American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Gibson Limited Edition Midtown Custom Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB DSDCCT LIST

Fast Neck, Great Tone, Perfect finish
By: Rich from Madison Wisconsin      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Well made, great value. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Neck, fret dress and action are flawless Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast easy to play neck, contorls are functional. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Sounds nice. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent finish Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is a great value guitar. Playability How was the action out of the box? All I had to do is tune it up. This is my fourth Gibson and the Midtown Custom has the best out of the box setup of any Guitar I've bought new.
Buy It For The Tone!
By: Larry from Fife Lake, Mi.      Submitted: 4/6/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? At first I was dissapointed. There are several minor flaws in the finish, the binding, and the neck. I tuned her up, plugged in, and then I smiled. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? If you want a perfect guitar, look elsewhere. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The fingerboard has a 12" radius. Took some getting used to. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? This is the reason for owning this guitar. Midtown Custom + fender deluxe reverb ( w/ plenty of vibrato ) + a good overdrive pedal ( i.e. lovepedal kalamazoo ) = CCR for days! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Several flaws in finish ( scratches ), the binding, small bumps on neck, ends of the nut are very rough. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Given the flaws, I'd say it's worth no more than $1200.00 Playability How was the action out of the box? If you primarily play fenders, the 12" radius may take some getting used to.
Very Nice Guitar for this Price!
By: John Fischer from Rockwall, TX      Submitted: 4/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have a un-chambered Les Paul Traditional which I dearly love. Unfortunately, I had a spine surgery in my neck and my doc told me to find a guitar which weighed half as much. I chose this black Midtown Classic. It has a similar tone to the Les Paul but is actually a little sweeter I believe! My only 2 complaints are the guitar is not perfectly balanced. Meaning if you put it on with a strap and let go, the head stock will want to hit the floor as it is heavier neck than body. The only other complaint is our music is very bass heavy. If I get some good low notes the guitar near the f-holes will vibrate. At Saturday's gig I though a bee had landed on my wrist the first few times I felt this sensation!For the cash though this guitar is really cool! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Only had it for less than a week but it is a Gibson. I expect a long life with this guitar! I got many compliments! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck is narrower than the Les Paul Traditional I believe but it is very playable! It is hard to get used to the switch being down by the volume and tone knobs... But that's just me I am sure... Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Very nice and variable! The Burst Buckers sound really good! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? PERFECT! My traditional came from AMS with a weird binding near the neck joint. No such issue here. This guitar was 100% pristine. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? For me, the Quality is worth the price. I am certainly happy. Playability How was the action out of the box? a touch high for me, but very playable! Maybe I will have it set up some time, maybe I will not...
nice...very happy
By: Kev Powe Sr. from Parkville,Md.      Submitted: 2/28/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? nice quality...this is the type of guitar I've always wanted..i'm a 335 man and LesPaul man.As well as Strat's &Tele's. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? it works well with all the different types and musical styles of all the bands I play with. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? great feel...finish and craftsmanship.love the neck..60's...controls r kool. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I wanted a cross between my LesPaul Standard w/burstbuckers...mahogany neck and back,but semi-hollow.the tone is great.the pickups are perfect. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? excellent...beautiful...wow Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? yes....the choice of woods is what sold me.i saw the guitar on youtube,the moment the guy started to play this guitar I called A.M.S. and orderd mine. Playability How was the action out of the box? a touch high..but I made adjustments and it feel great...Thanks Gibson.
My new favorite
By: Jeremy Cotton from Cinti, OH USA, jeremyc.guitar@gmail.com      Submitted: 2/5/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is my current favorite guitar. I was torn between this finish and the black, but I think I got the right one. I think this is a great sounding guitar, and after a bit if setup tweaking it will be even better. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This guitar seems well constructed - I haven't noticed any significant flaws. Like any new guitar, it needs a setup to suit my preferences. It looks and feels great, although make sure that you know before you buy what the neck and inlays are made out of, to avoid disappointment. Neither of those things effect playability or sound though. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I like the feel of the neck, I'm not normally a fan of neck binding and the binding over the edge of the frets seems weird to me but I haven't noticed any playability issues because of it. I don't do a lot of control changes in the middle of playing, but all the knobs and the switch work fine. I like the size of the body, I find full size 335 shapes a little awkward personally, but this guitar sits well for me. The fretboard feels a little strange under my fingers, it's not the wood I'm used to. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? I like the sound of this guitar - it sits in between my hollowbody/ jazz guitar and my more rock-ish solidbodies. Nice overall sound, exactly what I wanted for jazz/blues/rock playing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I went through the pictures of each guitar and picked the finish/wood grain I liked. It arrived just as I expected it to look. I'm a little picky about my sunburst finishes, but I really like this one. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? After a certain point, you are paying for the name on the headstock. I have owned (and do own) several import guitars that are very nice, but this was only marginally more and seems equivalently nicer. Playability How was the action out of the box? Out of the box it was fine - I prefer slightly heavier strings so I changed the 10's it came with to 11's and it's still ok, it could maybe use a little nut adjustment and truss rod finessing...I'll give a few more days to kind of settle in and have a trusted tech work on it.
Very Impressed
By: Jay from WNC      Submitted: 1/15/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I rarely play anything except solid body guitars. But I've wanted an ES339 for several years. But the price and the question of how much I would play an ES339 kept me from buying on. The Midtown piqued my interest a couple of years ago but I couldn't get my hands on one. Then it seemed that they were discontinued without warning. It seemed like a reasonable place to start into the semi-hollow\chambered arena. Although not a true Semi-hollow, the sound is very close to a friends ES-339. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality seems tip top. No issues so far. I do like the fact that it has a control plate on the back. I'm not a fan of repair work on a Hollow or Semi Hollow. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? I would estimate it to be in the 7.6-7.8 weight range. Much lighter than my Les Pauls and it seems a tad lighter than my Teles which all tip the scale are 8+. The neck is very nice, not too thin, not too chunky. It's listed as a 60's thin but feels chunkier than one of my Les Pauls with 60s slim taper neck. Controls are typical Gibson. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone to me is amazing. It's all over the map. I would consider this closer to a Thinline Tele than a true Semi-hollow in construction but without the icepick highs. It can produce semi hollow tones, bright to mellow. It can growl like a Les Paul and still do it's own thing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish and fret work is excellent. There is a scuff in the binding on the headstock but that could have happened at AMS or caused by it's first owner. Either way, not a concern. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The value is exceptional. I would have expected this guitar to be $1899 or more. I bought mine as a return so at just over $1000, it was the steal of the century. I'm sure that being a flat top helps keep costs down. I didn't realize that it was flat until it arrived but in no way does that detract from the experience. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action was very good out of the box but with the extreme cold weather in December I started getting a lot of string buzz. With a 1\4 turn of the truss rod it was back to the same sweet action as before. A fluke due to the extreme change in weather or just more susceptible to changes in the weather? I'm not sure yet.
Amazing Value
By: Benjamin E. from Anderson, SC 29621      Submitted: 12/3/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have had Les Pauls, & the ES-339. This is guitar is amazing...esp for the price. It has a sound all its own somewhere between the a les paul and 335/339. It makes this a very versatile guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality seems very good. I have found no issues. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Its heavier than a 339 but lighter than a non-weight relieved Les Paul. Its a comfortable weight to handle and I have back problems. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? This can depend on the amp. I play through a Vox Tony Bruno and the sound is great. The BB1 & BB2 are my new fav pick-ups. Brighter sounding than the 57 classics. Can really growl when driving the amp. But cleans up beautifully. Not muddy at all. They are very articulate. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish looks great. No issues here. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is guitar is well worth the money. May be the best value Gibson has going right now. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action was perfect.
This Guitar Gets Noticed
By: Mark      Submitted: 11/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Out of all of my guitars (Les Paul, Music Man, Tele) I get the most comments when I play this guitar at a gig. It really stands out. It is very versitle, and I play primarily R&B, blues and jazz with it. I tend to set the action low, and there is a little buzz on the lower strings at the higher frets. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Looks like a $3000 guitar. I own the black guitar. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Good. Smooth feel but not super fast. It is great for blues and Jazz, but is not the right guitar if you plan to do tapping and other modern techniques. My guitar has the composite fingerboard. It is a little stiffer than real ebony. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Classic Gibson sound. Great for classic and early rock, Jazz and blues. Not a high gain sound, but that is not what I was looking for. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Outstanding. It gets noticed even if you are in the back playing chords. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Can't be happier with the guitar. I bought it as a return from AMS and thought Gibson was going to discontinue it. Glad to see Gibson kept it in the lineup. Playability How was the action out of the box? Everyone has different styles. For me, it needed adjustments in the action and intonation. Those are easy fixes. By comparison, my Music Man needs to have the truss rod adjusted every season.
Gibson ES 339 Midtown is a refreshing new addition to the ES line.
By: Ron Lindsay from Yuma, AZ, USA      Submitted: 11/26/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Best Bang For The Buck!
By: Samantha Anselmo from Wake Forest, NC, zzbottomus208@nc.rr.com      Submitted: 11/13/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Just received the Midtown Custom. Says it was made 10/2013. Has the Ritchlite fingerboard and not a baked maple as stated on the websites. I contacted Gibson customer support to find out how to clean and treat the fingerboard and was told I can use lemon oil on it. If you are thinking about buying the guitar, you will be extremely happy with it... It will be the best $1,500.00 you ever spent on a Gibson guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I've had 4 different Gibson's shipped to me in the last 30 days and this Midtown Custom beats them all hands down. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? the guitar just feels right. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Great Tones And Sustain.... Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Guitar is PERFECT!!!!! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This Beauty Is Well Worth $2500.00, but you won't have to pay that much for it! Playability How was the action out of the box? plays great, sound fantastic, great tones and sustain, and just feels right in my hands. was able to lower the action incredibly low without any fretbuzz....I'm guessing the guitar was plek'd....if the fret job was done by hand, that person should get a raise!
i love it but....
By: Javier from Mexico, japs2112@hotmail.com      Submitted: 10/7/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? i got it december last year, AMS offered me a good discount , which made the deal a sweet one, don´t get me wrong the guitar is sweet but.... there is always some rejection to changes, the original one is richlite (not baked maple as stated now), and there are time when people would not accept that kind of changes, so there is no ebony on the fretboard, that is why the finish is so even, i really cannot tell by the tone or the feel calluses avoid me from feeling anything on my fingers Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? well made instrument, would buy it again if it got lost or stollen mine is a 2 piece top and on the pictures it looks like is a 3 piece, some people kept saying they all got 2 piece tops for the bursts instead of 3 piece Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? the neck i like the most of my guitars is my explorer then is a battle between my LP studio (50´s neck) and this midtown, last is my squier strat, not a bd neck i just feel more comfortable with my explorer in comparison, so that is my comparison neck controls are ok Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? very nice for classic rock which is for what i got it, for heavier stuff i have the explorer and the LP that falls in between IMHP, the midown PUP are really sweet, i tried it with my DSL, VOX AC30, Fender SFSR and an AVT combo, sounds sweet with all of them, very chunky, nice sustain (i even think better than my LP)nice crunchy tones, cleans up good, i´m not that fond of neck PUP so i cannot comment on that An aquaintance of my lil sis plays in a church and he loved the guitar both PUP and he also plays some jazz, me i just rock and roll i really got it for Malcon Rythm songs and is very close to the sound (i know is not a gretsch) Finish How did the stain or paint job look? here is what i did not like and why AMS gave me a discount and it seems there were a lot of units like mine,there were mistakes at the Fholes edge painting (black paint), they were noticeable on both Fholes on mine, but AMS ended up giving me a price of 1100 dls when it was at 1500 dls, so i took the deal, to my surprise i was able to rub the bad paint job with my finger, so everithing went ok on the stain at the front of the fhole, now what worries me is that if i keep rubbing the rest of the paint could come of, now is not like i rub the inside of the fhole all the time but the issue is there, maybe it can eventually become aged from that and be cooler ha Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? at 1500 dls i think is high on price, but if your looking for something semi with that type of looks and those types of PUP it will be hard to beat, i looked round at yamaha, ibanez, washbur, etc and by the time you get a HS case and PUP upgrades,pots and installation of such (in case you don´t do it yourself), you might end up close to that price not that it it such a big deal, but my case is flawless Playability How was the action out of the box? good, but as it happened with some, some nuts on the tuners were a bit loose so that caused some tuning problems i guess, i top wrap and lower the stop tail all the way so i did not bother to check the set stock set up, i had some problem with the intonation but i would assume it was due to the tuners beign a bit loose, inspect the guitar if you get it, i know it should come with no issues of that kind, but hey you can always retur it if you don´t like it, AMS will take care of you
Well worth the money
By: Kohler from Ny, mike123ko@gmail.com      Submitted: 9/2/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I am so glad I found the midtown custom at ams I wanted it for so long but no one had it. The best guitar for its price.Sounds great. Ordered about 4:39 pm it was at my door 11:30 the next day . Thank you AMS Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Great for jazz and rock Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great
Awesome to look at but since they refuse to make a lefty model priced same ill never know
By: Todd      Submitted: 8/30/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Excellent Guitar
By: MJL from NYC      Submitted: 8/26/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. If you are looking for a great USA instrument this is it. Great price, very nice finish. Terrific blues look and unbeatable Gibson sound. Responds to the lightest touch. This is a very fine instrument, it is fragile, handle with care. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? IMO Gibson USA 2013 Models are among the finest made by Gibson. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Just a bit brighter than usual for Gibson, as you would want with this type of model. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish looks excellent. It appears there are so many coats that one more and the S/N couldnt be read.
Very Unique Gibson
By: Mike from Port Jefferson      Submitted: 8/22/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

Excellent purchase !!!
By: allen crumb      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I was going to purchase a 335. I`m involved in blues and rock. I took a chance on this Midtown and was not sure because it was chambered. I was more then satisfied with the purchased. This is a very versatile guitar and everything about it I give a five,except the action was a bit high so I fixed that to my likings in a matter of minutes,and reliability, cause I haven`t had it but a few days. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made, it`s a Gibson !!! And No, I`m not partial !! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Perfect for rock and blues. I was surprised at how adaptable this guitar is. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? PERFECT !!!! Antique Sunburst
well worth the money
By: james presswood      Submitted: 8/14/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

I love mine
By: LL from Southern WV      Submitted: 7/9/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Beautiful flawless vintage sunburst finish on the one I received. I love the weight, feel and balance of this guitar. More comfortable for me than the larger semi-hollow body guitars. Great feeling neck and versatile pickups. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Smooth and mellow,with bark and bite when you need it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Gorgeous vintage sunburst.
Awesome Guitar!
By: Ken Reimer      Submitted: 11/25/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made other than flaw in the finish on the back. AMS took care of me on that. General Your general opinion of this product. Very happy with the guitar, it's a keeper! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Burstbuckers are very smooth and classy. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Other than the flaw in the finish on the back the finish is great.
Excellent instrument after a quick fix.
By: Sold on Haze from SoCal, CA      Submitted: 11/22/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? A little disappointed in the quality department. Two of the tuner nuts were loose, causing the washers to vibrate. There was a signed QA tag in the case, but this guitar was obviously not QA'ed or the guy was asleep at the wheel. Strum the strings one time and the headstock starts to make a rattling noise... how do you miss that? No, it wouldn't have loosened up during shipping. It was a simple 2 minute fix, but those 2 minutes should have occured at the factory. Not up to Gibson standards that I know. General Your general opinion of this product. Incredible value in an awsome playing and fantastic sounding guitar. The QA guy cost this guitar from getting 5 stars from me. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This thing shines in the tone department. You can play any genre with this single instrument. Only complaint is that the humbuckers do hum, kinda Strat-like. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is where Gibson has never disappointed me. It's a piece of art.
I GOT RIPPED OFF BY AMS
By: Mr. Disgruntled who got ripped off badly from Michigan      Submitted: 11/19/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar has SERIOUS factory issues that cannot be corrected. The neck binding catches the high E string and causes you to completely miss the note you need to hit. The entire neck WOBBLES with the slightest touch and keeps you constantly OUT OF TUNE (unless of course you don't ever touch the neck. The back of the guitar has a huge "dimple" straight from the factory and painted over. The "plek" set up was a joke. General Your general opinion of this product. This guitar is TERRIBLE and has been DISCONTINUED for good reason. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone is great if it would stay in tune! But it won't. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Terrible. Lumpy, Dimply.
wow! who knew!
By: gerard jones from Isanti,minn.      Submitted: 11/15/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? seems solid, works great sounds top shelf! General Your general opinion of this product. what a bargain, may soon be #1 axe! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? all gibsonish tones are possible Finish How did the stain or paint job look? ebony is 99.99% flawless
I looks and sound great with this type 339 great action
By: Frank from Revere, MA      Submitted: 10/3/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very much so be careful this is quality at its best General Your general opinion of this product. I love to play it and i play out often. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? hot and mellow just how i like it Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I have a red finish and i love it
Midtown Custom
By: TarHeelKid from Gibsonville, NC USA      Submitted: 7/9/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This axe is the best deal on a semi-hollow on the market! A true player and a beauty! General Your general opinion of this product. This is my new #1 without question. Classic vibe, modern rocker! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? As an owner of Gibson guitars with many pickup combos('57's,490/498's,BB Pro's, 500/500)these pickups rival any other combo's out there. I LOVE them. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful Ebony on this model. The binding and chrome really set it off.
the blues have been good
By: Warren Malice from Midwest      Submitted: 7/7/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well not one piece loose or missing,cannot find a single flaw in Paint,craftmanship our elctronics.Im going to buy a bell tag that covers the neck alignment bar and its name will say ANNA !(cant hurt the original one for love). General Your general opinion of this product. I always find a flaw but not this time not even a sag our slight carve mistake.It is gourges thankyou AMS. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Jazz smooth our bend a string One quarter and that is a step up in song.Really nice neck feels good to the touch.Makes for easy playing.Veryfast feel for rock Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Like I said earlyer,I will be Naming this guitar,one word I have never said in my life tell now(FLAWLES)!about a music instrument.Probly will never say it again,but ya cant quit hopeing.
Great guitar at a reasonable price. Well worth it.
By: B from Seattle, WA. US      Submitted: 4/28/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Great quality, easy to work on with the aesthetics of a custom gibson guitar. Obviously, it isn't a custom shop guitar and it has it's cosmetic flaws(just like everything else) but you didn't really expect to get a $4k-$5k guitar for $1500 new, right? For the money, it is a great guitar that plays great. General Your general opinion of this product. I know that the fingerboard material is a concern for some, but my ears and hands tell me that it is actually a great fretboard material. I am really impressed with the quality of this instrument. The Neck is fast and comfortable, and the body is the perfect size. It isn't huge like a large hollowbody, and it isn't tiny like an sg. Very comfortable and easy to play. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone on these guitars are very versatile. You can get anything from dark, warm tones to bright and snappy. It is hard to find a bad tone on this guitar. I have no complaints whatsoever. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? There are a few imperfections on the finish of the guitar, but I am not too worried about it considering the price point. You could definitely get worse for the price.
1957 was my best sound with a Gibson flat top.
By: Marcus Black from Giddings Texas U S A      Submitted: 12/30/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
A GREAT Guitar, GREAT value & a Gibson MADE IN THE USA!
By: JMV from Brookfield, WI      Submitted: 12/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Ok, the neck and fingerboard are nicely executed and the guitar plays extremely well. The finish is also nicely done. Every time I buy a Gibson and tell myself, ‘There is no such thing as a perfect Gibson (finish wise)’. This was even true of my considerably more expensive Gibson L5 Wes Montgomery model. This guitar was a pleasant surprise in that I have not found any finish flaws….yet. Not sure if that is a fluke or Gibson has increased its QC. General Your general opinion of this product. I just picked one up in Vintage Sunburst from AMS. I’ve been playing guitar for 40 years and have owned well over one hundred with the majority being high-end instruments. The Midtown Custom really is a GREAT guitar with regards to sound, feel, fit and finish! The price is right too! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I was amazed out how great the guitar sounds since I was not impressed with the Burstbuckers in previous Les Pauls I owned. However, this guitar has a wonderful crisp clean sound thru my 1966 Fender Band Master as well as thru my Fender Band Master VM. The guitar burns for high-gain crunch/distortion sound and has great sustain. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The neck and fingerboard are nicely executed and the guitar plays extremely well. The finish is also very nicely done. Every time I buy a Gibson and tell myself, ‘There is no such thing as a perfect Gibson (finish wise)’. This was even true of my considerably more expensive Gibson L5 Wes Montgomery model. Therefore, the Midtown was a pleasant surprise in that I have not found any finish flaws….yet. Not sure if that is a fluke or Gibson has increased its QC.
Loading....