American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 217400 LIST

Good Tone
By: george      Submitted: 2/25/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Just recieved about a week ago. Seems good, but time will tell. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Quality seems good. But mine makes a popping sound when turned off, but it is a dent and scratch item so... Just a few more points: I also own a Frontman 65R, which costed new less than a 5th the price of a new Deluxe Reverb, and it has the larger Sphinx glides instead of the cheap smaller, screwless, hammered-on type on the Deluxe. It also has 6 metal amp corner guards (zero for the Deluxe), a four-screw carrying handle (two-screw on the Deluxe). But I guess that's all in keeping with the vintage look. But I would rather have the better hardware. Everything don't have to be like the original after all, the tone being the most important. The 65R also only weighs 32 lbs versus the Deluxe's 42 lbs. But I guess those are little things to tolerate if you want to get better tone. The Deluxe's much larger Accutronics four-spring Reverb is definitely vastly superior. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Good tone. But is it worth 5X the price of a good solid-state? I'm still deciding that one as I compare them side by side at home...
Awesome Amp
By: Mark Mahoney from Bossier City, Louisiana, USA      Submitted: 12/23/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great traditional amp. Original 60's sound. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender, nough said. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great sound whether Vibrato or Normal Channel. True to the 60's sound. Action How was the action out of the box? Plug and Play. No set up needed. Tune the amp to your sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great 65 look. Finish is black face. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a few days. Time will tell, but I don't anticipate problems.
One of the best amps ever!
By: Jason from Newark, OH, USA      Submitted: 9/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Should bought it a Long time ago!
By: Keith from Delmar, NY      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. The sound and tone is outstanding! I've own a Hot rod deluxe II, a Dr. Z, a Blues Jr., just to mention a few. Simple to use and find you own sweet spot. Great w/your effects pedals. I Love this amp!! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far so good. I've never has an issue with other quality Fender tube amps, so I don't anticipate any issues with this one! Quality looking build, no issue with the craftsmanship! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Best Tone I've heard for the money. I've owned numerous amps and I Love the way these sound the best! Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great Classic look. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Never has an issue with quality Fender tube amps. This one's been great.
Update
By: Johnny Z from Oregon      Submitted: 7/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Nice Amp
By: ecruizer from Kentucky      Submitted: 7/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Overall good sounding amp. It doesn't sound as good as the wine red limited edition with the Jensen P12Q speaker. This one came with a Jensen C12Q. I'll probable upgrade to a Weber 12a125 as suggested by fenderguru.com Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was glad this one didn't have the tremolo pecking sound. It does have a little hiss. My "77 Princeton is quieter at idle. Maybe it'll calm down after a break in period. I'm keeping it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It's a little heavy to lug in and out of the SUV.
Outstanding Amp, poor CS as footswitch was missing, AMS said November '13 itll be in.
By: RayB from Philadelphia      Submitted: 7/8/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

The most versatile amplifier ever, especially for recording
By: jjm1965 from Milford, CT, USA      Submitted: 3/28/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made as Fenders usually are. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had this amp for 2 weeks, but I've had other Fender amps that are very reliable. General Your general opinion of this product. Awesome. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls mostly on front. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All tones have been goose bump inducing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice clean tolex. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
The BEST amp for small-medium sized clubs!!!
By: Blues fan from Palmdale,Ca.      Submitted: 2/22/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? For a pcb amp.you can't ask for much more.It should last you a lifetime of gigging if you don't throw it around. Reliability How has it stood up over time? It's a Fender need I say more. General Your general opinion of this product. One of the sweetest sounding amps ever made.Play one and you'll be hooked! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Set it to the way you like it with your guitar volume on low (maybe 1-1 1/2) then tweek it with your baby finger to get your distortion and overdrive. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's a deluxe reverb.You can't get a better sounding small to midsized amp without spending about 1000 dollars more And then the fender will probably sound better. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's tolex.what else can I say? Action How was the action out of the box? DNA
A Surprising Tube Falure
By: from unkownlocation83540      Submitted: 1/30/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a great amp overall. However, it started blowing fuses one day. I did some troubleshooting and was convinced it was a power tube, but no. I took it to my tech, He pulled the tubes and started testing by puttin gthe rectifier tube in first and gave it a sharp tap with his finger. It sparked inside. Problem solved. I'm back in business and still love this baby. Reliability How has it stood up over time? No problems other than a bad rectifier tube in the three years I've owned it. General Your general opinion of this product. It's a great all around amp. I recommend it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Kind of on the bright side. I recently replaced the stock speaker with an Eminence Wizard. I love it. I tried a Cannabis Rex but settled on the Wizard. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Standard Model T black. Works for me.
Buyer beware
By: Pauly F from Norwich, ct USA      Submitted: 1/12/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I bought a scratch and dent model and it had problems. sunk 300.00 into it and it's still not right. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Makes noise when warmed up.Seemes to be ok except for that General Your general opinion of this product. Good Fender sound. but no warranty Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks cool
'65 Reissue Deluxe Reverb Dent And Scrach
By: Johnny Z from Oregon      Submitted: 12/15/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Fender amps are known for being well built, they have been making this amp for a long time, longer than most other amps have been made. Which is a sigh of quality and reliable service. It should last me a long time. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I had an original '66 Deluxe Reverb for almost 20 years. Never any real issues. Sorry I sold it, but this is a good replacement. General Your general opinion of this product. Like it. I play Jazz guitar as well as Country, Blues and Rock. Don't need a bigger amp or a High Gain amp this amp does it all. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? NA Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I think Fender got it right with this amp. The controls all work like they should, lots of variation in tones. The volume control has a nice sweep to it(NO LOUD BLAST AT 2 OR 3 easy to adjust the right volume. I love the vibrato. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I was looking at buying a used amp but thought I'd take a chance on this amp. Used amps ofter have issues or someone's mods I wouldn't want, and you never know how some one treated it, or how hard the pushed it. I made the right choice. It looks brand new, no scraches or dents, nothing I could find. Only thing I can figure is it must have been a return because the reverb didn't work, the reason for this was easy to fix, the RCA jacks for the reverb were reversed. I switched then around and it came to life. Nice. Action How was the action out of the box? NA I'd like to say Thank You AMS!
My favorite amp ever
By: Swingcat from San Rafael, CA USA      Submitted: 11/1/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I play in a 9 pc. Western Swing/Rockabilly band, with a Harlem Stride pianist, as well as a Blues band. I play an average of 8 shows a month. I've been using this amp exclusively for about three years now. It has performed flawlessly and has GREAT tone for cleans and great light distortion when I crank it up for(early Chicago style) Blues. All my other amps have been just collecting dust since I got my DRRI. Reliability How has it stood up over time? In three years of 7-8 shows a month, it only had one problem. One of the power tubes fell out while I was driving, and it sounded terrible. During the break, I checked it over, found the tube, plugged it back in and was back in business. General Your general opinion of this product. Tone is PERFECT!! I love this amp! Lush tube driven reverb and great versatillity. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Don't much like carrying it, but it's definitely worth it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? That signature Fender tube tone and reverb. Best tone of all the Fenders Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great finish Action How was the action out of the box? Amps don't have action!
Beautiful Fender Sound!
By: Mike from Plymouth, MA, USA      Submitted: 9/12/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Right out of the box, I loved the sound of this amp. It's got lots of juice and that beautiful Fender Sparkle. I love the reverb tank and vibrato. You can cop a lot of classics w/ this amp
It's woth it!
By: A Happy Customer from Midwest      Submitted: 8/7/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems well built. Reliability How has it stood up over time? We'll see General Your general opinion of this product. Great product. A valid attempt at bringing back the "Black Face" sound and feel! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Playability is great. Responds to playing and takes effects pedals very well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Has THE Fender sound right out of the box. The scooped mid sound of the blackface amps - warm and juicy. But a mid-heavy pedal can turn it into a rock machine. Plenty of power and headroom for most situations. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Bought a 'Scratch and Dent' and was expecting it to have some marks, etc. Was shocked when it arrived in mint condition with only a slight mark on the floor switch! Excellent!! Action How was the action out of the box? Worked great. Plugged in, turned on and fell in love.
Loading....