American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Fender Super Champ XD Tube Guitar Combo Amplifier  -  FEN 2331100 000 LIST

Can't Beat it for the Money!
By: Phil from La Salle, IL      Submitted: 11/18/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice little amp! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Pretty shocked (and happy)
By: Justin M. from Silverdale, WA      Submitted: 8/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Top notch controls and the 15 watts of RMS power actually give you a lot to work with in a small room and can for sure fill up the garage with sound. Reliability How has it stood up over time? Only had it a few days but going well so far! General Your general opinion of this product. After owning a Fender Performer 650 Tube Amp about 15 years ago I was skeptical about what I would get from Fender for roughly half of the price. This amp sounds great and is super fun! I was blown away the first time that I plugged my Fender Mustang in and continue to be impressed. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Lightweight and solid. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tons of ways to tweak what you want to play and what you want it to sound like. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Standard Fender look, Excellent. Action How was the action out of the box? N/A
Super Champ!!!
By: Ruddiger from Holloman AFB, NM      Submitted: 6/11/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? So far so good, like I said...the guy said it was 2-3 years old and still had the original tubes in it, so it can't be that bad. Reliability How has it stood up over time? I just got mine tonight, it was used but still sounds awesome. It has the original tubes in it, and the guy told me he has had it for 2-3 years. That sounds pretty legit to me. General Your general opinion of this product. This thing is rediculous. It has so many different sounds to it for this price range. You can get perfect cleans (which Fender is famous for), all the way to an amazing distortion. If you want to do metal, all you would need is a pedal... Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Yes! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Looks like a Fender, sounds like a Mesa Boogie. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Um...black and silver? Action How was the action out of the box? It would be nice if you could tweak your sound a little more, but with the voicing selection and the fact that it is a $300 amp, you can't go wrong.
It's a Fender...what else can you say?
By: Wendy P from 5/23/2011      Submitted: 5/23/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Reliability How has it stood up over time? General Your general opinion of this product. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Action How was the action out of the box?
Fenders best value to date.
By: Cliff Sumrall from Vidor, Texas, anonmyous37973      Submitted: 5/17/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a Fender! It comes with a 5 year Manufacturers warranty, along with AMS's 1 year extra coverage to boot, and although it's made in China you have the peace of mind that it was manufactured under Fenders strict and demanding tolerences for quality production. (No, I don't, nor have I ever worked for, or been a paid endorsee of Fender) Reliability How has it stood up over time? I've read some reviewers horror stories about taking it out of the box and no sound coming out, rattling, defective tubes, etc., etc., so when I received mine I snugged up all screws, made sure the tubes were seated in their sockets correctly, and such and such, however mine had absolutely no flaws at all upon arrival. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm 52 years old, been playing guitar almost literally all my life, been a full-time professional for the better part of the past 36 years, owned and played many (mostly Fender) guitars and amps, including a $3000 Custom Shop 100 watt hand wired Dual Pro (my main amp)and a Blues Deluxe Reissue, both of which I am very fond of. OK, one day I decided I was going to find me a nice little practice amp, so I set out on my mission by reading all (and I mean ALL) the reviews both here at AMS, as well as all the other top online vendors, including my local music shops etc., etc. Being the faithful Fender guy I have always been, I decided that the voices of the guitar gods had led me to decide upon the Super Champ, and wouldn't you know it, fate had it that I was fortunate enough to catch a 2 day only sell on it here at AMS for $265.00, so I quickly sprung for it and the footswitch, and I have to say that it was one of THE singlemost best musical instrument purchases I have EVER made, PERIOD. Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Well.., you know what they say about ageing guitar pickers.., "their amps get smaller and lighter the older they get", and I must say that this little amp is a whole lot easier on the back to lug around than that 87 lb. Dual Pro I mentioned earlier, and since my hands don't hurt near as bad from having to tote it, I'd say that makes it's playability and feel quite good! And speaking of "feel".., it does have a very responsive touch to it that rivals that of other much more expensive amps! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Everthing is to love about the tone of this amp, especially for the size and price of one with an 8 inch speaker. Great clean channel, accurate modeling presets, and very good and useful digital FX! Sure, one could prefer this or that personal preference, and I have some of my own ideas that would make this the absolutely "perfect" amp, but then I'm sure the price would be much higher. Let's face it.., if your a young Metalhead seeking a much louder and larger amp to fry your fans ears with (and your own), then you should just go ahead and spring for that 100 watt Marshall stack of your dreams and be done with it. On the other hand, whether your a young up and coming guitar hero on a tight budget, or an ageing old pro like myself wanting to save your back, that's wanting a great sounding, and affordable amp, do yourself a favor and buy the Super Champ XD! Trust me.., 1-1/2 years I've used this amp under all conditions, including large outdoor concerts, and it has performed flawlessly! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? What can ya say.., good ole Fender blackface appointments that have always been aeshetically pleasing to the eye! Action How was the action out of the box? Just plug in and enjoy all the action your skills and talents are capable of coaxing out of it!
Best for the Money!
By: darren from kansas      Submitted: 5/8/2011

Rating


Quality


Reliability


Playability and Feel


Tone


Finish


Action


Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Good so far but it is from PRC so who knows, but its only 300.00 General Your general opinion of this product. Very pleasantly surprised-Great! Playability and Feel How does it feel, Heavy, Fast, Chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Can get whatever i need literally! Country to metal. Very loud!!!!!! Some are changing the speaker but so far i see no need. I may buy another for stereo! or push throuh a 2x12 or 4x 12 cAb Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got a blonde model with oxblood very retro looking. Action How was the action out of the box? Duh!
Loading....