American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Traditional 2013 Electric Guitar with Case  -  GIB LPNTD CMCH1 LIST

By: Rick Fontaine from United States      Submitted: 4/13/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Excellent!
By: Chris Whittington from Valencia, Ca. USA      Submitted: 1/18/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? The look and feel is like a Custom Shop 58 reissue IMO. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? They make them way better now than they use too. Competition from PRS has forced them too. This is the only new Les Paul that I didn't have too overhaul to get it play right, intonation, action etc. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Heavy with a fat neck, that's a Les Paul! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Typical Les Paul sound. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Excellent! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Best priced I've paid for a Gibson. I've bought a few 59's in the past, I was stupid paying that much money! Playability How was the action out of the box? Excellent!
Finish was disappointing... tuning stability issues
By: cingtrd from Cincinnati, OH, United States      Submitted: 12/29/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Great Guitar
By: musicman10_1 from Chandler, AZ      Submitted: 11/28/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I believe that the 2013 Les Paul Traditional is a significant model in the Gibson line. The tone and playability is great and the look of the guitar is fantastic. I waited until the end of year closeout sale and the value is incredible. This is a guitar that will be in my collection for many years to come. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Great build quality. Everything is just right on the guitar - tuning, tone, fretwork, set-up - it is all top notch. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Big fat neck profile fits my hand perfectly. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? No squeals or feedback. The p/u combo is just right for a classic LP tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great finish on the guitar. I bought a light burst and feel that it captures the look classic look of a Les Paul. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great price. I waited until the end of year closeout and so the price was even better. Playability How was the action out of the box? No buzzing, no dead spots, medium-low action is how the guitar came and just about how I would choose to set the action if I had requested it.
Everything i hoped for and more!!
By: Mike from Joliet,Il,US      Submitted: 11/27/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have owned many different guitar's in my 35 yrs of playing.This has to be one of the greatest experiences of buying an instrument that i have ever had!!From the great amount of product that AMS provides all the way to their customer service to the awesome financial options..the Gibson Les Paul Traditional(caramel burst)I received is way beyond expectations!!5 stars across the board!!For Gibson and AMS!!This is how online shopping should be!!These folks have set a precedent ,that all others should follow!!Thank You and will be doing business with these folks again!! Now i'm going to smoke the neck on my new Les Paul!!! Peeeeace :) Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Awesome!!!! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Perfect!!! Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Outstanding!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Stellar!!! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Absolutely!!! Playability How was the action out of the box? Unbelievable!!!
2013 Traditional
By: Jocko from Long Beach Ms USA      Submitted: 8/21/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Not my first Gibson, have owned Gibson's since the 80's. This is not a fanboy best guitar in the world post. Although this guitar has some nice things about it. I find it hard to give a guitar a "5" rating because I am comparing to many guitars in the past that I have either owned or played. Although a "4" is not bad either and better than average. Is there a big enough difference between this guitar and less expensive Les Pauls like a studio; depends on the person who owns the guitar. In this situation this is a mellow sounding instrument compared to my other Studios (05 and Gvt Edition) purchased here at AMS. On to the review..... Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I am real picky about the quality of all of my guitars; so considering the cost of this instrument I am real picky. The finish is very nice and what a LP should be (Cherry Heritage or Gold Top) I purchased a 2012 Gold Top Traditional last year and they are almost identical in build quality. While the difference between the two is the 2013 is a solid guitar its not that much heavier then the Gold Top. The neck has been set up with the Plek system so no dead spots on the fret board. The 2013 has a real dark rosewood fret board and almost is as dark as ebony. No loose bolts, screws and every part functioned as designed Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Comparing this to the 2012 Traditional this guitar has a brighter tone. But it is more than usable playing country, rock metal or even sitting unplugged the guitar has a nice acoustic ring. The way I tell if a guitar has a nice tone is when you play it through a clean amp with no effects. If it sounds good there it will sound good with effects or through a over driven amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love the finish; it screams the color of the later model Gibson's they are copying. Its pretty but not too pretty to bring it to a gig and play the crap out of it. I also really like the darker binding on it vs the white binding on my Custom.
A BEAUTIFUL Guitar
By: John Fischer from Rockwall, TX      Submitted: 8/19/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. I am a professional musician and started out on Gibson's 3 decades ago. Somewhere along the line I switched to strats because I know they are very heavy duty and having to beat a drunken bar patron over the head was no concern for my strats... I decided to treat myself to a dream guitar and I had been checking it out for months and decided to pull the trigger. It arrived 2 days after I placed the order and I did fall hopelessly in love with it at first sight. I gig nearly every weekend and I know this will take some abuse, but I do not care. It instantly became my #1 guitar and will remain so until death does us part. Oh... and by the way... I do not play many bars any more and I seldom see any sort of violence taking place at weddings I play at regularly! Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I am sure it is a well made guitar. I have owned an SG and a "The Paul" in the past. Unfortunately, the SG was stepped on at a frat party I was playing by many crazed female fans and it was destroyed... I think this could withstand that but I will protect it better than I did my SG (RIP)... Of course I have had it 2 days so who really knows... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I have not one bad thing to say about the tone of this guitar. Nothing. It sounded amazing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I ordered the Chicago Blue version. I absolutely melted when I saw the pictures of it online and I knew I had to have it. Unfortunately though, when you unpack the box and see the guitar you will realize it is much darker in reality than these pictures. Under the lights at my gig EVERY ONE thought I had an ebony. I was a bit disappointed about that. It is an absolutely beautiful instrument. My only other concern was the finish on the front where the neck connects was pretty rough. I did not expect that. I was not sure what to expect but I did not expect that. I still love her though and will never part with her.
not as great as I hoped
By: RICHIEO from NJ      Submitted: 8/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




0 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

the One and Only
By: Tony Martinez from Naples,Florida      Submitted: 8/11/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. Great guitar. No flaws and great classic tone. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Finish and action were excellent. I purchased a new Les Paul Standard in the early 90's and I was disappointed. The strings buzzed, there were finish overruns on the body and sanding marks on the fretboard. This guitar is perfect. No finish flaws and the action was great. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone from the 57 pickups is classic. On the bassy side which I love for playing jazz and the bridge pickups are slightly hotter for good breakup. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great paint job with no overruns.
What a great Guitar
By: Dan from Cottleville, Mo.      Submitted: 8/5/2013

Rating


General


Quality




Tone




Finish




1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General Your general opinion of this product. This is my 4th Traditional, and I am thinking the best. I love the Carmel Burst Finish. I have two Honey Burst and a Gold Tone. Sound and Finish are perfect. Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is a Gibson, I would expect nothing less that perfect Quality, and it is.. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It's a Les Paul, the growl from the pickups fit the blues music I play. I run it through a JCM800 in large area and my Bluesbreaker most of the time. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? No blemishes perfect finish and as I said I am liking the Carmel Burst. All my Les Paul's have are Light back and back of Neck. Just so used to it a Dark Back and Red Back, I can't seem to adapt?
best og gibson quality usually nuff said these new burst colors are a whole new level of the best ma
By: Birmingham Blake from B'ham, AL. U.S.A. 35235      Submitted: 12/19/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? made the best way to make electric guitars to this point, set in neck is deep mortise and tenon not just glue, use best style of truss rod inside neck for adjustment, all hardware is top quality have owned many other guitars and though cheaper took hundreds near thousands to make great player from new hardware, new pickups,but still on some couldnt use the design and parts gibson does, buy these there are no upgrades needed, all is da best!!! General Your general opinion of this product. THE BEST, only way to say it, all u have to try is few minutes of playin it!!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? hot p/ups nice bright clean sound from guitar set amps distortion and get any tone you want Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the gibson burst is the most soughtafter look for its tone/sound, and for look/embiance and flat out prescence on ur shoulder like another band member dressed to kill star of the show
Loading....