Item Reviews for: Fender Super Sonic 22 Tube 1x12 Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 2160000 LIST

    Very Versatile. Well Made.
    By: Ben      Submitted: 1/21/2016
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase What is your opinion of this product? What a versatile amp. I use it with a Gibson SG. On the clean channel, I get a nice jazz tone. On the overdrive channel, with everything turned up, I get a great metal tone. This amp isn't like a Marshall; it doesn't color the tone of your guitar. But it has plenty of gain, plus tube driven spring reverb. And its made better than a Marshall. It's a pcb amp but the tubes are mounted to the chassis not the pcb board. That makes a big difference if you want to experiment with different tubes. I like JJ's over the sovteks the amp came with. I also like a celestion g12h over the stock speaker. But the amp sounds great right out of the box.
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Amp!
    By: John Cornett      Submitted: 12/3/2015
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Coming from a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, this amp is really a step up. It makes the Deluxe sound like garbage. The vintage channel is rich in tone, and hitting the Fat switch adds a rock punch to the clean tones. The burn channel is very versatile going from heavy to texas blues by turning some knobs. I am very happy with this amp and recommend it to anyone sick of so-so tone.
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Versitile amp needs better quality tubes
    By: Guitar Guy      Submitted: 11/7/2015
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? The amp has a ton of character. Sounds great loud,or not loud with my Dual Fusion pedal or without. Combined i get a lot of different tones even though its technically a 2 channel amp. The reason i give 4 stars is the tubes. Groove tubes do not manufacter tubes. I had JJ tubes installed and biased and wow what a difference. The Groove tubes got muddy if driven too hard where as the JJ's seem to love it. Also the spaeker says made by Eminence but it seemed a bit thin and weighed half of the Wharehouse Vintage 30 i also installed. Fender really needs to step the game up and use better tubes and speakers. I shouldnt have to swap tubes and a speaker on an amp i just payed $1100 for. Still with a few tweaks this amp imho will compete with any if the "hand wired" botique amps out there at a third the price.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Wow....this amp sounds amazing..better than the 65 Deluxe reverb RI
    By: TranqB      Submitted: 10/20/2015
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? We were on a mission to find the best sounding Fender tube amp for our studio. The first amp we tried was the Fender 65 Twin Reverb ....beautiful but just way too much power and a real boat anchor to move around. Then we tried the deluxe reverb....legendary clean sounds of course but we wanted to get some Snarly distortion when needed.....this amp stays beautifully clean beyond human hearing. Next, we looked at this Supersonic 22..... Wow ...the clean channel is the same as the 65 Deluxe reverb ...so that's a win.... The burn option on the clean channel gives you that wonderful early breakup that is just right....very musical and controllable with your guitar volume. The dirty channel has 2 gain knobs.....the first gives a wide range of crunch from subtle to Face melting sonic pleasure. Add the second gain knob and the sustain is really a joy.....long luxurious notes of guitar sonic bliss. The reverb is the classic Fender tube powered spring tank and is the best we have heard...
    5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great amp
    By: Hambone      Submitted: 10/19/2015
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Out of the box, this amp was good. But, the breakup didn't sound right to me even after an appropriate period of burn in. Being one that never seems to leave well enough alone, I dove in to the amp. A good set of tubes & a little higher plate current on the power tubes put this thing into tone nirvana. I have not yet decided on the speaker but it works very well with the above mods. My pedal board has gradually shrunk & my usual suspects boutique amps are collecting dust. The front end takes pedals well as does the effects loop. Noise level is fine without boost or high output pups, acceptable when pushing the gain. Handle broke fairly quickly and was replaced with a custom leather handle. I now have sweet Fender cleans (love the Fat setting), easy breakup for a little grit, & a great distortion that compresses nicely in spite of a solid state rectifier with the ability to dial in sustain as needed on the Burn channel. This thing does it all including acoustic amplification. Love it!!!
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    So Far So Good
    By: HFS      Submitted: 2/1/2015
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I am still in the break in period and one thing I should mention that I was concerned about due to reviews I read was hum and hiss. I have not had any of that with mine. The best part of this amp for me is it's versatility without a bunch of pedals. Great tone and I can dial up almost anything i want. Plenty of power but performs very well at low volume also. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is the speaker. Many have talked about this a lot in reviews and I do find that even though it sounds pretty good, it does have piercing highs, especially with a tele. So I will probably eventually do a speaker swap with a Cannabis Rex or something else that gives me better high end roll off. Well, also maybe if they had used something else other than groove tubes would have been nice even though they have done well so far. I went through 3 amps before I found the versatility I wanted and this is the one.
    Was this review helpful?
    Never has an amp brought so much joy and misery.
    By: Mutt      Submitted: 10/29/2014
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? When it works it is everything I've ever wanted from an amp. When it works. I haven't had it quite a year yet. I do gig with it, but I baby my equipment. First, I had to change the reverb driver tube. Micro phonic. Replaced power tubes. Crapped out. Three other preamp tubes were microphonic. Replaced those. Reverb tank broke at the transducer. Replaced tank. Reverb tank RCA cable broke at tank input. Replaced. Handle broke. Replacing. It's very frustrating. When it works it's amazing. It's just a chore to work out all the bugs.
    2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Not as Great as I hoped
    By: Lars Guitar from Canada      Submitted: 4/19/2014
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstardullstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar














    1 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    great sounding tube amp very has a excellent clean sound
    By: donnie from north carolina      Submitted: 5/23/2013
    verified
    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Likelihood to Repurchase
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    Your general opinion of this product. not a bad sound in this amp great clean sound better overdrive sounds great with a telecaster or a Stratocaster.
    Was this review helpful?
    Loading....