American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Epiphone Wildkat Electric Guitar with Bigsby Tremolo  -  EPI ETBKCB LIST

A Good Rock 'N Roll/ Blues/Bluesrocker/ Value
By: A. Lee Morris Jr. from Detroit, MI USA, lelynus@yahoo.com      Submitted: 6/20/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? When guitar first arrived, I was quite disappointed & was prepared to send it back as unplayable/unsatisfactory. It wouldn't stay in tune (fluctuated between "sharp" & "flat"), & quality control left something to be desired. Glue around neck/body joint was a bit sloppy, control knobs on crooked, metal nameplate on slightly crooked (gives her character). Also thought I saw blemishes in finish, especially around F holes, but it may have been eyes playing tricks on me in low light. Overall first impression? I knew that Epiphone could do better than this! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Fortunately, something was telling me not to write the guitar off. I decided to keep it. Glad I did! Along w/ a friend who's a good guitarist & trained luthier, we went to work setting her up. As the flaws were corrected she came alive! I started seeing & hearing her potential! She's probably passable as a Jazz guitar, but I feel her strong hand is hard rockin' R 'N R, R & B, Blues, & Bluesrock. Was my first single coil unit, & P90's can be a bit noisy. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Guitar has a small, but solid, slightly heavy feel to her, neck feels a bit chunky, substantial, but very playable. Depending on music style, you may have to move fast, but all knobs/controls are in easy reach. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I'd say tones are bright/snappy w/ P90's ranging from mellow to hot! Highs a bit thin as you move up the scale depending on guitar & amp settings. As advertised, she will go from a kitten like "purr" to a gritty "growl" w/ flip of a switch! I love it! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No complaints here. Nicely finished & front/back grain patterns are beautiful. Same for Rosewood fingerboard. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? At the time Antique/Natural Wildkats were going for $350 & another $100 for hardshell case. I own/play several different guitar make/models & have played Epi's for almost 30 years now. I've never been disappointed w/one. Like all guitars they have their own "quirks," but they give you a lot of instrument for the money. A great buy once I got the "kinks" ironed out of it. Depending on what you're playing, highly recommended. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was a bit higher than I like, but was easily adjusted. Prefer it slightly low. She still has tendency to go slightly flat/sharp at times, but stays in tune for the most part. I seldom use the Bigsby. Tune-o-matic bridge may not be the best type for these guitars. Seriously considering replacing it w/ a "roller" type bridge if I find one that fits.
A very nice looking piece of junk
By: Brian from Reston, Va      Submitted: 5/20/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Beautiful Guitar Worth the Money!
By: Paulie C from Phoenix      Submitted: 4/4/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Well..out of the box I noticed that the strings were a mile high on the fret board. The action was horrible, like set up for lap steel or something..Also, there was some looseness in the hardware on the string posts..this stuff isn't a big deal. I took it to a guitar tech which I do when buying any guitar regardless of price and let me tell you..this thing plays great! The tuning issues that I read about on the reviews are not an issue with my guitar. I stretch the strings two or three times when putting on new and lube the nut (I know that sounds weird) but it stays in tune. T Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I play whatever..Buddy Holly, Beatles, old country, Oasis etc..It sounds great. I don't get all crazy on the Bigsby..I use it for a little wobble/wiggle here and there. The quality is good and solid..I could go on and on but to make a long story short..It's just a cool guitar that's priced right. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The controls are great. The Master Volume is perfect. Big frets but some were uneven but that's not a big deal..Just needs a total set up. All I can say is that it plays like it looks ..which made me pretty F-in happy! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I'm not a tone snob..all my guitars sound completely different so I just tweak them to my liking ..but let me tell you brother..this Wildkat is F-ing fun to play! The P-90's sound as they should.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect for $349 Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? When you buy such a nice stylish semi-hollow guitar with a Bigsby for $349.00 you kind of half to wonder how much it costs to be built the thing. Then how much profit is made by the vendor? Anyway, I'm pretty happy with it Playability How was the action out of the box? Sucked..Strings Super Duper high almost unplayable but that's ok and expected..just take to a pro and it will sound as good as any Gibson
Great guitar for the money
By: Lonnie B. from Defuniak Spings Fla.      Submitted: 3/19/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Wow !
By: Derric from Grosse Ile, Michigan USA      Submitted: 1/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Very nice guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I bought this as a dent and scratch. I could not find any dents or scratches. The handle on the Bigsby was binding. I replaced the strings with DR nickel blues medium and greased the Bigsby handle. I also removed the spring washers to lower the handle. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck feels good in my hand. The action was low out of the box, the intonation was right on. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Sounds like P90's Dark and warm. good range if you know how to work 'em. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is beautiful. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I was looking for an inexpensive guitar with a Bigsby. I saw this as a scratch and dent for $259. Honestly I expected a hunk of junk, but I only wanted it for a couple songs. Quite surprised with how nice this thing is. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action and set up was very good. the Bigsby issue may be why it was so cheap. Played it through several amps good sound. easy neck.
Product comparable to price
By: Donald from Oklahoma      Submitted: 1/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Nice Grover tuners; good Bigsby trem arm; neck feels good - semi-beefy; somewhat heavy axe. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality is ok I guess. This was a "scratch/dent" item; the two flaws I found were: paint/varnish at neck heel very thick and sloppy; screws holding pickup to body were loose and when I removed pickups, found that screw holes were cracked so I had to repair them, re-drill, and re-install pickups. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Heavy axe for semi-hollow body; neck semi-chunky (not fat as late 50's Gibson, but fatter than some of the 60's slim-tapers I've played); feels good. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is somewhat muddy; pickups are soldered to their housing and rattle against top of guitar; I put some rubber bumpers under them; helped somewhat; guitar fine if just playing lots of distortion, also nice with reverb. Really had to crank treble on amp to get treble sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint/stain poor at neck heel; could have sanded the f-holes trim better, but looks better than some of the high-end Gibsons I've owned. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Probably the non- scratch/dent model would be a good buy. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action ok out of box; at first fret 0.016", feels good; at fret 12 - 5/64 on e; 6/64 on E; I lowered each 1/64. now feels good.
tune it and it play beautiful. i like playing it better than my fender telecaster
By: dan ree      Submitted: 11/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

I am really impressed with the build quality and price
By: Steve Olson from Milwaukee, Wi.      Submitted: 10/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

One Kool Kat!
By: M Campbell from San Diego, CA      Submitted: 7/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Though most reviews here and at other sites were positive, I was not completely sure what to expect from this guitar, having never played nor seen one in person. I was very pleased by what I discovered when she arrived and I unwrapped her the other night. All my anxieties went away as I inspected every inch of this beautiful guitar to find her to be in perfectly flawless condition. A big thanks and appreciation to the people at American Musical Supply for their packaging, too. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Having owned mainly Fender guitars and basses, the bar is set rather high for me when it comes to quality. I found the finish and workmanship of this guitar virtually flawless…and I went over her with a fine tooth comb! Everything feels totally solid on this baby, too. The Grover tuners are smooth, as are the volume/tone knobs. Nothing loose or rattling on my guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Again, I had read a few reviews where some folks complained about the P 90’s sounding muddy, but my opinion differs. I ran her through a few of my Fender amps, toyed around with her various tone and volume controls and pick up switch, and was able to get smooth/dark to bright/snappy tones. She does have her own voice, when compared to my Fenders, but that is another aspect I was looking and hoping for in this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is in the Antique Natural finish and she is flawless. Like I mentioned earlier in this review, I went over her with a fine tooth comb expecting to find some flaws and imperfections, but she’s a beauty! Some folks have mentioned that they are not thrilled with the “yellow” look of the Antique Natural, but I find it to be striking. And it’s offset well by the cream binding and rich mahogany back. Besides, everybody’s got black guitars, but this baby stands out from the crowd!
ALMOST PEREFCT
By: John Z from California      Submitted: 6/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. For $349 this may be the best deal on the market. This guitar has a wonderful combination of good looks, tonal variety, and good playability. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality is very good. There are no major imperfections that mar its appearance its performance. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Compared to the humbucker pickups on both of my Flying V guitars, these are not quite as bright. But this can be compensated for with amplifier setting. The master tone control is a wonderful feature, one I wish more guitars had. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was very good. The only imperfection are some rough edges on the inside of the F-hole cutouts.
Worth the money so far
By: Kris from Fargo,ND      Submitted: 5/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

A pretty Groovy Axe to add to your collection!
By: Starlips from Holland, MI USA      Submitted: 5/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The finish on this was flawless - truly a beautiful guitar. The body is a little smaller than other hollow bodies so I took me longer to adjust my playing style. I am not a fan of the Bigsby vibrato because it makes changing strings a real chore. I'd hate to break a string of a gig. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Once when changing strings, the pin that holds the string end came out and I lost it. I had to replace it with a nail shaft of the same size. This time I super glued it in. I didn't use the vibrato so much because it would lose it tune. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The P90's are pretty mellow, but they can scream on the bridge. It is a different sound than my Strat. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful. What a jewel!
The most incredible sound that i've ever listened!!!!
By: Berger from Orlando, Fl, USA      Submitted: 5/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Don't judge a guitar by price!!!!!!
By: Paul M. from Houston, Texas USA      Submitted: 2/28/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is solid. Grover tuners, Bigsby Tremelo, Finished edges on the f-holes, great pickups!!!! General Your general opinion of this product. Very well made, good tone, comfortable neck. The pictures on this site do not give it justice. It is a work of art!!!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very bright sound quality, but you can get many sounds from this guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No flaws, looks like a guitar that would cost you thousands!!!!
Amazing Quality at a resonable price!
By: Bill Gartner from Broomfield, Colorado USA      Submitted: 2/1/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Softer, more mellow tone than my Fender Strat just as I hoped it would be. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great. The natural wood tone is beautiful, glossy, and flawless. The back wood looks much better than most other guitars top side. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? After close examination I could not find the slightest flaw. General Your general opinion of this product. Outstanding guitar in quality, appearance,feel, and sound. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Softer, more mellow tone than my Fender Strat, just as I hoped it would be, maks for a good contrast. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great. The natural wood tone is beautiful, glossy, and flawless. The back wood looks much better than most other guitar's top side.
Good first guitar I can grow into
By: Nick M. from Oakland, CA      Submitted: 12/27/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar is a little on the heavy side for a smaller semi-hollow body, but it has real solid construction. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I originally ordered it in the natural- but when it was going to be back ordered for the third time, since I didn't have another guitar I was impatient and decided to go with the Black Royale. (which now I don't see on here). As another reviewer said, I'm glad I changed my mind and got the black. It's not flat black...it's dark dark steel gray, with very tiny metallic flakes on the body. The neck has glitter going up it as does the edges of the body of the guitar- but it doesn't look tacky- still has that classy good vintage aesthetic.
fantastic but needed to be set up
By: Eddie Clark from Mohnton pa usa, anonmyous27955      Submitted: 1/2/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? from the factory it was fair, once it was set up properly it plays great General Your general opinion of this product. the guitar is great but it came with the saddle backward and had to be turned around to get the proper intonation . I had it set up by a luthior for $40 now it plays as well as my vintage Les Paul Finish How did the stain or paint job look? beautiful
MY KAT
By: Kingston Jude from Toronto, gospel481@hotmail.com      Submitted: 11/17/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Kat has great balance and is very comfortable playing standing up. The back of the guitar is very comfortable also. What I really like is that it is not heavy like a Les Paul. This is a very dependable guitar for those who play the blues, jazz and pop music General Your general opinion of this product. I bought my Kat 5 years ago. It is a great guitar especially for Jazz and the B. The sound is incredible. The fat end has great Bass and the lower end has great tone. The neck is fat which I really like. The frets are much farther apart which I also like about this guitar. Rock enthusiasts my not like this guitar but as for my I would never art with it Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It has a great sound bass is fat and tone is nice and mellow for a jazz guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? As for the finish. My color is not The finish on my Kat is a special color It is a turquoise blue . The Guitar Store that I bought it from place the order to the manufacturer. It took a year before I got the guitar. When I received it it look gorgeous and still does. I love the Bigsby tremolo arm on it
Loading....