American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen Wolfgang Special Electric Guitar with Case  -  EVH 5107901 LIST

Orgasmic
By: Robert from Hanover PA17331, RGWHI@AOL.COM      Submitted: 6/23/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love this instrument. it is unbelievable. The whole experience with AMS was great Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? five star Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Unique I was looking for more of grunge that a Les Paul would give. I feel every note, was inspirational Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? excellent, both bright snappy and dark and smooth the contrast from pick ups was very contrasting Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I feel like I am staring at a beautiful women on ladies night Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Are you kidding me....My dream axe is a les paul cherry sunburst now I have to calm down Playability How was the action out of the box? again orgasmic
Much better than I expected!
By: Joseph from Deland, FL USA      Submitted: 5/23/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I own many guitars. But, this was an unexpected surprise. Set up was spot on right out of the box,(although I've have to put heavier gauge strings on it), and the tone is awesome and quite versatile for a 2 humbucker guitar w/ a 3 way switch. The volume pot is low friction to facilitate volume swells easily, the D-Tuna works perfectly, but the birdseye maple neck was the biggest surprise. Very comfortable and smooth, no sharp frets, similar to my old San Dimas Charvels. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Excellent quality! Cleans up nicely w/ the volume control and a tone circuit that actually works. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is perfect. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Pickups are not overly powerful, which is a good thing. They allow the true tone of the wood to shine through. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful finish. I opted for the flamed maple sunburst. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Definitely worth theprice. Playability How was the action out of the box? Spot on.
At the new price point you can't lose!
By: Mitch Bydalek      Submitted: 5/22/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Could be better
By: Matt Campbell      Submitted: 4/29/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I hope the american version is better because the japanese dropped the ball. My major gripe on this guitar is the neck job. Guitar sounds decent but I've nicked my hand sliding up and down the neck. At $1400 this shouldn't be an issue and I'm not going to pay to have it corrected. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Seems to be assembled well, need to start double checking the neck Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Everything was nice except the neck Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? You can play anything tonally on this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks good Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I've seen $299 Strat copies that had better necks Playability How was the action out of the box? Decent
EVH Tobacco burst
By: Brian from NC      Submitted: 6/4/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Have been using this guitar in my gig rotation for the last 2 years. It's been absolutely wonderful. The neck is super slick with low frets. The floyd is smooth. I only had one issue with the tone pot crackling a bit after a few months but that can happen on any guitar. $5 on a new pot and I was back in business. Lightweight and beautiful. Highly recommended.
A must-have guitar!
By: Conor from Tega Cay, SC USA      Submitted: 5/5/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. A awesome guitar for the price. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is the only guitar to get for rock n blues to metal. The Floyd Rose set-up is great with the D-tuna. Very easy to adjust(if needed) and easy to re-string! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Lil bit of everything the pickups allow your sound to scream, just turn the volume up if you want more tone. But you can get almost any tone out of it! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect, Tobacco Burst! Really good top on the one i have.
NICE EVH FENDER WOLFGANG "COOL"
By: MR. LTD ST203 "WOW" from SUN CITY AZ.      Submitted: 4/16/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? MADE IN JAPAN,,,EVERY THING MADE THERE IS GOOD,,AND ED'S FENDER WOLFIE IS NO DIFFERENT..I GOT PEAVEY WOLFIES,,STANDARD AND KORIAN,,,BUT I REALY LIKE THE NECK ON MY NEW EVH SPECIAL,,,AND THE STANLESS STEEL FRETS,,,WAY GOOD,, General Your general opinion of this product. EVH,,HIGH QUALITY STUFF,,NO JOKE.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? BRIGHT,SMOOTH,FAST,LITE AS A FEATHER,,TUNE IT AT A 1/2 STEP DN,,,USE 10-46'S OR 10-52'S Finish How did the stain or paint job look? TOBACCO BURST,MY FAVERITE...AND MAYBE WHITE TOO,,,
Ed Van Halen and Fender know what's importaint in a guitar.
By: Swagger Guitarist from Austin, TX      Submitted: 1/23/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels well made. I've only had it a matter of days, so I'm not sure about long-term dependability. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, this is one of the finest guitars I've ever played. It has many of the features I would put into a custom built guitar of my own... stainless steel frets, natural finish neck, floyd rose trem with a drop d-tuna, 25.5" scale, flat/satin finish... it's perfect for my taste. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is bright and has authority. The pickups are hot for passive and not dark at all. Overall, I would say the tone is pretty middle-of-the road and flexible for most styles. The overdriven tones are great, but the cleans are not as bright as other guitars I've played. I play rock, so it's perfect for that. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I've always wanted a flat black guitar, but I have to admit, it looks pretty plain now that I have it in my hands. I've never been a fan of the body shape, but in black it's tolerable.
Money well spent!!
By: skyhcky from Orange, TX      Submitted: 9/3/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is very well made. I gig pretty hard and so far it has been great. General Your general opinion of this product. I took a chance on this guitar. Where I live I don't have many options on testing new guitars. I researched for years before I settled on the wolfgang. Best musical purchase I have ever made. The tone and response of the guitar is more than i could have asked for. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is crazy good. I can get dark, smooth, bright etc... I wanted a guitar that would give me a cross between les paul and strat. It's close enough. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the finish is beautiful.
JUNK
By: Brian E Morrison from Myrtle Beach, SC      Submitted: 8/13/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The craftmaship is way off on these. The neck pockets are sloppy and the routing for the pickups is off as well. The pole pieces don't even line up with the strings. The frets weren't dressed properly either. AMS sent me 2 and the first one had a killer neck but subpar body, the second one had better routing but the neck sucked. VERY inconsistant. General Your general opinion of this product. Japan dropped the ball on this one big time. EVH knows it and they still allow them to be sold. An EVH rep told me they are abandoning Japan for China because of all the defective guitars Japan has sent out. Order one, perhaps you'll get one of my returns because AMS does that... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Honestly, I never plugged them in, and I say them because the first one AMS sent me was so bad it has to be returned. the replacement is no better. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint looked good.
Save the $ buy the Special vs. USA version
By: Brian W from Roanoke, Texas USA      Submitted: 7/8/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is a production model guitar with quality woods and all the EVH hardware that the USA model has. The headstock does not tilt like the USA model does, it is more flat like a strat headstock. Locking nuts do most of the work to tension the stings in place. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall I like the special over the USA model. I tried the USA model and found it not much different than the Special, so I sent it back and saved the $1600. Glad I did! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Compared to the USA model, the special is a little brighter and less defined at full throttle. Built for rock but cleans up nicely for a fender rich tone. I use a DD3 Delay to add a little reverb to my tone, but found I could use this dry and get better results. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Antique White looks great - a little more yellow and creamy than the USA Wolfgang. I also like the black binding and black headstock. The white binding on the USA model just did not pop.
It's Yellow.
By: Chris Thurston from Flagstaff, AZ      Submitted: 3/26/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, very pleased with the guitar, only issue is that it is more yellow than white. I can't imagine any scenario where this guitar is considered white, vintage or otherwise. not even what I would call cream, perhaps eggnog. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I can't by any stretch of the imagination call it white, I have seen other specials in a local store and it had the same yellow glow. I have a Peavey Wolfgang that is more the vintage white so just be aware that it is a little off. should have gone with another color.
GREAT GUITAR!
By: Art from Corona, CA, anonmyous55257      Submitted: 3/15/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality wise i have to say that the initial guitar i received looked very good but had bad finish on the frets. some of them were sticking out. Contacted AMS and they replaced it within 4 days. Once I got the second one I new it was a Keeper!!! The tobacco sunburst finish was even better than first one, the neck has a kind of flame finish on the back plus the birds eye maple fretboard. only concern would be neck was a little loose, but it no biggie just tighten it up and ready to go. would definitely recommend this to anyone. I have a hard time deciding which guitar to play between PRS Custom 22, Ibanez RG1570 & this EVH Special General Your general opinion of this product. Upon opening the box i saw a very cool designed guitar case. Once you open the case you are visually blown by the way it the guitar looks. Super nice finish, the tobacco sunburst looks amazing, the headstock has same finish, the neck is very nice. I've had many guitars and this is one of the best i've ever had. the neck feels incredibly good in my opinion a mix between ibanez prestige & fender. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is bright! pickups are hot, the pots are kind of weird because they are so smooth, no friction at all. takes a little time to get used to but once you do, they are very nice.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? AMAZING!!! what more can i say...
perfect guitar
By: Greg from mi, banditopilot@aol.com      Submitted: 3/8/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Perfect General Your general opinion of this product. I have been a player since 1979. This guitar is the best I have ever had. Unreal. The neck is the best I have ever felt. hard to put down. sound is amazing. I have owned the best of fenders and Gibsons. Amazing. a steal at this price. I bought the Tobaco burst. Made in Japan. I have a buddy that did studio work with Dire Straits jam it. He called it a keeper. unreal neck Sound better than any gibson. Or Fender. .AMS are the best. Thanks for sending me a gem. Buy one of these Wolfgang Specials..you will lose sleep playing all night. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Anything you want. pots are amazing. Roll them down then they sing quiet but sweet sound. Hard to put in words. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect
Worth Every Penny and More
By: EVH Convert from Vero Beach, FL      Submitted: 10/14/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent build quality. Neck fit is tight, fret ends are well finished. I was able to drop the action quite low with very little buzz, and the smooth stainless steel frets make it feel more like a shorter scale guitar. I decided to try stainless frets because I like frets that are properly dressed (no flat tops or string ditches), and got tired of driving 70 miles every 6 months to a good tech. I don't hear any adverse effect from them in the tone and they will hold up many times longer that nickel-steel. GO STAINLESS, YOU'LL NEVER GO BACK :) General Your general opinion of this product. Top shelf components all the way. Same pickups, bridge, frets, pots and wiring as the $3000 version. Plays like a dream Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups sound like overwound PAFs. Plenty of output, bright and round-sounding without being to trebly. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is white, and I can't find a blemish anywhere. Beautiful.
Eddie is a Stud! With Fender involved, he is the Man!
By: Zeemann77 from Gig Harbor, WA (USA), czeitner1@yahoo.com      Submitted: 8/27/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely well built! That's all I have to say. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, this is the complete package. It is the only guitar I play right now (as long as I'm not changing tuning's - lol). The D-Tuna feature is awesome, and works perfectly. All I can say is, if you want a quality, solid, awesome sounding guitar, than this is it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? What can say? This was built by Eddie. What do you think it sounds like? Buuutttteeerrr, with a little bit of brown added. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I chose to get the Tobacco burst. This is my first "burst" guitar. Not because I haven't wanted one, but because I haven't purchased one. That said, the stain on this guitar is absolutely gorgeous.
Loading....