American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Fender American Standard Stratocaster Rosewood Fingerboard wCase  -  FEN 0113000 LIST

It's a Fender -nothing better!
By: Gary Marshall from Farmingville, NY USA      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great guitar for any type of music. Just pair it with the right amp & it can't be beat. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I wanted a Bentley, my said "can't afford one". Then, she bought me this Strat. I'm just as happy as if she'd bought me Bentley - maybe more. The Fender quality is excellent. I got my first Fender in 1960 and the quality is still the best! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feel of the neck is just as I remember from back in the 60's. The tone and playability may even be better than the Fender guitars I had in the 60' & 70's. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tonal range is incredible...again, you need to pair it with the right amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Sienna Sunburst is an awesome take on the usual ok, everyday sunburst. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Price vs. quality is excellent. Playability How was the action out of the box? The only minor complaint is the setup. It's obviously not been checked since it left the factory. & needed some tweaking.
Big improvement over past models
By: Matt Laird from Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA      Submitted: 4/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? My overall opinion is based off of 22 years of playing Fender guitars. I have owned a Malmsteen Strat and a Mark Knopfler Strat, in the USA made lineups, and I have owned several others to boot. I currently own this Jade Pearl Metallic RW fingerboard example and I am pleased with what I saw and heard when it came out of the box today. Previously, Fender has been hit or miss with the factory setups and the tone of the instrument out of the box. Their new pickups and method of production is by far the best I have seen in the last 20 years at least. It is a great guitar, the fingerboard is rounded slightly at the edges, the frets are dressed nicely. The pickups and wiring is better than ever and it has superb tone. I am about as happy as I can be with it. One of the few guitars out of the box that I don't feel any need to change anything about it. Definitely worth every penny spent on it. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Excellent finishing and construction. I could not be happier. It is a Stratocaster, therefore it is one of the most versatile guitars ever made. They have always been one of the guitars that a serious musician should have in their stable of instruments. Nothing really sounds like a Stratocaster. I have several Gibson guitars and though one has coil tapping, it doesn't do the job. Only a Stratocaster can do what it does. Even my two Telecasters cannot quite get the same sounds, close but different. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not too chunky, fast enough. The best way I can describe the neck is, it is comfortable and just right. Not wonderful and great but just right. That is the way it should be. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? It can get everything from jangle to snap, to quack to mournful moan, Most of the tone comes from the player but as I have stated previously, only a Stratocaster can do what Stratocasters can do. The pickups are a touch hotter than previous American Standard pickups have been and aside from the finish on the fingerboard edges and frets, they are one of the biggest improvements on this model of American Standard. Great pickups, great tone. Again, just right. Not too hot but hot enough that they will drive an amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Jade Pearl is stellar. I wasn't quite sure about it because so far I only saw pictures of it. But, it is a very classy finish and looks great. It will look even better as time goes on. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I think they are priced accordingly for what Fender puts into them now. The last couple of decades, the American Standards were just not up to par. Fender has done a phenomenal job with this model. Playability How was the action out of the box? It was right at 4/64" at the 12th fret, where it is supposed to be. I am comfortable with that action. The one thing I could gripe about is Fender only used three springs for the tremolo, I prefer five. It is an easy fix for me though. Out of the box, I have no real complaints about it. It plays great. It was just a half step flat and tuned right up with no problems to 440. No adjustments were necessary.
WOW, Incredible
By: Freddy from Lincolnton      Submitted: 3/17/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It's hard to write a review on something that is this great, as soon as I opened the case I just stood there looking at her. The Beauty of the guitar was Incredible, remember when you were very young and you meet the first girl that made your heart flutter your Stomach was full of butterflies, and she had you to do what ever she wanted you to do. Well that's about the way I felt when I saw my New American standard Strat. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This is my first American made guitar, I have a MIM Fender blacktop Strat and it was so well made I thought that the American Strat could not be much better. Boy was I wrong, the woods of the guitar are beautiful, all the hardware is top of the line. Then the Maple neck feels so smooth, almost like there is Telcom powder on it. The rosewood fret board has a dark tone that almost looks ebony, and she is rolled and very smooth. Then there's the micro tilt should you need or want to change the angle of the neck. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The feel of this guitar is Wonderful, it's as tho she was designed to fit your body with Comfort. I love the weight of this Strat, not heavy but not to lite just right.The neck has a great feel, to me it seems to be Slimmer than the neck on my MIM blacktop Strat. Controls have a very high end feel, the 5 way pickup switch has no play in it at all. The tone and volume controls are smooth and Precise. One of the things I love is the the New.two point tremolo, it's so smooth and easy to use and takes a very lite touch. Stays in tune very well thinks to the improved bridge design and tremolo. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? WOW! The tone is in a class on it's on, and that's not a overstatement. The fat 50s custom shop pickups are no joke, they sound Incredible.with the bell like chime Fender is Famous for. There is so much you can get from the fat 50s you well never be at a lose to find that tone your looking for. It's all there bright, smooth, dark, and great Crunch, the sound makes me smile from ear to ear. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the 3 tone sunburst and it's beautiful,I love the way the wood grain just comes through to the surface reveling it's beauty. Trust me the pictures can not do her justice, and there are lots of colors to pick from. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Value is better than you could Hope for, on top of getting one of the best guitars money can buy at this price point you get a very nice case to keep her in. The case has two Compartments on each side of the neck to keep all your goodies that comes with your guitar. There's a nice Fender cable, polishing cloth, Fender logo.stripe, tremolo bar, and you're Alan wrenches to fine tune the setup, if needed. Playability How was the action out of the box? Playability of this guitar out of the case was very good, the best setup of any New guitar that I have ever gotten. Like most people we all have our own Preferences on the setup a want, I had to do very little to get her were I like my setup. And you have seen reviews that read plays like butter, well this baby plays like butter very Comfortable and easy to play. If you're a Strat lover the New American Standard well be all you have ever dreamed of in a great guitar.
"It's like hanging out with an old friend."
By: Craig John      Submitted: 3/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It's been 30 years since I owned an electric guitar. I have been playing bluegrass all that time. But recently I started listening to blues again, Buddy Guy, Clapton, Albert King, Hubert Sumlin, etc. I hade a '62 Strat but sold it years ago. I knew from the sound I like to hear coming out of an electric that either a Tele or a Strat would be my choice. I chose the Strat. As soon as I took it out of the box the feel was familiar. I started playing stuff I though that I had long ago forgotten. I plugged it in and heard that classic Stratocaster sound that so many great players get out of this classic guitar. It was like hanging out with an old friend. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I doesn't seem like much has changed since they started making this guitar. The quality is there just like it was on my '62. Everything about this guitar screams quality. The finish is perfect, the neck and set up are easy to play, it stays in tune and the workmanship in general is outstanding. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The contours of the Stratocaster body work well for me. It's easy to hold and play. The neck is great...can't feel the frets on the side of the neck at all. The shape of the neck and the finish offer no restrictions when it comes to moving up and down the fret board. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I have always loved the tone that you can get from a Strat. It is unique among guitars. You can always tell that the guitarist is playing a Strat but each player seems to be able to coax their own sound out of it while retaining the essence of the Stratocaster tone. The guitar has a lot of options for adjusting the tone, one of the things I like about it. I tend to play lead on the bridge end of the pickups where the tone is more bright and rhythm on the middle pick up where the tone mellows a bit. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was flawless with not a scratch on it. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I bought the American made Strat and glad I did. It's an American icon as far as I'm concerned and the price couldn't be more reasonable. Playability How was the action out of the box? Right out of the box the guitar played well. I don't like action that's too low and certainly don't like it high either so the set up was just right for me.
The One!
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 1/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Fender got this one right! Apparently, their less expensive models are as good and sometimes better than the vintage or deluxe models. This is the case with this guitar. Sound is true to the strat sound of years ago but with more punch. They got rid of the annoying sound they have on the 5 position switch deluxe that sounds totally empty. Glad for that. Al the positions on the switch have great tones. Just wish they made all the switch positions noise suppressed. But I guess you can't have everything. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality is good. Fender quality has been better than Gibson on the past guitars I've bought. No buzz on frets, finish is great and sound is amazing on all sides. If you play a lot of different styles this can be your only guitar you need. Rock, Pop, Fusion, and maybe even Jazz not a problem. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck feels perfect not too slim, not too fat. Easy to get around and fast. Sound is clear and clean and harmonics are to kill for. Controls simple as the strats are and if you play and are not a banger then the controls are out of the way and never get in the way. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is fatter than most strats, it's more like my 57 strat in tone slightly fatter. Lead sounds great and rhythm is solid and full. You can go from light and snappy to smooth jazz and dark fusion. If you play with the dials you can get most anything. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great, Olympic White and rosewood are a great classy combo. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I own many guitars and this is really up there with the best of them. If you want a strat and don't want to spend an arm and a leg and still want that old strat sound then this is a good way to go. You won't be sorry. Playability How was the action out of the box? Guitar surprisingly was great, no further set up or string adjustment needed. I just plugged in and played. Good job Fender, now let's do this on all the products.I must say that I have now bought about ten guitars from AMS along with a host of other equipment. AMS and their easy pay plan make it possible to buy gear and use it while paying a small payment. Great idea and that is why I only use AMS to make purchases. The other reason is that every piece of equipment I receive comes fresh out of the box in great condition. When you buy from these big chain stores you get a guitar after many people tried it out and in my opinion if I wanted a used guitar I'd buy one used. Good job AMS
Pricey but worth it
By: Ken from Gahanna, OH, usa      Submitted: 12/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great guitar. I've owned several american standards over the year. Though I still prefer the pre-2000 models, the 2012 upgrades are very apparent over previous years. PICKUPS ARE a HUGE PLUS Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Typical high - quality Fender. Strats can take a real beating compared to Gibsons. A durable guitar for sure! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Great weight, balance & neck shape. Frets are SLIGHTLY smaller than they were a few years ago (pre '08 I think?), but have a nice feel to them. I don't care for the vintage style stamped bridge saddles and wish they would bring back the solid steel saddles (more comfortable on your right palm), but that's just me, and they can be replaced. I plan to put a set of Graph-Tech string saver "classics" on mine. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? This is by far the biggest improvement, and was the selling point for me. The Fat 50's pickups sound like textbook-perfect strat pickups. ring like a bell, but well balanced and very smooth. 60-cycle hum seems a little more pronounced, though. I had an american special strat with the texas special pups and HATED it.....very harsh sounding! Fat 50s are da bomb :) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is gorgeous. There is a small cosmetic "flaw" in the body wood grain, like a small spot of figured maple (but its not maple). I got it thru AMS's "dent and scratch" sale, and I'm guessing that was the reason for the markdown because there were no dents or scratches anywhere. Anyways, "imperfections" in the wood don't bother me much :) Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I think $1199 is a LOT for a strat. It's a great guitar, but the price shouldn't be this high. Bought the same guitar new 3 or 4 years ago for $899. Well I guess that's inflation, but it seems like inflated inflation :0 If you're planning on keeping the guitar for a long time then, yes, I think it's worth it in the end. Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was pretty good, there were a couple notes choking out, but they seemed to go away after some play time. Frets feel slightly smaller than the mexican strats (supposedly they are both medium-jumbo, but these feel a little smaller). It was 15 degrees outside the day it was delivered, so I had to tweak the truss rod a bit, but that;s to be expected and not a reflection of the guitar's quality.
mystic blue strat
By: mr. ed from texas      Submitted: 4/15/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes. stays in tune, even after a couple of days in the case. General Your general opinion of this product. i like it. color is not as pictured, but i like the blue. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? fat 50's pickups, need i say more! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks good.
Awesome Strat!
By: Tony from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA      Submitted: 1/26/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Olympic white with rosewood fretboard. The guitar is perfect. I've played guitar for 25 years and played many really nice guitars. This is one of the best I've played. You might consider this a midlife crisis guitar...just turned 40. Considered buying a Strat many times but never did. I have played many over the years..pretty much every time I visit my local Guitar Center. This one is the best I've come across. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this guitar. I love the look, sound and feel. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Genuine Strat tone...Awesome clean, chimey tone. I also bought a Blackstar HT5R from AMS along with the Strat....What a combo! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is perfect. I bought a dent/ding product from AMS and have yet to find what is wrong with this guitar!
Did Fender Make These TOO Good???
By: JB from Michigan      Submitted: 12/17/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was blown away by this instrument. I bought it solely for for Fat 50's pickups, and was extremely surprised when I began to play on it. The finish work is great - rivaling a few of the Custom Shop Strat's that I own. The fret edges were perfectly rolled. Even the changes in temperature and humidity between the 70 degree AMS warehouse and my 20 degree location did not cause any fret sprout. A+++++ General Your general opinion of this product. Hands down the best instrument available for an American made instrument in this price range, and it really rivals instruments in higher price points. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I chose the rosewood board for a little warmer tone and couldn't be happier. The instrument is VERY lively when played unplugged, and the Fat 50's pickups sound great! The pickups are warmer that lower-wound vintage-spec Strat pickups, but still have the chime and clarity in the upper registers. The in-between positions (2 and 4) really jump out of this guitar - more so than many other Strat-style guitars that I've played. My full rig is a Mesa Lonestar (clean), Mesa Electradyne (punchy clean and low gain) and Fuchs BJ MKII (low-medium gain) through various high quality speaker cabinets, and this guitar is pure tonal magic! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish (Candy Cola) was flawless. The rosewood board is a very rich color with a lot of grain. The aged plastics look great, too!
Affordable American Quality Craftsmanship
By: Billy Ray from Wytheville, Virginia      Submitted: 8/23/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Again, wonderful craftsmanship, especially for a production line guitar. Solid. General Your general opinion of this product. Awesome finish, perfect ation out of the box, and vintage chime out of the custom fat 50's pup's. I did change to heavier guage strings, but only a tweak or two to bring the intonation back in line. The "C" profile neck is comfortable, and the guitar withstands tough playing and still remains in tune.Very little 60 cycle hum and I love the quiet operation of the 2nd and 4th positions. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Almost any tone is there.Experiment with the tone in the bridge position and you can yield some pretty thick singing lead tones. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The ash finish on the Sienna Sunburst is spectacular.
50's Fat Sound
By: Rockin' George LaVigne from Bellevue, KY      Submitted: 7/28/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Only had it a week, but so far I an very impressed. That great Fender tone just waits to be picked up and plugged in. General Your general opinion of this product. The guitar is fit and finish perfect. Mine is the Charcoal Frost Metallic with the maple fretboard, and it it just beautiful. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? IT is bright, dark, very smooth, and the 50's Fat Custum Shop Pickups are HOT. I plugged into my American Made Hot Rod Deluxe, and the tone if fantasic. Fender on Fender = tone bliss. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looks great.
The American Standard for a great guitar.
By: DMiller from Michigan      Submitted: 6/25/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels very refined. When you pick it up, you feel good! General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is everything it is said to be and more. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The fat 50's are very crisp compared to the standard single coils. This guitar is capable of so many different sounds that it is hard to describe. Let's just say it has tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Sienna Sunburst looks amazing. When I opened the case for the first time I just stared at it, looking at the guitar felt good!
THE UNIVERSAL GO TO GUITAR
By: MONA,LOW from North Providence, RI      Submitted: 5/27/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have been playing Fender instruments and on Fender amps since 1967. The strat is the most all purpose guitar that I have found and I have tried them all. It hase been my observation that nomatter what guitar peopleplay when they start out they always end up on a Fender witness Clapton's Crossroads Concerts. I have never had any problem with any Fender instrument. Leo got it right! General Your general opinion of this product. I have been playing Fender instruments thru Fender amps since 1967. The strat is the most all purpose guitar that I have found and I have tried them all. It has been my observation that no matter what guitar people start out playing, they always end up play a Fender Strat. Witness Clapton's Crossroads Festivals. I have never had any major problem with any Fender instruments. As to the Strat...Leo got it right and the fender company continues to get it right. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups on my new strat are excellent. I don't want any sound that they can give me. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect. Not a blemish or inconsistancy.
Awesome Fender
By: G. Scott Smith from Seattle, WA      Submitted: 4/29/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Good Quality and stunning woods make this very well made. General Your general opinion of this product. Quality is superb, color and wood grain really stands out overall it's the example of Fenders mastery of instruments Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bridge Pickup is very bright almost Tele in sound at the bridge, The neck is very fat and sultry, and the mid mixes the best of the Stratocaster legendary sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Sienna stain and Maple are very stunning.
Loading....