American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Studio 2014 Electric Guitar with Gig Bag  -  GIB LPST14 LIST

I could not let 120th Anniversary go by without one
By: MrYeats from CRP TX USA      Submitted: 7/22/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? For the money invested, this is a fine guitar. I did not expect a $3000 Les Paul, nor did I get one, but I did get a great $1100 guitar. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The quality of craftsmanship is on par with what one will expect from Gibson USA, save for the finish which is adequate for this price range, but the polish is not there. Then again , this is not the gloss lacquer on more expensive guitars, but it could have been polished better. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This is the lightest of the 7 Les Pauls that I have owned and that plays into ease of handling, though I am a big fellow and the heavier ones never bothered me. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? 490 T & R pickups combined with the lightened body give this an almost SG sound which is not a bad thing. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Again I refer to the paint as adequate but the polish could have been better. This is not a sloppy job at all, but rather nice , save for the final buffing, strictly a matter of taste. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I got more for the price than I had assumed while shopping for a 120th Anniversary Gibson. I feel like I did not pick the guitar because it was the least expensive, but saw it as a great value. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action out of the box could not possibly suit my taste 100% as I did not set it up, though it is very nice and well intonated.
Love it well worth the money
By: Matt from Martin ky      Submitted: 7/8/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I love it great playing has a great feel but the only problem is every little ding chips the paint to the wood i took the pick guard off it looks great Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Its sounds great the traditional gibson sound Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? 60s neck is great lets you fly around the fingerboard Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? kind of dark and thick Finish How did the stain or paint job look? great i have the dessert burst but it chips very easy Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Yes i love it well worth the money stands up to the gibson name Playability How was the action out of the box? Great haven't changed a thing it plays amazing
WOW...finally the sound that Les Paul is famous for......
By: Trevor from Rock and Roll Central Cleveland      Submitted: 6/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Awesome Les Paul 1. Thin Nitro finish so the guitar really breathes and resonates 2. Sustain is better than any PaulI have had in the past (4 to be exact) 3.Love the PU's because they balance warmth with definition 4. Neck is set up and fast Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Perfect out of the box Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Fast neck coil tap ..sweet big tone and volume knobs...nice Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? REAL Les Paul tone like you hear on Zep or Cream but modern like Dave Grohl.. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like it satin...the guitar reonates and the sustain is unparalleled Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? The price point is perfect...Gibson focused all their effort on tone with no frills Tone...tone...tone Playability How was the action out of the box? Perfect set up no dead frets...fast low action without damping out
Awesome Sound and Playability,Crappy finish
By: Spider from USA      Submitted: 6/12/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I have several Gibson and Epiphone guitars Out of the many I have had this is the best sounding and was set up out of the box. I have never bought a guitar online that had this good of a set up. Usually they require a neck and bridge adjustment. The tone of this guitar is incredible, it has a page quality you seldom hear in a LP these days.Even though the finish was full of dirt and NOT gloss but completely flat I wouldn't part with this guitar. I love it but it should have been closer to the $900.00 range to me. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The frets are excellent as was the playability. The tone is fantastic. The finish was full of dirt and poorly executed. The fretboard was dry as dust and desperately needed lemon oil. The plastic is ugly I replaced it with creme plastic and gold speed knobs (beware the split shafts break easily). Hardware is first rate,I love the kluson tuners.The guitar should be gloss and the fretboard treated for this price.The pro Model doesn't have these pickups and thats why i purchased this one. Although the finish was terrible, the sound and playability of this guitar were so good i would never have considered returning it. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Actually much heavier than expected as it is chambered. It is much heavier than my other studio, perhaps the maple neck has something to do with it, very well balanced when hanging. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The most Les Paulish of any LP I have . AWESOME TONE Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Complete garbage Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Shoukd have had a better finish and treated fretboard for the money. About $200.00 overpriced in my view. Playability How was the action out of the box? Incredibly well set up. Couldn't have been more pleased
Great Guitar and also a Les Paul for a great price !!
By: Rafael Lugo from Miami, Florida, USA      Submitted: 6/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Absolute Improvement many times over
By: Darryl Gay from LaGrange, GA USA      Submitted: 5/16/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

Very nice!
By: jt burke from Marion, OH      Submitted: 4/17/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Overall, this is an excellent value. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Build quality is first rate. No construction or finish flaws that I can see. The fret ends could use a LITTLE final dressing to smooth them out, but they're not at all sharp or painful. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Love the 60's slim profile neck and the modern weight relief is totally comfortable without the loose, flabby sound of the chambered LPs. Set-up out of the box is very nice. Again, the only minor thing I could quibble about is the fret ends could use a little extra smoothing, but it's not a big deal. The fret ends are the only reason I gave feel 4 out of 5 stars. My base model American Fenders have perfectly dressed fret ends. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The stock 490 pups are quite bright, but full of upper harmonic detail and complexity. They nicely bridge the gap between singles and buckers. Of course, you also have coil taps on both for ever more of a single coil sound. If you use darker pedals/amps, these pups will smoke. I will likely switch them out for a warmer PAF model of similar vintage output. This is the only reason I gave sound 4 out of 5 stars. Frankly though, the stock pups are totally fine if they suit you. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish job is perfect. Love the satin on the back of the neck, which feels much better than high gloss. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? I plan to buy another one. These are priced in-line with Fender's base model Americans. I do wish the Gibson LP cases were priced as low as Fender's. I bought a generic LP hard shell that fit's this guitar perfectly. Playability How was the action out of the box? Set-up and action were excellent for me out of the box. I may fine tune it as time goes on.
Waited an extra month and Quality Control STILL blew it when they passed my Manhattan Midnight.
By: JOHN P      Submitted: 4/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Arrived with couple of flaws I CANNOT live with. No excuse for letting mine get shipped. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality of Quality Control is Questionable. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Disappointing, Waited an extra month for delivery, Love the blue but ... visible joint / seam line, where neck joins the body at the cutaway. Shouldn't have gotten past Q.C. Possible humidity / other problem waiting to happen. Hope they help me remedy this problem.
Great 1st Guitar
By: Bob      Submitted: 3/12/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

WooHoo
By: Ripprock from Wilmington,DE USA      Submitted: 3/6/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? This axe is amazing. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? I play all genres of music and it can hit on all with the know how. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Neck was a little chunky but just enough to do things that you would want to do on a LP. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Tone covers all spectrums surprisingly well. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Because I am spoiled from buying nothing but shiney axes thru the ages (5 decades)looked strange to me at first. Then everyone else loved the finish and preferred the finish. After taking it out of the case for a week it does look good compared to all the other 19 shiney axes around here. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Yes. Not much comparison specially when throwing the 490s in the mix. Playability How was the action out of the box? Good but will go to my Gibson blessed tech anyway. He puts mojo in my axes. Thanks Nick
Unmatched Quality
By: Rudy from Bedford, TX      Submitted: 2/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? The quality of this guitar--the feel, the finish, the playability-is most definitely unmatched by other Les Paul copies. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The most prominent feature of this its versatility; this guitar, in my opinion, can accommodate most music genres such as rock, blues, country, jazz, and classical...yes, even classical! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? The 60's profile neck is very comfortable, which makes fast picking very feasible. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The 490's produce a nice warm, thick sound; however, the coil tap gives the player tone versatility. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is flawless and masterful; sheer perfection. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This guitar is worth more than what it is sold for. If you've never owned a Gibson brand guitar, get one soon. When you hold it in your hands you can see and feel nothing but quality in the sight, sound, and feel. Playability How was the action out of the box? The action right out of the box was perfect; no adjustments whatsoever are needed.
Sick Gibson!
By: trevor from United States      Submitted: 2/14/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? Outstanding Guitar! I have a few Gibson's And this one just might by my Favorite. The pups are JUST outstanding, I'm used to 57 classics, and love the 57's , but these things scream! They are so diverse,from crunchy nasty metal,to great blues tones. Just awesome. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Quality is just what you expect from Gibson Top notch! I have the Ebony Vintage gloss, and the thing is gorgeous. I love that you can see the wood grain through the ebony.Just beautiful Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Mine weighs in at jsut over 8.5 lbs (WHich i like, i love a heavy Gibson *I have a traditional that weighs 12lbs* So this is nice being a lil on the heavier side for a chambered guitar.Neck is like butter! Controls are perfect. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Yes to all of the above! But my fav tone so far is how dark and smooth they can get, jsut a real cool atmosphere that can be created. i love this thing Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Sick! Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Great price for an outstanding guitar.I love my traditional, but this is 15oo cheaper, and I might be playing this one more. Don't get me wrong, the traditional is an amazing guitar, but something about this studio...theres a special mojo to it...the thing has a very deep soul... Playability How was the action out of the box? Needed a quick tuning, But other than that, perfect!
The best bang for the buck, and everything I wanted.
By: Donnie Anderson from Marysville, Ca., U.S.A.      Submitted: 1/21/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

First Les Paul, not dissapointed
By: Marshall      Submitted: 1/4/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

Awesome guitar for the money. Best $1,000 guitar out there.
By: Todd Antonowicz from Meriden, Connecticut USA, daddy2lexi1965@gmail.com      Submitted: 1/3/2014

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I procrastinated buying a new guitar for well over the last year. I had been looking at mainly Epiphone's due to the price of them. Until Gibson came out with this 2014 model Studio Les Paul. For $1,000 you can't buy a better guitar! It's finished nicely, has great pick ups, and even has a pick guard and REAL rosewood fretboard again, not that baked maple crap they were using the last few years. Gibson really stepped it up a notch with this model. The only difference between this Studio and a Standard is the absence of body and neck binding, really. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? The finish is flawless. Very good craftsmanship. I am extremely happy with my Studio. The only thing I didn't like was the color of the tan plastics on the guitar. I bought the desert burst. (toggle ring, pick up trim, pick guard) so I purchased all black replacements from Gibson for around $40 and now the guitar really pops! I LOVE THIS THING! Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? This guitar sounds great! Nice warm tones, rich leads, fantastic sound. No doubt about it,....it's a Les Paul! :) Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? The sound from this guitar is amazing! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Outstanding! Fantastic job Gibson. Love the vintage gloss. Quality is A-1. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? Far more than I expected for the price. Like I said...you can't buy a better guitar for $1,000. Anywhere. Period. The guys from AMS were outstanding with my purchase, and the guitar arrived here in two days! And the eight monthly payments can't be beat. Great job, AMS. I will be buying from you again real soon. Playability How was the action out of the box? Dead on. It was even in tune. Plug and play. The way it should be for an American hand made guitar.
Absolute perfection! Superior quality!
By: Outta_hand      Submitted: 12/16/2013

Rating


General


Quality


Feel


Tone


Finish


Value


Playability


1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful?

General What is your overall opinion of this product? I've tried more than a few Gibson Les Pauls over the years and have only kept 1, this will be number 2. This guitar is awesome in tone, fit and finish. Quality What is your opinion of the quality of this product? How does it work for different genres of music? Gibson has really upped their game. This guitar arrived in perfect condition and was playable right out of the box. The people who put this thing together really are craftsmen. Feel Heavy, fast, chunky? How was the neck? Are the controls easy to get to while playing? Nice maple neck. A little sticky at first, but I expect it will wear in nicely. Love this 60's profile neck. A couple years ago I discovered that 50's neck was just not for me, hard to shed old habits I guess, but I haven't looked back on the decision. The new style control knobs are a big improvement. Volume and Tone controls are very smooth to operate. Tone How is the tone? Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick or thin? Sounds like a Les Paul should, but maybe more like a 1959 model, hey I can wish anyway. I was a little skeptical about the 490 pickups, but that disappeared with the first power chord. Nice chunky thumping bass with really nice biting treble that is not harsh. Neck pickup has this smooth violin quality to it. I have a 2012 Les Paul traditional that is quite nice also, but this guitar has a detectable airiness to the tone. It must be related to the Modern Weight relief. Coil tapping is a added bonus but not something that I'll use a lot. Under gain the single coils just don't motivate me. Clean settings on the amp may bring out the advantage of having this option, but I expect it would never sound like a Strat anyway. Just something that can add to the the tonal pallet. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice finish job. Really like the vintage gloss finish. Seems more durable than the satin and not as thick and sticky as the high gloss. The mahogany back is 2 piece but is matched so well it's really hard to detect unless you look at the end grain by the strap pin. I think this guitar will age quite nicely. Nice dark fret board. All hardware and electronics exhibit very nice quality. Knobs and coil tapping work as advertised. Value Did you get what you were expecting for the price? How does it compare to similar products in the same price range? This is a lot of instrument for the money. Quality wood and components, American made. There's a simplistic rawness to this thing that is just stunning. Everything you need in a Les Paul with out the, dare I say, extra cost for cosmetic bling. If you want a Les Paul to stare at in a glass vault this might not be your cup of tea. However, if you want a Les Paul that can inspire you as a player it's all present in this one. Playability How was the action out of the box? Great player right out of the box. I'll give it a few weeks to settle in and acclimate, but I doubt there will be much more than a minor tweak of the truss rod. Great fret work, no sharp ends. Great looking inlays.
Loading....