American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender Modern Player Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar  -  FEN 0241000 LIST

First Fender Stratocaster in 40 years! Feel young again!
By: T. Hal      Submitted: 4/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

NOT an entry-level guitar!!
By: Tony Leicht from Baltimore Maryland      Submitted: 3/11/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I rarely write reviews...guitars are guitars. But THIS guitar warranted a review! I've been playing for years, have toured, recorded etc and own countless high end guitars. I've been off Strats for a long time because I don't like the new wide/flat neck profile Fender has been doing now. I liked the old, 60s/70s rounder feel, and I haven't been able to find that in Fender guitars for years. UNTIL NOW! This guitar feels like an old Strat I had back in the day. Perfect feel, very retro. And I can't say enough about the setup! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I got this guitar with some leftover store credit from a returned Xmas gift, so I wasn't expecting much more than a "beater", but it will now replace my high end G&L as my main gigging guitar. Again, I can't overstate the high quality feel and tone of this guitar! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Old school round/narrow feel.This isn't the "New Fender" feel of wide/flat. This feels like the old Fender necks of yesteryear, that made Fender famous in the first place. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? My first though on a Chinese-made guitar wa I was going to have to gut it completely, and probably replace the hardware as well. NOT TRUE! Right out of the box this guitar had perfect action and perfect intonation. I've NEVER had that from any guitar, ever!Even my Gibson Frampton Custom Shop guitar needed a truss rod tweak, action set and intonation set. Not this Strat. Pulled it out of the box, plugged it into my Hughes & Kettner Triamp and played for 2 hours. Unbelieveable. I didn't even change the strings yet.This may be a China made guitar, but you'd never know it. The bridge rips in humbucker mode, and the 2 and 4 positions give the perfect Star glass and chime. The humbucker is coil-tapped by pulling the Tone know, but I've never been a fan of Start single coil bridge tone. But it's a nice option if you want it. :-) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I was pleasantly surprised that the silver in the silverburst has a nice metal flake to it. It'll look great on stage. The neck has a nice vintage tint to it. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I can't believe this guitar was a mere $400. I've paid MUCH more and got much less of a guitar. (See the new Gibson SGJs...not even in the same hemisphere as this Strat)This is such a great value that I bought another one in white! Playability How was the action out of the box? I'll say this again: Straight out of the box, this guitar was set up perfectly. And I'm VERY picky about how my guitars play. I took it out of the box, tuned it up, checked the neck relief: Perfect. Action? GREAT. (I may tweak it after a few weeks, but for now, if it ain't broke, I'm not gonna fix it) Intonation: Absolutely perfect. I've had it for a few weeks and haven't even changed the strings yet! Fender has gone above and beyond in having these guitars set up correctly at the factory, and it's the make or break for a new guitar. Get one...you will NOT believe the quality at this price!
Well worth the money
By: Mark G from Kingsport TN. United States      Submitted: 1/7/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Good for the price. My daughter loved it, and sounded well out of the box. Intonation was ok.
By: Jason from NYC      Submitted: 10/14/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Good workhorse guitar
By: rob vela      Submitted: 9/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? At this price point, this is a fine, gig-worthy guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? QC of this Chinese Fender is great. I'd say the guitar will do fine across several genres of music, as stated below. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The neck is thinnish, but with a comfortable contour. Controls are in the standard Stratocaster style, but with the addition of a push/pull coil split control on the BRIDGE tone control (finally!!). Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I wouldn't play thrash/death/black metal with this guitar, but through the right amp it can get heavy-ish. It can do some spanky funk tones, muscular blues tones, and sparkly pop sounds, too. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? As previously mentioned, QC is great, the paint looks great with little to no orange peel or hazing. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The pickups are the greatest, it's plasticky sheen doesn't feel as good as a lacquer finish, and the frets are rather small & flat; but again, at this price point, it's a good guitar. Playability How was the action out of the box? Good, but the tremolo was very stiff & nearly useless. A quick setup solved all of this, but it was 100% playable right out of the box.
great guitar for asking price
By: PROTEUS from BUFFALO,N.Y.      Submitted: 9/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. one of my favorite color combinations.nice feel,well balanced,swapped out stock pick ups for duncans and wow !,what a difference. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes,and very dependable. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? pick ups are ok out of box,but if you are a serious player you will change them. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect
Much better quality than I had read about.
By: Trapper from Mount Vernon,Ohio,43050      Submitted: 4/21/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality of this guitar is as nice as my friend's original run Malmsteen Strat. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, I would have to say if I didn't know it was crafted in China, I never would have guessed. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The coil splitter is a great feature to have on this guitar. It let's you change the character of the guitar at the drop of a hat. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was as nice as I've seen on any fender.
Good strat at any price.
By: mike from tn.      Submitted: 2/10/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a very well made fender.I have been working it over for about two months and it will take a beating and come back for more. General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this second hand and wasn't expecting it to take the place of my American telecaster as my number one but it has.Its lite, well put together, great balance of pickups and sound quality have me using it all the time. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? people who don't like the sound of these pickups need to change their ears not the pickups.stop chasing tone and start playing if you are a serious student of guitar.I wasted a lot of time and money before I learned that lesson and became a better player. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? finnish is fine beggers can't be choosers.
On part with other China Strats
By: GearJunky from Fort Mohave, AZ      Submitted: 9/6/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made with exception of the cheap slotted tuners that also have dead action when backing off which is typical of cheap tuners. The packaging was the best I have ever received, and I have over 70 guitars. General Your general opinion of this product. A typical $300.00 (or less) China guitar. You can buy better quality China Strat style guitars for this much money, but they will not have the Fender name on them. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Good tone except the volume pot does not come on until you hit around 7 on the dial and it is pretty dramatic which says it is a cheap pot. The first thing I did was to block the bridge as I personally do not use a tremolo and found the block to not have the typical Fender bar tab on it so the wood filler block size is around 5/16" thick instead of 1/2". Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is typical of most of the China guitars these days except for some wood planning waves just below the bridge that most people would not notice unless they knew what to look for.
Jake E Lee Guitar
By: Scott from Missouri City, Tx      Submitted: 5/15/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made in China. I prefer this over the Mexican made Strat. I have only had this guitar 3 weeks and seems very well made. General Your general opinion of this product. Seems like a great guitar. I bought this guitar because I wanted a Fender that didnt cost too much. And I wanted a project guitar. It has that great Fender feel. I will be upgrading pickups, saddles, tuning keys, etc ... over time. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups were noisy. Middle pickup was too high and in the way of my picking. Decent tone through my Line6 HD500 but noisy unless I use a noise gate. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent!!!
Loading....