American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Midtown Kalamazoo Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB DSMKM LIST

Simply Elegant... Music Box
By: Michael Moaze from Vista , Ca... USA      Submitted: 12/4/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

What a Disappoinment! Returned it right away
By: DixieSundae from Charlesotn, SC USA      Submitted: 11/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Best Guitar Style Gibson put out in a LONG time for REASONALE COST. KILLER GUITAR!!!
By: esgibson      Submitted: 11/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!! Playability How was the action out of the box? Guitar is 10 out of 5 Stars! Awesome!!
Nice and thin- Light and the neck plays really fast!! Can't beat it for the price!!!
By: Mitch from Las Vegas      Submitted: 11/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Glad I bought this one
By: CG Pierce      Submitted: 11/18/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Did as much research as I could on this before I bought it, always skeptical of ordering a guitar. This was better than I expected and hoped for Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality was better than I expected, I figured with the low production number these would really be built and they are a great value. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck takes some getting use to, I played a Byrdland many years ago and have kicked myself for decades for selling it as I liked the neck - in about 15 minutes I had this neck down pretty good. Controls work a little hard as they are new but they will loosen up. I'm trying to resist the urge to throw some speed knobs on it. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Bright tone overall and I've got some good jazz tones out of it. I have old sixties JBL's in my amp and they tend be a tad bright as well, few knob settings and I had a pretty wide spectrum of sounds available from the switch and coil taps Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very good if not amazing for the price point. It gets a lot of long hard looks from most people I show it to and crazy comments like "thats a sexy guitar" Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Never really looked at any other guitars in this price range and wasent looking to buy a guitar untill I saw the pic of this one in the catalog and they had me. Started researching it. Wanted a Byrdland for decades now and while this is not really a Byrdland it is something of its own in style, quality and sound of its own. Its one of the best guitars I've bought in 45 years. Playability How was the action out of the box? I was really worried about this when I ordered it. Took it out of the box tuned it up and was ready to go. Gibson did a great job making sure these were ready to go right when they left the factory.
An inexpensive Gibson, not a cheap one.
By: David      Submitted: 11/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It's hard to take a review that gives all top scores seriously, but I can't find any point that I can reduce. Sure it's not a $8,500 Byrdland, but then again, it's not $8,500. This review is for an excellent $1,500 guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I own 8 other electric guitars. Most are nice foreign made guitars and one other of those is a Gibson LP, which cost me a couple hundred less than the Kalamazoo. The Kalamazoo seems superior to all of them and is uniquely appointed to handle jazz, blues, rock, and would probably handle high gain styles about as well as any semihollow guitar. Although the 57 Classics have more of a bright snappy tone and are not what I would consider a high gain pickup. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Mine weighs in at 8.8 lbs. The neck is thin front to back, which I like. I was worried the switch location might be a problem, but it is out of the way enough, that I don't even notice it's there unless I need it. The lower bout is about 14.5" wide and makes the guitar comfortable to sit and play. I like the short scale. A short scale is similar in feel to tuning a 24" scale guitar down 1/2 a step then capoing at the 1st fret, the strings are 1/2 step looser and easier to press to the frets. The shorter intervals between the frets will take a bit of getting used to, having been playing longer scale guitars for 30 years. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Bright snappy tones. The guitar is largely routered hollow with a solid maple top and I can feel through the f holes that there is a block under the pickups and bridge, but tapping on the top indicates that the area behind the bridge also seems hollow. There is some feel and -- let's call it -- "vibe" of a semi or hollowbody, but the tone is generally brighter. I like dark tone guitars but this brighter one I find has a nice and pleasant tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Fit and finish was great on mine, no visible flaws. Gibson did something pretty clever here in the looks department. The back of the guitar has a control panel like a solid body guitar, but what they did was they drilled holes where needed and cut the cavity so that from the front through the f holes you can't see the black control cover. It just looks like wood inside. Nice attention to detail, Gibson. Beautiful guitar. Very classy look. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? It's a lot of guitar for the money. A solid wood hollowbody with Grover locking tuners, a real rosewood fretboard, attractive inlays (plastic inlays, but again, this is a $1,500 guitar, not $8,500), Gibson's 57 Classic pickups, gold hardware, and a hardshell case. Compare that with the Midtown Custom costing exactly the same. With the Custom you don't get locking tuners, or a rosewood fretboard, or gold hardware (not everyone likes gold hardware I realize, but it does cost more than chrome hardware). Playability How was the action out of the box? I just tuned it and it was good to go.
Beautiful Guitar @ a Great Price
By: Martin Carlson from Naperville, IL USA      Submitted: 11/15/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Great instrument right out of the case. Just set the action to my personal preference and played all night long. Beautiful fit and finish. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Absolute top-drawer quality Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Perfectly balanced with a sup comfortable neck. I have nueropathy and this guitar makes it fun to play again. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? PU's give you what you set them for. Plenty of presence. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful finish Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Superb Playability How was the action out of the box? Just lowered it a bit to accommodate my styl and particular physical needs.
The thing is...
By: JohnnyHell from USA      Submitted: 11/14/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? It doesn't have the semi-hollowbody sound. It is advertised as thinline and it is. It's kind of weighted with plywood on the inside of the back. It sounds more like a solidbody to me. The sound is good through my Orange tube amp. It didn't squeal when I cranked it. I've only had for a few hours, but I can't say I like it more than my Les Paul traditional. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The finish is nice and the gold hardware makes it flashy. It plays like any solidbody so anything you want to play can be played. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It is fast. The scale length will take some getting used to. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? It seems to get most any tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Good. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The jury is still out on that one. Playability How was the action out of the box? Tune it and play it. The action is close.
A fine Gibson
By: Thomse from Grand Rapids      Submitted: 11/14/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is one nice Guitar Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? This guitar is very well put together . It is versatile. with the coil taps . Has a sound all its own . Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? It feels great nice balance great neck what can you say kind of like a Byrdland. It is set up like all the great Gibsons Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? With the coil taps you can due just about any thing Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It looks good . they could have spent a little more time in the finale buff . I took care of it with Gibsons polish .But over all nice . Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Well with Gibson you all ways expect the best .AMS Treats me well Playability How was the action out of the box? Just tuned it up and it plays well.
Loading....