American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster 50s  -  FEN 0303027 LIST

Great Guitar
By: Dustin L. from LaCrosse, Wisconsin      Submitted: 6/30/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? In my opinion this guitar is a great buy. If you are looking to get that solid country sound then look no further. The Classic Vibe Telecaster not only looks a lot like an expensive '52 reissue, but it sounds pretty good as well. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This guitar is made in China but it was very well made. Solid vintage tuners and hardware as far as I can tell. It could use a better Nut material however, I think it's plastic. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The feel of the neck is very nice. I would consider it to be a fairly thin "c" profile neck with medium sized frets. I really like how Squire/Fender paid attention to keeping modern features on their Classic Vibe without getting too far away from that 50's era. I have played an actual '54 Telecaster and the frets were quite a bit smaller. I really didn't care for it to be honest and I couldn't even tell you how many thousands of dollars it was worth. The one feature that I do not like as much is the lacquered back of the neck. The glossy fretboard looks great but when I'm gigging a four hour show my hands get really sweaty and tended to stick to the glossy neck. I just sanded it down lightly with fine grain sand paper and now it's perfect. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I am very happy with the tone of this guitar! The brass saddles and lipstick pickup really make those Country twang /chicken picking /Rockabilly genres super easy to achieve. The maple neck also compliments that bright, cut-through tone that is expected from a Telecaster. I really enjoyed the sweet Blues-Rock sounds that it is capable of too. It is a very versatile guitar! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish was flawless. I have the vintage butterscotch model and it looks great. I really like how the pine grain that shows through the finish resembles and even rivals the much more expensive swamp ash body that vintage Telecasters would have been made from. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I feel as though I a got much more of the vintage look and sound from this guitar than I expected for the money I paid. This was a well worth $380 investment. This just shows that one doesn't need to cash in their life savings to get that solid Telecaster look and tone. Playability How was the action out of the box? The set up on my guitar was not perfect by any means right out of the box but it was very playable at least. The frets were nice and smooth and buzz-free but the action was a bit high for my liking. This was expected though so I don't really mind at all. Most new guitars need a proper set-up regardless.
Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster 50s = Raw and in your face Tele sound
By: Rich K- from Central, NJ      Submitted: 4/18/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have this and a Mexico 2013 Tele, and although the Mexican has a more refined tone, sometimes with Rock and Blues you might not want that. The sound from this guitar is very different than the Mexican, I find when I play through a solid state amp the Squier chords are more raw and individual strings are noticeable, and the Mexican blends the notes better. I plan on using one guitar in standard tuning, and the other in alternate tuning but have not decided yet. I don't think if I had to choose between the two I could-I want both. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I saw some minor issues with the wood. The wood is pine, and I had a small green knot on the side of the guitar. With a clear coat finish this is not a nice thing to see. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The overall design is similar to the Mexican with the exceptions being brass saddles, and gloss on the back of the neck on the Squier. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I think the tone of this guitar is more suitable to overdrive than the Mexican for rock and blues lead. However, the Mexican would work real well as a rhythm guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish of the guitar is very good-just wish they could have sanded or stained that green knot away. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The Squier is $100 less than the Mexican, and both can be had for about the same price as the American Standard. It is just a matter of budget for people. Playability How was the action out of the box? Out of the box, the action was very high, also, the brass saddle screws protruded through the strings and interfered with playing over the bridge pickup somewhat. I tried to lower it, but quickly had fret buzz so I could not lower as much as I wanted without truss rod adjustment.
This is my second one!
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 4/17/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I like Felix Unger when I purchase a guitar. Enough said, this is my second one. My son took over my first. He plays a strat exclusively and has three a '57, '62 which are originals and a new standard strat. When he played this at a gig he made it his number one guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. If you want a telecaster sound and a great playing guitar then this should be your first and last stop. I own sixteen guitars and this has become my favorite. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can go from crisp tele sound to almost a jazz sound with no effort. Pickups are bright and mellow at the same time in neck position and can cut through any combo of instruments when you play in a band. If you want to stand out and be heard this is your baby. I promise you, you won't be disappointed with this guitar. It's that good! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is absolutely beautiful and after a year the wood-grain stands out incredibly well. I had a fellow musician staring at the guitar close up and he fell in love with it. Neck feels great and it's fast.
Amazing Tele
By: Lee Dixon from Cincinnati, Ohio      Submitted: 3/24/2013

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well constructed and much like the American version General Your general opinion of this product. 5 stars from me Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very bright tele tone just like the American version Finish How did the stain or paint job look? More beautiful that the pictures on here even captured
Great Bang for the Buck
By: Bill v from Tampa, FL      Submitted: 10/13/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, I've owned it now for quite a few months and have used it for gigs as well as general practice. Neck is super and slick and fast. Feels nice in your hand. Getting to notes above the 12th fret is a joy, and they are clear as a bell. Harmonics are nice too! General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar gives you a tele sound and it cuts through any type of music with jazz bands, rock bands or country. Tones are very bell like and jazzy and range all the way up to twangy. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This guitar has a lot of range. I use it with a Super Reverb Tube amp and a Fender Blues Jr. Through either one the sound is great. You can get really high twang or cool jazz easily with everything in between. I like a clean sound so it suits me just right. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looks incredible. Smooth and I notices as it ages the wood grain comes through more giving it a really stunning look, like an expensive piece of wood should. The pine body is great for resonance and light to hold while playing.
Love it, love it, love it.
By: Buckhogg from Hot Springs, AR USA      Submitted: 7/19/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Extremely well made. I've owned several Tele's including from a Squier Affinity to a Fender '52 reissue. This is a great guitar. When I read the glowing review in Guitar Player Magazine, I had to have one. General Your general opinion of this product. An absolute bargain. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the above. Very versitle guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Thick poly over pine. Poly keeps the cost down over nitro finish. No flaws at all. Surprisingly I have to say it's an over all better guitar than my 52 reissue. If you're ashamed to be seen playing a Squier, replace the neck with one with a Fender logo.
as good or better than a Fender
By: Motorman from Hudson fl.      Submitted: 7/5/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is flawless. The frets were dressed better than my Fender Tele. The quality is outstanding and what you would expect in a 3000 dollar guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. This Tele 50's vibe was made in China. But you'd never know it. It seems the chineese are doing the same qualiy work as the Japanese which is generally as good or better than made in the USA. Some time ago I had a Squier tele made in India. It was nowhere near as nice as this one. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Typical Tele sound. Light and ringing tone from the bridge and thicker tone from the neck pickup. I like the middle possition best to get the perfect mix. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the butter scotch finish. It looks a little more yellow than the picture. And it is just beautifull and perfect. I can't believe how good it looks.
The BEST Tele For The Buck ANYWHERE!!!
By: STEVER from WESTERN NY      Submitted: 2/14/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? What a flawless guitar..even came with D''Adario strings The neck is smooth and flawless and the body has an incredible grain VERY similar to ASH but SO much lighter General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar surpassed everything I expected to get and blows the door off the Mexican Versions and many MIA's!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? AGAIN. The Best I've had out of the box of any Fender I've ever owned..couldn't be happier! Best $350 I ever spent. It's true- what you here on you-tube is TRUE. This guitar has Tele tone for DAYS!!!! Thanks Rob Champus and the Captain Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Absolutely LOVE the neck...it's slick and I Love it..The saddles are Big and Brass and they have a spot for each string. The tuners are the best you'll ever get on a Fender unless you find one from Japan-They used the same ones that are on this guitar
As good as they say it is!!
By: Ilvblues from Portland, Oregon      Submitted: 1/10/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? goody quality. If they can make iphone and ipad in China I think they can handle a solid body guitar. It's as good as Fender wants to make it. I've bought several 50's Mexican strats that were terrible quality. They were twice the price and half the quality of the CV. I called and complained to Fender about that one. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a real nice Tele. I could not find any flaws. Bright and twangy. I've had many Fender guitars. In fact I would say that I am a fender man. I have two american made strats that I play regularly. And this plays as nice. The only real complaint I have is the nut action is way too low for me. Makes it hard for bends and pull offs . It's intentionally set at 0.5mm and all my strats are closer to .20 mm. I looked up in my Guitar Player repair guide and it had the 52 tele set up at 0.20 like the strats. So I guess I will have to replace the nut eventually. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tele tone Finish How did the stain or paint job look? pretty much flawless
Beautiful playing ,feeling and sound.Fender all the way.
By: Rich Beckholt      Submitted: 1/6/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent craftmanship and, though it will stay in my studio,I can tell from all my years on the road it would hold up under the stress. General Your general opinion of this product. I love it!Now I have a new family member in my studio. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very bright and twangy as I wanted.Not dark or smooth .The pickups are hot and thin for that rock/country sound Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is truly beautiful to the eye and the neck is smooth as silk.None better!
A Real Gem!
By: Tim from Atlanta, GA      Submitted: 12/22/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made extremely well, no issues - I'd suggest changing the strings from .09's (which it ships with) to .10's. General Your general opinion of this product. Best Tele I've ever owned. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great - ZERO blemishes.
Loading....