Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen 5150 III 50W Guitar Amplifier Head  -  EVH 2253000X LIST

    Throw away your distortion pedals
    By: Andrew W K      Submitted: 5/5/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? I was both surprised and amazed at how fast this amp arrived to my house, after ordering it online, next day delivery. Only given it four stars because the volume difference between Channel 1 and channel 2. I use a fender 65 Reverb for my clean sound and switch back to the EVH 5150 on an A/B switch. I would have given this and a 4.5 star. If you're looking at purchasing this and then you probably know much other its capabilities so I won't go into much detail other than to say it's a great, fantastic & awesome head. When played through a stereo cabinet makes it sound even sweeter. The preamp tubes scream. Don't buy this amp, because I want to be the one with the baddest dance around.
    Was this review helpful?
    Professional Rock Guitarist Amp Head
    By: Doc Montana      Submitted: 3/16/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This is the second EVH amp I have bought and got the head and the 1x12 bottom for portability. These amps are loud with great crunch, blues breakup, metal, whatever. I would again have to say these amps are built for the working rock/blues/metal guitarist. Even with the EVH 1x12 cabinet you could play anywhere from small clubs to big clubs..or mic it for big shows. All I can say is these EVH amps are bad A$$ !!!!
    Was this review helpful?
    Way better than expected
    By: Marco Z      Submitted: 8/20/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I purchased this amp on a whim through watching random videos without having previously played the amp and I was blown away once it actually got here. In all the videos I watched the amp sounded a little thin but the tone seemed decent. Once I got to play it for myself I quickly noticed that it does have a tendency to sound thin but if I leave the presence knob set at or below 3 that it got rid of the problem. I also didn't really notice the huge volume jump in between channel 1 and 2 but I definitely wish that it did have a separate volume knob. All the reviews stating that the blue channel sounded like a hot rodded Marshall were actually correct for once! I've only tinkered around on the red channel a little bit but I've noticed that it does sound a little more compressed and has a ridiculous amount of gain even with the knob set at around 3. All in all this amp is somewhat of a bargain for what you get and its nice that it is lightweight and compact so it doesn't kill my back.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    ehhh
    By: Joe      Submitted: 6/28/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The verdict is still out for me on this one. The volume difference between the clean and the crunch channel is a negative. Don't understand why they can't be the same volume when you switch channels. For what I paid for it I think it should have more. Effects loop doesnt seem to like my delay and time based pedals.It's a loud little bugger. More gain than I need. Nice footswtch. Resonance control is nice. I can make it work and get but I was hopeing I would'nt have to make it work if you know what I mean. I still have to try slamming the front end with my proco rat. I dont do this for more gain just more sensitivity.
    4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Awesome amplifier!
    By: Donald      Submitted: 6/2/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought this Amplifier used,and it was in mint condition,I'm guessing it was a customer return.I am very satisfied with this amp,3 channels,I expecially like the blue channel.I ran a delay and a overdrive in front of the amp and the tones were Sweeeet!Even at bedroom volumes there is plenty of gain and distortion to be had.And clean channel is quite smooth,although I'll never use it(LOL)I am running amp through a 4x12 Seismic cabinet,not the best speakers in the world,but it still sounds really nice.I only paid $779.00 for the amp and it is well worth the money.
    Was this review helpful?
    I love this Amp. Has all the features I wanted.
    By: Hollywood 1821      Submitted: 5/3/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's a great amp. I would have liked a reverb option. Other than that It's perfect.
    0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Can't play eoungh
    By: Scott S,ses120169@yahoo.com      Submitted: 4/25/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have been "tone searching" for well over a year now. Read several reviews, watched countless videos, talked to a lot of people about amps, pedals, processors, etc. A friend had a 5150iii mini and said, "you gotta try this thing, I think it is actually what you are looking for. Yes it was!! So I ordered one for myself. I can't play this amp enough!! It has everything I was looking for as far as the range of tones I needed for my band. I've read about the channel 1 to 2 volume jump, but I use a processor for effects, run thru the loop, adjusted the volume levels in the processor, GONE! Even when the gain on channel 1 is above 5, it's not that bad. The blue channel is where it's at on this amp. The red channel is great for leads or get that nu metal tone. I can't praise this amp emough.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    WOW!!!!!
    By: Leonard      Submitted: 3/2/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great amp way loud cant even put it on one in the house get blown awy lol! very easy to use incredible brown sound , I would definitely buy it again.
    Was this review helpful?
    bad a$$!!
    By: B.Law      Submitted: 2/16/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Loud as hell and fat tone! Tones of range. Love it!!
    Was this review helpful?
    When i got the amp, it didnt even completely work, and i have to get it fixed now
    By: Michael Carter Lee      Submitted: 2/12/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The amp itself is amazing, but the service from your company was awful. Multiple charges for one item, when I finally get the item it doesn't even work, and then I can't exchange it and have to take it an hour away from my home to have it fixed under Fenders warranty.
    3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    awsome amp
    By: Michael A      Submitted: 12/31/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? It's almost impossible to get a bad sound! it stands up to anything out there, even amps costing 3 times as much. You can have rounded, full body cleans all the way to full bore metal. If that's not enough, the second channel has the brown sound but even more articulate. Fair warning, it will reveal sloppy playing but it rewards good playing with so much detail it's like high definition vs VHS. Eddie outdid himself on this one!
    Was this review helpful?
    Amazing metal tones. Super good cleans!
    By: Chris      Submitted: 12/28/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Very loud for a 50 watt head, a lot louder then my line 6 spider valve 40 watt combo. You can feel it, simply amazing. Tone for days in my opinion best amp for a grand new.
    Was this review helpful?
    An awesome amp!!! Great tone and crunch
    By: Chuck Johnson      Submitted: 10/27/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Great product, finally found the sound I've been searching for.
    Was this review helpful?
    This amp is AWESOME.. LOVE IT!!
    By: Oscar G Mendez      Submitted: 10/25/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I have a Marshall JVM 210 H and got this for portability. This amp can get great tones. Either with pedals or a Digitech GSP 1101 in 4CM great tones. I used it at a gig last week playing songs ranging from Deep Purple, Judas Priest, Maiden, Megadeth, Metallica, Ratt,Van Halen Bon Jovi.... This amp covered them all. Going against my other guitarists Mesa Mark V ....I cut through great. Got lots of complements after the gig. If your on the fence pull the trigger... it's a great amp!!
    Was this review helpful?
    Great Experience, Awesome amplifier!
    By: Bryan      Submitted: 10/15/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Was this review helpful?
    What a great amp!
    By: Jason      Submitted: 8/6/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Better than I expected, and it had a lot to live up to! I've had the Peavey 2x12 5150 paired to a 5150 4x12 for several years. Adding this to the mix and going stereo with the Boss GT10 splitting the path, it has been a tonal dream!
    Was this review helpful?
    I am Metal again
    By: Rick from L      Submitted: 7/30/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. I love th tone I get from my 5150. I play a lot of 80's Hard Rock so this amp is perfect for me.
    Was this review helpful?
    Best Amp Ever!
    By: Jeff from Fresno, CA      Submitted: 6/20/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Took it out of the box and hooked it up to the EVH 2x12 cabinet and it sounded pretty good. Then, I turned the resonance knob from 0 to half way and wow! The amp flat out cranks and has loads of tone. I have owned many amps from Crate, Peavey, Marshall, Fender, Blackstar and this one just rocks!
    Was this review helpful?
    Pure Screaming Power
    By: William Gould from Littleton, CO, USA, g.gould@comcast.net      Submitted: 3/22/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Excellent product for my needs, as a church and small venue player. However, I need a boost for the clean channel to compensate for the volume jump form channel 1 to 2. But still TOTALLY worth every penny
    Was this review helpful?
    From clean, to bluesy, to full metal jacket, this amp provides tone for days!!!
    By: Mike Ho      Submitted: 3/10/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. a powerful 50 watt head with tone for days! The green (clean) channel is great, but where this amp really shines is in the blue and red gain channels. The blue is pretty much Eddie's brown sound. I could absolutely live on this channel for any gig. Add in a nice pedal in the front, like a BB Preamp or Tubescreamer and you can really take this channel over the top! The Red channel is just over the top gain. I have both channels sitting at 12 o'clock on the gain knob, and it supplies more than enough gain throughout. As I start to push the master volume a bit harder, the harmonics really become more defined, and the amp just seems to take on a completely different personality. The shared EQ is not a problem for me. I have been able to tame the volume jump all owners of this amp experience. And this amp takes pedals wonderfully! Best sounding effects loop I have ever plugged in to, with no degradation of tone.
    Was this review helpful?
    A must have to emulate the brown sound and even go deeper and wider in tone...
    By: Sdub from Moorpark, Ca.      Submitted: 11/2/2013
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. Amazed my the tonality and depth. Pedal friendly for the loop!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....