American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply

Finally after 35 years I have a Strat
By: Hodaka003 from Washington Mi USA      Submitted: 5/31/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

My main axe
By: Jose from NYC      Submitted: 1/28/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Talk about fast shipping!
By: John Geelan from Massapequa Park, NY, USA      Submitted: 12/26/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Ordered the Fender American Standard Strat on Wednesday and received it via FedEx on Friday morning....wow that's fast (and with the free shipping!). And the guitar is gorgeous and set up beautifully right out of the case. Took advantage of AMS's great 12 month no interest deal. I'm very happy with my Fender and AMS. Thanks guys! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Impeccable quality. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Feels like the classic strat it is. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? It has that great Strat sound thanks to its custom fat 50's pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Gorgeous. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Incredible value with the AMS deal. Playability How was the action out of the box? Prefect.I can hold off getting it set-up at this time.
Rock and Blues Machine
By: Robert from Charleston, WV USA      Submitted: 12/15/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I got the Olympic finish and it is awesome!!! I am 61 years old and have played professionally and for fun for years. This guitar cuts through the mix like a chain saw!!! I played it last night for the first time and my band loved it! I have a Vox Valvetronix T20 amp and a Vox wahwah and that's all you need. The Vox amp has modeling and a small tube. It is a great buy as well.I don't see a need for humbuckers in my opinion. This guitar plays like a dream. I can't wait to hear the recordings with this Rock Icon guitar. The 12 $100 payments were hard to resist. Any doubts....get this guitar and change to the best player you can be. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality is excellent. It can do blues, rock, metal and country. The pickup combinations are very versatile. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Playing is lightning fast. The neck fit like a glove. The controls are ready Freddie. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone was unreal. The Fat 50 pickups are in their own class. No noise. Beautiful tone. My last guitar had 2 humbuckers but it didn't cut through like this guitar. The harmonics on this baby blows any electric guitar out of the water. Clean and dirty at the same time!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish on this guitar is a work of art. I sat it on my bed in the case and put lights on it. It is definitely show room and race ready. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Nothing compares to this price and deal. You get the hard case & keys, strap, cord ,tremelo bar and allan wrenches. Playability How was the action out of the box? Smooth as butter. Race ready right out of the box.
A solid go-to guitar.
By: Ryan      Submitted: 12/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It is a very well built guitar with a lot of tonal options. I use my stratocaster for just about every gig I do. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The guitar is extremely well built. I love how you can just feel that it was built with extreme care and attention. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It is a fairly light guitar. The feeling of the neck is absolutely the best I have ever felt. The edges of the fret board are extremely smooth and there are no sharp fret ends. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The guitar has all the classic Fender sparkle but It also sounds great with distortion. The Fat 50's are a great pickup set. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? My guitar is Mystic Red and I love the color. It had no flaws in the finish. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? At first I had a hard time shelling out over a grand for a Stratocaster. After I played one though I understood why it would cost this much. I would easily buy another. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action was a little high, but I had that fixed at my local shop.
awesome!!
By: rey dela cruz from chino hills california      Submitted: 9/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Decent Strat
By: CMI65      Submitted: 6/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. It's a good guitar, very playable, but there are some issues that need to be addressed. I just purchased this about a month ago. Love the neck, especially the satin finish on the back of the neck. Also, the body is perfect, not too light or heavy, contoured perfectly. No finish flaws. The issues are with the pick ups. They sound very thin, I will upgrade the strings of course, but that wont compensate for the thin bottom and tinny top. Eventually, the pups will have to be switched out. Not a big deal, but when you spend 1200, it should be ready to go out of the box. Also, the amount of lacquer that is caked onto the fret board makes it feel as if you are playing plastic. So thick, very shiny, so you definitely don't get the feel for the wood at all. Mine actually makes a cracking sound on the fretboard where the lacquer meets the frets. This will have to be addressed as well., Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's well made, solid construction. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Sort of thin, could be a bit more strat sounding. Might switch out the pups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect.
Better that I would have ever expected
By: Curtis from NYC, NY USA      Submitted: 6/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Well Worth The Money
By: Joe from Salem, Oregon USA      Submitted: 5/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. There is a reason that the USA Fender is more expensive than the MIM. If you are an experienced player, you will feel the difference at once. From the weight and feel to the incredible tone, this versatile guitar is well worth saving for. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Fender USA does not disappoint in quality and craftsmanship. You just can't find a better instrument at these reasonable prices. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tones possible are always outstanding. I prefer the bridge/middle combination for a very bright and clear tone. The custom shop pickups upgrade (standard this model) are hotter than the normal stock. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint (Olympic White) is flawless as expected. Smooth, thin nitro leaves the wood responsive.
Great Example of a Classic Design
By: Aaron from Los Angeles, CA, USA      Submitted: 3/28/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Been playing Fenders for years and their quality has been amazing in recent years. Totally impressed. General Your general opinion of this product. Amazing! The stock pickups sound great, the neck plays new like a neck that has been loved for years. I finally picked up a Les Paul last month after years of wanting one, and have found myself looking at the LP and constantly playing the Strat. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Classic strat sounds. Haven't plugged it into an amp it didn't sound great through. Bright, bell-like. Can get some real funky sounds going on in the 2 and 4 positions. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was great. No flaws in the paint, and the neck has one of the best looking finishes I've seen in a while. Can't say enough good things about it.
Awesome Guitar for Small hands
By: Brittany from Fayetteville, NC, USA      Submitted: 3/21/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Superb quality. I have yet to find a guitar that feels and plays better than this American Standard. Pictures cannot even due to the finish on this guitar justice (purchased the Jade) and the fingerboard and neck are as smooth as butter to play. General Your general opinion of this product. I would highly recommend this guitar for seasoned players or even beginners. It is a virtual steal at the current price and will be well worth the price in the long run. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone of the guitar is very clear and crisp with that signature strat sound. Very versatile for any style of music (maybe not metal but you might be able to pull it out of a good amp). Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint finish of BEAUTIFUL! I was torn between the red, olympic white, and the jade, but eventually settled with the Jade Green Metallic. Boy did I make a great choice. The images posted on the page or anywhere on the internet do not do this color justice so I can only imagine how beautiful the other colors are.
Great Guitar
By: Steve Morgan from White Post Va      Submitted: 3/17/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made,will last your life time of playing General Your general opinion of this product. Very well made,great guitar Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Perfect Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect
Great guitar at a fair price
By: Hobbyist with 4 yrs experience from Metro, Boston      Submitted: 2/24/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes so far it has been great and I have no reason to believe that won't continue, My MIM strats have been a mixed bag one was fine and one came from the factory with ungodly sharp fret ends that made it unplayable....after $70.00/set up then it was fine. General Your general opinion of this product. Very good,It feels just perfect! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Nice Custom Shop pickups really give the tone some body, not thin at all. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice.....I got the Olympic White w/ maple neck ....I'm very happy with it.
realy good guitar
By: Eduardo from Marietta GA      Submitted: 1/13/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality seems high and I am extremely happy with my purchase. General Your general opinion of this product. it is perfect Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the pickups are very nice. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Its wonderful guitar
Could not ask for a better guitar
By: Mike from Jonesville, VA, USA      Submitted: 10/17/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I went over my Strat with a fine tooth comb. And must say it is flawless. When you play this guitar, you just know it is going to deliver. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall this is one of the best guitars I've ever owned. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I prefer the brighter sound maple gives me. And the pickups sound warm and fat. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the sienna finish, and man o man it is just beautiful. all my friends have told me how beautiful this guitar is.
This is one great guitar!
By: finalcutguru      Submitted: 8/26/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I could not be happier with my new Fender American Stratocaster! It is a very well made high quality instrument. General Your general opinion of this product. Incredible! In my opinion the quality of this guitar is nothing short of perfection! The price is right and the fact that it comes with a hard shell case is a real plus! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups are sweet and hot and the 5 way switch gives you many options for the tone you desire at any given moment while onstage or while recording. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful Finish. I got the 3 color burst and it is spectacular!
Another fine Instrument from Fender...
By: Dan from Cottleville, Mo.      Submitted: 8/14/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looking over the Stratocaster, no problem with the finish it is perfect.. All the parts fit tight. Very solid guitar.. General Your general opinion of this product. Very good quality Guitar, Very Satisfied..I have to say I am so satisfied with the Customer Service Department from American Musical Supply. I have bought 6 Guitars and 3 Amplifiers from you and I have received excellent Service everytime I have made a purchase.Can't go wrong buying from AMS... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Jury still out on the pickups, they are Fat 50’s and sound great. Sustain well. Nice sharp response..I am sure with time I will enjoy and notice the difference with my other American Stratocasters.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is perfect. I got the 3 color Sunburst. The finish looks like it is miles deep..
Loading....