American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply

A lower priced high end product.
By: Michael St Rosenberg      Submitted: 6/18/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? As a novice guitarist, this may have been going a little overboard on price, but I love the look, feel and the way it sounds on my Hughs & Kettner Amp. For a person who suffers from hearing loss in one ear, the Min ETune makes it very easy to tune this guitar. I am still working on building fretting callouses, but even with my fat short fingers, I find the board is easy to work on. I just wish my fingers could reach all the cords I need to play. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? It's a Gibson Les Paul Futura, 'nuff said. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? A bit heavier than I expected but the neck is easy to hold while fretting and the controls are easy to reach. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Don't know all the tone setting yet, but I like what I hear. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The Futura has a simple but elegant finish. No scratches yet. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Compared to my PRS Soapbar II, the future has a much more elegant sound and it holds a tune much longer. On the Soapbar, I have to tune it every time I pick it up. Playability How was the action out of the box? It seems good to me, but what do I know.
Fn spectacular
By: Kevo from NJ      Submitted: 6/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Incredibly versatile well made guitar and the robot tuners actually work really well
By: Stephen I King from United States      Submitted: 6/1/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

By: vic from Augusta Ga USA      Submitted: 4/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

More than worth the money
By: Matt from USA      Submitted: 4/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

What is your overall opinion of this product? Great quality, playability, and tone. I got this one from AMS and it was in excellent condition. With all of the features and the smooth as silk action this guitar is a true joy to play. Les Paul traditionalists may prefer a different model but with all the features, the weight relief, and the slim neck it is a great guitar for my needs. This is the first Gibson Les Paul I have ever owned and I am impressed. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? True USA made quality. I have been, and still am skeptical of the supposed quality of USA made guitars over good quality Asian models, but I own several great Korean and Indonesian guitars and this one puts them all in the shade. The Futura is VERY versatile. It can play any style of music but truly shines in blues, classic rock, southern rock, rock, and hard rock. Pure metal players may prefer a guitar with active pups, and pure country players may prefer a strat or tele, but if you want a guitar that can play anything well this one is hard to beat. It lost one star because the Min-etune's battery was stuck in the guitar. I got it out and works well now but it is a bad sign that the tuner was not perfect to start. The tuner is a big improvement over other robo-tuners and if you play in several different tunings like I do you will like it. However it is not perfect, and the feel of the tuners when tuning manually may put some folks off. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The modern weight relief is great (5 back surgeries here) but it is still a weighty guitar compared to most of the modern stuff out there. The 60's slim neck is great, some may like the 50s profile but I much prefer the slim neck. Much easier to play fast with my smaller hands but it is still a Gibson neck so there is enough room I'm not cramped. It's a Les Paul so the control layout is tried and true. I love the push/push pots. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Huge array of tones here. The new Sidewinder, which is awesome, is very close to achieving that perfect P-90 sparkle when tapped and in humbucker mode it is surprisingly chunky. The Burstbucker has the PAF feel but more heat. The db boost is great, I love how it shapes your tone but some folks may prefer a boost pedal. Also I have seen some folks say the pots start to crackle, if this happens replace the battery in the boost! Or take the battery out and it makes a handy kill switch. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It is a beautiful guitar. I got the Pacific Blue and it is striking. Neck is not sticky at all, coverage was great, almost flawless. Lost one star because of a small imperfection where the fretboard meets the body. Almost gave it five stars because it is so hard to see, but as proud as Gibson is about their Nitro finishes, it should be perfect. I would also call it Semi-Gloss and not gloss. A very attractive guitar all in all. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great value. The range of sounds and the playability make this guitar a great buy. Gibson's have great resale value compared to most stuff and with the collector features of this one (120 anniversary inlay, Special serial numbering this year) I would hazard a guess that you have a safe investment. Playability How was the action out of the box? This is the first guitar I have owned that I didn't have to set up out of the box. All players are different and all guitars are different so I lucked out on this. Intonation was spot on, did a full step bend on all the strings across the board and it never fretted out, virtually no buzz anywhere, and the action was super low. I hated the strings that came on it. I don't know if they were coated but I did not like them at all. That is a matter of opinion though, I put some power slinkys on it and it feels much better to me now.
By: Jim Dean from United States      Submitted: 3/13/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Very Good Value
By: Firedup from NY      Submitted: 2/28/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Good Value. Gibson USA tried to give a bit of everything on the LP Futura. I have the ETune system on another guitar, and once I mastered it, changing strings and tuning etc., I don't want to be without it, although I have 4 other Gibson's without the ETune. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality is excellent. The LP Futura with the ETune is quite versatile. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The action was set perfectly. There were no buzzing on any frets, and the no buzzing from the amp when sitting idel. I checked the intonation using both the ETune and a external tuner to the 12th Fret and it is in tune. I left it overnight in the case and is was still in tune the next morning. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? You can get a thin little tone to a thick one. Nice for folks who value dynamics. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stain is the weak point on this guitar. The Darker Blue outline around the top is perfect, I wish it were the color of the entire guitar, because it is a bit too light toward the center. Also, this item is advertised as a "gloss" finish but it is actually "satin". I have several gloss guitars. I do not like the green stained back. I would have preferred the back be stained walnut or black, which would have made this guitar outstanding. That is a missed opportunity. Gibson, hire ME to give you the correct color combo's. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Very good value. The pearl inlay neck, ETune system,the dB jump and the hardshell case make the LP Futura unbeatable in comparison to other USA guitars. This is a great player. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action is very smooth. Someone payed attention to what they were doing. Only the B string needed to be brought up a few octaves.
Best Deal, This Is The One
By: Ramey B from Meridianville, Alabama, USA      Submitted: 2/17/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is the best Les Paul for the money. I played it in the mix this weekend and it just shined through. Real authentic tones. Wow Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Came in perfect condition with no complaints. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This neck is amazing. It just sings. I read rumors of fret buzz and bad Plek jobs but mine came perfect. Not one buzz with perfect intonation. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The tone is everything you could want in a Les Paul. The. They added the coil tap and boost which blows your mind with the amount of sounds you can achieve. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I bought the Inverness Green and the pictures don't do it justice. Really nice in person Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is the best bang for your Les Paul buck Playability How was the action out of the box? I can't believe I'm saying this but the action was perfect. This is the first guitar I've ever gotten that I didn't have to do a set up job on.
Great guitar, great tone!
By: The DeFused from Burlington, NJ.      Submitted: 1/10/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This is a great guitar! Has a great pickup combo, coil taps and 15db boost for solos! Has all the options I could ever ask for. Also Gibson has included a hardshell case with this model(wish they all came with cases... Gibson are you listening?) Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Gibson quality is top notch! Never had any problems with any of the 10 Gibson guitars I own! I have read other reviews of this same model having alot of fret buzz and blah blah blah. Well folks guess what you get what you pay for! Sorry a $1k guitar is not going to feel and play like a $3k guitar so stop crying and just play! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck feels great! 60's slim neck feels like hand heaven! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone as great! BB3 in the bridge gets an A+ in my book. The new sidewinder P90 is nice too! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? $1k guitar feels and plays like a $1k guitar should! The hardshell case was a nice bonus! Playability How was the action out of the box? Grade A action as I do my own set ups anyway!
Loading....