American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender American Deluxe Jazz V 5 String Bass Maple Neck with Case  -  FEN 0194692 LIST

Great Bass
By: Wayne      Submitted: 6/9/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This bass is very comfortable with great tone and a very fast neck. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The weight of the bass isn't bad at all, I've played heavier basses. Playability How was the action out of the box? I didn't have any problems with the action of the bass, it was ready to play as soon as I opened the box.
*** Amazing Bass ***
By: rockingthegear      Submitted: 1/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Love this bass. I own many boutique basses but this one is right up front in the rack. More tones than I know what to do with, honestly. Great value. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality is terrific. I'm VERY particular. Out of the box, I studied this bass while putting the final touches on the neck/action and was surprised not to find one blemish or issue with the build. These are supposed to come with 3 piece bodies, but mine is definitely a 2 piece.. Maybe I got lucky there, but those are the kind of things go a long way with me. The natural ash also is a bit darker than it appeared in the pictures (which I was hoping for). Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? I bought this bass after wanting more 'classic' tone in my rack. It's been much more versatile than I had hoped for. The factory active/passive switch has been killer. The N3 pickups are completely quiet live and in the studio. This was truly one of those purchases that far exceeded my hopes and expectations. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is nice and fast. I chose one of the heavier ones in the batch weighing in at almost 11 pounds, being that I prefer heavier jazz style basses. I dig the factory controls so much that I'm putting a similar setup in my 6 string fretless now. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? This guy is a tone monster. The N3's don't 'nail' the vintage Jazz bass tone in passive, but they'll get you very close. These N3's are awesome, though, but not necessarily 'lesser' pickups. I love digging into this bass... Between your fingers, the passive/active switch, and the 3 band eq, you can about dial in anything you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfecto. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? In my opinion this bass gives you a ridiculous value. It may not be for everyone, but for a non custom shop bass you can't find a lot better. I know in the future I'll end up messing with some mods but this bass has a permanent home in my rack. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action came a bit high but after a few days of minor tweaking it sat just right.
"Better Than My 2012"
By: Emeal H. Myles II from Des Moines, Iowa      Submitted: 1/16/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? My 2013 American Deluxe Jazz V is better than my 2012 model, which I still own. Fender is really putting quality basses on the market. A True American Icon !!! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This bass covers all the styles of music that I play. I'm in a cover band and we play everything from Neil Diamond to the Black Eyed Peas...Function & Beauty... Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? My 2012 American Deluxe Jazz V is 3Tone Sunburst w/Rosewood fret board. My 2013 is Black w/Maple fret board. The passive tone control on the 2013 is more responsive than on the 2012, but other than that, both are truly "AWESOME"... Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? For my hand size the feels smooth and fast. Control placement is good. It's a J-Bass, standard layout. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is bright, but not tinny. The maple neck has natural "Sizzle". That's the reason I purchased it in the first place. The pick ups are improved, as well as the passive tone control. The 2013 is truly better than the 2012, I should know, I own "Both". Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint and finish were "Flawless". I really love the "Black Pearl" block inlays, "Sexy". Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The price is a bit high, but I now own an American Made Icon... It was worth it to Me !!! Playability How was the action out of the box? Tightened the truss rod and have not looked back !!! Even the Fender Strings are improved. Fender is stepping up their game, "Big Time" !!!
Better than anticipated !
By: Ben from Manchester nh      Submitted: 9/30/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have Amirecan select active jazz bass and a Rickenbacker 4003, I think I will be playing the American Deluxe Jazz V more. Not a fan of the round wound strings it came with I put some Dadarrio half rounds on it and it plays and sounds excellent. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Top notch quality. Flawless bass. We'll done fender! Buy american.. Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? Tonal range is out standing. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast, smooth and so much fun to play. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless finish. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Better than expected. Playability How was the action out of the box? Perfection. No adjustments needed.
You can't go wrong w/ Fender!
By: Bernardo Morales from Paramount, Ca. USA      Submitted: 8/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Features


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Fender has always stood for quality and quality is what you get w/ these American models. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? It's great for any genre. Don't believe me try one out! Features Are the features on the product what you were expecting? What are your favorite features? The new electronics are great. Tone control is very important. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Great playability Neck feels smooth, body cavity is sleek. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Broad tone & EQ selection. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I went w/ the Natural finish. Nice and elegant. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Worth every penny! Playability How was the action out of the box? Minor tweeking required, almost none. But then again every player is different.
great
By: steven from ny      Submitted: 3/14/2013

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? great Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? all General Your general opinion of this product. great Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? well Finish How did the stain or paint job look? good
No Doubts on This 1..........
By: Fred Lockhart from The Colony TX      Submitted: 1/30/2013

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well constructed. Nice American Made!!! Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The overall appearance and simplicity, with that old school look and feel!!! General Your general opinion of this product. I really like this Bass!!! No need of giving your money away when you can buy a Fender. A high-end Custom Bass for what $$$$. Everytime, I think about it. I always end up with another Fender. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very Funky it hits all music genre. Tone incredible!!! I primarily play Classic Rock and Gospel. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? My Bass is Black with Maple Neck. I am a fan of old school Basses color schemes. Fit and Finish awesome.
The bass to get
By: Corey Thompson from Oklahoma City, OK      Submitted: 1/4/2013

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very nice body, bass was way lighter than I expected I have played lots of ash and 70s style 5's and was expecting a tank, was pleased at the low weight. Materials are all top notch. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the modern neck profile on this bass. I used to play other modern brands because fenders where never very comfy to play for me either to thick or to thin. This one is right up there with my Laklands and Sadowsky experience neck wise. Love the B string retainer looks much cleaner than in the past. General Your general opinion of this product. Great bass, worth the step up from the American standard just for the playability Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is what you would expect from this wood combo but I am also able to get nice warm smooth tones along with the bright snappy funk. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No blemishes in the finish anywhere. The body is a 2 piece no sign of a glue line.
Tone 12345
By: Kwame Sometimer GBEMU from BERLIN Germany      Submitted: 9/30/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? solid that's the case is well fitted. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? accomplished nothing more for my view. General Your general opinion of this product. I love woods and that's how i want my bass guitar to look like, the natural wood it looks different enclosure with the case makes it professional great art. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? n 3 noiseless pick ups Finish How did the stain or paint job look? pretty cool
Awesome Freakin Bass
By: Doug from New York NY United states      Submitted: 8/20/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Solid solid bass.....cuts through the mix well with a wide variety of tone at your disposal General Your general opinion of this product. i am in love with this bass Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful
Can't buy a Ken Smith,try a Fender Deluxe 5 String Pasive/Active Bass
By: Armando Rodriguez from Westminster,Ca.      Submitted: 5/9/2012

Rating


Quality


Features




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very dependable,well balanced,great tone selection Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The tone,weight,color is maple.Move the active/passive switch not to close to knobs.Bad Ass Bridge. General Your general opinion of this product. I really like the B string tone,other basses have dead spots on the B string,not on the Fender. he Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I like the different type of tones whether in active or passive mode.Its just a matter what you like. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very good,it gona last for years
A true does-it-all bass monster. . . . . .
By: tortillas_y_frijoles from CA      Submitted: 5/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Fender non-Custom Shop at it's best. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? There's 6 knobs on this bad boy (master volume, pan pot, bass, treble, mid, tone) plus 1 active/passive switch. In active mode, the pick-ups buzz a little but that's to be expected. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I'm more of a Latin, Latin-rock, classic-rock, blues-rock, R&B player. This bass fits the bill for almost all styles. I'd say this bass won't work for you if you're a heavy metal player. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I chose the reddish wine finish and I've gotten a lot of compliments on it.
The best of the best
By: Ernest Group Bosse from El Paso, Texas, anonmyous52916      Submitted: 2/9/2012

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The tone and looks Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The best tone I have gotten from a V fender bass. Bright, Fat, Dark and smooth!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful
Wow Fender Amazing Bass
By: Michael delcampo from Winter park, Florida, anonmyous52917      Submitted: 11/27/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I feel this bass will last forever with some TLC Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? The pre amp has amazing tones Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All the above all but thin. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless white finish
All I Can Say is Damn!!!!
By: Boss Hogg from Sacramento, California, USA      Submitted: 10/22/2011

Rating


Quality


Features






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? It is impossible to pick any feature as being the best part about this bass because everything is top notch. The action is perfect, the natural finish is breath taking, the neck is super fast and not to chunky,and the pickups are as quiet as a church mouse. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Again, there is not one sound that you can imagine when it comes to bass guitars and sound you can hear in your head you can get out of this bass Finish How did the stain or paint job look? There are no words to describe how breath taking the natural finish looks. On a scale of 1 to 10 the finish is a 12.
Loading....