American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender Super Champ X2 Tube Guitar Amplifier Head  -  FEN 2223100 LIST

Love It
By: Bluto from WNY      Submitted: 6/5/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Missed the Fender "sound". Just got this and I am very pleased. It takes pedals very well. Much louder than I expected. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's well made. Time will tell how dependable. Taking to the gig this weekend. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Small, lightweight. Easy transport. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's gets any sound I care to dial in. Action How was the action out of the box? Na Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks good. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell. It's new.
Best fender for the money/versatility
By: gamjamm from Havre De Grace, Md.      Submitted: 1/22/2014

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I'll start by saying I've played through almost every amp out there over the past 40+ years including many expensive fender, marshall, etc. This amp is right up there. It's not quite as loud compared to a 65 deluxe but close and much more versatile. There's no mid eq control[just bass and treble] although mids and many other tweaks can be had through the "fuse" software and saved. The clean channel is golden and responds to/takes pedals really well. The modeled channel was pretty accurate but the volume differences between models could be better but can be tweaked in "fuse" also. Through my 2x12 with eminence legends it sounds great and could be a gig worthy rig in most cases. A line out is provided if more volume is needed. There's a decent selection of onboard effects which are usable and can also be "fuse" tweaked to suit your needs. There is a footswitch jack for channel switching and turning effects on/off. Sadly, the amp does not come with the two button footswitch nor the usb ca Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The build quality seems above average though nothing special. The x2's are made in mexico unlike the chinese xd predecessors. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The pots have a solid smooth feel. The jacks are good and the input and speaker are metal which is a nice touch. The others are plastic. It's a pretty small box compared to most. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Does it all. Some better than others but the clean channel alone makes it worth the money. The tweakability and amp models/effects are icing on the cake. Action How was the action out of the box? Very responsive and loaded with matched groove tubes. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great old school "blackface" look. Reliability How has it stood up over time? We'll see. Fender usually makes good products.
Incredible bang for the buck!!!
By: Journeyman Guitarist from Ayer, MA. USA      Submitted: 9/19/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Incredible value! I just love this amp!My American Standard Strat just sounds heavenly through this amp! My Gibson Les Paul Custom also sounds great through this amp. Each one of my guitars that I plug in and play just floor me through this amp. For the price, it is unreal. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be very well made. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not applicable. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Channel 1 gives that warm clean Fender tube tone. Channel 2 has tremendous tonal variety. Everything from clean Fender chime to over the top distortion. Quite a nice array of effects too. The amp models are very well done and sound very accurate. With the 12AX7 pre and 6V6 power sections, all "voices" possess that unmistakable tube body and depth. Yes - the effects and voicing are done digitally, but are still passed through the tube sections which impart that beautiful tube warmth and depth. I bought the head as well as the Super Champ 12" cabinet and could not be happier with the results. What a bargain for the price!! Action How was the action out of the box? Not applicable Finish How did the stain or paint job look? A very handsome mini-stack. The head and cabinet have that nice Fender black face look. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I haven't had it long enough to tell, but the 5 year warranty is pretty stout and Fender amps are well known for their reliability.
very nice warm tube sound
By: Danny Thompson from Aiken,SC      Submitted: 8/17/2013

Overall Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I have 2 Marshall 100 watt stacks,but I play this fender most of the time at home.Can't beat it for the price.better than my 30 watt Marshall practice amp. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender.will last forever. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? sweet warm sound.My wife said its the one she loves to hear me play thru. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? fantastic sound Action How was the action out of the box? amp no action. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Pro job on both. Reliability How has it stood up over time? built to last..
Worth every dime
By: BlueBarry from Everett, WA      Submitted: 2/20/2013

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Good sturdy construction. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've owned other Fender Amps and they've all held up to traveling/gigging. I'd assume this one will, too. General Your general opinion of this product. Nice tube tone available and the effects are a decent addition. 15W may not sound (no pun intended) like much but you'd be surprised. One can always mic it or line out to a power amp/mixer if you truly require more volume. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Versatile tone. Can cover many musical styles.
Unreal little amp
By: Tim L from Clearwater, Florida      Submitted: 8/14/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Fender Amps rock, I've had Fender Amps for 40 years and they are made as well as any out there. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a month or so. But so far so good. General Your general opinion of this product. This little amp is unreal, LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I play it through a 2 x 12 Cab now and it ROCKS! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks great. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Fender Super Champ X2
By: Funktuition from Seattle Washington      Submitted: 6/30/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It feels great and it sounds even better Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've only had her for 4 months but I gotta say I'll probably have it forever. It's the ultimate recording amp ever plus you can play it live. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm in love with this amp. I mainly use the straight super champ channel with a touch of the reverb/delay effect and my pedal board, by the way this amp takes pedals superbly. I use a 1x12 for practice and a 2x12 for live gigs. The Eminence Red White and Blues. I get every tone I want out of this amp from sparkly spanky cleans to SRV overdrives to fuzzy goodness to straight out distortion madness. Plus you get to plug into your CPU and get all the knobs you don't normally get on this amp per model...presence, mid, second gain, etc. The effects are pretty dialed in and usable. I like them all when set correctly an unusual feat for modeling of any sort. Overall if you play small clubs, are looking for that portable practice amp, record in any way shape or form, or are a bedroom warrior, this pretty little lady will set you straight and meet all your needs. It's the modern update to the champ of yesteryear...I'm positive that 100's of albums will be recorded with this little gem. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Everything Fender has had to offer for years with todays standards. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? All of the above and then some Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Your standard killer Fender quality finish. Action How was the action out of the box? Bueno
L0ve it Love it Love it!
By: Larry in Arky from Hot Springs, AR U.S.A.      Submitted: 6/25/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made...Exactly what I would expect from Fender. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Time will tell, butI expect it to last for years. General Your general opinion of this product. Beyond my expectations. I've always wanted a 65 Deluxe Reverb but just couldn't justify the price for my use. Set to 65 Deluxe and Spring Reverb, through my 12 inch cabinet this head nail it. It's nice being able to dial in some distortion without having to play at ear bleed volume levels. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls are very easy to use. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's like every Fender amp you ever wanted, and then some. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The detail is gorgeous and I was very happy that the amp had the Fender logo on front. It isn't picturedwith the logo on the AMS website or Fender's site. Nice touch. Action How was the action out of the box? PLugged my Tele into it and fell in love.....$249.00...are you kidding me? Awesome!!!
champ *****
By: Bluesman from Nice ,CA, 55blues@att.net      Submitted: 2/19/2012

Overall Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made ,, had no problem yet 1 month old Reliability How has it stood up over time? N/A General Your general opinion of this product. It is a Fender what else can i say !!! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? easy to use Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great tone !!!! great Effects ,, Reverb Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great Action How was the action out of the box?
Loading....