American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue Tube Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 2232200 000 LIST

Sweet Tone !!!!
By: Vincent      Submitted: 7/19/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. For the money this is one of the best amps on the market. I play clean jazz so I never use the gain channel. You just can't beat that clean Fender tone. I replaced the 12AX7 in V1 with a JJ gold pin 5751 and it just made it sound even better. Great amp and if you want it fast order it from AMS. Free shipping no tax. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? No troubles yet though I wish they were still USA made. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Amp is a bit heavy but nothing you can't handle Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is classic Fender. I can get a nice dark clean tone with my archtop jazz guitar. Action How was the action out of the box? Worked fine out of the box Finish How did the stain or paint job look? N/A Reliability How has it stood up over time? Haven't had it long. So far so good.
Not what I expected
By: Sam from South Carolina      Submitted: 4/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I ordered this amp after reading that Larry Carlton used something similar to this on a few sessions. The tweed look got me and boy did it get me. Watched a handful of Youtube reviews (which is a bad a idea because YT videos never deliver what you'll actually hear in real life) and thought "hey, I think I found what Im looking for" Big mistake. I ordered it, then a few days later it came. Plugged in a Les Paul, and man did this thing sound bad. I tried to like it, really. But I just couldnt get used to it. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The amp itself is very well made and attractive. If the thing sounded good Id be proud to gig with it. Its more aesthetically appealing than it is auditory. The tweed finish is amazing. If you ever buy this thing with plans to gut it or heavily mod it, then go for it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? N/A Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? After I got the amp, there was something about the tone I just couldnt get over. I couldnt name it but after reading more reviews after playing it, I came to the conclusion that the mids are just harsh! No matter how much you mess with the Mid knob the tone is just awful. And thats just the clean channel, which is also very week and I found it to be everything but smooth and warm. This is a very trebly amp.The overdrive channel is no good. If you buy this amp in hopes of getting a Larry Carlton/Steely Dan eqsue tone, keep looking because this aint it, kids. Another note, the knobs make no sense. Volume apparently controls the clean volume (which one may assume also controls how much Overdrive you get) but then the Master knob has no effect on the clean channel and completely controls the Overdrive channels volume. Go figure. I also read that these amps are modeled after 90's amps. Ouch! So as a good rule of thumb, NEVER buy a Fender amp that has a separate drive channel. Ever. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent. One of the best looking amps Iv ever seen. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Seems like it would hold up pretty nicely over time. Id probably never use the protective covering they give ya' (It would never get the vintage, beat up look to it!)
Not as great as I hoped
By: Donnie Price from Austin, Texas USA      Submitted: 7/6/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Playability and Feel


Tone


Action


Finish


Reliability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I was disappointed- all the reviews said "clean"- I found the opposite to be true- the speaker started breaking up at a very low volume- wasn't warm, just dirty. I stuck an EVM 12L 200 watt speaker in it, now it rocks. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I'm sure the amp is fine- I've only had it two months and the handle split. Ordered a leather one.
One Great Amp!
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 4/21/2013

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, you can tell it is very well made. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Not sure yet but will assume it will as my others did. General Your general opinion of this product. I love this amp because it gives you great original tube amp sound. Very mellow and clean. You can get just about any tone out of it but it's more for the jazz blues guitarist or clean 50's and 60's rock (Venture's Style). Not for heavy rock or any of that but it is powerful and will give you great sound. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Not applicable! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is smooth and very light sounding. You can actually hear the notes on the guitar clean. I do not use any distortion so if you are looking for that type of amp then this is probably not it. However, if you want to hear a great clean sounding guitar then this is it! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Cover is nice to look at. Simple color and easy to read controls. Simple to operate. Action How was the action out of the box? Not applicable here.
Exactly what the Doctor ordered!!!
By: peadco from independence, mo. usa      Submitted: 12/21/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender! I have been using Fender products for over 40 years and have never been disappointed! Reliability How has it stood up over time? I have only had this amp for a little over a month but again it's a Fender so no doubt as to durability. General Your general opinion of this product. I am playing a Clapton Strat through this amp and it's a dream come true. This amp is true to its name and is all blues. Don't look for AC/DC or Metallica type Drive. This amp is warmer and much more subtle! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The amp controls are spot on. Once you find your sound and the controls are set, pretty much everything you want can be controlled from you guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and Bluesy or adrk and warm .....anything in the arena of blues or jazz it's perfect Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Fantastic Tweed.....Puts me right back in the 50's with Buddy!! Action How was the action out of the box? Perfect
Fender: For the Win
By: VJRowe from Houlton, Maine, USA      Submitted: 9/9/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I absolutely LOVE Fender. I upgraded from the Blues Junior. This thing came in the mail and I have been so pleased with everything about it since I first plugged it in. It is heavy and the construction is solid! Tweed is stapled on but you can only see this if you look inside the back where the tubes and speaker is. Looks sharp, feels sturdy, sounds golden. Reliability How has it stood up over time? So far so good. I've only had it for about a month but I've already hauled it to 2 gigs and it is solid. Consistent, warm tone and I really like that that there is the standby feature to warm the tubes up prior to playing. General Your general opinion of this product. So pleased. This thing CRANKS the volume and the tubes, when warmed up sound so buttery. It'll be hard for me to every by a different tube combo again...I think this guy will stick around for a looooong time. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Controls are spot on. Decent built in reverb. I never run 2 guitars through it but the option to do so is nice. Response to knob adjustment is smooth and consistent. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Just what you'd expect from a Fender product and from the name. Thick and buttery. Good for blues and jazz but also when I run my Jekyll & Hyde pedal it can ROCK. It's flawless. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Tweed is hott. It's an eye-catcher for sure. Action How was the action out of the box? Not really applicable? But as far as control knobs, as I mentioned previously they are smooth and consistent and that is definitely important to me.
I owned one for 2 years...purchased from AMS
By: Retired Genius, ...didn't pay well enough. from Daytona      Submitted: 5/15/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


General


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? cosmetics are great. Typical problem on arrival...the accutronics reverb had a busted wire...and this was brand new. I have had 3 amps new...with faulty accutronics tanks. I used to be able to get a fresh tank from Mojotone for $25-30...they no longer carry OEM accutronics Fender tanks. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Other than the reverb tank...great. General Your general opinion of this product. Great sound...once you get volume to 8. I'm in a condo for a few years...Nada on 8 volume with 6L6B's (5881). That is why I no longer have it. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? touch sensitive with volume on 7-8. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? excellent tweed cab. Action How was the action out of the box? Met my lady of 5 years while playing this....great action during first year...I'm lucky to get a smooch, now. ....And she keeps makin' me sell my equipment, then let's me get more...then makes me sell it.....at least I do get to play, though.
A best buy for the money!!
By: RockCityWear from Detroit, MI, USA      Submitted: 3/26/2012

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The build quality appears spectacular. It's a solid cabinet, and the authentic tweed covering is stunning for that vintage vibe. Very easy to service too or experiment with tube changes. These reissue amps (unlike the originals) have a bias trim pot which is easily accessible by simply removing the back panel. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Brand new...so, too soon to discuss reliability. General Your general opinion of this product. At 40 watts, this is a perfect amp for any practice or gig situation, covering stunning clean tones to classic rock. This is a pro player's amp at a great price point. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? n/a Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? n/a Finish How did the stain or paint job look? n/a Action How was the action out of the box? n/a
Loading....