American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen 5150 III 50W Guitar Amplifier Head  -  EVH 2253000X LIST

Best Amp Ever!
By: Jeff from Fresno, CA      Submitted: 6/20/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Took it out of the box and hooked it up to the EVH 2x12 cabinet and it sounded pretty good. Then, I turned the resonance knob from 0 to half way and wow! The amp flat out cranks and has loads of tone. I have owned many amps from Crate, Peavey, Marshall, Fender, Blackstar and this one just rocks! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems pretty well made. I got an ivory dent & scratch and don't see a thing wrong with it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All the tone of a tube amp with tons of gain on tap. Just got it so I beg to spend some time trying out the channels. I am hoping the clean has close to the Fender tone so I can sell my Hot Rod Deluxe. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks beautiful with the ivory tolex. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Well, when you by from AMS they usually extend the warranty and have great customer service which is awesome! That's one of the main reasons I buy from them.
Pure Screaming Power
By: William Gould from Littleton, CO, USA, g.gould@comcast.net      Submitted: 3/22/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent product for my needs, as a church and small venue player. However, I need a boost for the clean channel to compensate for the volume jump form channel 1 to 2. But still TOTALLY worth every penny Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Totally solid equipment Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not as big as 100 watt, not as small as a mini, but perfect for someone that plays small giggs Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? excellent tone. Totally Fender clean. And you can get anything from the Marshall crunch to pure EVH brown, to Metallica Metal Action How was the action out of the box? perfect out of the box Finish How did the stain or paint job look? no blemishes or anything Reliability How has it stood up over time? This thing is built like a tank, so I know it will last a while
From clean, to bluesy, to full metal jacket, this amp provides tone for days!!!
By: Michael from Pearl City, HI USA      Submitted: 3/10/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. a powerful 50 watt head with tone for days! The green (clean) channel is great, but where this amp really shines is in the blue and red gain channels. The blue is pretty much Eddie's brown sound. I could absolutely live on this channel for any gig. Add in a nice pedal in the front, like a BB Preamp or Tubescreamer and you can really take this channel over the top! The Red channel is just over the top gain. I have both channels sitting at 12 o'clock on the gain knob, and it supplies more than enough gain throughout. As I start to push the master volume a bit harder, the harmonics really become more defined, and the amp just seems to take on a completely different personality. The shared EQ is not a problem for me. I have been able to tame the volume jump all owners of this amp experience. And this amp takes pedals wonderfully! Best sounding effects loop I have ever plugged in to, with no degradation of tone. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's gotta mean something when you build amps and guitars for Eddie Van Halen! Add to that fact that it's Fender that is doing it, you got me sold! Who cares if it was made in their Mexico factory. I own a Blacktop strat built in their Mexico plant, and it shares the same quality's as the more expensive American series. Plays as well, and comes with a Floyd installed at the factory! Fender quality, with a focus on providing more affordable, but just as reliable, musical equipment. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not really applicable, but the front panel controls are laid out well. Love the chicken head knobs! Probably the only thing I can see designing different is the resonance, power and standby controls, which reside in the back of the amp. But I guess in order to provide a smaller footprint that is the 50 watt head, sacrifices needed to be made. I got over it quick! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is an amp one can get lost in for HOURS!!! The tone provided from it can get one to fall in love with playing all over again, as I did! You really feel the growl through the strings! Although not my first tube head, this is really my first tube head that didn't sound like everything else. I've owned Marshall's, and Peavey's, Crates, Ampeg's...this head provided me with a new tone I never had, along with a fantastic base sound to add in effects to. And in such a smaller form...this will be my last amp I buy for a long time! I'm getting too old to be lugging around a full size head and a half/full stack anymore! This amp, my Orange PPC 112 (which sits perfectly on top of it!) and my pedalboard, and I am good to go!!! Action How was the action out of the box? Action right out of the box?...Hell yeah! I couldn't open the box fast enough!!! A definite plug and play item! Came with an extra long cable for the footswitch, plus a heavy duty speaker cable! All one needs is a guitar and some electricity and you're all set to rock! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Opted to order the Ivory finish, and haven't regretted it! Beautiful ivory tolex, nice front faceplate with EVH motif (which I already modded to match my Orange cab)and contrasting black corner protectors! Fantastic aesthetic layout. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Have had the amp for just over a month, so no real comments yet. However, I do treat my gear with the respect it deserves, and will do the same for this amp. Haven't had any issues with the amp, and as long as I treat it the way it is supposed to be treated, then I shouldn't have any problems with it as long as I own it!!!
A must have to emulate the brown sound and even go deeper and wider in tone...
By: Sdub from Moorpark, Ca.      Submitted: 11/2/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Amazed my the tonality and depth. Pedal friendly for the loop! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Good looking and seems to be made well. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Channel 1 and 2 share an EQ... Not real a big deal. Get a good OD pedal and click on for channel 2.. Channel 3 is ecstasy! Balls out grind.. Action How was the action out of the box? n/a Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good..
Small amp, powerful package
By: Chris from Norwood, MA, USA      Submitted: 9/2/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

I will never play another brand again.
By: Moral Decline - Preston      Submitted: 8/9/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have never owned an amp that didn't require some sort of boost or distortion pedal to get close to the tone I had always dreamed of... no more. This amp rips, shreds, jams, rocks, jazzes, and everything inbetween with nothing else needed... unless you like good reverbs, in which case you should throw a holy grail in the loop and call it a day. The perfect amplifier. Truly a masterpiece. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? x1000 Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Very touchy controls, perfect for dialing in precise tones. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Whatever you want it to be.
Worth every penny
By: Victor Alarcon from Vista, CA, dazadarius@hotmail.com      Submitted: 5/1/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. For me this amp is the best. I have a studio full of amps and pre-amps that I have collected and now I can start selling stuff off. This amp is my final purchase, done! Probably only keeping my Kitty Hawk Dino Pre-amp but everything else can go!!!! Give this amp a try, it absolutely rocks!!!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? 2 weeks and counting, feels like a tube head and feels like other reliable tube heads. If taken care of should be reliable. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Channel 1 is great, nice and clean. Channel 2 can do everything all the way up to full on metal. Channel 3 has more gain on tap then I have ever encountered or needed. I play heavy oriented music and channel 2 is more than enough. 50 Watts is more than enough for private, recording or live. I love this amp and will never let it go, so worth the money, it inspires me to wanna play and play all night!! Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/A Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell, but taken care of should last a lifetime.
My Quest for perfect tone is over!!
By: Brian from Placerville, Ca      Submitted: 4/4/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The best..EVH and Fender Reliability How has it stood up over time? Not sure yet. I hope it lasts a lifetime General Your general opinion of this product. I Can't find a bad setting on this amp. I can get some great blues tones by cranking the gain on channel 1, or dial back the gain for some beautiful clean tones (the amp also cleans up well when you lower your guitar volume). Channel 2 has that much sought after EVH tone that leave a permagrin on my face. Channel 3 is an absolute gain monster (i never set the gain more than half way) and is simular to the gain on amps like Soldano and Mesa Boogie. This is the best amp I have ever owned.
Hot Rod Amp !!
By: Todd G from Lake Saint Louis, MO      Submitted: 2/15/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Sturdy and well built Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far, so good. 8 months and no problems. General Your general opinion of this product. Great amp for the cost. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The 3 channels are great. You will need to use a noisegate for the 3rd channel. the overdrive is excellent, but noisy. I have a Decimator G String. The amp has no reverb so you will need a pedal for that. I am using a Strymon Blue Sky and it sounds excellent. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I am happy with the tone of this amp. I buddied it up with my Marshall 1960 slant cab and am very happy with the tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Good Look Action How was the action out of the box? Enjoy all the features for the price, loop effect, Headphone jack, and MIDI feature.
Loading....