American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Fender Passport 500 Pro Portable PA System  -  FEN 0694405 LIST

guick and easy set up! Worth every dime!! "Rocks"
By: David from Canton      Submitted: 11/10/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Better than I expected
By: JamminGeo from Chattanooga, TN      Submitted: 9/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Easy to set up and a pretty good practice PA that can be used in a small/medium venue.
By: Dan A. from Marysville, WA      Submitted: 9/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The Passport 500 has enough features and loud enough to fill a good sized room with sound. It is light and takes about 30 seconds to set up. It takes longer to unfold the speaker stands than it does to set up the rest of it. Pretty reasonable price for an all in one PA system you can use anywhere. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's pretty well designed for portability and use. Just be real careful if using stands that you don't drop one. The case is ABS plastic that should hold up if you don't abuse it. The Amp is solid state and is metal cased. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Pretty easy to set up, plug in and play. I immediately hooked up an RP350 to use the drum loops and it rocked playing directly into the RP350 to the Passport and was all smiles. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I like the USB play and record function. The guys I play with put in an USB stick and recorded over 3 hours of our practice to play back later. I recorded some songs with the drum loops to send to the other guys for their ideas and input and this made it easier. Sound How is the tone? You adjust it for your own tastes using the various controls to get the sounds you want.
This PA is really terrible..... Too many knobs.... too complicated for quick adjustments...
By: Alec Wall from Saco, Maine, apwallme@yahoo.com      Submitted: 8/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Ease of Use


Features


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Durable, compact easy to assemble and move
By: Chuck Vann from Columbus, Ohio 43110      Submitted: 3/20/2013

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made well,, very dependable Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? having 8 available channels, ability to tweek sounds, recording function. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Easy to use,,Even a cave man can set it up and operate it. Sound How is the tone? tone is good for a system this size especially if you take the time to actually dial in what you are looking for. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall, a decent product for the price. It's portability can't be beat. I have not yet needed to turn the master volume past halfway to 3/4 even in a venue with 150 people. We use this system for our trombone, sax, vocalist and Latin percussionist. Occasionally we will use a central mic for the drummers cymbals. Bass, Keys, and guitars have not been run threw this system as smaller indoor venues are amply covered by using are individual amps. Have not used the passport out doors yet. so I don't know how it performs. Kinda don't think it can do to much. But in small to medium venues that do not have an in house setup. It is great. This is coming from a 6 piece Jazz Fusion Band..
LUV IT!!!
By: Pastor from British Columbia, Canada      Submitted: 8/2/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


General


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels solid overall. The knobs turn smoothly without feeling cheap. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love the USB feature. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? It's amazing how easy this is to use. If we didn't already have a high priced sound system for our small church I would use this as our main system. Sound How is the tone? Awesome. Great tone from inputs and usb playback. General Your general opinion of this product. Absolutely love this product!!!!
A GREAT SMALL PA SYSTEM
By: MrGadget from Ocean Isle Beach, N.C. USA      Submitted: 2/11/2012

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It does not seem to sound all that good when run at a low level, but this I've found with other small speakers. We used it this morning for a small gig and the sound was crisp with a surprising amount of low end with a SM57 for a primary vocal mic (I didn't haul in wireless mics, etc.) and there was no hint of feedback and the speaker was positioned about 15 feet in front of one of the speakers. The entire assembly is plastic (polycarbonate?) and is very light weight, but it goes to show you don't have to have weight to work well. This same type of package went on a missionary trip with a group, with each person taking part of the assembly (one person carried a speaker, another the amp, etc. as part of carry on luggage for the trip). Projection was great for the system, but you have to remember these are 10 lb (or less) speakers, not 100lb birch cabinets. It does what it does and does it well. My other systems are carried in a 16' truck, this can go in my Suburban. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? This is an idiot-proof system that doesn't take a person who understands how these things work to make it sound good. Forget the manual (never opened it). THE HARDEST THING is figuring out how to snap off the speakers. You have to press in a recessed release UNDER the tab to get the tab to release. You could do the rest in your sleep... There are no pan controls, and no mute buttons...you have to dial up or down each channel vs muting or unmuting, but this isn't a big deal. The included cables are wimpy, essentially large zip cords (not shielded) so I never unwrapped them and used XLR / 1/4 lines instead. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? I generally supply commercial PA systems for public events, non-profits organizations, Christian ministry events, etc. and have traditionally fielded three systems whereas we can have one on location, another pre-staged elsewhere, and go from event to event. I run audio for our church and I have done audio for television and film productions. I think the more you're around this stuff the more you realize you're still learning and never can really consider yourself an "expert", but probably good enough to run something that sounds good. I'm not a working professional as such but a very serious hobbyist. I obtained this system recently thinking it would allow me to do small gigs and not take a couple of hours to set up or tear down...having a somewhat down and dirty, quick and easy rig. If this is what you're looking for...look no further. I can get it out of the truck and have it running music in 15 minutes, and tear down often in less. Sound How is the tone? You're going to be taking a trip back in the time tunnel whereas you're not thinking of EQ but Bass, Treble and Tone. You're not going to be thinking of levels, but "volume", etc. This is probably fine for those who don't routinely use systems but it's a bit disconcerting to those who do. The sound is nothing to write home about in some venues, but actually great in others. This morning I ran it as part of a street ministry with music playback off an iPod, and at just 50% it really sounded great. I was thinking about adding a subwoofer to it, but it wasn't needed this morning. Last week I used it for a small indoor venue with the music as only background and I was constantly trying to tweak it and wished I had a sub, but finally just gave up and figured it was just background music and it sounded fine. If I could have run it up the sound would have been better. Again, I've found this with other systems whereas it takes a bit of umph to get small speakers to sound good.
Perfect for Live Sound
By: Erik K from ND      Submitted: 7/29/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well built, sturdy, and high quality buttons, etc. Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? I love every feature but wish they had a monitor out, thus the 4 stars for features. Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very easy to transport, setup and operate! Sound How is the tone? The sound is amazing, beautiful. Fender just nailed it with the sound on this unit.
Great for our small family band (1 guitar and 4 vocalist)
By: Wendy P from Goldthwaite, TX, USA      Submitted: 5/19/2011

Rating


Quality


Features


Ease of Use


Sound


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, not made in China Features What do you consider to be the best features of this product? What features would you add to this product if you could? Easy to use USB recording or playback (we no longer have to carry a background cd-rom), we just covert the MP3 files to WAV and copy onto the USB Ease of Use How easy is this product to use? How easy is the product to use with other products? Did it take long for you to learn to use this product? Was the manual helpful? How playable do you consider this product to be? Very simple (a little heavy)- we plan to attach a small dolly to the bottom to make it easier to carry around. It packs up and easily fits in the back of my Durango. Sound How is the tone? Good, I haven't used it in an outdoor setting yet so I can't tell you how it plays, but we've used it at several indoor performances and the volume is plenty (even on halfway)
Loading....