American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded Electric Guitar with Gig Bag  -  GIB LPST LIST

Nice Axe!
By: NYGroove from USA      Submitted: 6/15/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes, made very well. So far so good, I've had Lps for 26yrs and counting. General Your general opinion of this product. It's a well made guitar without the bling. Feels, sounds, looks, and tastes like a Les Paul! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This model has a nice balanced sound. Pickups are are Burstbuckers so you can play any style of music you want. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The worn finish is nice and neat. No flaws to speak of.
Plays and sounds great!
By: Danny Thompson from Aiken,SC      Submitted: 6/8/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes. General Your general opinion of this product. a nice les paul for the price.sounds better than my fender strat! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? ac/dc to country the sound is perfect.and notes last forever. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? nice finish,but wish the faded brown was a little lighter.wish I had ordered the blue.
Review From A Country Picker In Pittsburgh
By: M.C. McCall from Pittsburgh, PA USA      Submitted: 6/2/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!! What more can I say???? Also, 12 Payment Plan was a great "deal"!!!! Couldn't pass it up!!!! General Your general opinion of this product. A REAL BARGAIN FOR THE $$$ INVESTED!!!! A GIBSON USA FOR UNDER A GRAND!!!! Really compliments my Strats, Teles & Epis!!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Burstbucker Pros are really "hot"!!!! I LOVE THEM!!!! Tone depends on what amp I'm playing through of course....Different sounds from my Marshall, Crate or Rogue!!!! Also sounds great through my Digitech pedal!!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really like the "faded" stain....Mine is more a dark cherry/maroon than a cherry finish....Also the like the "grainy" wood....It's something "different"....A real conversation piece!!!!
Review From A Country Picker In Pittsburgh
By: Mark (M.C.) McCall from Pittsburgh, PA USA      Submitted: 6/1/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? HEY!!!! IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!! What else can I say???? General Your general opinion of this product. Very high quality for the price!!!! UNDER A GRAND!!!! Has the features you want in a genuine Gibson Les Paul without the hefty pricetag!!!! Also comes with a heavily padded Gibson USA gig bag!!!! Really don't think I'll have to invest in a case....(Unless I go "on the road again", like Willie Nelson!!!!).... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups are typical Gibson Burstbuckers....Tone is what I expected....Tone also depends on what type of amp you run it through....Various sounds with my Marshall & Crate amps & Digitech pedal!!!! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Mine is more maroon than cherry....Actually like this color better!!!! Also like the grain of the wood....A few minor scratches on the pickguard....Easily removed them with auto polishing compound & a soft cloth....One very minor "dent" in the neck, however, I can tolerate that!!!! HEY, IT'S A GIBSON USA!!!!
Gibson Les Paul Studio Faded
By: Dee from Athens, IL USA      Submitted: 5/30/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? No doubt Gibson guitars are built well. I will give this a 5 stars. General Your general opinion of this product. I like the overall rounded body and the neck. The frets have no buzzing sound. I will credit how the guitar was set up here. The string height is perfect. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? This is where the Gibson separates itself from other guitars. Pickups on this guitar is bright, excellent for blues picking. Sparkly clean when playing this guitar on clean channel. I'm using a mesa boogie so, I will need to change the bridge pickup to reduce the hum or just throw in a noise gate in front of it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the fact that I can still see the wood grain after they've applied the stain on this guitar. It's attractive that way for me.
Great guitar for the cost
By: jerry from new hapshire      Submitted: 5/5/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
The Susan Boyle of electric guitars
By: Keith Carreira from Norfolk, VA      Submitted: 2/23/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I watched the factory tour video on YouTube and was impressed with the factory's quality control. The fit and finish are what I would have suspected. I can't speak to the dependability issue since I've only had it for less than 24 hours, but Gibson has had a great reputation for a very long time. General Your general opinion of this product. Les Paul's were always out of my price range, until now. I read the reviews and watched the YouTube videos before ordering my worn brown Studio with my fingers crossed. It arrived yesterday and I nearly packed it up and sent it back. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I was bonding with this guitar unplugged while watching TV last night and noticed how the whole body resonates when you pick a note or strum a chord. It's no wonder the sustain is so good. I found I could tweak just about any tone I can imagine with these pickups and controls. This is a great guitar at any price. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? This is why I almost sent it back. The stain on the front of the body is blotchy. I think it's probably the way the maple took the stain rather than the quality of the stain job and finish. The baked maple fretboard, sides, and back are beautiful though much darker than the pictures I've seen. The satin nitro finish is very smooth. The inlays look terrific. The chrome is perfect. Headstock/tuners very nice. I still give this guitar a 5 despite the blotchy maple top.
As expected..great player...finish is as marketed...but could be better
By: Jim Florida from Southwest Florida      Submitted: 2/19/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Could have been done up a bit better. For maybe another $100...they could have shined up the top. They could have put some better tuners on it. Pickups sound great. But the back of the neck and back of the guitar has mahogany that isn't sanded fully, it is pitted from the grain. The gig bag is of good quality. For the price, a case probably wasn't possible. Just a TAD more finishing would be nice but again, the price is the deal there. General Your general opinion of this product. Pickups great, neck good, but the back of the neck and the finishing on the outside of the rosewood fretboard (where the binding would normally be) has dents and is poorly finished. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone is les paul through and through. maple top combined with mahogany back...timeless combination..timeless tone. clean tone is typical Paul, neck position is strong, bridge pickup position brighter and better for overdrive. neck position is better for toneful and soulful leads. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? at this price, corners have to be cut, FOR SURE> but..you are getting great package. i just WISH they could have sanded the back of the neck and body to being completely smooth without any grain
It's Still a Gibson
By: The Duke from USA      Submitted: 1/3/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? it said it had a baked maple fingerboard but Mine has a rosewood also mine came in a case not a gig bag its very well built though General Your general opinion of this product. was kind of concerened on quality because of price but once i got it it proved my doubts wrong Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the worn cherry and it is darker then the picture and looks great
buy it
By: tminc from the great state of Texas (now that rick perry has left!), tommyminner@hotmail.com      Submitted: 12/4/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes General Your general opinion of this product. gibson quality at an affordable price,it's tony tiger stuff! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? killer,especially out of my 112 peavey Finish How did the stain or paint job look? cool
Glad I waited to reiview
By: Bluesman Sammy Guy from Lehigh Valley, Pa      Submitted: 11/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? If I reviewd this a day or two after I purchased, I would have panned it. Would not stay in tune, action was high and neck got a slight bend in it. I toyed with the idea of returning it, but decided to wait a few days and see if I could tweek it into playability. I changed the crappy strings, and lowered the action. I adjusted the truss rod and cleaned up the nut (sharp edges, and 'pinging' when trying to tune. Re-did the intonation, and put it back together, and PRESTO! A perfect Les Paul I bought it new on sale for $629.00, and after a day of working on it, I am very pleased. General Your general opinion of this product. Fantastic, after some tweeking. I was going to return it because it was definitely below the expectations of Gibson, and I own plenty of them. 45 years of playing experience, and I was disappointed with this one right out of the box. However, I couldn't leave it alone, so I sat down and went over this piece from top to bottom, adjusted the action, intonation and truss rod, filed the frets and nut, changed the strings, and rubbed down the finish to remove the rough spots. Not really as bad as I make it sound, but not the quality I expected from Gibson. But after a few hours of work, it is a really cool guitar for the price. It's a keeper for sure. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups were spot on, and everything I wanted from a Les Paul Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Really cool looking brown stain flat finish. I polished it by hand and removed some of the slight rough spots, and finish is looking good. I was not sure I would like an all brown, flat finish, but it kinda grew on me over the weeks. I like it.
Authentic Gibson Les Paul
By: TarHeelKid from Gibsonville, NC USA      Submitted: 8/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This guitar is very well built and they are known to last a lifetime or more if cared for properly. General Your general opinion of this product. This is a perfect fit for someone who knows Gibson's quality is unmatched, but doesn't want to spend $2000+ for a Les Paul. Epiphones are simply no match for the real thing, sorry!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The neck pickup can go from smooth to howling and the bridge pickup is right in your face and cuts like crazy, very high quality pickups for a guitar less than $1000. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the satin finish better than the gloss myself, and it just so happens to be $500 cheaper than the ones with the shiny paint job.
Great Guitar
By: WarriorClass III from Katy, TX, USA      Submitted: 8/12/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is a well made guitar. The finish was actually better than I expected, and not a blemish on it. It is a solid guitar, but not too heavy like the Standard and Custom models. Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? one word Gibson General Your general opinion of this product. This is a great little guitar for the money; no it's not the Les Paul Custom I wanted, but it is very affordable, easy to play and Gibson Les Paul quality. It came in its factory sealed box, and was even tuned when I opened it up and played it. Your general opinion of this product. Very nice guitar plays nice finish was nice cant beat it for the money. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone is out of this world from bright to thick its got it all. The pick ups can get dirty and give you plenty on the heavier stuff and are nice and mellow sounding for the clean stuff Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The tone can really be what ever you want it to be if you have the right amp. I am using a little 30 watt Marshall with one 10" speaker and the sound is really great. It can get very bright or you can tone it down and get a very warm and plesant tone as well. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Wayyyyyy better than it looks in the pic. this was the only thing I was worried abut when I bought this guitar but once I got it it was awesome I love it. How did the stain or paint job look? This is the cheapest Les Paul out there, so no it doesn't have the Custom finish, but it was actually better than I expected, and it is a good looking guitar.
Good Workingman's Gibson
By: VersatilityIsKing from Lancaster, PA, anonmyous44122      Submitted: 7/28/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well built and stable. General Your general opinion of this product. A solid instrument, good for lots of musical styles, though it leans towards overdriven rock. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups are a little hot for my taste, so I put in 57 Classics and Classic Plus. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish looked amazing... I love the understated look.
A Real LP - Better Than Cheaper Alternatives
By: M. Burgh from Fort Smith, AR USA      Submitted: 7/18/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Flawless - no marks or stains. The electronics function smoothly. General Your general opinion of this product. Heavier than I expected - I'm used to Strats- but I love this instrument. The sound is rich, raunchy, and everything I wanted when I bought the guitar. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Any tone you like. Depends on the amps and pickups mostly. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love this finish - sure I'd've loved a Black Beauty, but the price is so right that I don't care. Smooth, well shaped. No problems.
Best deal ever on a Gibson
By: Pat from Pittsburgh, pjtxxx@msn.com      Submitted: 6/30/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Built like a tank. Years of service with this one General Your general opinion of this product. This is Gibsons best values in guitars. The sound is pure Gibson Les Paul. It plays great, sounds awesome and built to take a beating. Worth every penny. It will be a sad day if Gibson ever discontinues this model. It's the perfect working mans Les Paul. No bells and whistles, just all the Les Paul tone you'll ever need!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Super versatile, from mellow to crunch and everything in between. A classic rock machine Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is a beautiful smooth satin that really shows off the gorgeous mahogany woodgrain
My first Les Paul
By: Dr. Mortis from Fountain Valley, CA, USA      Submitted: 6/29/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? solid! the Gibson quality shows! General Your general opinion of this product. I bought this to replace a 30+ year old es335 I have had since '85. I already liked the modest appearance of this guitar from the photos I had seen online. When I pulled her out of the box, I wasn't disappointed. Liked it even better. Once I plugged her in and played her for the first time, I was in love. My favorite guitar that I own (i have a couple gibson, 2 fenders, a guild, a kay and a couple others) is my es335.... But, this guitar is my favorite to play. In fact, this is one of the nicest playing guitars i have ever had in my hands. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tone, in my opinion, is fantastic. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I love the unpretentious look of this guitar.
Packs a PUNCH!
By: Jeffrey A. from Charlotte, NC, anonmyous44090      Submitted: 6/24/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I've always liked Gibson products and know they've taken a licking on a number of fronts. But for $800 bucks, this guitar is a gem. I'm really thrilled that the electronics and component parts are as you'd find on much more expensive models of theirs. General Your general opinion of this product. Great value for the money. The guitar ROARS from a rig that usually accommodates my Gibson Explorer or my Fender American Deluxe Strat. TOTALLY different feel, sound, exeperience than those two guitars. I am THRILLED with this guitar so far! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Punch. Power. Drive. Versatile with a clean amp and all my pedals. A completely different sound than what is currently in my arsenal. I'm thrilled with its voice! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not a huge fan of the finish... it just seems a bit 'synthetic' for lack of a better word. The color is nice, but the texture will take a bit of getting used to. I understand going to the next level of Studio (gloss) is several hundred dollars more, and I settled.
Best for the Money and an Awesome Value!!!!
By: Buster Lee from Shreveport, LA - UNITED STATES of AMERICA      Submitted: 6/16/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent quality, all the way around - a very well made instrument. General Your general opinion of this product. Very good guitar - very high quality. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The chambered mahogany body, combined with the maple cap and Burstbucker Pros are an awesome combination. I can get most any clean-to-vintage tone that I want, by adjusting the guitar, or amp controls. I'd imagine someone with more experience than I have, could do even better. For the bluesy and classic rock, that I enjoy playing, it's ideal. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Beautiful - much better than photos.
Great For The Money
By: Ron M. from Salem Ohio USA, atl614@gmail.com      Submitted: 6/13/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Oh yes well made all around General Your general opinion of this product. I got the brown im very happy with the quality . The neck is perfect . Finish i like . Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups bright and smooth . Easily adjust to your tone preference Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The stain like finish is good .
Dont spend $5000 for the studio LP
By: Jack Haze from Atlanta, GA      Submitted: 6/12/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes its solid and should last for years. General Your general opinion of this product. Its a great value to me, I'm using mine in my home studio with a mounted Roland synth pickup,I wanted a quality guitar to use with my GR55. This works great for the synth and a great sounding LP with the burstbuckers.. win win Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? These pickups sound hot to me.. and thick to mellowish.. nothing thin about these pickups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I'm not a fan of these faded finishes.. but for $799 I can't complain..
Too good to be true
By: Steve from Holloman AFB, NM      Submitted: 6/9/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It was made great. General Your general opinion of this product. I just got mine in the mail earlier this week. I was completely blown away by it. It makes me never want to play another guitar again! Gibson has a reputation for a reason. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless, but I wish this guitar would come in a few other colors...I went with the faded cherry and I like it. Still, it would have been nice to have more of a selection to choose from.
Novice Players Opinion (For what its worth)
By: Daniel from Boise, ID, scubadog35@yahoo.com      Submitted: 6/6/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Top shelf! Finish and harware is perfect. Im not a fan of the look of the tuning machines. They look cheap but work great. General Your general opinion of this product. Ive only been playing for a few years ands recently bought this guitar. I love it! I own a low end Srat, Schecter Omen 6 and a Washburn and I found the LP to be very smooth to play. By far out classes anything else that Ive played. I love the growl of the LP. Im using a Marshall Haze 40 and it sounds amazing and my catalog is limited. (Again, a novice player.) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Clean, overdrive, doesnt matter. I love it. Growl! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I think its beautiful! I dont really like the flashy stuff, I just want something that sounds great and this is it. However, everyone that has seen my LP and played it always comment on how pretty she is.
bought it blind on these reviews only
By: rob from abilene texas      Submitted: 6/6/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? yes it's an american gibson General Your general opinion of this product. this i the sweetest gritar i've ever owned. i love it. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? love the way it sounds. will probably sound better when i get a new amp. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the photo does it no justice. i got the brown one and it looks great.
Great Guitar, Great Price!!
By: Cory from Waterloo, IA      Submitted: 5/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? American made! Need I add more? General Your general opinion of this product. Have nothing bad to say. Guitar is flawless. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Classic Les Paul sound. Love It! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Almost like the worn finish better than the painted finish.
Mine is perfect (almost)
By: Greg from Citrus Heights, CA      Submitted: 5/9/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gibson advertises this as a Les Paul without all the (eye-candy) frill. If thats true I think the frets could have been dressed a little better. Also, I'm not a fan of the pick guard. Cheap and thin. I wish it came uninstalled and gave you the option of installing it because now I have two holes in the body where I removed the mounting screws. General Your general opinion of this product. I had never owned a new guitar. I always bought used gear. When I opened the Gibson box it was pure joy! The guitar even had the "new smell" like when you buy a new car! I looked it over very carefully looking for cracks, chips, etc. None found. I also looked closely at the Mahogany back of the guitar for the glue line. I couldn't find it. The gigbag was damaged - the zipper wouldn't work. You'd have to unstitch the gigbag about 5 inches to get to where you could fix the zipper. AMS said keep it and they will send me a non-Gibson gigbag. It was here in two days. I would have preferred Gibson to include a hard shell case. But I guess not for $800! I plugged it into my Mesa Boogie Lone Star amp and was really surprised at the clean tone of this guitar. Very nice! But this thing really shines with some overdrive added It sustains forever! I got the Worn Brown and it's beautiful. It is a MUCH darker brown than any photo you'll see online. Surprised it didn't come with a Gibson polishing Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pick ups are perfect. Not too hot and also not muddy. I usually don't use the bridge pickups on my other guitars because they are too hot for the sound I want. The bridge pickup on this LP Studio sounds great. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the finish on mine. And, I'm happy witht he wood grain. The maple cap and mahogany back have nice grain and very hard to find the glue lines. The finish around where the neck meets the body could have used one more coat. Seems a little sparse on the end grain of the body.
A Great Les Paul
By: Ryan from Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canaada      Submitted: 5/1/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar is US made and seems to be really well made. There were no flaws in the fit or finish. The nitro cellulose finish is really smooth. General Your general opinion of this product. All Les Paul for less money than the traditional Studio. Forget that this guitar only comes with a gig bag and costs less, it sounds and plays exactly the same. The finish on the maple top is amazing (pictures do not do it justice), the neck is like butter and it rocks out! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? With the 2 Burstbucker Pros and dual volume/control knobs you can get just about any variety of tones you want with the exception of a Strat single coil tone. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish really highlights the wood grains in the maple top and the neck is super smooth. I can't keep my eyes off of it and all of my friends keep commenting on how sick it looks.
It's Still a Les Paul!
By: Pro From Dover from New Jersey      Submitted: 4/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? This is the real beauty: Although it’s no-frills in terms of looks, etc., it’s still well-made by any standard – and US-Made! Greatest testament, though, is from my luthier, who had been skeptical of the Gibson Plek process, but is now a believer because of the high-quality the frets and fingerboard had leaving the Gibson factory. Just needed to have the action (and then intonation) set to my preference. General Your general opinion of this product. It may not be as sexy as an LP with a bound body or gloss finish, but it is a Les Paul through and through. Very pleased with looks, feel, sound overall quality. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? It sounds as expected from a LP. Burstbucker Pro's are a little hot but not overly so. Produces very rich sounds. Tone and volume knobs allow dialing in a great mix when using the center pickup selector position. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The satin finish was surprisingly better than anticipated. Looks classy actually.
My favorite axe in the house!!!
By: Greg Cheatham from Phenix City, AL USA      Submitted: 4/20/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gibson, the name says it all... Great worksmanship and a steal for $799.00... General Your general opinion of this product. Gibson has done it again. This is a beast!!!! The tone is amazing. Since I got this guitar, all of my other axes have been collecting dust. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups are Hot!!! This guitar has achieved every tone I have tweeked out of it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The pictures on this website do not do this guitar justice. I got the worn cherry and it is awesome.
WELL worth the money!
By: Marc C. Daniele from Herculaneum, Mo. USA, anonmyous44097      Submitted: 4/19/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? No "frills", but who needs them, or the BIG price tag, when the guitar plays/sounds as good as this one does! General Your general opinion of this product. I could not be happier with this guitar! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I can get almost any tone I want. It can be hard to consistantly get the "thin" sound, but to get that you would need single coils or a coil tap. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? For a "basic" color/finish "Faded Cherry", which I have, it looked/looks great. I still get good comments about it. Mine does look darker than what is pictured here though.
Loading....