American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
Item Reviews for: Gibson Limited Edition Midtown Custom Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB DSDCCT LIST

high quality with excellent workmanship
By: Frogfur      Submitted: 10/31/2014

Overall Rating


General


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Lucky..perhaps but this exceptionally well made instrument. Not unlike a Les Paul Custom with wings. The details are as good as any i have ever owned. Binding, in lays all top notch. The nut on this one was very well done, but the action needs some TLC. Not that it was bad But there is room for personalization. Over all totally recommended. I've playing guitar since 1963 and i know a great guitar when i see one. This is one of those.
Awesome
By: jwilsonstj      Submitted: 9/8/2014

Overall Rating


General


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Worth the money
Wonderful Gibson Midtown
By: Dale Fetick from Milford, Ohio, USA      Submitted: 8/8/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Wonderful and beautiful guitar. Gibson always delivers a great product. Price was not too bad, didn't stop me from purchasing this product!
My new favorite guitar
By: Scott H from dowell Md      Submitted: 7/21/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? I love this guitar. The sound is awesome. If you are on the fence on getting g one just do it you won't be sorry
Nice Ax
By: Dave from Soulhern Maryland      Submitted: 7/5/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

By: from United States      Submitted: 6/22/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Great Playing Gibson,has the feel and great fit for my style of playing,Versatale tones frompickups.
By: Everett from South Bloomingville Ohio USA      Submitted: 6/17/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

The best Gibson value
By: Motorman from Hudson fl.      Submitted: 6/2/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Blew Away All Expectations!!!!
By: Neil from Idaho      Submitted: 5/19/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? I have had alot of guitars, Fender Strat, Les Paul (all American) this thing just blew them away, the tone, the heft, the fretboard is amazing, so smooth and super easy access to the 20th fret! Love the combination of tones, I can easily go from blues to jazz everything in between and then rock.
Fantastic guitar, great action and sound.
By: Jimmy Collins from Oakley, CA USA      Submitted: 5/1/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? A great guitar that plays and feels like a les Paul. Good weight balance
Buy one before they are all gone!
By: Tim from Arizona      Submitted: 4/30/2014

Overall Rating


General














2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Great tone and solid guitar. It stands up to my Gibson Custom Shop CS-336! I have to admit that I immediately made changes to this guitar by installing Grover locking tuners and TonePros locking bridge and tailpiece. So the information below on tone may have a bit attributable to this hardware change (I have this setup on all my Gibsons). I would recommend this guitar to a friend.
Really Fast Delivery
By: Ron Smith from Aurora, Co. USA      Submitted: 4/21/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Plays real nice...Excellent value. I love it.
Very nice, but not what I thought it would be
By: Bob from Valley Stream, NY      Submitted: 4/19/2014

Overall Rating


General














0 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Looks can be deceiving. I thought this guitar would have arched top and back because it is marketed as a smaller version of an ES-335. Instead it is flat, similar to a Telecaster. I guess the back plate for the controls should have been a dead give away. Otherwise it is a great guitar. I love the "custom" details with the ebony fingerboard, block inlays, binding along the body, neck and headstock, and the split diamond inlay. Overall it is worth the money. I only wished it had more contours on the body, but I guess that's where they cut the corners to make it "affordable".
Fast Neck, Great Tone, Perfect finish
By: Rich      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Well made, great value.
Buy It For The Tone!
By: Larry from Fife Lake, Mi.      Submitted: 4/6/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? At first I was dissapointed. There are several minor flaws in the finish, the binding, and the neck. I tuned her up, plugged in, and then I smiled.
Very Nice Guitar for this Price!
By: John Fischer from Rockwall, TX      Submitted: 4/3/2014

Overall Rating


General














0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? I have a un-chambered Les Paul Traditional which I dearly love. Unfortunately, I had a spine surgery in my neck and my doc told me to find a guitar which weighed half as much. I chose this black Midtown Classic. It has a similar tone to the Les Paul but is actually a little sweeter I believe! My only 2 complaints are the guitar is not perfectly balanced. Meaning if you put it on with a strap and let go, the head stock will want to hit the floor as it is heavier neck than body. The only other complaint is our music is very bass heavy. If I get some good low notes the guitar near the f-holes will vibrate. At Saturday's gig I though a bee had landed on my wrist the first few times I felt this sensation!For the cash though this guitar is really cool!
nice...very happy
By: Kev Powe Sr.      Submitted: 2/28/2014

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? nice quality...this is the type of guitar I've always wanted..i'm a 335 man and LesPaul man.As well as Strat's &Tele's.
My new favorite
By: Jeremy Cotton from Cinti, OH USA, jeremyc.guitar@gmail.com      Submitted: 2/5/2014

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? This is my current favorite guitar. I was torn between this finish and the black, but I think I got the right one. I think this is a great sounding guitar, and after a bit if setup tweaking it will be even better.
Very Impressed
By: Jay from WNC      Submitted: 1/15/2014

Overall Rating


General














0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? I rarely play anything except solid body guitars. But I've wanted an ES339 for several years. But the price and the question of how much I would play an ES339 kept me from buying on. The Midtown piqued my interest a couple of years ago but I couldn't get my hands on one. Then it seemed that they were discontinued without warning. It seemed like a reasonable place to start into the semi-hollow\chambered arena. Although not a true Semi-hollow, the sound is very close to a friends ES-339.
Amazing Value
By: Benjamin E. from Anderson, SC 29621      Submitted: 12/3/2013

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? I have had Les Pauls, & the ES-339. This is guitar is amazing...esp for the price. It has a sound all its own somewhere between the a les paul and 335/339. It makes this a very versatile guitar.
This Guitar Gets Noticed
By: Mark      Submitted: 11/27/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Out of all of my guitars (Les Paul, Music Man, Tele) I get the most comments when I play this guitar at a gig. It really stands out. It is very versitle, and I play primarily R&B, blues and jazz with it. I tend to set the action low, and there is a little buzz on the lower strings at the higher frets.
Gibson ES 339 Midtown is a refreshing new addition to the ES line.
By: Ron Lindsay from Yuma, AZ, USA      Submitted: 11/26/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

i love it but....
By: Javier from Mexico, japs2112@hotmail.com      Submitted: 10/7/2013

Overall Rating


General














1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? i got it december last year, AMS offered me a good discount , which made the deal a sweet one, don´t get me wrong the guitar is sweet but.... there is always some rejection to changes, the original one is richlite (not baked maple as stated now), and there are time when people would not accept that kind of changes, so there is no ebony on the fretboard, that is why the finish is so even, i really cannot tell by the tone or the feel calluses avoid me from feeling anything on my fingers
Well worth the money
By: Kohler from Ny, mike123ko@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/2/2013

Overall Rating


General














1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I am so glad I found the midtown custom at ams I wanted it for so long but no one had it. The best guitar for its price.Sounds great. Ordered about 4:39 pm it was at my door 11:30 the next day . Thank you AMS
Awesome to look at but since they refuse to make a lefty model priced same ill never know
By: Todd      Submitted: 8/30/2013

Overall Rating


General














1 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Excellent Guitar
By: Firedup from NY      Submitted: 8/26/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. If you are looking for a great USA instrument this is it. Great price, very nice finish. Terrific blues look and unbeatable Gibson sound. Responds to the lightest touch. This is a very fine instrument, it is fragile, handle with care.
Very Unique Gibson
By: Mike from Port Jefferson      Submitted: 8/22/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Excellent purchase !!!
By: allen crumb      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I was going to purchase a 335. I`m involved in blues and rock. I took a chance on this Midtown and was not sure because it was chambered. I was more then satisfied with the purchased. This is a very versatile guitar and everything about it I give a five,except the action was a bit high so I fixed that to my likings in a matter of minutes,and reliability, cause I haven`t had it but a few days.
well worth the money
By: james presswood      Submitted: 8/14/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

I love mine
By: LL from Southern WV      Submitted: 7/9/2013

Overall Rating


General














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Beautiful flawless vintage sunburst finish on the one I received. I love the weight, feel and balance of this guitar. More comfortable for me than the larger semi-hollow body guitars. Great feeling neck and versatile pickups.
Awesome Guitar!
By: Ken Reimer      Submitted: 11/25/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Very happy with the guitar, it's a keeper!
Excellent instrument after a quick fix.
By: Sold on Haze from SoCal, CA      Submitted: 11/22/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. Incredible value in an awsome playing and fantastic sounding guitar. The QA guy cost this guitar from getting 5 stars from me.
I GOT RIPPED OFF BY AMS
By: Mr. Disgruntled who got ripped off badly from Michigan      Submitted: 11/19/2012

Overall Rating






General










0 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is TERRIBLE and has been DISCONTINUED for good reason.
wow! who knew!
By: gerard jones from Isanti,minn.      Submitted: 11/15/2012

Overall Rating






General










5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. what a bargain, may soon be #1 axe!
I looks and sound great with this type 339 great action
By: Frank from Revere, MA      Submitted: 10/3/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I love to play it and i play out often.
Midtown Custom
By: TarHeelKid from Gibsonville, NC USA      Submitted: 7/9/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. This is my new #1 without question. Classic vibe, modern rocker!
the blues have been good
By: Warren Malice from Midwest      Submitted: 7/7/2012

Overall Rating






General










Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I always find a flaw but not this time not even a sag our slight carve mistake.It is gourges thankyou AMS.
Great guitar at a reasonable price. Well worth it.
By: B from Seattle, WA. US      Submitted: 4/28/2012

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I know that the fingerboard material is a concern for some, but my ears and hands tell me that it is actually a great fretboard material. I am really impressed with the quality of this instrument. The Neck is fast and comfortable, and the body is the perfect size. It isn't huge like a large hollowbody, and it isn't tiny like an sg. Very comfortable and easy to play.
1957 was my best sound with a Gibson flat top.
By: Marcus Black from Giddings Texas U S A      Submitted: 12/30/2011

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product.
A GREAT Guitar, GREAT value & a Gibson MADE IN THE USA!
By: Joe V      Submitted: 12/16/2011

Overall Rating














Was this review helpful?

Your general opinion of this product. I just picked one up in Vintage Sunburst from AMS. I’ve been playing guitar for 40 years and have owned well over one hundred with the majority being high-end instruments. The Midtown Custom really is a GREAT guitar with regards to sound, feel, fit and finish! The price is right too!
Loading....