American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Classic Custom Limited Run Guitar with Case  -  GIB LPCCT LIST

Tone Machine!
By: Bob A from Santa Rosa      Submitted: 12/20/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I love mine and bought it here. It is quality through and through. I find myself just staring at it. I love the binding around the headstock which gives the guitar a regal look. The binding around the fingerboard and body are also expertly applied. Great pickups. General Your general opinion of this product. Love it, best electric guitar Gibson ever made. PERIOD! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The baked maple board is the key part of the snappy sound. Les Pauls are known for sounding muddy, this guitar sounds warm & bright at the same time, and has unbelievable sustain. The 57 Classic pickups are the perfect choice for this guitar. The bridge pickup is great for searing EL-34 distortion, the neck pickup is great for clean tones I use the neck pickup with my Vox Night Train 15 and the bridge pickup with my Marshall-type amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The best part of this guitar is the wonderful vanilla smell when you open the case! The finish is expertly applied.
A wonderful axe
By: jbricker from Cave Junction Oregon      Submitted: 12/10/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gibson is the best General Your general opinion of this product. wonderful Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone and substain are great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? My finish was execelent
Awesome, as expected
By: Mike from Raleigh, NC      Submitted: 12/7/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Classic Gibson quality and setup. General Your general opinion of this product. Guitar is awesome, awesome feel, awesome action, sound, everything. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups have that awesome classic Les Paul sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is fantastic, perfect, beautiful.
Excellence and worth every penny!
By: Mike Dollar from Jackson, MS      Submitted: 12/3/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well crafted and solid as an anvil. General Your general opinion of this product. A finely crafted instrument that equals the coveted Les Paul Custom. the only differences are an unpainted and unbound back...and better pickups in my opinion. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very ballanced, Not too dark or bright.. hits a good midrange without loosing any lows or highs. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? One minor flaw that just is'nt worth fussing over..
Pure Quality
By: m.j. from paintsville ky      Submitted: 11/29/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Just got it and it is very well made top notch General Your general opinion of this product. This is one o the best les pauls I have ever owned Gibson has really hit a homerun!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the tone is everything you would expect from a high end les paul Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the cream and it is absolutely beautiful
Great Buy
By: Noel from Laredo, TX      Submitted: 11/23/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is of the finest quality. It's a great deal and it's worth every penny. General Your general opinion of this product. It's a great product made by a very reliable company. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The guitar has a nice, full tone. There's a very warm tone to it and it has a versitile sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint job is excellent, done with a great level of precision and care. It's beautiful without a flaw.
AMS and This Gibson Les Paul Classic Custom Rock!
By: Craige from Tyler, Texas      Submitted: 11/21/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I purchased the Wine Red two weeks ago before the price drop. The guitar arrived perfect and blemish free. No need to set it up. Intonation was perfect out of the box.Best Gibson quality I have seen in several years. My last two Les Pauls had finish issues so they were returned. This beauty was perfect as all gibsons should be. When I saw the price drop of $500.00 on the AMS site, I went to chat live and the operator immediately matched the price currently being offered. Now there is no doubt. This is my favorite Les Paul and AMS is my new number one musical needs supplier. General Your general opinion of this product. My new favorite guitar. It is a bit heavier than my other two Les Pauls. I like the Maple fret board a bit better than the rosewood. I am not a purist when it comes to the new fret board. It feels and plays awesome. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Some people say that the classic plays brighter than the standard due to the maple fret board, I dont hear the difference. I am 52 and maybe my hearing is not what it used to be. I love the 57 pick ups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Best finish of my three Les Pauls. Spot on perfect.
Would Love to own
By: Michael from Nashville,Mich,USA      Submitted: 10/21/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think this is a great deal but money is short General Your general opinion of this product. I sure could use a new guitar but i am disabled and cant afford a new one Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Probably sounds great Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Love the looks would be proud to own one
My New Number One
By: S.J. Pope from Hawkins tx.      Submitted: 8/25/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very nice and I love the baked maple General Your general opinion of this product. I lost a 76 custom in 92, this feels very close to the one I lost and plays great. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The sound is a little darker than my other paul...more low end and bite. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? looks great
Best Value!!
By: John from Cincinnati      Submitted: 8/18/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Solid,Holds Tune.. Played well straight from factory...Finish was perfect General Your general opinion of this product. At this Price.The Quality and Tone Cant be matched... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Warm...With clarity.Very Fat. Played thru a hughes and kettner Cuts thru the mix well.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Perfect.Super nice Couldnt ask for more at this price...
Excellent
By: Eric from Mattydale,New York      Submitted: 7/22/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a quality guitar in every way. Dependability shouldn't be an issue. I've had it 3 weeks now. General Your general opinion of this product. This is my 6th Gibson over the years and this one ranks among my favorites.It's a classic design tried and true and this one does the name justice. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Most people seem to love their 57 classics but I couldn't get along with my bridge position.For lower gain classic tones it sounded vintage Les Paul but for me,with higher gain,the tone was strat-ish. The lower strings were balanced and all strings rang clear but there was a thin sound to the unwound strings I couldn't get to sound good to my ears.Tried messing with the pickup height and tone pot but it seems to be the nature of the 57 (although in an older custom shop model I didn't experience the same issue).Even with amp treble and presence cut way back it was still noticeable. Harmonics were plentiful and in your face as was the wanted feedback sustain. Replaced the bridge with a 498T and all is good. Neck 57 is outstanding, especially for clean stuff.Plenty of clarity for that position however I have yet to meet a neck pickup in any guitar I liked for riffing higher gain stuff but this one is good for soloing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? 99% perfect. I did find one section of binding where the finish was noticeably thin near the 3 way switch but an otherwise gorgeous guitar.
read this
By: Aaron A from Alabama      Submitted: 7/16/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? its a gibson, what more needs to be said? although the toggle switch wouldnt stay in the up position cause the white knob cover whatever would hit the ring before goin all the way, so i just took it off cause alot of my playin is done thru the neck pickup General Your general opinion of this product. i got an epiphone special that plays just as good as this, but sound wise there is no comparison Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? the 57s i use those in most my guitars, they just got that deep sound but bright at the same time, they got that hum that blends the note into feedback perfectly, but then again my feedback isnt high gain feedback, if you want high gain get something thats made for high gain Finish How did the stain or paint job look? i got the natural althought it has be stained darker on the back i do believe,
Gorgeous High Quality Axe!!
By: TomPF from SoCal      Submitted: 7/7/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is EXTREMELY well made! Every detail of this guitar was very well attended to and you can just tell that it was fussed over by careful artisans. Frets were all dressed nicely, binding and finish was flawless. Pickups were adjusted properly and intonation was nearly spot-on. I hear a lot of folks complaining about "the setup out of the box" on guitars, but this was nearly perfect. General Your general opinion of this product. I have about ten guitars, a few Gibsons, Fender, Schecter, Epiphone, Ibanez, Washburn and Laguna. I'm really selective about what I buy, but I can tell you there is nothing like this full-featured Gibson Les Paul. It has a presence both sonically and visually that is like no other. Absolutely amazing, and you won't be disappointed with it. BUY IT! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I have 498, 489, and 500T pickups in my other Gibsons, and I didn't really know what to expect with the '57 Classics, but man, they are AWESOME! Than can be thick and chunky, and they have great output, but they have a notch more definition than the others above IMO, and they have GREAT harmonics. I'm going to have to do a play-off between my 498/489 equipped Special and this one to see which are "the best" for me, but I can honestly say I'm very pleasantly surprised with the slightly brighter character of the '57s. They have that classic "Les Paul voice" that everyone craves. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I went over this guitar with my eyeballs GLUED to the finish and looked at every single millimeter of this axe, and I am VERY picky (I'm an engineer and work in Quality Assurance). The ONLY flaw I could find on the finish was right up against the neck where it meets the body, on the upper bout of the body, there is the slightest ripple of the gold finish. You have to look REALLY close and hold it at JUST the right angle to even notice it, and it's nothing you'd see from more than an inch away, and certainly nothing anyone else could see from a stage or anything like that. It's not enough to even enough of a "flaw" that I could mark it down a star for finish. All the chrome is flawless, and everything is mounted true and straight. It's a HUGE looker in Gold Top!! My band mates and I all gasped when we got our first look at it. It's THAT awesome!
beautiful sounding les paul
By: randy from sacramento,ca,usa      Submitted: 6/28/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? very well made General Your general opinion of this product. awesome Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? it can produce any tone you choose Finish How did the stain or paint job look? beautiful
Seriously well made Les Paul!
By: Livewire from Bastrop Texas      Submitted: 6/22/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well I own 4 Les Pauls from an R8 to traditional, and I have to say this guitar sounds and is made perfect compared to more expensive models. I purchased the goldtop with baked maple and after adding Lin Seed Oil to the neck it was almost like Ebony, the Feel of Ebony, the look of Ebony. When I got it the Neck was dark as rosewood not like the picture shows. General Your general opinion of this product. Well I wish the other Pauls were made as well as this one, near custom shop quality. Its not bright like you thing it would be, in fact notes are more clearer etc. Great on clean channel real chimney and toney. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Not real dark and not real brite, just perfect thru my Marshall, sustain and clearness are great. Pickups are the best, I think compared to burstbucker pros etc. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Goldtop looks awesome, plus back and back of neck look like scallop wood, not regular grain.
Gibson Classic Custom Les Paul
By: gpschmidt@charter.net from Allegan, Michigan      Submitted: 6/10/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Although for the most part the Les Paul I received was well built, I'm a little disappointed on a few things I noticed while going over it. The worst are the Grovers. They aren't mounted straight. Both the high and low E string tuners are canted noticeably to the back of the headstock. It doesn't effect playability, but for $1900, I'd expect a little better from Gibson. I've owned and own other Les Pauls that didn't have this issue. Secondly, the pot (CTS?) are gritty. Not what I expected. Otherwise, it's a well made guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. I doubt I'll send it back, but the tuners for sure bother me. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? A little brighter due to the maple fret board. Not a bad thing, I kinda like a little more bite. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice. The Goldtop is a sharp looking option.
Your "Go-To" Les Paul
By: Jeff Abbey from Boca Raton, Florida      Submitted: 5/14/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, Gibson's been making this model for over 50 years and this one shows it. The Les Paul Classic I take on shows is battle scarred but still brings the tone. This one is still in the case most of the time! General Your general opinion of this product. This is the top playing Paul I've owned and a beautiful work of art as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Classic '57 pickups are rockin'-they are a great match for this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Impeccable!
Get it now or you wil be sorry
By: SEVEN from nowhere      Submitted: 5/13/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent right out of the box,really im not sure why anyone would want any thing else. General Your general opinion of this product. While not perfect in the finish,this is an amazing guitar for the money,customs are the top of the line and usually in the 4000. range,for this price its amazing ,aside from the gold hardware and some binding its the same for half the price...get or you will be sorry. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? great gibson roar,im usually a 500t guy ,I like the extra gain but im getting used to theese quickly ,im not going to swap them out like on my other pauls....theese are really nice with the maple neck and chambers,they can totally rock or jazz it up. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I did find a couple paint problems,minor and I DONT CARE,this one is mine forever and is my new #1,I personally own 2 Vs,1 SG ,and 3 les Pauls (no faded or studios)and this is #1 and like the rest of my gibsons will be passed down to my son,will never sell them...ever
Great Guitar ...
By: Rusty from Gulfport Ms.      Submitted: 5/9/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Veruu well made , thought the neck not being rosewood would be differant , but i can tell no differans General Your general opinion of this product. I have played Les Pauls all my life.. This limited model is nice addition Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Classic tone.. i get complimated all the time when i play this guitar Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very nice finish
The ONLY guitar worth playing!
By: from Charlotte, NC, USA      Submitted: 5/3/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? These guitars were built for repeated abuse! They only get better with age. General Your general opinion of this product. In my opinion this guitar speaks for itself. The history of the Les Paul screams volumes above the rest! Once I got my hands on one, I never looked back. You can't go wrong with this guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Get you one!! It will certainly complete you!! The sounds are endless! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I would play it even with a spray paint finish!
great guitar overall
By: rob from los angeles      Submitted: 4/16/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? As well as new era Les Pauls are made, this one is surely one of the better ones. General Your general opinion of this product. great, beautiful color, thin neck, easily same weight as my other customs Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? thick sounding warm clean tones, heavy rock distored. sounded great through my tour rig. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? perfect.
collectable guitar for a great price
By: from       Submitted: 4/3/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
Love it!
By: Snarky from       Submitted: 4/2/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was skeptical about the baked maple fretboard. There are harmonics and overtones that my rosewood 59 or ebony Customs are incapable of achieving. General Your general opinion of this product. Bought one in cream. Sounds significantly better than my custom shop Gibsons. My new #1. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It sings, it screams, and everything in between! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? With this tone, I don't care.
feels real good
By: thomas bullen from lahaina HI usa      Submitted: 3/13/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? i love the way it smells looks super good in the sunlight General Your general opinion of this product. i dig this guitar been wanting one my whole life and to own one now is super rad the fret board looks just like a rosewood much darker than the pic on here Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? all of the above Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great in the sunlight
Biggest bang for the bucks!
By: Gibsonfreak from Western Norway      Submitted: 3/10/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar is very well made. It stays in tune and the finish is very good. This will probably be my main guitar. General Your general opinion of this product. A great guitar with a wonderful sound and finish. Great player, the 60 profile neck is very fast and comfortable to play. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is what you expect from a Les Paul, maybe a little brighter than a Standard. It's got an amazing sustain, better than most other guitars i've played, and that a lot after 35 years of playing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great!
Awesome guitar for an un-Gibsonlike price!
By: Shop de Vegas from Las Vegas, NV      Submitted: 3/9/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality of this guitar is impeccable. Binding was done well and the inlay on the headstock and neck are all excellent quality. General Your general opinion of this product. Guitar was sweet right out of the box. Fretwork is perfect, action and intonation was set just right. Baked maple fretboard is acutally quite dark and when oiled with lemon oil, it darkens a bit more. My guitar seemed a bit on the heavy side but it is a Les Paul. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups sound like a Les Paul should. Sound great clean and awesome sustain when overdriven. Baked maple fretboard gives the tone a bit more snap, but overall, she's a Paul. Through and through. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I purchased the Antique Natural version, I will say it is a bit more on the yellow-natural side rather than what is seen in the picture. But overall it is on par with my real Custom.
Les Paul Classic Custom, destined to be a classic
By: Tom Roberto from Queens, NY, hesdeadjimstudios1701@verizon.net      Submitted: 2/27/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This Les Paul has some weight to it, just like a Les Paul should. The frets are all even, with no rough edges, the 3 ply binding is even all around the guitar and the gold top finish is a little darker than a traditional gold top, but it does retain that royal look to it. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great guitar. It looks like a Les Paul, sounds like a Les Paul, and feels like a Les Paul. The new Baked Maple fretboard looks a lot like ebony, especially after I treated it with some lemon oil. After I put on the strings I like and set it up to my own specs. the guitar rocked. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The neck pickup is a 57 classic with a good amount of output, and the bridge pickup is a 57 classic plus with hot output. I am not crazy about the hot output pickups in general, but after setting the guitar up, with include lowering the pickups a bit to reduce the output and the high end snap due to the maple fretboard and guitar went from sounding great to amazing. With a few minor adjustments, this is a great Les Paul guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This guitar looks incredible. Though it is not a actual custom with all the gold hardware, it does have a custom look about it. The gold top paint job is classic looking, and the inlay and binding work is perfect. All the pictures I've seen of the guitars with the baked maple fretboards, the boards look light in color, but when I received this guitar, I was surprised to see how dark the fretboard was, which made me like it even more.
don't miss this deal
By: Rock Star from OC, CA      Submitted: 1/13/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? xlnt quality General Your general opinion of this product. GREAT Guitar! I'm a long time pro rock player with many top end Gibsons & Fenders and I just found my new #1. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? sounds like a les paul should Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great
Best Deal on a Gibson so I made it my best Christmas gift this year.
By: Tim Schultz from Jeffersonville,IN., jtsch007@yahoo.com      Submitted: 12/28/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? As stated before you had better get one at a low low price, or lose out and pay more for less. It's only going to get better with it's age. General Your general opinion of this product. Well built as Gibson's have always been. The baked maple fret board, oiled makes it just the way I like it, dark smooth and fast. No problems here with anyhing about this guitar. Better get one or lose out. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bad to the bone it has a great sound no matter if your playing clean or with crunch. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Slick and sweet, flewless all the way and I inspec
My Christmas present to myself
By: Jocko from Long Beach Ms USA      Submitted: 12/8/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have been a Gibson owner since the 70's and even during the Norlin years my guitars have always been well made. I am hoping that this guitar lasts as long as my other Gibsons. I do actively gig and record so Quality and Reliability means allot to me. Hopefully this guitar will remain playable for decades to come. General Your general opinion of this product. I am a huge fan of maple fretboards, and have many guitars with maple fretboards. The neck doesn't feel like a normal maple fretboard and does not look like it either. This is a great chance for those who want a LP Custom without the back binding at half the price of a LP Custom guitar with a ebony fretboard and gold hardware. I purchased the Antique Natural and love this color. I am all about natural wood colors and would have really like a Antique Sunburst color option, but it is what it is. When you consider this guitar is easily as good as a Gibson LP Custom and its currently being sold for half price; its a darn good value. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I am a huge fan of the Classic 57's, that was a selling point with this guitar. I also love maple fretboards and that was another selling point. The guitar has the normal LP tone with a little bit of higher end vs the normal mellow tone LP's are known for. The maple fretboard does add a snappy response to the guitar. I am very happy with the overall tone and once this guitar is paid off hopefully AMS will have more so I can purchase another. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love the finish of the Antique Natural, it really looks nice. The fretboard is not as light as the ones I have seen in photo's and there is a fix if its too light. Dab on lemon oil and the fretboard will darken.
Finally an affordable Les Paul!
By: Southern Rocker from Cape Cod, MA USA      Submitted: 11/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? If you can get past not having the binding around the backside of the guitar, you will see superior craftsmanship. I like the look and if you are concerned about a maple fretboard, don't fret (pun intended). If the lighter shade is bothersome, the factory suggests a little lemon oil to darken it. Honestly, it wasn't as light as pictured and it doesn't feel any different to me than an ebony board. All new guitars need to be broken in here, and well I guess it will boil down to personal preference. I like it this way and most likely will keep it this way. General Your general opinion of this product. I have to say I had my doubts about a chambered guitar, and I am glad I decided to buy this one. IT is a PURE gem out of the box. This is my 3rd purchase through AMS and I am very impressed with the quality, service and friendliness of this company. I also own a Jet City 100H, and an American Standard Strat thanks to AMS easy pay, which I have owned for almost a year now. My next purchase will be a Les Paul Jr double cutaway without hesitation. If you are unhappy with your purchase you can always return it within 48 hours FREE. How can ya go wrong? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Will know soon when I go to rehearsal and plug it into my Jet City 100 amp that I also purchased from AMS 6 mo ago. I recommend this amp as well. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's a beauty, I purchased the Wine Red and it is a rich rich color, and beautiful wood grain coming through.
Loading....