American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply
Item Reviews for: Gibson 1950s Les Paul Studio Tribute Humbucker Guitar with Bag  -  GIB LPST5HT LIST

Outstanding Value in a Les Paul
By: mastersja from Space Coast, Florida      Submitted: 3/29/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? No flaws whatsoever on close inspection. Setup, action, and intonation were dead-on straight out of the box. General Your general opinion of this product. Incredible value for a "real" Les Paul. Guitar was ready to play with perfect (for me) action and spot-on intonation from the factory. Love the feel of playing and the tone of a Les Paul. There's just SOMETHING about the geometry of a Gibson Les Paul's design that feels perfect to me. A previous Studio that I once owned left me seriously wanting another despite having a couple of really nice Agile Les Paul copies. They play and sound great, but the differences of the feel of the actual Gibson neck angles and string tension are just like magic to me. Just love these guitars and this Studio '50s Tribute Humbucker is a great financial deal, though I would have loved to have been able to afford a Standard. Great looks, tone and playability for as little money as you can get a carved top Gibson Les Paul. Thanks to Gibson! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Loving the 490R (AlNiCo II, 7.94kOhms) neck pickup; full, rich and yet clear too. The 498T (AlNiCo V, 14.26kOhms) in the bridge is bright and hot, but not piercing. Can still get good low end "chug" on palm mutes. This is definitely a Rock 'n Roll machine, but that neck pickup can totally nail mellow jazzy stuff too. I'm totally satisfied and pleasantly surprised at the thick Les Paul tone from this light guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Worn Gold with black back is blemish free. I carefully polished the guitar with GHS Guitar Gloss and some buffing and it's a tad less satin and a wee bit shinier now. I added Gibson nickel covers to the exposed coil pickups to make the guitar look like a more traditional gold top. It's just lovely and the slight coat of the GHS Guitar Gloss helps prevent light scratching to keep it looking new.
I've owned one before, and nothng beats a "Les Paul" strapped around your neck!
By: David Wendling from Sophia, WV 25921      Submitted: 3/13/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? They're Made very well General Your general opinion of this product. Great Guitar, I need oe to replace the one I had before.
Hard to Complain
By: BrianD56 from Ontario, NY      Submitted: 3/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Average General Your general opinion of this product. I got it at 48% off MSRP, probably shouldn't complain too much. I expected some tradeoffs. Sounds great, plays OK. I would not be happy anywhere near MSRP. My Fender Telecaster Modern Player Plus was flawless at almost half the price, but not a Les Paul :) Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very nice. The reason I bought it. I don't have a Les Paul Standard to compare to, but hotter than my Les Paul Special with P90's. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The satin finish doesn't do much for me. It looks unfinished. The black back and neck is OK. Not a guitar that impresses by it's looks. Had a serious smudge on the side of the peg stock near the high E tuner. Looks like someone touched it while wet. Gibson shouldn't have let it pass inspection.
Best, most affordable Les Paul available.
By: Michael from Meridian, MS, USA      Submitted: 3/11/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? When I ordered this guitar, I expected some lack in quality for the price. When it arrived, I was shocked how nice it actually is. General Your general opinion of this product. I have guitars that cost twice as much, but this is my number one. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Les Pauls are generally "tone kings", and this one is no exception. The "baked maple" fretboard gives a nice snap, but it just oozes with that Gibson tone. The neck humbucker could be a little smoother in general, but it shapes up nicely with the tone pot. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I was a little hesitant about the "satin gold"...until it arrived. I love this finish, and there are no flaws anywhere.
Great Gibson LP Studio 50's Tribute
By: Tony from Canada      Submitted: 3/4/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I was very pleasantly surprised at how good this guitar is! I purchased it because of the low price, making this LP affordable. It is really well made, with above average attention to detail!! General Your general opinion of this product. Great value for the dollar- has exceeded my expectations! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Unplugged the guitar resonates beautifully, and the plugged into a Marshall it has great "bite". Really great sounding instrument! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is plain, feels almost like an acoustic guitar. I personally love the mat finish. Reminds me of the finish on new Harleys.
Quality?
By: rcave00@netscape.net from Lkwd., Ca, USA      Submitted: 2/27/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Gig bag sucks! Zipper split open upon receipt and cannot be closed. Guitar seemes to be of average quality. Nothing to write home about. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall it seems to be an average roduct. Wish it had come with better strings. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I'll let you know. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish was adequate.
Good bag, lousy guitar
By: GearJunky from Fort Mohave, AZ      Submitted: 2/25/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Electrics messed up. Toggle and neck vol pots cause complete sound cut outs. Frets not finished and cause finger rash. Paint job well below parr General Your general opinion of this product. Give this one a broad swerve. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Don't know Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Spotty, with lapses in coverage.
The Best Deal
By: Jim Green from Paoli ,Indiana ,USA      Submitted: 2/23/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Just perfect !! I bought the scratch and dent Honey Burst / no scratch anywhere on it ! just one micro dent around the edge of the pot cover the size of a pin head !! just awesome color and finish !!After a quick bridge adjustment to get it down where i like it and no buzz , it is the best !Lighter and the baked maple fret board is a dream !! General Your general opinion of this product. Can't Beat it !!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? everything you want in a Les Paul !The Pickups in mine , have all the bite and crunch you could ever want !! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the satin honey burst with baked maple with dark brown back is just plain awesome !
Nothing but junk.
By: Griff from Arkansas and all the other 49 states to tour., gpsw1989@gmail.com      Submitted: 2/8/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The fret work is horrible. It actually hurts to play it. The finish is what you would expect from a couple of cans of Krylon at Walmart. General Your general opinion of this product. Crap Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Typical Gibson. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The worst. A joke. Actually an insult.
Big Les Paul Tone for Great Price
By: Robert from Brookfield, Ma      Submitted: 1/14/2013

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The quality of this guitar is very good...typical Gibson quality. No issues whatsoever. Pulled the guitar out of the box, tuned it and started playing. General Your general opinion of this product. I am very happy with this guitar The 498T and 490R pickups are perhaps the best pickups that Gibson makes for rock. The satin finish body breathes and oozes tone. The guitar has a really solid feel to it and has big Les Paul tone in droves. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Warm but with bright bite...Les Paul tone all the way. The baked maple fingerboard give these Les Pauls a little bit of brightness and cut but it really adds to the tone! I was very pleasantly surprised when I first played and heard this guitar with the baked maple fingerboard. This guitar rocks and gets Great tone. Even clean playing on the neck pickup is fantastic and does not mud out. This has to do with the combination of the 490 Alnico 2 pickup and the maple fingerboard which balances the LP's dark sound with brightness. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great finish for what it is. It has a satin paint job on the body.I find I really like this feature as it seems to make the wood resonate better. The guitar does not sound choked. Nice stained Vintage Sunburst on mine. Can see the seem in the top but no big deal.
Great line of affordable Les Pauls
By: Steve from unkownlocation78645      Submitted: 8/6/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Mine was setup perfect right out of the box. Just had to stretch and tune up the strings, that's it. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall these are a great bang for the buck Les Paul. Why get a copy when you can get the real thing at these great prices. The new style gig bags are thickly padded and look great as well. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Classic Les Paul tone. The bridge pickup is hot, giving a bite and grind. Neck pickup is smooth and sweet. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Love the satin finishes on these.
Awesome Guitar
By: Jimbo from Melbourne, FL      Submitted: 6/12/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made. Stripped down version is awesome. Really screams "working musician" guitar General Your general opinion of this product. Very nice. Very pleased. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Nice combo of humbuckers. The bridge has a little extra bite which is nice for more gritty leads Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Satin finish is nice. I small flaw in painting but not enough to make a fuss over
Absolutely Love this Guitar! Can't Beat the Value!
By: Tommy B. from Mobile, AL USA      Submitted: 5/16/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The guitar feels great right out of the box. Superb craftsmanship. General Your general opinion of this product. I love the Gold finish and exposed pickups. They give it that sharp tone and raw look. I literally cannot put this guitar down! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Thick and smooth. Very versatile. Can be used to play anything from Country to Blues to Hardcore Metal Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Absolutely love the Gold Top finish!
Sweet piece!
By: Solo from Narrowsburg, NY      Submitted: 5/10/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Beautiful guitar. NO flaws. General Your general opinion of this product. Actually much better than I expected in terms of fit & finish. I knew it would play & sound good but I was prepared to sacrifice looks for price. I didn't have to! It is beautiful. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Super tone. Same p/u configuration as higher end Les Pauls. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Surprising nice. NO flaws
WOW!! Unbelievable
By: Bill von Zangenberg from Palm Harbor, FL      Submitted: 5/6/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I have a 1949 Gibson L 48 and this is my second Gibson. I have always gravitated to Fender and have a jazzmaster, jaguar, strat, tele as well as many other guitars so I'm picky as heck when it comes to instruments. This one arrived perfect not a single flaw anywhere. It should be very dependable as far as I can see. Gibson always made good instruments. General Your general opinion of this product. Gibson hit a home run with this one. Great guitar for the money. You can't go wrong with this model. It arrived perfect right out of the box.I was shopping for a guitar to add to my collection. I never cared much for the Les Paul series due to the weight of the guitar but this one is perfect. Now it's my number one favorite. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Tones can be bright or smooth or anything in between. I use a Fender Super Reverb amp (tube) and just got a Fender Blues Jr. This guitar sounds amazing with those two amps. IF you play jazz, blues, or rock or much of anything I can see no issues with this guitar. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finish is stain which I thought might be an issue for me but it is really beautiful. I'm beginning to like the more natural look instead of lots of nitro on the guitar body. It feels good. The neck is just stained but smooth. I didn't find this to be an issue at all. I thought it might but when you play it it is super comfortable and feels natural. I like that.
jump on it!
By: sweaty eddie from phx. arizona      Submitted: 4/10/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? good neck body-joint. no pitch variations when power chording or windmilling. General Your general opinion of this product. for a fraction of the price of a lp std you couldnt steal a better deal, a true players axe.you're gonna like the way you sound. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? tone is bright on top, fat on the bottom. ,009 strings sound like .011's. no shreik, no mud,. sustains untill you put it back in the case. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? the finish was nicer than i expected. the satin finish shined glossy with a few quality wax applications
Not just another Gibson Les Paul
By: Michael Connell from El Paso, TX      Submitted: 4/7/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? I think for the price it is made very well. It's a stripped down version but that's why it's cheaper and it's a really nice one at that. The only things I gave up was the bindings and the 100lbs of Nitro. General Your general opinion of this product. I was really impressed. It was way better than I thought it was going to be. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very Snappy. Dark and Smooth. I was running it through my Digitech GSP1101 and it was sounding awesome. I'm probably not sleeping much tonight. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's simple and not much nitro but it has a cool natural look to it. Looks much better than worn versions.
It's a Gibson!
By: Daniel from Cottleville, Missouir      Submitted: 3/4/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The finish which was Satin was pefect no imperfections at all. General Your general opinion of this product. I made the purchase with American Musical, which I think is one of the best Internet Music Retailers. I received the Les Paul and even though it was a special Issue it really was nothing more than a Les Paul Speical. For Some Reason I really like the extras you get with a Traditional or Standard. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Both Pickup performed as expected. Bright Bridge and Smooth Bluesy Neck. Played through a 2004 Bluesbreaker nice sound when the breakup came though. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Very Good. Looked Retro with the satin finish.
Power,Tone and Feel ! Gibson all the way !!
By: Rob from Fruitland Park, Fl. USA, anonmyous72089      Submitted: 3/4/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made and very solid. This baby just oozes quality ! General Your general opinion of this product. Awesome guitar right out of the box. Great price on this guitar that could easily be sold for twice the price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? These pick ups are hot and can easily give you any tone your looking for. I hear these are the same pick ups Gibson puts in their Customs. Some of the best I have played. This my new favorite guitar! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I got the Gold Top version and it's just beautiful.
Better than my custom.
By: M from Denver, anonmyous72084      Submitted: 2/29/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Don't know yet. General Your general opinion of this product. How is this $900 lp better than my $5600 custom? Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Deep Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Great , but the fret board had some stains from what I am sure us the test playing.
My first Gibson
By: GibsonConvert from PA      Submitted: 2/9/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? You can tell this guitar is well made when you pick it up.The finish is great,even the joint of the fretboard to the neck (no binding)is smooth as silk.I am digging the baked maple fretboard too.Quality electronics,what else can you say? General Your general opinion of this product. The build quality is top notch,plays like a dream.I like the baked maple fretboard,it looks different and smells really good.I have the gold top one and it is a great looking guitar.One of my two small gripes is the gig bag,it sucks. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Generally speaking the tone is good.The bridge pickup is tame to my ears though. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless
Very Good
By: WD from Los Angeles, CA.      Submitted: 2/2/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Feels solid as a rock. No cosmetic flaws whatsoever. General Your general opinion of this product. Good and value for moneywise GREAT. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pretty versatile, clean has a nice warm clear tone, even with distortion added still maintains tone, not so high an output that it destroys tone or clarity makes for some nice natural harmonics and overtones. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Flawless. (though I don't why, but I thought it was a gloss finish)
Pure Gibson
By: Mike Kane from Colorado Springs, CO USA      Submitted: 1/8/2012

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It is of similar ilk to every Les Paul I've owned (10 or so) General Your general opinion of this product. Just what the studio line needed, classic appearance and affordable price Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? The pickups are full range. They are responsive through the entire spectrum even with the tone knobs at 1. Can't even detect a bit of muddiness Ive seen in more expensive models. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Satin finish so less fingerprints to wipe off and the paint shop did a fine job
Lot of bang for the buck
By: ~K~ from Hudson NH      Submitted: 11/26/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Excellent Quality. I'm very impressed for the amount of money it cost. I'm considering buying a 2nd. General Your general opinion of this product. I had been watching the goldtop p90 version but wasn't sure I wanted the p90s. When this version with the humbuckers was released I HAD to try it, I'm not dissapointed! The dark back in person is nice. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups growl nicely. They have some good bite. Guitar has the typical chunky Les Paul tone, nice and warm sounding, great sustain. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? It's not bad. It's a no frills Les Paul. It's the type of guitar I can see being a work horse so I dont have to bang up my LPC or other high end guitars.
Loading....