American Musical Supply
American Musical Supply
1-800-458-4076
AMS Advantage
American Musical Supply Promo Extended Warranty EzPay EzPay
Item Reviews for: Gibson Les Paul Studio '60s Tribute with Gig Bag  -  GIB LPST60 WXCH1 LIST

The best Les Paul I've ever owned
By: jazzman from Canada      Submitted: 9/28/2012

Rating


Quality




General




Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It was produced to be worn looking. In spite of that I consider it to be very well constructed. General Your general opinion of this product. I'm a bit of a minimalist so I really like the no frills approach of this guitar. Kudos for Gibson for offering this Les Paul. I feel it is in NO way inferior to any Les Paul out there. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I used to play Teles mostly. These pickups seem to lie right in the middle of tele pickups and humbuckers. They're probably a little more rauncy too. And extremely balanced. Rear pickup not too thin, gutsy, while the neck pickup is mellow and laid back. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? As I previously mentioned, these guitars are meant to look a bit aged and worn. I have the honey burst, and I just love to see the grain. And it is very easy to keep clean.
Fricking awesome!!
By: Mike from Morton, Il, anonmyous60527      Submitted: 12/18/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Very well made. Not too sure yet, because I've only had it 2 weeks. But, I expect nothing less than Gibson quality and performance. General Your general opinion of this product. Right out of the box, playable. Usual Gibson beautiful quality and workmanship.My first Gibson. I feel like a kid with a new Mustang or something. I don't know you had to be there. I'm happy.... Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Bright and snappy. Pickups seemed pretty warm. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Not as nice as the LP Custom. Wanna give me one!!!???? Hehehehe!!!! Just kidding....
+Sweet Blues Machine
By: " Blue " Steve Martin from cleveland , ohio , U.S.A.      Submitted: 9/10/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Its a Gibson , they've really got this one down !! Very well made. General Your general opinion of this product. I waited for the goldtop a couple of months on backorder, but it was worth the wait ! Best LP i have in my arsenal !! Lighter than most , with a nice bite from the p-90's , or clean it up with your volume control . Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Pickups are just right for my style , ( think clean w/just a Lil edge for Blues solo's ) also , with a tube screamer , you can nail just about any sound you want !! Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Finnish was just as described , no flaws at all .
Another top item from Gibson
By: Joey Maurillo from Carson, CA      Submitted: 8/29/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes. I don't know yet that's why I plan to break it in General Your general opinion of this product. Great model for a very affordable price to a working musician Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Just right for bluesy tunes Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I like the goldtop finish & quality
Awesome paul
By: jonathan from brooklyn, ny, usa      Submitted: 8/28/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? General Your general opinion of this product. This is my 3rd lp, others being an epiphone black beauty and another the lp classic of 1999. This one outshines them in all ways. Clear tones, full, good response to pick. Highly recommend. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Finish How did the stain or paint job look?
Good Gibson Tone for a Good Price!
By: Dr Dave from VA      Submitted: 8/8/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It always seems like you can tell if a guitar is made in the USA or somewhere else. The finish is dull and does have worn corners so if you're looking for a bright, flashy LP then you should look somewhere else. But I bought this guitar for playing and not as a show piece. I can't accurately comment on dependability as I've only had it 3 months. General Your general opinion of this product. I purchased this axe about 3 months ago and I fell in love with it as soon as I took it out of the box. I've had LP's but they've all had that chunky 50s neck. This guitar has a nice, slim 60s neck that makes both chording and noting much easier. It comes with the nicest gig bag I've EVER seen but I really prefer a hardshell case for travel. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I wouldn't technically call the sound bright but it is nice. It has more of a raw, mellow sound. The P-90s don't give you quite the depth as the standard Gibson humbuckers but after replacing the bridge pickup I am much happier with the sound. You can't expect a BMW when you paid for a Volkswagen. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is worn and dull and there are some worn places on the corner. But this was advertised as a tribute model so Gibson wanted to produce a product that looked like you've had it since the 60s. Personally I would have preferred a better finish and let me wear it out instead of buying one that looks like I played it for years. BUT, this is a studio model and is not designed for flash.
Can't be be beat for the money spent!
By: Jeff Crook from Hammond, IN - United States      Submitted: 7/14/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made in all aspecs, finish, construction, fret work, etc. General Your general opinion of this product. Bought the worn Honeyburst, the picture doesn't do it justice. Very well made, plays great and intonation great with no modifications. I own several American made Fenders as well and this guitar is second to none. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Awesome tone. See my description above under "sound". Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Looks really nice, the satin, worn, look is done really well and the maple top shows just the right amount of wood grain to accentuate its natural beauty.
lovin it
By: doctor mud from austin, tx, usa, anonmyous60510      Submitted: 6/24/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The shiznit for the price. General Your general opinion of this product. Looks beautiful, sounds Les Paul, the gold top is super hip, no flaws, sustain for days, great price. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? You can get many different tones out of this guitar. The P-90's are very articulate yet pure rock n roll. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? amazing, no flaws
A really great guitar!
By: Art from West Linn, Oregon, USA      Submitted: 6/14/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? It's a USA Gibson. What do you expect? General Your general opinion of this product. When I first heard about these Les Paul's being released, I held my batted breath....'a Gibson Les Paul for under $900.00?' I thought to myself...'No way!' Great tone, nice balanced feel to the guitar, not too heavy so my fretting hand won't go numb after a three hour gig! I'm sold! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? These P-90 are very nice...I play througth a Crate V-33 head witt a custom built 4 x 12. Nice mids. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? I only wish it was buffed out more. However, over time, I think is will look more relic than it was suppose to look.
Fantastic Gibby
By: Robert from Sturbridge Ma      Submitted: 5/27/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Overall a great quality guitar. One complaint. The nut was not dressed properly on my guitar when I got it and the guitar wouldn't stay in tune. I dressed the nut with nut files and put some graphite in the slots and now this thing stays in tune for weeks. As soon as you touch this guitar is says Quality. General Your general opinion of this product. This is an incredible guitar...in my opinion, one of Gibson's best. Light weight, great neck feel, excellent fret job and hot P90's. Vintage LP tone in spades plus wicked light weight to boot. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Warm, raucous, snarly tone out of the bridge P90. Warm, singing, fat tone out of the neck pup. Warm, thick tone when playing on both pups. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Nice paint job. Satin finish. Worn finish. I don't like the worn finish that much. It is like a false phony badge of honor that I have not yet earned with this guitar. The satin finish I dig...just don't see how people could want a worn finish unless they are trying to posture as a false self and pretend that they actually put their time and sweat into the instrument.
New Gold Top, just as good if not better than my old Gold Top!!!
By: J. D. S. from North Salem Indiana      Submitted: 5/26/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? The Quality is outstanding,..It's a Gibson!!! It is a very well made guitar, even though it is on the lite side, it doesn't feel like a toy like o many other guitars do. I'm very sure it is a dependable guitar, if it is like anything else that Gibson makes. General Your general opinion of this product. I have never been so pleased with a guitar as I am with this new "Gibson Gold Top 60's Tribute model"! One of the finest guitars that I have ever owned,... but then, it's a Gibson!!! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I play a combination of "Rock" and "Blues", with a mixture of "Motown", with a working group "King James and the Verse". So I have quite a veriation of tone that I need at hand. The P90's are warm and "Bluesy" as well as "Crisp and glassy", when need be, and everything in between. The "Gibson 60's Tribute" may not be a one guitar that does all (thats why I own so many), but it and my Tele., are the main stay, work horses in my book. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The finish is different than on a higher priced Les Paul, but it also has a charm and look of it's own. I have read about an alcohol smell, from some of the reports, but I noticed nothing like that at all with my Gold Top. I am very pleased with the finish especially the way that the back of the neck gets polished and shines after playing it for a while, .... the neck is no problem to,..as you say "Break in". It has a great looking finish for the price.
Great Value, great look, solid, well made and conceived.
By: garyguitar from Paris, TX 75460, hugginsgary@hotmail.com      Submitted: 5/25/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Well made and very dependable, General Your general opinion of this product. One of the better bang for the buck values out there. Remember, it's a studio not a standard but it has "the feel" and a great neck plus the P-90's sound fine. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? P-90's are warm but cutting if you want them to be...just crank it. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Good.
Get one while their availible!
By: MCB from South Lyon, MI.      Submitted: 5/13/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Seems to be ok. I'm counting on Gibson for this catagory. General Your general opinion of this product. Overall a nice guitar. For the price a playability you cant beat it and its made in the USA! Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? Very bright. The P-90's are not a real strong like a humbucker would be. The bridge pickup is a little on the thin sounding side. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? Satin finish. Mine is the gold top. Looks good. The back appears to be lightly coated with a satin clear which is fine for me. The neck never gets sticky like the smooth painted finished guitars. I think one of the reasons the body resonates so much is the lack of all the healy layers of paint on the traditional LP's
Great playability and tone
By: John from Queens NYC      Submitted: 5/6/2011

Rating


Quality






Tone


Finish




Was this review helpful?

Quality Would you consider this product to be made well? How dependable? Yes. General Your general opinion of this product. Play as well as any of my expensive Les Pauls. Neck feel great although just a little bit chunkier than my other 60 s necks. Tone Bright and snappy? Dark and smooth? Were the pickups hot, mellow, thick, thin? I feel the pickup are hot. Finish How did the stain or paint job look? The paint on this Les Paul is just a light coat of lacquer or oil. The pores in the wood are not filled and is not sanded and buffed to a high luster which is labor intensive. This is probably what keeps the cost down on this guitar.
Loading....