Item Reviews for: Gibson Jason Hook M4 Sherman Explorer Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB DSJH LIST

    I am very satisfied with my purchase of this incredible sounding guitar. :))
    By: Derrick Slaten      Submitted: 5/10/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    Product Rating What is your opinion of this product? Awesome sustain and incredible tone. Super cool paint job and body design. This is my 2nd Gibson Explorer purchase from AMS. I have become a very happy and satisfied customer. I also love the reasonable AMS payment plans. :))
    Was this review helpful?
    dont buy this guitar
    By: Allen Usher      Submitted: 4/17/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstardullstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought this guitar from ams and barely had it over a yr and the paint is all cracked up all over it and tried contacting Gibson and got no response. I only have 10hrs of play on it if that. Would give it less of a star if possible
    0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Sending it back.
    By: Wally      Submitted: 3/3/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstardullstardullstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I read other reviews about setup issues and thought, no big deal. But this is the worst out of the box I've ever seen. Upon further inspection, the finish is cracked where the neck and body are joined. That's enough to scare me off. Love the look of the guitar, the case is awesome. But I spent money for a guitar I can play, and this guitar is un-playable. Very disappointed with Gibson. Will most likely replace it with a Schecter.
    0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Great Guitar!
    By: Rick      Submitted: 1/29/2016
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? This Explorer plays like a dream and the super jumbo frets fit my playing style perfectly. The guitar is much more comfortable than your typical Explorer with the forearm body taper and extra lower horn cutaway for higher fret access. The Seymour Duncan pickups are a huge upgrade compared to stock Gibsons which always sound too thin or tinny for my taste. Lastly, the guitar has locking mini tuner which really should be standard on all guitars price over $1K in my opinion. The plastic tubing cover is a little novel and I would have preferred us a solid top (no pick guard) to show of the graphics but it's no my custom model! Anyway, AMS was offering a great price on previously returned guitar so I took a chance. Way better than expected, basically a new guitar with all case goodies. The AMS staff was incredibly helpful and responsive to my questions. I would buy this guitar all day long again.
    1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Gibson Tone Monster
    By: Megafrog001      Submitted: 10/23/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? I bought my M4 Sherman not for the looks but for the playability. Out of the box, it needed a setup bad but that is to be expected when the guitar is made in January of 2013 and it is now October of 2015. The fit and finish were nearly flawless with only a spec of paint in the wrong place being the only visible blemish. This guitar has some cool features for the player. The enhanced cutaway that enables you to better access the 22nd fret is an awesome bonus! I also like the thinner cut on the top fin that allows you to more easily rest your elbow on the guitar while you play. The looks of this guitar are very polarizing. The plastic pipe on it is ugly and annoying so I will probably remove it from mine and put on a pick guard. It will look and feel better that way. I do like the stripes on it as it gives it a nice pop when playing out, especially if you use any black lighting on it. This guitar is a total tone monster with the Seymour Duncan pickups! The guitar can literally do any genre with the pickups on it but with the guitar shape, you are almost expected to play metal. The case on the guitar is excellent. It is an olive green color with a Gibson logo as well as Jason Hook M4 graphics on it. Nice case! Don’t overlook this gem due to the appearance of it, it truly is an awesome guitar at a pretty amazing price point now. You will need to set it up but when that is done, look out!
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Best Gibson I have played in years
    By: RJ      Submitted: 10/14/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Wow! I have over 30 Gibsons currently in my collection. Have several explorers. This one is the best I have ever played. I had been looking at the Sherman Explorer for at least a year now and just didn't want to bite the bullet. I kept seeing the price drop and almost grabbed one but glad I waited as I got it during the last Sale. Man I am glad I did. The Jason Hook mods to this guitar make this thing a beast. The cut out for higher fretboard access is fantastic. The arm bevel should be added to all explorers. The jumbo frets are glorious to play on. Grover locking tuners - the best. Then the pickups, c'mon a SD 59 and a JB, Satan himself not would chose anything different. This guitar was set up perfectly to my liking from the factory. The case is the coolest case I have ever seen with Sherman stencil and olive drab. Get ready for case candy too. Dunlop strings, dunlop signature picks, autograph with frame. Do yourself a favor, BUY IT.
    16 of 16 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    amzing however....
    By: gworthy      Submitted: 5/26/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstardullstar


    What is your opinion of this product? guitar was not properly qc'd and must go to a guitar shop to be set up and intonated, its so far out it is non playable until properly set up, total disappointment to an otherwise incredible guitar with special extras
    2 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    The best Explorer out there!
    By: Swaggerguitaris      Submitted: 1/23/2015
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? Like all Gibson guitars I own, this guitar is very high quality... great tuners, solid neck, top notch electronics and hardware, and excellent finish. I own (and play professionally) several top notch guitars (Fender USA, ESP Japan, Gibson USA, Schecter USA, Ibanez JEM Japan) and this model stands up to them as far as the high quality factor goes. I've always wanted to try an explorer (they just look so rad!), and so glad I finally took the plunge. It is THE most comfortable guitar to play live. It rests right where I want it, and makes me want to keep playing. I chose the M4 because of the huge frets, Seymour Duncan pickups, and non-tradition paint job (I used to be in the Marine Corps, so I like the military look). When I read the specs for this guitar i was like, "finally! a guitar that I don't have to change something on." For example, I don't like the location of the volume knob on Fender Strats, so I relocate it because my hand is always bumping into it. The Explor
    5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    dont be stupid
    By: mickey tucson      Submitted: 12/7/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar


    What is your opinion of this product? best rock god guitar out there. and I have them all..
    2 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    This Explorer is AMAZING!!!!!!
    By: Marcos from NYC      Submitted: 4/26/2014
    verified


    Product Rating
    brightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstarbrightstar














    0 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?
    Loading....