American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Fender Super Sonic 22 Tube Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 2160000 LIST

great sounding tube amp very has a excellent clean sound
By: donnie from north carolina      Submitted: 5/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. not a bad sound in this amp great clean sound better overdrive sounds great with a telecaster or a Stratocaster. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? just purchased a couple months ago but looks like it should hold up very well over time . cabinet looks nice and tidy. the black tolex has a nice grain to it Action How was the action out of the box? this amp is heavy but American music added extra packing to keep it safe while shipping. Reliability How has it stood up over time? time will tell . no problems so far some of the reviews I read said they had some noise problems mine is very quite.
Great Alternative to the DRRI
By: Bob from NorthCentral PA      Submitted: 7/2/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender. They are known for quality production amps. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only time will tell, but: 5 yr. warranty, an extensive network of repair centers, and Fender's good reputation. Not to worry! General Your general opinion of this product. A clean channel very typical of Fender and tailored from the deluxe reverb plus the 'fat' option for a great bluesy sound. Small point- I would have preferred that the 'fat' voicing for the clean channel did not increase the volume or perhaps had a volume knob, but it's not a major issue. Burn channel w/ two gain knobs allows anything from picking up where the 'fat' on the clean (vintage) chnl left off through major distortion and sounds great throughout the range. I really like the footswitchable loop. I use it with a clean boost always on sitting at the amp. I can then activate it w/ the fs on either clean, fat, or burn for solos. Now I only need the supplied footswitch out front for all my options. A '65 DRRI with a great drive channel is what it is, excepting there is no vibrato...that would have been nice. I'd give it a 4.5 out of 5.0 Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The drive channel responds well/cleans-up by lessening picking attack. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Excellent tone across the board from clean thru 'fat' to crunch to distortion. It's all there. At first it sounded a little darker than I like, but after around 20 hrs., the speaker seemed to loosen-up and give the bright chimey fender tones when dialed in. All my tones come from humbucker or P-90 equipped guitars. I can't comment on Strat of Tele types. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Purchased the "scratch and dent" option from AMS. I've done this before and have yet to even identify the cosmetic imperfections. What a great savings! Action How was the action out of the box? Action???...well the speaker needed to loosen up before it sounded good. Improved after around 20 hrs.
Very, VERY nice sounding combo..plenty loud, plenty of GOOD tone!
By: Jim Florida from Southwest Florida      Submitted: 2/16/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems good. one problem though..bear with me as I describe how to fix this. I had to take the reverb unit out and open it up because the reverb was feeding back mercilessly at first. It was an easy fix. The spring device was held into the middle of the reverb pan by a round rubber piece that encircled a pin. the rubber insulates the springs from the pin, which is part of the outside reverb pan. The pin is meant to contact the inside of the rubber circle to keep the springs from touching the edges of the reverb pan. It keeps it all in the middle. Apparently during manufacturer, the pin got stuck on the wrong side of the rubber and was stuck between the metal circle that reverb spring is attached to, and the rubber grommet which was meant to insulate this from happening in the first place. So, feedback was horrible once the reverb was turned up. So, once repositioned and put back into place, NO PROB. It's one of the nicest spring reverbs I've heard. Reliability How has it stood up over time? time will tell General Your general opinion of this product. Well made, solid and attractive. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? the footswitch is really good. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Let's talk volume for a minute. The 22 watt version is what I bought, and I can tell you that it's just the right amount for me. I like to push my amps tubes hard, because that is where the power amp tubes distort and you get that wonderful distortion. It's useful for the bedroom, as well as the stage. Personally, I prefer lower wattage because it makes more sense for most applications. I can't see ever needing the 50 or 60 watt version. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? good. Action How was the action out of the box? n/a
Tons of TONE!!!
By: Rob from Levittown, NY      Submitted: 1/30/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Sturdy construction of the cab. Seems like my old Deluxe Reverb. That thing can take a beating! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I'm a professional musician and reliability is a MUST for me. I own about 11 different amps and the Fender stuff rarely lets me down. So far, so good. General Your general opinion of this product. This amp is certainly one of the better Fender creations. It's very responsive and fun to play while still being a very professional piece. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great tone. Can handle the bright shimmery stuff without sounding brittle. The overdriven sound remains clean and defined enough to hear your guitar. If you're looking for mud, look elsewhere. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Tolex is clean. Sharp seams and no excess glue. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Just Beautiful... not one ounce of buyers regret...
By: D. Arevalo from Georgia, USA, dan@studio441photography.com      Submitted: 11/5/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Got her yesterday so i really cant say much here except that it is solid and feels like it could last a lifetime if not thrown around or exposed to the elements... Reliability How has it stood up over time? not there yet... General Your general opinion of this product. Since I am not a long time player and havent played on a billion amps, there is no way that i can compare this to other amps fairly... I can say though that this thing gave me the chills after about 30 minutes of playing on it, just the beautiful sweet tones ringing out... I don't see even looking for another amp for a while, matter of fact if this one got stolen i wouldn't hesitate to get another just like it... Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? well, she's not light, but not back breaking either... controls are fine... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? so beautiful... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the blonde version... it looks nice, but I wish it would have been tweed... although the tolex will withstand a lot of abuse without showing it, so... and yeah it looks cool and classy... Action How was the action out of the box? had to plug the reverb back in but other than that the setup was all go... the action came after it came out of the box... im addicted...
Better than I hoped!
By: Tonepro from Boise, Idaho      Submitted: 9/9/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Looks and sounds top notch. Reliability How has it stood up over time? 5 year warranty.... General Your general opinion of this product. Build, finish and sound all superb. Best of five Fender amps I have owned. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The two best Fender cleans and a very good drive channel. This is a keeper! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Yaaaaaayyyyyy!
By: Bob from Kuna, ID      Submitted: 8/9/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Welllll...the reverb tube was microphonic and there's a rattle in there somewhere. I'll fix it, though. It won't function without the footswitch, which I thought was odd. What happens when someone crashes through the speakers and onto your switch? It does happen...Game over? I'll deal with it as long as it continues to do what it does. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've had it eleven hours, but Fender gear is Fender gear. I've never had a problem. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this amp...I'm very picky and I love this thing! I've been evaluating what it is I wanted for 30 years now, and this is it. I happened onto it by accident-I was going to get a Deluxe and call it good, but the Super Sonic was just below on "popular" setting and thought I'd read about it. Glad I did...It IS a Deluxe...On Steroids! More variety, too. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? For live situations this thing will work very well in all kinds of settings. If it's Shea Stadium, let the sound guy figure it out. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This thing is wonderful. If you play blues or classic covers...You have to try it out to see what I mean. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the Surf Green w/ Oxblood grill. Excellent choice in my opinion. We all want to stand out, right? The special color also gets a Custom Shop badge on the back that says limited run. It's my new best friend. Action How was the action out of the box? Ask my neighbors. They'll tell you it just howls the blues!
Blues heaven
By: Methane Mike from Allens Grove. WI, anonmyous54697      Submitted: 7/6/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I seems to be built like a tank. I like the detachable power cord and the way the tubes a protected. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have onlt had it for a few days but have already giged with it and it cut through the mix just fine. We'll see about the reliability.I have had problems with my Blues Jr. General Your general opinion of this product. Sustain forever with the gain 2 knob, compression. TYone knobs do what they should do and this thing can get erally loud. 10 pin connector for the foot switch very cool and the foot switch is very sturdy. Eminance speaker is the best and the Fender reverb is great as always. Tone tone and more tone! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The amp has some weight to it but not bad. I traded in a Peavey Delta Blues for it and that was heavier. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tons of Fender tone using a Tele or LP. Very creamy and mellow to all out metal which I'll never use. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Wow! What an amp! Best amp I've ever owned
By: A Blues lover in Illinois from Cantrall, Il      Submitted: 6/24/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't had it that long. I'll let you know. General Your general opinion of this product. The Super Sonic 22 watt is unbelievable amp. Whether you play Blues, Rock Metal or whatever this is the amp to own. Just change the gain on the burn channel and you've many options to choose from. I used to use an Ibanez Tube Screammer but there's no need for that now this amp simply does it all. Dial it in just right and it sounds like a Mesa Boogie or go clean for that classic Fender clean sound. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Light amp. Lighter than my Deluxe Re-issue. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the above that applies. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Bought a scratch and dent. One small dent in the amp. Hardly noticeable!
Super Sonic 22
By: James Baron from Bristol Conn, USA      Submitted: 5/29/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Made in the USA. Fender Amp very good! However, the cover came to me with a rip in it. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had this amp for a short time but it seems to be well manufactured. General Your general opinion of this product. What a great amp! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? User Friendly! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? For the money I don't think you can find better tone, just warm-up those tubes and let them sing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Love the Blond look but this amp deserves tweed! Action How was the action out of the box? Very versatile!
Loading....