburst, this one, will get a Gibson BB2 in the bridge and a Seymour Duncan SH-1 '59, in the neck. i'm sure it will sing. but, to be fair and very honest, i am very impressed with the Epi Alnico Classic pro pickups; to the point that i an having 2nd thoughts about swapping them out. they sound very good, especially the neck pickup. the neck feels great. actually like the neck better than on my Gibson ES 335 custom.that was another reason i bought a 2nd one.love the vintage look. tuners are good. not great but very good.it stays in tune....most of the time. i prefer playing the blues and it does that very well.the amp i use is a fender mustang 3 v2.great amp.many voicings.the ES guitars love the Fender voices. '65 Twin, '65 Deluxe, '65 Princeton compliment this guitar. the brit sounds offer great dirt & this guitar loves to play in the dirt.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Simply "AWESOME"!
By: SC from Rugby      Submitted: 8/27/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General


What is your overall opinion of this product? I love it! I waited five months for this order to be filled. Everyday I thought I should just settle for some other guitar, but my fear was that the order would be filled the day after my cancellation. I would be left with something I didn't really want. Now I have what I wanted. Yes, like every other review the strings are s***. But while I waited I stocked up on strings. This guitar rocks!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Needed a set up
By: jthiggs from HB CA USA      Submitted: 2/21/2014
verified
Overall Rating


General














What is your overall opinion of this product? Overall this is a great buy for the money! As usual, the guitar came with strings that had to be replaced immediately. They were already showing signs of wear out of the box. I couldn't get it tuned up so I played it for a month or two and had a professional set up done. Now it's awesome!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Nice 335!
By: Johnny from Ashtabula, OH USA      Submitted: 1/24/2013

Overall Rating






General










Your general opinion of this product. Overall, great guitar for the money. Intonation was dead on. I set the action to my liking, now it plays great. The pickups are not bad, really, the neck PU has a nice warm and clear sound, but I will replace them, because I am spoiled by the DiMarzios in my other guitars. The tuners work fine. The coil-splitting feature is actually usable, and makes the guitar more versatile. I'm sure the difference between single and double will be even more pronounced when I replace the pickups. I mean, it's never going to sound exactly like a Strat or Tele, but single coil will get you close enough. I plan to spend another $200 or so to beef this 335 up. Once I do, I bet it won't sound much, if any, different than its $2k-$3k Gibson cousin.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
Loading....