American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: EVH Eddie Van Halen Striped Series Electric Guitar  -  EVH 5107902 LIST

It Only Gets Better
By: Eric M from Lorain, OH USA      Submitted: 5/21/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This guitar actually got better & better sounding the more I played it. Once it got "broken in" it plays like butter; smooth, silky but with a growl. The sustain on this gem is ridiculous to say the least. The only other guitar I've ever played with just as much is my other VH guitar - a custom...but that's another story. Bottom line - get it! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? For the money, can't be beat. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Smooth is the best way I can describe how this bad boy plays. It morphs to any playing style very well. The 'tone' knob is nice & fast. Creature comfort approved Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? It's a monster!!! I've played this through a variety of amps, and it roars. If it were British, it'd be a "Beefeater" Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's vintage Eddie stripes that started it all. What else needs to be said? Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This guitar could easily be more $$$ imho...but I'm SO glad it's not because I am totally buying another! Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was loose for shipment. Once I tuned it up, it pretty much stayed right where I left it.
Great Guitar
By: Rafael Lugo from Miami, Florida, USA      Submitted: 5/19/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? The set up is ok out of the box. Some minor adjustments to the bridge, as the action was kind of high. The tone on the guitar is great. The frete and neck is different from the Wolfgang. It has Jumbo Frets. For my short hand, I like the Wolfgang better, but it doesn't make much of a difference. The finish and paint art on the guitar is just amazing. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I have to test it live and come back with a more deep review on this. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast, Jumbo Fret. Sharpy ! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I love the tone. Bright Finish How did the stain or paint job look? PERFECT Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? yES Playability How was the action out of the box? I little high, but fixable.
Fun
By: Othgood from Coralville Iowa      Submitted: 4/10/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Fun guitar to play. Maybe it's a bit limited for other musical genres, but I didn't buy it for a country or jazz guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great build. Feels solid, great setup out of the box. For what it's designed for it is spot on. Passed it around to some other players at the studio last night and they were blown away by it. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is fast, feels good. Tremolo is stiff, but that isn't a problem. Tone/Volume knob does what you'd think it does. :) D-Tuna...easier to pop out if you hit the trem first. A lot of thought went into this axe. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? If you want to get Eddie's sound...this is the one. Great guitar, great pickup. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless. And when I pulled it out of my gig bag it was like a magnet for every other player in the studio. :) Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Got what I was expecting. Love it. Playability How was the action out of the box? Setup was great out of the box. Fast neck, stiff tremolo. Wasn't disappointed.
EVH Striped Series
By: Mike Borey from Massena, NY USA      Submitted: 2/23/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

cool guitar
By: Steve Faringer from Cairo, Illinois      Submitted: 2/17/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great looking guitar
By: Tom from Coquille OR, USA      Submitted: 12/4/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I own and play Gibson guitars, with the exception of one American Fender Strat, so this guitar took a little getting used to. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? For the money, it seems to be a very well crafted guitar. Fit and finish where great. The only flaw I noticed was one of the black dots along the side of the fret board had not been darkened/missing. Doesn't bother me, but I noticed it right away. This guitar is made for only one genre of music--heavy metal/rock, which is why I bought it. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fit and feel are great and overall balanced like a strat. However, the single volume (tone) control is placed just enough out of the way from the bridge to allow palm muting; unlike a strat, which the volume control seems to get in the way of your pinky finger and turn the knob down when you don't want it to. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? No lie, this pick-up is crazy hot, extremely fuzzy when turned up all the way and very very sensitive to sound, which makes it an excellent pick-up for even the slightest of harmonics and tapping on strings. I am used to plugging in my Gibson and playing on any amp setting, so I am going to have to play with the amp tones a bit to get just the right sound and save them on one of the banks just for this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The price is fair for the product. I believe this is a MIM Fender, so you are really paying a little more for the EVH graphics. Playability How was the action out of the box? Took a little more time than I was used to setting this guitar up, since I had to familiarize myself with a locking Floyd Rose trem all over again (haven't had one since the early 90's. I like the thumb wheel at the base of the neck, made the truss rod adjustment quick and easy.
Worth the wait...
By: Lance Merritt from Sidney USA, lancemerrittrox@gmail.com      Submitted: 11/26/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? GREAT deal,so glad an alternative came along to the limited $25,000-30,000 EVH Frankenstrat that was out of most normal peoples range.A solid,quality guitar at an unbelievable price.I LOVE IT!! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Though built in the Mexican Fender factory this is still a VERY high quality EVH guitar.I own a regular EVH "Wolfie" & a Peavey "Wolfie" & this plays every bit as good as those the only difference being the shape,paint & pick up option obviously & factory origin. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is as smooth as a baby's ass & ohhh so comfortable to play!!Only one control volume knob(labeled tone-lol) as easy to get to as any! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is what you would expect out of any EVH Wolfgang,its the same pick up found in the full price models,the ONLY reason I gave this 4 stars here is for the inability to get different tones from selecting different pick up configurations but I knew this when I was buying it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful flawless job on the finish,mine is a completely different stripe pattern than the one my friend got,maybe each one is different?? Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? You can't beat getting "the most ICONIC" guitar in history that sounds,looks & plays like a BEAST at this kind of price. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action out of the box was the balls,tuned right up & has stayed in tune since I got it the first week in October.
Amazing value - totally rocks !
By: WaltM from Suburban Philadelphia PA      Submitted: 10/30/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I was unsure (MIM product), but I received it and it's great. AMS staff were friendly and gave quality customer service. I think I'm gonna buy another one ;). Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? 9.5 out of 10; and I'm very picky. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Clean and fast. Feels like I'm a rock star. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Sounds like Eddie. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? A case or gig bag would have been nice. Playability How was the action out of the box? Factory fresh. No complaints.
Great guitar
By: Chuck      Submitted: 10/10/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? An excellent guitar. Very well put together, plays fast, sounds amazing. It's also very light. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I'm very happy with the quality of the guitar. I don't think it's the best for crossing genres, but you can do a lot with the volume (tone) knob. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is so fast. Seriously. So fast. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Early EVH tone from the Wolfgang pickup. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stripes are awesome! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value - I would definitely buy another one in a different color combination. Playability How was the action out of the box? The guitar was almost perfectly tuned to Eb out of the box. As I mentioned, the action is low and the neck is fast.
People who rated this item, also rated...
Loading....