American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded Electric Guitar with Gig Bag  -  GIB LPST LIST

Nice Axe!
By: NYGroove from USA      Submitted: 6/15/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, made very well. So far so good, I've had Lps for 26yrs and counting. General Your general opinion of this product. It's a well made guitar without the bling. Feels, sounds, looks, and tastes like a Les Paul! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This model has a nice balanced sound. Pickups are are Burstbuckers so you can play any style of music you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The worn finish is nice and neat. No flaws to speak of.
Plays and sounds great!
By: Danny Thompson from Aiken,SC      Submitted: 6/8/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes. General Your general opinion of this product. a nice les paul for the price.sounds better than my fender strat! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? ac/dc to country the sound is perfect.and notes last forever. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? nice finish,but wish the faded brown was a little lighter.wish I had ordered the blue.
Review From A Country Picker In Pittsburgh
By: M.C. McCall from Pittsburgh, PA USA      Submitted: 6/2/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!! What more can I say???? Also, 12 Payment Plan was a great "deal"!!!! Couldn't pass it up!!!! General Your general opinion of this product. A REAL BARGAIN FOR THE $$$ INVESTED!!!! A GIBSON USA FOR UNDER A GRAND!!!! Really compliments my Strats, Teles & Epis!!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Burstbucker Pros are really "hot"!!!! I LOVE THEM!!!! Tone depends on what amp I'm playing through of course....Different sounds from my Marshall, Crate or Rogue!!!! Also sounds great through my Digitech pedal!!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really like the "faded" stain....Mine is more a dark cherry/maroon than a cherry finish....Also the like the "grainy" wood....It's something "different"....A real conversation piece!!!!
Review From A Country Picker In Pittsburgh
By: Mark (M.C.) McCall from Pittsburgh, PA USA      Submitted: 6/1/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? HEY!!!! IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!! What else can I say???? General Your general opinion of this product. Very high quality for the price!!!! UNDER A GRAND!!!! Has the features you want in a genuine Gibson Les Paul without the hefty pricetag!!!! Also comes with a heavily padded Gibson USA gig bag!!!! Really don't think I'll have to invest in a case....(Unless I go "on the road again", like Willie Nelson!!!!).... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups are typical Gibson Burstbuckers....Tone is what I expected....Tone also depends on what type of amp you run it through....Various sounds with my Marshall & Crate amps & Digitech pedal!!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is more maroon than cherry....Actually like this color better!!!! Also like the grain of the wood....A few minor scratches on the pickguard....Easily removed them with auto polishing compound & a soft cloth....One very minor "dent" in the neck, however, I can tolerate that!!!! HEY, IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!!
Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded
By: Dee from Athens, IL USA      Submitted: 5/30/2012

Overall Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? No doubt Gibson guitars are built well. I will give this a 5 stars. General Your general opinion of this product. I like the overall rounded body and the neck. The frets have no buzzing sound. I will credit how the guitar was set up here. The string height is perfect. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is where the Gibson separates itself from other guitars. Pickups on this guitar is bright, excellent for blues picking. Sparkly clean when playing this guitar on clean channel. I'm using a mesa boogie so, I will need to change the bridge pickup to reduce the hum or just throw in a noise gate in front of it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the fact that I can still see the wood grain after they've applied the stain on this guitar. It's attractive that way for me.
Great guitar for the cost
By: jerry from new hapshire      Submitted: 5/5/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
The Susan Boyle of electric guitars
By: Keith Carreira from Norfolk, VA      Submitted: 2/23/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I watched the factory tour video on YouTube and was impressed with the factory's quality control. The fit and finish are what I would have suspected. I can't speak to the dependability issue since I've only had it for less than 24 hours, but Gibson has had a great reputation for a very long time. General Your general opinion of this product. Les Paul's were always out of my price range, until now. I read the reviews and watched the YouTube videos before ordering my worn brown Studio with my fingers crossed. It arrived yesterday and I nearly packed it up and sent it back. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I was bonding with this guitar unplugged while watching TV last night and noticed how the whole body resonates when you pick a note or strum a chord. It's no wonder the sustain is so good. I found I could tweak just about any tone I can imagine with these pickups and controls. This is a great guitar at any price. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is why I almost sent it back. The stain on the front of the body is blotchy. I think it's probably the way the maple took the stain rather than the quality of the stain job and finish. The baked maple fretboard, sides, and back are beautiful though much darker than the pictures I've seen. The satin nitro finish is very smooth. The inlays look terrific. The chrome is perfect. Headstock/tuners very nice. I still give this guitar a 5 despite the blotchy maple top.
As expected..great player...finish is as marketed...but could be better
By: Jim Florida from Southwest Florida      Submitted: 2/19/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Could have been done up a bit better. For maybe another $100...they could have shined up the top. They could have put some better tuners on it. Pickups sound great. But the back of the neck and back of the guitar has mahogany that isn't sanded fully, it is pitted from the grain. The gig bag is of good quality. For the price, a case probably wasn't possible. Just a TAD more finishing would be nice but again, the price is the deal there. General Your general opinion of this product. Pickups great, neck good, but the back of the neck and the finishing on the outside of the rosewood fretboard (where the binding would normally be) has dents and is poorly finished. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone is les paul through and through. maple top combined with mahogany back...timeless combination..timeless tone. clean tone is typical Paul, neck position is strong, bridge pickup position brighter and better for overdrive. neck position is better for toneful and soulful leads. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? at this price, corners have to be cut, FOR SURE> but..you are getting great package. i just WISH they could have sanded the back of the neck and body to being completely smooth without any grain
It's Still a Gibson
By: The Duke from USA      Submitted: 1/3/2012

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? it said it had a baked maple fingerboard but Mine has a rosewood also mine came in a case not a gig bag its very well built though General Your general opinion of this product. was kind of concerened on quality because of price but once i got it it proved my doubts wrong Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the worn cherry and it is darker then the picture and looks great
buy it
By: tminc from the great state of Texas (now that rick perry has left!), tommyminner@hotmail.com      Submitted: 12/4/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes General Your general opinion of this product. gibson quality at an affordable price,it's tony tiger stuff! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? killer,especially out of my 112 peavey Finish How did the stain or paint job look? cool
Glad I waited to reiview
By: Bluesman Sammy Guy from Lehigh Valley, Pa      Submitted: 11/25/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? If I reviewd this a day or two after I purchased, I would have panned it. Would not stay in tune, action was high and neck got a slight bend in it. I toyed with the idea of returning it, but decided to wait a few days and see if I could tweek it into playability. I changed the crappy strings, and lowered the action. I adjusted the truss rod and cleaned up the nut (sharp edges, and 'pinging' when trying to tune. Re-did the intonation, and put it back together, and PRESTO! A perfect Les Paul I bought it new on sale for $629.00, and after a day of working on it, I am very pleased. General Your general opinion of this product. Fantastic, after some tweeking. I was going to return it because it was definitely below the expectations of Gibson, and I own plenty of them. 45 years of playing experience, and I was disappointed with this one right out of the box. However, I couldn't leave it alone, so I sat down and went over this piece from top to bottom, adjusted the action, intonation and truss rod, filed the frets and nut, changed the strings, and rubbed down the finish to remove the rough spots. Not really as bad as I make it sound, but not the quality I expected from Gibson. But after a few hours of work, it is a really cool guitar for the price. It's a keeper for sure. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups were spot on, and everything I wanted from a Les Paul Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really cool looking brown stain flat finish. I polished it by hand and removed some of the slight rough spots, and finish is looking good. I was not sure I would like an all brown, flat finish, but it kinda grew on me over the weeks. I like it.
Authentic Gibson Les Paul
By: TarHeelKid from Gibsonville, NC USA      Submitted: 8/16/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is very well built and they are known to last a lifetime or more if cared for properly. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a perfect fit for someone who knows Gibson's quality is unmatched, but doesn't want to spend $2000+ for a Les Paul. Epiphones are simply no match for the real thing, sorry!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The neck pickup can go from smooth to howling and the bridge pickup is right in your face and cuts like crazy, very high quality pickups for a guitar less than $1000. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the satin finish better than the gloss myself, and it just so happens to be $500 cheaper than the ones with the shiny paint job.
Great Guitar
By: WarriorClass III from Katy, TX, USA      Submitted: 8/12/2011

Overall Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a well made guitar. The finish was actually better than I expected, and not a blemish on it. It is a solid guitar, but not too heavy like the Standard and Custom models. Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? one word Gibson General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great little guitar for the money; no it's not the Les Paul Custom I wanted, but it is very affordable, easy to play and Gibson Les Paul quality. It came in its factory sealed box, and was even tuned when I opened it up and played it. Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar plays nice finish was nice cant beat it for the money. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is out of this world from bright to thick its got it all. The pick ups can get dirty and give you plenty on the heavier stuff and are nice and mellow sounding for the clean stuff Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone can really be what ever you want it to be if you have the right amp. I am using a little 30 watt Marshall with one 10" speaker and the sound is really great. It can get very bright or you can tone it down and get a very warm and plesant tone as well. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Wayyyyyy better than it looks in the pic. this was the only thing I was worried abut when I bought this guitar but once I got it it was awesome I love it. How did the stain or paint job look? This is the cheapest Les Paul out there, so no it doesn't have the Custom finish, but it was actually better than I expected, and it is a good looking guitar.
Loading....