American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Fender American Special Stratocaster Maple Fingerboard wGigbag  -  FEN 0115602 LIST

beautiful guitar
By: kevin      Submitted: 2/26/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is my first fender...I love it...excellent finish...love the neck...headstock is 70"s large gives this guitar a great look.. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great quality... well built Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The feel of the neck is quick as I have short fingers this neck fits just fine Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone is good... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful two tone finish Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Good Playability How was the action out of the box? Just a quick setup and tune..plays just fine
FENDER...nuff said
By: Keith a. Brooks from Saegertown, p.a. U.S.A.      Submitted: 2/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


10 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Pretty much anything musical related, Fender is the cream of the crop, So this guitar speaks for itself being in that catagory, Neck has that "velvety" feel that keeps the player Involved more in playing the guitar and struggling to put it down. Pickups (Texas special) WOW!, explains y SRV took a likin to them, the tone just goes on for days! The finish (surf green) on mine, really like this color, wife says it looks like "mint" green, reminds me of 50s-60s even though I wasn't even around then. Strats are my fav out of all the different guitar styles out today! There just plain n simple, kinda how the 50s-60s were according to my folks, n if it's a Fender strat, just face it once you pick one up, you just can't put it down! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Fender craftsmanship on the American special strats is A+. Attention to detail, check them out on "YouTube", yea so maybe there's not as much glossy urethane on the neck n fingerboard, had to cut some of the manufacture costs to match this price tag, that said I'd pay the same cost for this as I would for the American standard, the guitar is well worth it! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast, smooth, velvety, feel on the neck, jumbo frets leave plenty of room for those 1/2 and full bends Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Plenty of "growl" if you crank the volume up all the way, back it off and you get that nice clean crisp "bell" like strat tone. Nice n "creamy" sounding on pos 5, more mellow on pos 4, crystal clear on pos 3, mellow snap on pos 2, snap n twang, or flat out screaming overdrive/distortion on pos.1. You can play it all on these strats, blues, jazz, rock, country, metal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Got the surf green "do wap" till your fingers bleed! Looks very beautiful! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Well worth every drop! As I said would have paid the cost of an American standard, to me, not much difference Playability How was the action out of the box? Action was spot on for me, but not everyones gonna feel the same bout that. So if you know how to adjust, go for it, if not take it to a teck.
By: from United States      Submitted: 12/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Smokin' Surf Green Strat! Simply Awesome!
By: Red from Lebanon, PA      Submitted: 8/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Outstanding Strat with smoking hot pick ups that produce a great range of tone. Flawlessly made and a pleasure to play. I own 14 Strats and this one is quickly becoming my favorite. AMS surprised me with the speed of their service and I recommend them highly to all my guitar buds. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Absolutely first rate guitar with no issues of any sort. The Classic Fender Surf Green finish is superb. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I really love the hot pick ups with surprising tonalities available when you work them around. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Wow is all I can say. Everyone who has seen this Strat comments on how beautiful it is to behold.
This guitar is out-standing !!
By: duster      Submitted: 8/17/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is out standing very well made I have many types of guitars Gibson, Martin,14 in all and love every one of them I have been playing for over 30 years blues, jazz, and even bluegrass and this fender stands up to any of them! Do not miss out on this one for the price you cant go wrong A.M.S. has great service received the guitar in just 3 days not one flaw could I find on this baby very happy this one's a keeper! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pick-ups are HOT! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect!
My new favorite Strat!!!
By: Tracy Espy from Summerville, Georgia      Submitted: 7/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The guitar is tied for first with my number one Strat. This is the 8th or 9th Strat that I have bought and it is amazing right out of the box. Great tone, beautiful color and of course the Strat look. You just gotta love the over-sized headstock. Stop reading this review and just add the thing to your cart NOW!!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Solid guitar. No loose screws, no sub-par anything on this guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can dial in a wide variety of sounds with this guitar. From a really nice clean to crunch to full blown distortion. The Texas Specials handle all of that really well thanks to the Grease Bucket Tone knobs. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Stellar paint job, which is the norm for Fender.
Awesome guitar
By: Ray      Submitted: 7/1/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Excellent quality guitar Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've owned it for a month, but so far it's been rock solid, keeps in tune so well I often forget to check it before playing. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I find it quite forgiving of my inexperienced fingers. I can't really speak to the other questions with my limited experience. Oddly, my nephew's Squier seems to be "louder" when we are both plugged into the same amp. He has to turn his volume down a bit so as not to overpower me. My guitar sounds nicer though. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I haven't found a single flaw in it. Incredible paint job.
Awesome playability
By: Vegas_Lane from Las Vegas, NV      Submitted: 6/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Its a Fender, my first, and I love it Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely well built Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Wide range of tones, play anything you want to Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Candy apple red is true, darker than pictured, not a clown color
Fantastic Guitar! I Love It!
By: Donald Simmons from Dallas GA      Submitted: 5/12/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The Fender American Special is a great guitar! It is versatile, very good quality, and the action and neck feel great! The pickups have a wide range of tonal possibilities, as well. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar appears to be very well made. The neck feels great, the action and set-up was perfect right out of the box. I did not have to adjust anything. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups have a lot of versatility. They can go from a great clean sound to a rich distorted tone. This guitar sounds great both clean, and over-driven. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish looks great. I got the Candy Apple Red, and it's beautiful.
One of the best buys I've made!
By: J.E.      Submitted: 5/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar well worth the money. The nice thing about a American Fender is that it holds it resale value. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's made very well. The only thing I didn't like was frets were a little rough on the ends. I had a tech file them down. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Texas pickups nice bite and are great for blues and rock. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love the color (surf green) It really looks retro right out of the 60's.
Thee best Strat I've ever played!
By: Bobby Shepherd from owosso Mi 48867      Submitted: 3/25/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Top of the line finish on the body. Everything looks great with no shortcuts. General Your general opinion of this product. Totally blown away with the guitar and the great price!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Awesome Texas SRV tone. Great for country especially. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Paint and finish are awesome.
One hot mess right here
By: stratomaster!!! from daytona ,fl      Submitted: 8/8/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a fender,nuff said!! General Your general opinion of this product. Have owned 5 or 6 strats deluxes,stantards and this is the one I would grab everytime just well put together!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? texas specs,true tone great sounding,creamy through a blues jr Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect!
Awesome USA made guitar!
By: Chris S. from Florence, KY, USA      Submitted: 7/11/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've never owned a bad Fender. The American made guitars are still second to none and this one is no exception. General Your general opinion of this product. The Strat is in a class all its own. You can't go wrong with a USA made Strat! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Texas Special pickups are well known for their great blues tone. A little bit of experimentation with the volume & tone controls will give an excellent variety of sounds from this instrument as well as a good amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Classic candy apple red - it has stood the test of time and still looks awesome!
Unexpected Pleasure
By: Johnny Hammersticks from Portsmouth, RI 02871      Submitted: 5/17/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This instrument is astounding, considering the price. The finish is flawless and playability and tone are incredible. In a blindfold test, you would never be able to tell the difference between the American Special and a Strat costing 3 times the price. General Your general opinion of this product. I would recommed this guitar to anyone who wants an American made instrument, that will not loose half its value as soon as you buy it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The Texas Special pickups are a bit more "midrange" however, the tonal posibilities are endless. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Again for the price-the finish is flawless. Mine is Candy Apple Red and is quite striking.
My first Strat ever
By: Jeff from Cleveland, NC, USA      Submitted: 3/15/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The bridge set up from the factory did not suit me. It was an easy fix, but I had to lower the saddles. Stays in tune fairly well. The guitar is killer and well made. General Your general opinion of this product. It's an American Strat and I was not let down. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright, very responsive and responds quickly to any pick attack. The pups are well balanced. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? 100% perfect.
simply the best guitar ever
By: jorge b from el paso      Submitted: 12/19/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
Wow, Wow, & Wow
By: Jeff from Sweet Home Alabama      Submitted: 6/11/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender USA!! The quality control is top notch and I consider it an honor to just own it, much less be able to play it. General Your general opinion of this product. I have always wanted a Fender USA made guitar, and now I do...and I couldn't be happier. Hats off to AMS for having a payment plan so I could afford this beauty. This is a top notch guitar...a must have for any musicians arsenal no matter what music they play or what brand they normally use. This guitar went above and beyond my expectations as far as tone, quality, and looks. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright when it need it to be, dark with a few amp adjustments, and a perfect tone for the type of music I play. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The pictures do not do this guitar justice. I bought the Candy Apple Red model...and it's stunningly beautiful. I shared the picture on Facebook, and I got tons of compliments from my friends on it. They think it looks better than my Les Paul. The red on the guitar is slightly darker..but not much. It is NOT that "clown red" tint...its a beautiful red color, glossy, and just amazing.
Loading....